Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd April 2005, 16:08   #1  |  Link
3ncrypted
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 56
Comparing frames - How do I pull up a certain frame?

I've seen posts that contain screenshots of a certain frame from a movie, to compare before and after compression, etc.., and I'd like to compare some of mine that way. But I do don't know how to pull up an exact frame. Until now I've always tried to get the counter to the same spot of the movie, but I'm never able to get the same frame pulled up. Is there a software utility for doing this? Or is there a trick to doing it in my DVD player?(PowerDVD)

Last edited by 3ncrypted; 22nd April 2005 at 16:12.
3ncrypted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2005, 16:22   #2  |  Link
unskinnyboy
Registered User
 
unskinnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NTSC R1
Posts: 2,047
Load the movie into VirtualDubMod --> press Ctrl+G --> Jump to frame number __. Enter the frame number to compare here.

It will take you to that exact frame.
unskinnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2005, 16:51   #3  |  Link
3ncrypted
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 56
Ok, I downloaded and installed VirtualDubMod. When I open the vts file it says "parsing interleaved MPEG2 file". Does that mean it's altering the file? And it refers to the screen on the right as "filtered" or "output". Just wanted to check to see if it was altering or filtering the video file in any way.

Nice to be able to goto an exact frame. Thanks for letting me know about this program.
3ncrypted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2005, 18:18   #4  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
No, it's not altering your video. "Parsing" means an index of frame locations is being built; that's how you can jump to a specific frame. *If* you apply any filters, the filtered output will be in the filtered pane. If not, the two panes will show the same thing.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2005, 19:08   #5  |  Link
3ncrypted
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 56
Ok..thanks. Really appreciate your help.
3ncrypted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.