Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > DVD2AVI / DGIndex

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th February 2005, 00:32   #121  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Woe is me. It fails in the release build but not in the debug build.

Back to printf's.
Guest is offline  
Old 15th February 2005, 10:06   #122  |  Link
wolfsoft
Registered User
 
wolfsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: China
Posts: 33
When would vfapi update?
wolfsoft is offline  
Old 15th February 2005, 13:59   #123  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
@wolfsoft

I don't understand your question. DGVfapi is in the RC5 zip file.
Guest is offline  
Old 15th February 2005, 17:05   #124  |  Link
quinn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 66
Using the latest version (RC5) - I have a VOB file that has a 15 second delay on the audio.

DGIndex does not add ANY information about delays in the name of the ac3 file that is extracted.

Using a different vob with 0-second delay, everything is fine...

Same thing happens with RC3.
quinn is offline  
Old 15th February 2005, 18:07   #125  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
If it is greater than 5 seconds, DGIndex does not report it, the idea being that something is dreadfully wrong.
Guest is offline  
Old 15th February 2005, 18:12   #126  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,292
I have one DVD where the delay is really very long, over 8 seconds IIRC. It's Evil Dead, Elite Entertainment's release and the massive delay is on Bruce Campbell's commentary track. I don't know why they didn't just use silence instead
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline  
Old 15th February 2005, 18:18   #127  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
A user reported normal delay of 23 sec here:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=90039
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline  
Old 15th February 2005, 18:46   #128  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
I'll just report whatever it calculates, then.
Guest is offline  
Old 15th February 2005, 18:50   #129  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Those delay calculations seem to be pain in butt, aren't they?
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline  
Old 15th February 2005, 21:37   #130  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 4,738
The reason for those huge delays may be:

At the beginning, there is audio only in audio stream 0 (the first, probably english audio stream) during the playback of a publisher trailer (e.g. Columbia TriStar, Warner Bros., ...).

After the end of this trailer, all the other audio streams start where they have to start to achieve synchronity in their respective languages.

I'm not sure why this works at all; maybe at the end of the trailer, a cell command kicks in which switches to the selected audio stream; maybe the player simply plays the first stream as long as there is no audio in the selected one (although I rather doubt that)...
LigH is offline  
Old 16th February 2005, 23:56   #131  |  Link
Spyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: france
Posts: 98
hi,

why dgindex (1.2.0 RC5) show "interlaced" in "frame type" for a lot of my movies that are not interlaced at all ?

framerate is also wrong for some movies : dgindex show 20 fps but the movie is 25 fps

sorry for english

Last edited by Spyn; 17th February 2005 at 00:08.
Spyn is offline  
Old 17th February 2005, 01:18   #132  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
I have a feeling that % of FILM calculation after d2v format was changed is slightly off... I used to rely on that number to calculate total number of frames in D2V and now in some rare cases (haven't traced them yet) I seem to miss the mark somehow. Or may be the way frames are represented has changed? Previously I had to discard first 4 numbers in a D2V line to get number of frames in a GOP (and that always worked OK), now I'm discarding 6. Anything wrong with that?
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline  
Old 17th February 2005, 02:56   #133  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally posted by Spyn
why dgindex (1.2.0 RC5) show "interlaced" in "frame type" for a lot of my movies that are not interlaced at all ?
Because that is what the MPEG stream is saying about the frame.

Quote:
framerate is also wrong for some movies : dgindex show 20 fps but the movie is 25 fps
Probably you have force film set inadvertently.

Last edited by Guest; 18th February 2005 at 00:12.
Guest is offline  
Old 17th February 2005, 02:57   #134  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally posted by len0x
I have a feeling that % of FILM calculation after d2v format was changed is slightly off... I used to rely on that number to calculate total number of frames in D2V and now in some rare cases (haven't traced them yet) I seem to miss the mark somehow. Or may be the way frames are represented has changed? Previously I had to discard first 4 numbers in a D2V line to get number of frames in a GOP (and that always worked OK), now I'm discarding 6. Anything wrong with that?
It hasn't changed.

Yes, you skip the first 6 now.
Guest is offline  
Old 18th February 2005, 15:31   #135  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally posted by Boulder
A bugreport from elsewhere : the filter BlindPP() doesn't work anymore. When you load a script with BlindPP() in VDub, it just vanishes.
When support for 4:2:2 was added the developer neglected to make the QP_store array big enough for that. I fixed that. I assume you had the problem only with YUY2, because I couldn't make it fail with YV12, and the YV12 code looked fine.

Quote:
Also it probably has the same postprocessing bugs that MPEG2Source() had.
No, because they both call the same functions. The only difference is that BlindPP() creates a quant array out of whole cloth.

I will now close this thread as 1.2.0 has gone final. Thank you very much to all posters who contributed bug reports and suggestions. Your collective perspicacity is an important, nay, indispensible, ingredient in the success of our tools.
Guest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.