Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > IFO/VOB Editors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th June 2005, 14:41   #201  |  Link
jinjin_jp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: JAPAN
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank
@jinjin_jp
Read the link in my post above Building and Burning Dual-Layer DVD
Dual-layer DVD-R is fully compliant to DVD-9!
Is it mean not necessary to set L0=2,092,896sectors for -R/DL?

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank
Your example L0=L1 is standard compliant, but L0=L1 is not a MUST! There are no new problems!
Please understand I don't mean L0=L1 is MUST. Almost which I have seen were L0>L1. I want to report this example(L0=L1) as rare one.

Last edited by jinjin_jp; 29th June 2005 at 14:59.
jinjin_jp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 15:04   #202  |  Link
frank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 737
Quote:
Is it mean not necessary to set L0=2,092,896sectors for -R/DL?
No, that is the maximum on L0 of this media. As you can see in your second example, when the user data < 8.5 GB then the L0 sectors are decreased.

But it is much simpler.
Use PgcEdit, and look at the shown values before and after burning!
frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 15:09   #203  |  Link
blutach
Country Member
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 6,499
Quote:
If you want to try the last beta, here is beta 16.
A beta a day keeps the doctor away.

Regards
__________________
Les

Only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media.
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 16:18   #204  |  Link
jinjin_jp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: JAPAN
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank
No, that is the maximum on L0 of this media. As you can see in your second example, when the user data < 8.5 GB then the L0 sectors are decreased.

But it is much simpler.
Use PgcEdit, and look at the shown values before and after burning!
Sorry, I can't understand so well.
In my first, second, and third example, I think all are L0=2,092,896sectors, and L0 sectors aren't decreased in second example.
I think this L0(shown in DVDDecryoter) doesn't mean the maximum on L0, and means to where burned on L0, so this value differs each DVD.
I think what is decreased is sectors from VIDEO_TS.IFO.

[add]the Image I have is like below.

Last edited by jinjin_jp; 29th June 2005 at 16:31.
jinjin_jp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 16:59   #205  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,073
Well, I really don't understand why this value of 2,092,896 sectors should have something magic. Seems it's aproximatively the size of a -R layer. But I don't think it's a good idea to push the data to the outer edge of the disc, as this part is more often subject to errors.
Also, I agree with frank. All informations available on the net are the same: it is not needed to fill L0 completely.
If it is really needed to do strange things like that to burn a DVD-R DL, I think I will not support -Rs anymore! I don't want to encourage people to use the -R technology while the +R is available, and is obviously superior.
Of course, I may change my mind later, when -R DLs will be available here to test both methods.

Anyway, jinjin_jp, thanks for your investigations, and for your translations in english!
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 18:02   #206  |  Link
nwg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 819
From what I have read. DVD-R DL is less supported than DVD+R DL (Verbatim in the test). It was in the review of my Pioneer 109 writer. IT was found that not mnay players or even drives could read the discs. Even, my LG 4040 which doesn't support reading and writing of a DL+R or DL-R can read a DVD ROM DL+R.

Even though my Pioneer 109 supports -R DL. I won't be using it. I went from DVD+ to DVD- with single layer discs but will stick with DVD+R DL.
nwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 19:13   #207  |  Link
Tobii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 77
short question at the beta 16...

In the Burn DVD dialog -> Cell list window (setting the LB), the preview doesn't work for a non-seamless cell any more.
With me, the preview works only at the seamless cells.
Changes the non-seamless cell into a seamless cell, the preview doesn't work either.

Something was changed here or does anybody have an idea?
Tobii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 20:04   #208  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,073
No, Tobi. Nothing has changed since beta 15, except the default number of sectors in DVD-R DL. Obviously, it's not the problem.
Have you tried to launch the preview on the same cell from the PGC Editor's cell list? Do you have the same problem with another DVD?
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 21:29   #209  |  Link
Tobii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 77
I have tried four different DVDs now. I have the problem at everybody.

Under Preview Menu -> Automatically start Preview Playback...is switched on.
The preview for the cell in question, doesn't work in the PGC Editor -> cell list.

The preview works for any cell, which has a seamless flag(8).
I start the preview for cell 19 (cell type flag=2 and LB), preview window opens -> no preview playback here and the functions above are inactive. (look at the snapshot)



In the Burn DVD dialog, it is just the same. Preview window opens -> no preview playback here and the functions above are inactive.

I go backward tomorrow ... beta 15 -> beta14->beta13 etc.. and then wanting to test.
Tobii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 10:30   #210  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,073
Hum, strange.

I've just found a similar problem with Matrix (Z2 Fr), but an error message appear: "Couldn't locate sector 1343176 !".
But note that my original rip of Matrix has some realloc problems with Nero, even if I remove the empty VOBs.

Note that the problem CANNOT come from a modification in one of the 0.6.0 betas. The PgcEditPreview.exe has not been modified, nor the method to launch it, at least from the PGC Editor's cells list.
Maybe it's something you have installed recently that cause the problem?
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 10:51   #211  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,073
Well, I have mock stripped Matrix. Same problem.
Seems it is exactly the same problem as yours (the error message appear only when running PgcEdit in debug mode.)
I have emailed jeanl to let him know. It's probably a bug in PgcEditPreview.exe.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 11:21   #212  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobii
The preview works for any cell, which has a seamless flag(8).
I start the preview for cell 19 (cell type flag=2 and LB), preview window opens -> no preview playback here and the functions above are inactive.
Matrix has a STC Discontinuity on the layer break's cell. When there is no STC discontinuity in the VOB, seems there is no problem with the Preview. So, the STC discontinuity could be the problem. Tobi, can you test if this flag is present in the DVDs you have tested so far? And try to find one without this flag and report if it works?
(Note that removing the STC falg in the IFO is not a solution: the Preview exe don't use the IFOs at all.)
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 12:05   #213  |  Link
frank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 737
1) I've tested a backup with 6 titles.
In every title set the first cell has STC discontinuity but no seamless flag.
No problem with preview!

May be PgcEditPreview.exe has an issue.
If Jeanl used DVD2AVI as source then I remember there is a GOP bug that produces frame lost. It's better to change to DGIndex. Neuron2 can help when some CLI changes needed. More in the DGIndex f.a.q.

2) PgcEdit blocks the Burn DVD Menu when you test a DVD from drive and not from HD backup.
Usually comes the message that it can't create the backup folder, ok.

When you start the Burn DVD / Create ISO menu you'll get an application error:



Tested DVD (PCgo 4/2005) also has some DVD-ROM content. Strange.

Last edited by frank; 30th June 2005 at 12:25.
frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 13:01   #214  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank
1) I've tested a backup with 6 titles.
In every title set the first cell has STC discontinuity but no seamless flag.
No problem with preview!

May be PgcEditPreview.exe has an issue.
If Jeanl used DVD2AVI as source then I remember there is a GOP bug that produces frame lost. It's better to change to DGIndex. Neuron2 can help when some CLI changes needed. More in the DGIndex f.a.q.
OK, but the problem may be caused by the STC discontinuity inside the VOB, and not when the first cell of the VOB is played. I'm not sure, though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank
2) PgcEdit blocks the Burn DVD Menu when you test a DVD from drive and not from HD backup.
Usually comes the message that it can't create the backup folder, ok.

When you start the Burn DVD / Create ISO menu you'll get an application error:



Tested DVD (PCgo 4/2005) also has some DVD-ROM content. Strange.
OK, the error message comes from a bug in the routine that calculates the size of DVD-ROM subdirs, with empty directories, and is not related to the fact that you opened the DVD from your drive. Fixed now.

What do you mean exactly with "PgcEdit blocks the Burn DVD Menu"? Is it the same problem as the error message? I have just tried to launch the Burn function from a DVD drive, and it worked, although slowly. The Layer Break selection dialog opened successfully.
Anyway, you cannot burn directly from a read-only filesystem, since PgcEdit needs to write the new VTS sector pointers in the IFOs before launching mkisofs. So, if you accept the dialogs, you will have an error message, and the burn process will stop.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV

Last edited by r0lZ; 30th June 2005 at 13:06. Reason: Changed subdirs to DVD-ROM subdirs
r0lZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 15:23   #215  |  Link
frank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 737
It was the same problem. The File -> Burn DVD / Create ISO windows didn't start, only the error message was shown.
The DVD with "Message in a Bottle" comes from a computer magazine and has much DVD-ROM directories. I never had this error. Does the DVD-ROM content disturb the routine dvd_rom_size_subdir? I'm waiting for your update, or post the corrected line.

I thought Tobii tested his 4 DVDs from drive, because there may be strange behaviour like that problem. I will test other DVDs with STC in VOB at home.

Yes, I know that we cannot burn from a read-only system.
But for searching of original LB settings it is very useful to read from drive.

Last edited by frank; 30th June 2005 at 15:48.
frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 16:20   #216  |  Link
Tobii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 77
I have changed nothing in my system. I use the original files, without any changes. I just don't try out of a disk drive.

The STC flag, is in the VOB at the DVDs in question.
Unfortunately, I haven't found any DVD without STC flag yet.

Sorry, r0lZ...
I haven't tested matrix. Till now, I also haven't noticed the problem.


Waiting what jeanl says to it.
Tobii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 17:43   #217  |  Link
jeanl
Registered User
 
jeanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,079
mmm I don't have much to say unfortunately! I can't replicate that problem, I would need a short test DVD to do that, then I'll figure out what the problem is. I'm not sure about the STC discontinuity, as far as I can tell, DVD2AVI does not seem to use the STC, but maybe I'm wrong (I haven't looked that hard). Tobii or r0lZ, could you possibly prepare a small version of the DVD and send it to me via www.yousendit.com? Make it as small as possible, just to let me see the problem.
About using DGIndex instead of DVD2AVI, it would have been a good idea when I started, but unfortunately, I didn't do it. Now I've added enough stuff to DVD2AVI that it would be quite a bit of work to replicate all these changes in DGIndex. Besides, I'm not sure how neuron2 would feel about having someone adding stuff to the code he now maintains....

jeanl
__________________
A few PgcEdit guides.
DVDSubEdit a free tool to edit subtitles directly inside the vob.
jeanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 18:11   #218  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank
I'm waiting for your update, or post the corrected line.
In both dvd_rom_size and dvd_rom_size_subdir, you have to change the first "return 0" to "return [list 0 0]":
Code:
proc dvd_rom_size {rootdir} {
	if {[catch {set allfiles [glob -tails -directory $rootdir *]}]} {
		return	[list 0 0]	;# BUG fixed; was: return 0
	}
	...
Let me know if it works...
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 18:16   #219  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanl
Tobii or r0lZ, could you possibly prepare a small version of the DVD and send it to me via www.yousendit.com? Make it as small as possible, just to let me see the problem.
Unfortunately, if I keep only the problematic cell with VobBlanker, the problem dissapear. Will try another method, but I'm not sure I will be able to give you a good example.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 19:05   #220  |  Link
frank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 737
@rOlZ
Bug fixed. Compiled and works!


What Tcl editor you are using?

Last edited by frank; 30th June 2005 at 19:12.
frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.