Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th January 2006, 03:01   #21  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,570
Quote:
Add a "just mux" feature for the audio similar to what Gordian Knot does.
That already exists.. auto mode is your friend.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline  
Old 8th January 2006, 04:50   #22  |  Link
willie1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Morinville Canada
Posts: 40
Thanx. I wasn't aware.
willie1 is offline  
Old 8th January 2006, 18:58   #23  |  Link
The Link
Registered User
 
The Link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 189
1. I would suggest a send to tray button so you can visually hide MeGUI while it's doing its job.
2. Furthermore I would suggest to make the Status window a child of the main MeGUI window so there's only one item in the taskbar (but that's probably a matter of preference).
3. Something I'd like to see is Ogg Vorbis support as it's the only good free low bitrate codec at the moment (FAAC isn't tuned and afaik generally worse than Vorbis and the Nero AAC codec isn't free. Itunes AAC codec is for free and quite good imho but not very well supported via cli.). The obvious drawback: You can only sanely use it in mkv.

Just some suggestions from my side. I hope I didn't miss some already existing features which would already cover my feature requests.

edit: grammar
__________________
When birds burp, it must taste like bugs! (Calvin&Hobbes)

The Link is offline  
Old 8th January 2006, 20:53   #24  |  Link
bob0r
Pain and suffering
 
bob0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,337
Load Defaults button (not only the button but the function too )

Just a simple load defaults button with a pop-up asking you yes/no, because sometimes people click the wrong button and all previous set options will be gone.
bob0r is offline  
Old 8th January 2006, 20:58   #25  |  Link
Teegedeck
Moderator, Ex(viD)-Mascot
 
Teegedeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,564
errr... Exporting it to a Mono project?
__________________
It's a man's life in Doom9's 52nd MPEG division.
"The cat sat on the mat."
ATM I'm thoroughly enjoying the Banshee - a fantastic music player/ripper for Linux. Give it a whirl!
Teegedeck is offline  
Old 8th January 2006, 21:15   #26  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
it requires some adjustments for the *nix platform.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 8th January 2006, 21:25   #27  |  Link
Teegedeck
Moderator, Ex(viD)-Mascot
 
Teegedeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,564
Yes, and I have no idea how it would be possible for a Mono-application to open AviSynth-scripts via Wine. Just regard it as a desperate cry for a decent encoding GUI on Linux. And I mean 'decent'.

Perhaps it will happen just in time for AviSynth 3...
__________________
It's a man's life in Doom9's 52nd MPEG division.
"The cat sat on the mat."
ATM I'm thoroughly enjoying the Banshee - a fantastic music player/ripper for Linux. Give it a whirl!

Last edited by Teegedeck; 8th January 2006 at 21:27.
Teegedeck is offline  
Old 8th January 2006, 22:00   #28  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
@bob0r: Defaults across the entire GUI? What you want has the same effect as removing the settings.xml file?
berrinam is offline  
Old 8th January 2006, 22:13   #29  |  Link
The Link
Registered User
 
The Link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 189
I'd like "reload defaults" buttons in every codec settings preferences or alternatively for every codec/encoder a default preset which is not deletable.

edit: making more sense
__________________
When birds burp, it must taste like bugs! (Calvin&Hobbes)


Last edited by The Link; 9th January 2006 at 10:42.
The Link is offline  
Old 8th January 2006, 22:24   #30  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,570
AviSynth isn't the only problem for making this run on Linux.. there's also a dgdecode dependency in the avisynth script creator. And Linux has no proper multimedia API that's available on a kernel level (so it would be in every distro), has it?
Basically if you need both the AviFile API and DGDecode, and there are other things. For instance environment variables (number of CPUs, path), a Linux BeSweet, etc.

Quote:
I'd like "reload defaults" buttons in every codec settings preferences.
That sounds reasonable and is easy to implement in just a few lines of code.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline  
Old 9th January 2006, 00:29   #31  |  Link
jmk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
move the profile selection drop down list in the config dialog window to the bottom of that window, so that it will be visible and accessible in all tabs.
jmk is offline  
Old 9th January 2006, 05:23   #32  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by berrinam
@bob0r: Defaults across the entire GUI? What you want has the same effect as removing the settings.xml file?
codec defaults. same thing The Link proposed.
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 9th January 2006, 08:37   #33  |  Link
Richard Berg
developer wannabe
 
Richard Berg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,212
I've implemented one of the simple requests:
- progress window now has a Hide button
- View -> Progress menu item is now a toggle

Modified files are attached. You'll need to diff against the CVS copies as of about 2 days ago (sorry, I didn't save a copy, and I only have anonymous CVS access).
Attached Files
File Type: rar hide-progress.rar (37.9 KB, 207 views)
Richard Berg is offline  
Old 9th January 2006, 09:16   #34  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,570
Quote:
- View -> Progress menu item is now a toggle
Can you elaborate on that? We already have an option in the settings that allows you to configure if the progress window automatically comes up when a job is being started (except for an index job, there it makes little sense to have a progress window since dgindex doesn't return any progress reports), and the view - progress menu is context sensitive, so the actual menu option is only active when there's no progress window on screen.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline  
Old 9th January 2006, 09:32   #35  |  Link
Richard Berg
developer wannabe
 
Richard Berg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,212
The View -> Progress menu item now has 3 states:
- disabled
- enabled but not checked (progress window hidden).
- enabled and checked (progress window shown)

Clicking it toggles back & forth between the latter states. Test the code, it's very simple.
Richard Berg is offline  
Old 9th January 2006, 10:14   #36  |  Link
quake74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 207
Multiple (more than 2) audio/subs tracks and psp stuff.

Multiple (more than 2) audio/sub tracks is my first complain with pretty much every gui out there (excluding the old dvd2ogm and dvd::rip). I would often like to rip the original soundtrack, the comments, the track in english or my native language, and maybe french since I'm trying to study it. From what I understand, it's mainly a gui problem since I can include as many tracks I want in mp4 or mkv, right?

For the psp it would be useful to be able to choose the sampling rate for the audio (psp only supports 48000Hz). Automatic running of atomchanger would be very useful as well
quake74 is offline  
Old 9th January 2006, 10:38   #37  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,570
Quote:
From what I understand, it's mainly a gui problem since I can include as many tracks I want in mp4 or mkv, right?
Yes but I dare presume 2 tracks is sufficient for most people. After all, you are likely to only watch the movie with the commentary track once, so that can be done off the DVD, and that leaves two tracks for you Even though I speak 4 languages fluently, I'd never consider keeping more than two tracks in a backup (which after all is just that.. the original DVD is stored away safely and still in my posession). Generally when taking something on the road, a single track will even suffice.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline  
Old 9th January 2006, 13:14   #38  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
I've updated the list of all feature requests on the first post. If I have missed anything, or you feel I haven't done your request justice, please tell me.
berrinam is offline  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:24   #39  |  Link
Raithmir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 51
Time stamping in the logs for the start and end of each job please
Raithmir is offline  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:25   #40  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,570
Quote:
Time stamping in the logs for the start and end of each job please
You already have that in the queue, a precise time down to the second. Why would you need anything else?
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.