Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > (Auto) Gordian Knot

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th February 2005, 15:22   #1  |  Link
inman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
AKG 1.91b problems

I updated to AGK 1.91b yesterday and ripped a DVD overnight. It was a 2hr 55mins long movie which I ripped into 2CDs with Xvid video and 128 Kbps VBR MP3 audio plus external subtitles.

Ripping finished in 9.5 hrs (thats normal) but when I played the video file, the audio was totally out of sync. It is was out by about 23 secs. Now I had to sync manually using VdubMod. 2 days before I used AGK 1.90b with the same settings and same codecs to rip another movie of 2.5hrs duration and I got perfect output. In between I DIDNT uninstall or reinstall any codec.

Any idea?
inman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 15:35   #2  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Please post the audio delay from AC3 file in agk_tmp dir and stream info file for that movie.

P.S. Also if you still have 1.90 then you can try ripping it until comp test starts and tell me what is the delay in ac3 file there.
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 15:37   #3  |  Link
unskinnyboy
Registered User
 
unskinnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NTSC R1
Posts: 2,047
This is not an issue with any of the codecs. Does your movie have like a logo in the beginning? If so, unselect it while decrypting and then try. It'd be the first chapter or PGC cell (probably 23 secs long).

Also, what does the contents of 'VTS_01 - Stream Information.txt' say? Does it indicate any delay for your audio stream?

For example, do you see something like this inside it?
Quote:
0x81 - Audio - AC3 / 6ch / 48kHz / DRC / English / LBA: 119 / PTS: 00:00:00.280 / Delay: -66ms
If your stream indicates a delay, sometimes AutoGK misses it. Then you'd have to manually reinterleave with that delay and things should be fine.

Similar topics of discussion:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=87613
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=82884
unskinnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 15:39   #4  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally posted by unskinnyboy
Does your movie have like a logo in the beginning? If so, unselect it while decrypting and then try. It'd be the first chapter or PGC cell (probably 23 secs long).
Good thinking I just hope its not latest DGIndex problem
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 18:23   #5  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
An update - latest DGIndex doesn't report delays > 5s...
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 19:07   #6  |  Link
unskinnyboy
Registered User
 
unskinnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NTSC R1
Posts: 2,047
Quote:
Originally posted by len0x
An update - latest DGIndex doesn't report delays > 5s...
So manual reinterleaving after encoding as per the stream information text seems to be the only way to get it right?
unskinnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 19:08   #7  |  Link
inman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Yes, the stream information file shows
"0x80 - Audio - AC3 / 6ch / 48kHz / DRC / Malayalam / LBA: 8350 / PTS: 00:00:23.918 / Delay: 23618ms"

But the ac3 file in agk_tmp folder is "Rv AC3 T01 3_2ch 448Kbps.ac3"
Looks like it skipped the delay part. Can you fix this error in the upcoming versions, lenox?
inman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 19:10   #8  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Me, no. But Neuron2 promised to fix that in DGIndex.
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2005, 19:16   #9  |  Link
unskinnyboy
Registered User
 
unskinnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NTSC R1
Posts: 2,047
Quote:
Originally posted by inman
Yes, the stream information file shows
"0x80 - Audio - AC3 / 6ch / 48kHz / DRC / Malayalam / LBA: 8350 / PTS: 00:00:23.918 / Delay: 23618ms"

But the ac3 file in agk_tmp folder is "Rv AC3 T01 3_2ch 448Kbps.ac3"
Looks like it skipped the delay part. Can you fix this error in the upcoming versions, lenox?
There you go! You have to reinterleave with exactly 23618ms and you should be all set.

This is not an error on len0x's part. AutoGK can only work with what DGIndex gives it. So looks like a case for DG as to why DGIndex missed capturing the delay.
unskinnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.