Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Capturing Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th January 2002, 03:02   #1  |  Link
leopardone
HiTechMonkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 106
ATI AIW Radeon Audio Sync

Hello world!
I gotta probz with my AIW when I capture tv/sat with the Ati program solded with the AIW.
The file (mpeg1 - 356x288 - 25fps - 1600 Video Bit Rate) created by the prog is ok, with audio/video sync.
But when I try to cut it in order to burn the xVcd it lost the audio/video sync (I've tried with VCDCutter and M2-Edit).

There is someone who can help me?!?!?!?!

Plzzzzzzzzzzzzz!!!


Tnx!
leopardone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2002, 20:47   #2  |  Link
Cart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 96

Are you sure you're cutting on a key (I) frame?
As a last resort, you could reencode the audio with an offset and remux it with the video.

-Cart
http://www.geocities.com/lukesvideo/index.html
Cart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2002, 21:35   #3  |  Link
leopardone
HiTechMonkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 106

Sorry m8, but I'm veeeeeeeeeeeeery new to the world of digital video...
I know you wrote to me the solution, but I don't understand anything... (SIGH!)
  • cutting on a key (I) frame
    Sigh... dunno what it means...
  • reencode the audio with an offset
    The same as upper phrase...
    What is a "offset"?

Btw... thx for this "first" part of help!



LEO
leopardone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2002, 00:17   #4  |  Link
Cart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 96

The frames in an MPEG video are bunched together in groups of frames. Some of the frames in each group rely on the previous or next frame. I frames, the key frames, don't rely on their neighbors. When cutting a video, you have cut at a key frame or reencode a regular frame to be key frame. Please note that I don't cut MPEG videos so I don't know how software handles this. My advice is to read through the guides here at Doom9 and at www.VCDHelp.com.

If that doesn't help, you can decode the MPEG audio to a WAV file, perform the necessary modifications to preserve the synch, and reencode the audio. Is the audio off by a consistent amount, or does the synch get progressively worse? For the first case, you'll have to offset the audio, and in the second case, you'll have to change the frame of the video or shrink/expand audio. Cool Edit 2000, VirtualDub, and TMPGEnc are tools you can use.

-Cart
http://www.geocities.com/lukesvideo/index.html
Cart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2002, 01:30   #5  |  Link
leopardone
HiTechMonkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 106
My english is a little "desperate" one, but...
  • you have cut at a key frame
    How can I do that? With which software?
  • reencode a regular frame to be key frame
    How can I do that? With which software? (2)
  • My advice is to read through the guides here at Doom9 and at www.VCDHelp.com
    Before askin' here I've tried to find a solution reading, but... I didn't find/understand...
  • you can decode the MPEG audio to a WAV file
    How can I do that? With which software? (3)
  • perform the necessary modifications to preserve the synch
    What?
  • and reencode the audio
    ?
  • the synch get progressively worse? You'll have to change the frame of the video or shrink/expand audio. Cool Edit 2000, VirtualDub, and TMPGEnc are tools you can use
    Sigh... this is the prob! But... how make the things you wrote?

Thx a lot for your help!


Btw: this kind of prob appeared only in the last period...
Before of one month ago, to avoid this kind of prob, I used M2-Edit makind a demux/mux of the files: doing that the problem disappeared.
But now this method doesn't work anymore...
leopardone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2002, 02:38   #6  |  Link
leopardone
HiTechMonkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 106

mmm...
maybe i found the method!
1. spit audio/video with VCDCutter
2. remux audo/video with M2-Edit
3. cut the new file with M2-Edit
In this way it seems the sync is still ok...
I'll let ya know if it's really ok!
leopardone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2002, 13:09   #7  |  Link
cluxy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2

r u using ATI MMC 7.1 or 7.2? those have audio sync problem when u try to cut it. headover to www.rage3d.com and do a search for ATI MMC 7.5 in the forum. You have to also installed Windows Media player 7.1 too because they forgot to packed it with zip, and if u don't want to have any problem launching MMC 7.5 after installing it.
cluxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2002, 18:17   #8  |  Link
leopardone
HiTechMonkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 106

oh.. thx!
downloading right now!!!
thx a lot again!
leopardone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2002, 23:02   #9  |  Link
leopardone
HiTechMonkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 106

Ok.. downloaded but not yet installed...
I'll do it asap.
But now, as collector of probz, I've got a new one!
The audio, with me method above, seems ok!
But now the video is... fu***d!
I mean...
When I try to cut the mpeg file, inside the film, randomly, appears a lot of errors (like the one when you lost the signal of the sat - green blocks/skratched images).
The source is not protected in any way (I'm sure).

Sigh... I'll become the champion of strange probz...
leopardone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2002, 07:52   #10  |  Link
Cart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 96

Have you tried do the multiplexing and demultiplexing with bbMPEG?:
http://members.home.net/beyeler/bbmpeg.html

As an alternative, you could capture to an AVI and compress the video to MPEG later. This would take more effort, but it would provide better quality and avoid the MPEG cutting issues.

-Cart
http://members.home.net/beyeler/bbmpeg.html
Cart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2002, 18:57   #11  |  Link
cluxy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2

no matter what u do with that old mpeg u capped with 7.1 or 7.2, u'll get problem. So the best way to put it is to recap it with 7.5. i know this because i have tried different way and the best way is to demux with tmpgenc and remux with bbmpeg with delay added, but the result is not that great since the delay varies throughout the mpeg.
cluxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2002, 22:03   #12  |  Link
leopardone
HiTechMonkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 106
OK.
Tnx you all for those helps!
I've downloaded the 7.5 ver. (previous download was corrupted! )
Tnx again!
leopardone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.