Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Decrypting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th November 2005, 20:55   #1  |  Link
gsbama
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Not Enough Memory Error ( Shrink )

I have loaded Madagascar to my hard drive using DVDFAB 2.9.5.8 ( newest version as recommended ). Now, while encoding thru Shrink, I receive a "Not Enough Memory" error. I have more than plenty space on my hard drive.

Solution?

Thanks
gsbama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2005, 21:50   #2  |  Link
dialysis1
Registered User
 
dialysis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
Have you checked on how much disk space you have left?
dialysis1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2005, 00:07   #3  |  Link
Haze_NZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsbama
I have more than plenty space on my hard drive.
He gave you the answer to that question.
Haze_NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2005, 01:19   #4  |  Link
Johnny381
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: mo.
Posts: 9
If you run the ripped file through vobblanker it will fix the memory error. Try it.
Johnny381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2005, 16:31   #5  |  Link
greentech1974
Registered User
 
greentech1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: DVD Land
Posts: 53
I came across the same error after processing through DVDFab, and then Shrink. I Believe the error is "low on virtual memory". I just reauthored the movie file. It seems to work fine. The error only seems to arise when you try to shrink the entire disk. Haven't tried the whole file through VobBlanker yet though. Thanks for the tip!
greentech1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2005, 13:50   #6  |  Link
blutach
Country Member
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 6,499
It's an ArccOS disk and that error is DVD Shrink crapping out on it. Do it this way - How to backup ARccOS DVDs. It looks a little complicated, but it isn't really and it works!

Regards
__________________
Les

Only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media.
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2005, 02:19   #7  |  Link
greentech1974
Registered User
 
greentech1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: DVD Land
Posts: 53
I ran the entire file back through VobBlanker, after ripping through the updated version of DVDFab. Shrink then ran the file beautifully. Thanks for the help!
greentech1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2005, 04:25   #8  |  Link
Johnny381
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: mo.
Posts: 9
That also works on a lot of films that have been screwed up after ripping. And you are welcome.
Johnny381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2005, 06:02   #9  |  Link
feedback
Gold (Au) Member
 
feedback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 832
Just an FYI...
DreamWorks Animation is the first studio to implement RipGuard with the recently released DVD of "Madagascar,".

Regards,
__________________
***********************************************************
Don't assume anything...Verify!

It's as easy as 3.14159265

The Problem is Usually found between the Chair and the Keyboard!
feedback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2005, 07:17   #10  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
@feedback

Hi!

If that's true, "RipGuard" is going to be a dismal failure! For one, DVD95Copy handled it immediately (NO update of the program was necessary).

May I ask what your source was for this information?

**EDIT** A quick Googlesearch confirms what you've said. For a hearty laugh, read the following article at Forbes:

http://www.forbes.com/markets/2005/1...markets03.html

Last edited by setarip_old; 25th November 2005 at 07:22. Reason: Found some info
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2005, 07:35   #11  |  Link
feedback
Gold (Au) Member
 
feedback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by setarip_old
@feedback

Hi!

If that's true, "RipGuard" is going to be a dismal failure! For one, DVD95Copy handled it immediately (NO update of the program was necessary).

May I ask what your source was for this information?

**EDIT** A quick Googlesearch confirms what you've said. For a hearty laugh, read the following article at Forbes:

http://www.forbes.com/markets/2005/1...markets03.html
Yes, that is the same link that I posted in the thread I started called "Latest News, DVD Decrypter to be removed from distribution" here in the Decrypter forum...you must have missed it. I added it as a PS.
It is funny indeed!
Regards,
__________________
***********************************************************
Don't assume anything...Verify!

It's as easy as 3.14159265

The Problem is Usually found between the Chair and the Keyboard!
feedback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2005, 07:48   #12  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
Quote:
It is funny indeed!
What's equally as funny is postings that I've read at other forums claiming that RipGuard was part of ARccOS. I guess the posters of that unfounded rumor must have believed that SONY had secretly acquired Macrovision ;>}
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2005, 12:42   #13  |  Link
blutach
Country Member
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 6,499
As before, Ripguard = ARccOS. Is it not inconceivable that SONY may have licensed it from Craprovision and given it a name?

(What's in a name anyway? A rose by any other name is still a rose! And doit2it/do_over is still setarip )

Having looked very closely at Madagascar, it is simply a variant of ARccOS (and not a real good one at that - Seinfeld Season 4 was the best so far). Therefore, if this is Ripguard, then Ripguard = ARccOS.

Regards as always
__________________
Les

Only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media.

Last edited by blutach; 25th November 2005 at 13:03.
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2005, 13:51   #14  |  Link
dontasciime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Variant

Thats all it is, a variant on sony dadc's technology, if it is not the same technology, then someone from macrovision leaked the idea to sony dadc or someone at sony dadc leaked the idea to macrovision.

Either way it makes no difference as its not very good and tbh a useless, pointless waste of Sony's,Macrovisions resources, Dreamworks should be demanding their money back, and get their PR REP to stop lying, or rather plug him up to stop him talking from his backside, pretending their impressed with the protection applied to their CGI release.

Btw anyone on here know how much DVD95 copy shares are.
dontasciime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2005, 15:09   #15  |  Link
zacoz
DVD & DVB Drifter
 
zacoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Land Downunder
Posts: 519
Oh wow, Ripguard is effective against "DVD X Copy and 123 Copy DVD".

Um, hang on, no one here actually uses them. Oh well back to the drawing boards for "Sony-vision".
zacoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2005, 04:52   #16  |  Link
greentech1974
Registered User
 
greentech1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: DVD Land
Posts: 53
Looks like Disney has added the new protection. The new "Sky High" has the same issue, and processing it through DVDFab, VobBlanker, and then Shrink works for this one too!
greentech1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2005, 09:38   #17  |  Link
cynthia_old
Unadvanced Newbie
 
cynthia_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 158
DVD Release Date: November 29, 2005 - perhaps the reason for not knowing this before this post.

Funny - that Disney got that protection.

Assuming you are in region code 1?
cynthia_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2005, 13:51   #18  |  Link
greentech1974
Registered User
 
greentech1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: DVD Land
Posts: 53
Yes, I am in region 1. It suprised me too. Went back and ran another DVD to make sure it wasn't my system, and the other disc ran fine. I encountered the same issue as before with Shrink, before and after DVDFab. So after VobBlanker Shrink processed fine. It was the same issue that I encountered with Madagascar.
greentech1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2005, 05:09   #19  |  Link
surge0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
vob blanker

I have duece bigalo run through dvdfab decrypter onto my hard drive but I need to know what settings vobblank needs to be set on so I can proceed to dvd shrink... Can anyone help with this?
surge0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2005, 14:37   #20  |  Link
greentech1974
Registered User
 
greentech1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: DVD Land
Posts: 53
I ran Duece through hrink without VobBlanker. Shrink processed fine.
greentech1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.