Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd October 2005, 16:03   #121  |  Link
tsp
Registered User
 
tsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 807
lcksg: Did you experince any lockups with only 1 vdub running? Also could you post the script you used. It is a little strange that there are any difference between SetMTmode(x,0) and SetMTmode(x,4) because when using 0 it default to the number of cores that in your case is 4. Also somewhat more informative would be the time it takes to encode the clip so we can see how well the multithreading codes scales.
__________________
Get my avisynth filters @ http://www.avisynth.org/tsp/
tsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2005, 18:18   #122  |  Link
lcksg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 20
Quote:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\PLUGINS\AVISYNTH\DGDecode.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\PLUGINS\AVISYNTH\UnDot.dll")

SetMTmode(2,0)
MPEG2Source("D:\VOBS\THE_COUNT_OF_MONTE_CRISTO\VTS_01_PGC_01_1.d2v", idct=4, cpu=0)
Crop(0,6,-0,-6)
LanczosResize(704,396)
UnDot()


There's no lockups at all with 1x Vdub, CPU loads in Taskmgr hovers between 80% - 92% (above 85% mostly).

Task Manager report CPU loads in between threads so it's difficult to be accurate but I don't think there's much difference between SetMTmode(x,0) and SetMTmode(x,4).

I'll try to rip a few small chapters later to test encoding times.

SetMTMode(2,x) is much faster & uses more CPU loads than SetMTMode(4,x).
lcksg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2005, 13:27   #123  |  Link
lcksg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 20
Script same as above but something is not right with the encoding times & CPU usage

MT mode | time mm:ss | CPU usage in Taskmgr

HT-on
MT-off | 1:35 | 45% CPU
MT-20 | 2:16 | 92% CPU
MT-22 | 1:46 | 67-70% CPU
MT-40 | 3:58 | 36%-41% CPU
MT-42 | 2:12 | 48%-54% CPU

HT-off
MT-off | 1:29 | 87-90% CPU
MT-20 | 2:00 | 88%-100% CPU
MT-40 | 2:26 | 82%-89% CPU
lcksg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2005, 18:25   #124  |  Link
tsp
Registered User
 
tsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 807
Very strange indeed. I don't know whats going on there. Will try to reproduce it on my dual celeron 400 MHz
__________________
Get my avisynth filters @ http://www.avisynth.org/tsp/
tsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2005, 00:08   #125  |  Link
danpos
BDVD Team
 
danpos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rio de Janeiro - RJ/Brasil
Posts: 306
MT for 'grid computing'. Any chance?

@TSP

Dear colleague:

Is there any chance on you building a MT filter version for 'grid computing' ? (By 'grid' I mean to spread the work on a Local Network, with thread started at the individual CPUs for each 'node'). I think that would be very usuful for several avisynth users that have access to a LAN.

Cheers,

Last edited by danpos; 30th October 2005 at 00:52. Reason: Clarifying my request.
danpos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2005, 19:52   #126  |  Link
tsp
Registered User
 
tsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 807
I think TCPdeliver would be a better solution for that.
__________________
Get my avisynth filters @ http://www.avisynth.org/tsp/
tsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2005, 22:19   #127  |  Link
danpos
BDVD Team
 
danpos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rio de Janeiro - RJ/Brasil
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsp
I think TCPdeliver would be a better solution for that.
Thanks for your answer. I will try this out.

Cya!
danpos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2005, 04:12   #128  |  Link
Devinator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
I am trying to figure out if I would benefit from this? I use DVD Rebuilder + CCE(which uses avisynth and the dgdecode plugin). I have an X2 system crrent using avisynth 2.5.
Devinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2005, 08:30   #129  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Does DVD Rebuilder allow you to customize your AviSynth settings?

If so than use SetMTmode(2) before your mpeg2source() line and see what happens.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 02:08   #130  |  Link
Socio
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 291
Hey!

I have been testing this with my dual P4's and Limitedsharpen with realtime DVD playback it seems to work with the script just fine and improves performance quite a bit.

Here is how I used it:

MT("LimitedSharpen(ss_x=1.0,ss_y=1.0,Smode=3,strength=40,overshoot=7)")


Awesome plugin TSP!
Socio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 03:05   #131  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Limited Sharpen works even faster in SetMTmode(2) in my experience.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 03:22   #132  |  Link
Socio
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 291
I have tried that before but the SetMTmode parameter does not work using LimitedSharpen with ffdshow for real time DVD playback, I get an error " no function called SetMTmode" when I try it.

Using just the call the way I have it does work and work well however.
Socio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 10:29   #133  |  Link
Koroshiya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1
My system is a Dual Xeon 2.4Ghz 533FSB in HT mode

=======================================================
With standard avisynth 2.56+vdubmod using the following settings for a 24 minute Divx video to Xvid:

Undot()
VagueDenoiser(threshold=2,method=1,nsteps=6,chroma= true)
BlindDeHalo3(1.5,1.5,100).LimitedSharpen2(ss_x=2.0,ss_y=2.0,Smode=3,strength=100)

Final Time of Encoding for single pass: 1h55min
Average FPS: 5
Average CPU Load: 35%

=======================================================

Using Avisynth2.56MT3 with the following settings for the same 24 min video:

SetMTmode(2)
Undot()
VagueDenoiser(threshold=2,method=1,nsteps=6,chroma= true)
BlindDeHalo3(1.5,1.5,100).LimitedSharpen2(ss_x=2.0,ss_y=2.0,Smode=3,strength=100)

Final Time of Encoding for single pass: 52min
Average FPS: 12
Average CPU Load: 100%

=======================================================

This is one godly plugin for multi-processor users. Thanks tsp!

Only downside(not really) is my system is extremly laggy in mode2, but that is to be expected since it's using 100% load ^_^.

Last edited by Koroshiya; 2nd December 2005 at 22:32.
Koroshiya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 12:27   #134  |  Link
tsp
Registered User
 
tsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 807
Socio: you need the newest special multithreaded version of avisynth 2.56 that you can get at my homepage (link in my signature.).
__________________
Get my avisynth filters @ http://www.avisynth.org/tsp/
tsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 14:04   #135  |  Link
Socio
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 291
Thanks TSP,

I now run it with this call and it works great:

Quote:
Import("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\LimitedSharpen.avs")

SetMTmode(2)
MT("LimitedSharpen(ss_x=1.0,ss_y=1.0,Smode=3,strength=40,overshoot=7)")
Socio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 14:59   #136  |  Link
tsp
Registered User
 
tsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 807
Socio: try using
Code:
Import("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\LimitedSharpen.avs")
MT("LimitedSharpen(ss_x=1.0,ss_y=1.0,Smode=3,strength=40,overshoot=7)",avisynthTS=true)
or
Code:
SetMTMode(2)
Import("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\LimitedSharpen.avs")
LimitedSharpen(ss_x=1.0,ss_y=1.0,Smode=3,strength=40,overshoot=7))
and see what is the fastest
__________________
Get my avisynth filters @ http://www.avisynth.org/tsp/
tsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 16:07   #137  |  Link
Socio
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 291
This is the faster version no question, thanks!

Quote:
Import("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\LimitedSharpen.avs")
MT("LimitedSharpen(ss_x=1.0,ss_y=1.0,Smode=3,strength=40,overshoot=7)",avisynthTS=true)
Socio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2005, 00:04   #138  |  Link
Socio
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 291
I tested it some more this afternoon, because I am using it for processing DVD playback in realtime it is not possible to get a concrete benchmark.

What I did however was scale the DVD to 1080p and set ffdshow to show the decoder fps, I ran three tests all with the same processing settings.

The first test was with no MT and stock Avisynth.dll and I got 6-12 Fps would peak at 12 fps but mostly stayed in the 6-8 range.

Then with the first call you suggested I got 12-14 fps. never dropped below 12 and never higher than 14.

Lastly I tried the last call you suggested and got 16 -21 fps, never dropped below 16 and never got higher than 21 which is near double what I got without MT and tells me your plug in not only works it freaking rocks!
Socio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2005, 00:14   #139  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Socio
...which is near double what I got without MT and tells me your plug in not only works it freaking rocks!
Amen Brother!
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2005, 02:17   #140  |  Link
Devinator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devinator
I am trying to figure out if I would benefit from this? I use DVD Rebuilder + CCE(which uses avisynth and the dgdecode plugin). I have an X2 system crrent using avisynth 2.5.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revgen
Does DVD Rebuilder allow you to customize your AviSynth settings?

If so than use SetMTmode(2) before your mpeg2source() line and see what happens.

I manged to anwser my own question...

Firstly DVD Rebuilder does allow you to customize your AVS scripts. Not very well however. You can add lines but it places them after the mpeg2source() line and before the filters it applies.

There is a tool called RP-Opt which allows you to edit the avs files without having to manually open each one. You edit them for each title set. I was able to add the loadplugin and SetMTmode lines in the correct position. I saw a CCE speed gain that varies from .5 to 1.5 in the various segments and cpu utilization of CCE increased from 60-75% to nearly 100%.

Also be aware that DVD Rebuilder must use an older version of DGDecode.dll, which is incompatible with the current DGIndex so set up the rebuilder friendly DLL with a different name or rename it when using each.

I also saw a very large, nearly 100% performance gain in DVD->x264 encoding via this plugin. Most impressive!

Last edited by Devinator; 15th November 2005 at 02:25.
Devinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.