Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > (Auto) Gordian Knot

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th May 2004, 17:28   #21  |  Link
spaeter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12
GREAT!!! IT WORKS!!!!

I merge the file proxyoff.reg, start autogknot 1.25 and.... I don't have the error anymore!!!

look, this is the log file... it's running the first pass...

Code:
[26/05/04 17.45.00] AutoGK 1.25
[26/05/04 17.45.00] OS: WinXP (5.1.2600).2
[26/05/04 17.45.00] Job started.
[26/05/04 17.45.00] Input dir: C:\******\VIDEO_TS
[26/05/04 17.45.00] Output file: C:\******\VIDEO_TS\******.avi
[26/05/04 17.45.00] Audio: Italiano
[26/05/04 17.45.00] Subtitles: none
[26/05/04 17.45.00] Codec: DivX
[26/05/04 17.45.00] Target size: 1400Mb
[26/05/04 17.45.00] Started encoding.
[26/05/04 17.45.00] Demuxing and indexing.
[26/05/04 17.50.13] Analyzing source.
[26/05/04 18.02.39] Source is considered to be progressive.
[26/05/04 18.02.41] Found 196160 frames
[26/05/04 18.02.41] Audio size: 376,627,200 bytes (359.18 Mb)
[26/05/04 18.02.41] Overhead: 6,116,608 bytes (5.83 Mb)
[26/05/04 18.02.41] Video size: 1,085,262,592 bytes (1034.99 Mb)
[26/05/04 18.02.41] Target bitrate is: 1107kbps
[26/05/04 18.02.41] Running compressibility test.
[26/05/04 18.12.58] Duration was: 10 minutes 15 seconds
[26/05/04 18.12.59] Speed was: 15,94 fps.
[26/05/04 18.13.00] Compressibility percentage is: 77,02
[26/05/04 18.13.00] Chosen resolution is: 704x288 ( AR: 2,44 )
[26/05/04 18.13.00] Predicted comptest value is: 77,02
[26/05/04 18.13.00] Running first pass.
Now I wait for the end of the job and then I try with xvid.

Thanks for all
spaeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2004, 18:26   #22  |  Link
darkCapricorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Great! len0x, perhaps these registry entries could be confirmed (and changed if necessary) by the AutoGK installer since it seems that AutoGK relies on them?

BTW, AutoGK is truly fantastic. Thank you for providing such a useful tool.
darkCapricorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2004, 08:30   #23  |  Link
spaeter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12
This night, I do the encoding with both divx and xvid codecs without problems.

Lasted about 4 hours and half for each job.

Results are ok!!!

bye!!
spaeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2005, 05:27   #24  |  Link
byoblu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 11
I have the same problem

Hallo,
I installed AutoGordianKnot 1.60 on a Xp Sp2 pc.
The first two encoding (divx 5.1) run great, but since the third I started with the
*************************************
EXCEPTION: Open avi failed.
*************************************

I can copy or delete my "Happy Days - 9x16 - Un tocco di classico_comptest.avi" file, but GSpot says that isn't a valid avi file.

I'm wondering why, if first two times went great, then it happened?

I used the register info you wrote in this thread and my reg seems to be fine.

Please, what should I do?

Thank'you very much.

Claudio (ByoBlu)
byoblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2005, 12:37   #25  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Re: I have the same problem

Quote:
Originally posted by byoblu
but GSpot says that isn't a valid avi file.
That's the key. Unless this is solved AutoGK won't work properly. May be codec or playback filter got borken by another software and needs to be reinstalled.
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 02:17   #26  |  Link
byoblu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 11
Dear len0x,
thanks for your reply.

In fact what happens to me is unbelievable.

After having installed AutoGordianKnot for the first time I thought it was fantastic. I run two jobs and all worked great.
When AGK finished jobs list and I added some more job and clicked start again, "OPEN AVI" exception begun to be raised up. No matter what '.reg' file I merged in the register: AGK was no more able to encode.

So I checked AGK website and found the very last version. I installed it over mine.
A kind of magic: AGK worked again and I eventually thought that was my definitive killer application tool.
Nevertheless, I was disappointed when after the first job list ended without errors, (and after having stopped AGK and started a new group of jobs) the OPEN AVI curse came back to life again.

Neither a total AGK uninstallation-reinstallation seemed to solve the problem.

So I thought that it was a problem on my livingroom-pc (Win XP Home Sp2, P43,2Ghz HypThreading), and installed AGK on my XP Prof SP2 located in the kitchen (another P4 3,2Ghz HyperThreading).

Wow... I tried to add a list of jobs made up of 10 ".mpg", and they all perfectly worked. So my problem seemed to be solved by switching to a more appropriated "codec clean" PC.

Imagine my face when adding more jobs and clicking start again (I didn't exit the program) the OPEN AVI exception was raised again.

I am very desperate. What should I do?

The only thing I do after finishing a group of MPG encodings is checking each encoded AVI before archiving.
To do so I open AVIs with Divx player 2.6 (by Divx.Com), or Windows Mplayer version 10.

Is it possible that this operation restores some codec that AGK doesn't like?
What should I do to reset the situation to be able to work again?

What ckecks do you suggest I should do?

Thank you very much for your kind support.

Claudio

p.s. ..I was a satisfied user of an owned copy of DrDivx, but can't use it anymore because since some times ago it has a problem when boosting audio: the encoded Divx has some movie segments in which the audio lowers almost to zero after a video and audio noise! Moreover, even without the boost option enabled, very often DrDivx crashes at 99% of the second pass.

Very Desperate man..... :-)

Last edited by byoblu; 7th February 2005 at 02:30.
byoblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 03:07   #27  |  Link
fewtch
Registered User
 
fewtch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 208
How about try uninstalling/reinstalling *all* codecs on the PC in question, both video and audio... maybe use some utility like XviD's Vidc.Cleaner also...
fewtch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 17:14   #28  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally posted by byoblu
The only thing I do after finishing a group of MPG encodings is checking each encoded AVI before archiving.
To do so I open AVIs with Divx player 2.6 (by Divx.Com), or Windows Mplayer version 10.
Hm... Are you're using DivX for your encodes? Can you try XviD instead and don't use DivX player for viewing. WMP should be safe to use - it won't do anything to the codecs, but DivX player might actually do something with DivX codec installed.
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 17:49   #29  |  Link
byoblu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 11
Hi again,
I uninstalled every video/audio app, and merged the AviResetAll.reg file I found on doom9 (I think).

Then reinstalled just DivxPro (I paid for it), bundled with last version of DrDivx, and AutoGordianKnot.

The open Avi exception was still there....

I also tried a few minutes ago the xVid conversione, and take a look at the result:

[07/02/2005 17.34.42] AutoGK 1.89b
[07/02/2005 17.34.42] OS: WinXP (5.1.2600).2
[07/02/2005 17.34.42] Job started.
[07/02/2005 17.34.42] Input file: Happy Days - 9x16 - Un tocco di classico.mpg
[07/02/2005 17.34.42] Output file: D:\DVD_BUILD\Happy Days - 9x16 - Un tocco di classico.avi
[07/02/2005 17.34.42] Audio: Audio Stream 0
[07/02/2005 17.34.42] Subtitles: none
[07/02/2005 17.34.42] Codec: XviD
[07/02/2005 17.34.42] Target size: 233Mb
[07/02/2005 17.34.42] Custom audio settings: VBR MP3 with average bitrate: 128Kbps
[07/02/2005 17.34.42] Started encoding.
[07/02/2005 17.34.42] Demuxing and indexing.
[07/02/2005 17.34.57] Processing file: D:\DVD_BUILD\Happy Days - 9x16 - Un tocco di classico.mpg
[07/02/2005 17.34.57] Source aspect ratio: 4:3
[07/02/2005 17.34.57] Source resolution: 704x576
[07/02/2005 17.34.57] Found PAL source.
[07/02/2005 17.34.57] Analyzing source.
[07/02/2005 17.35.54] Source is considered to be interlaced.
[07/02/2005 17.35.54] Output will contain 35933 frames
[07/02/2005 17.35.54] Encoding audio.
[07/02/2005 17.37.54] Audio size: 24,718,848 bytes (23.57 Mb)
[07/02/2005 17.37.54] Overhead: 1,437,312 bytes (1.37 Mb)
[07/02/2005 17.37.54] Video size: 218,162,048 bytes (208.06 Mb)
[07/02/2005 17.37.54] Running compressibility test.
[07/02/2005 17.37.57] Duration was: 2 seconds
[07/02/2005 17.37.57] Speed was: 821,33 fps.
*************************************
EXCEPTION: Open avi failed.
*************************************
[07/02/2005 17.37.57] Job finished. Total time: 3 minutes 15 seconds
====================================================


As you can see, nor uninstalling neither trying xVid solved my problem.

GSpot keeps saying that "*_comptest.avi" isn't a valid AVI file.
Keep in mind that "*_comptest.avi" is actually THE ONLY file I can't play, since I am normally able to play all AVIs on my PC, Divx codecs or not.

Dear Len0x, a question for you: what is the "_comptest.avi" for? I mean: why is it needed? The software analyses extracts video and audio, normalize and compress audio into MP3, then should start analysing video for the firs pass, isn't it? So why do we need an intermediate _comptest.avi file, and why do we need to open it before the First Pass step, which should only involve the original MPG file?

Even if I'm a programmer, I'm not an expert of video matter so I guess I couldn't be of any help. Nevertheless I'm curios about the _comptest.avi that seems to be the origin of my problems.

Thank'you very much.

CLaudio

ps = What program should I use to "programmatically" clean all of the audio/video codecs?
For instance, even if I uninstalled all of the audio/video software, still after reboot I was able to play MPG files with Ciberlink and "Nero shows" codec that seemed to be still there on my hard drive.
byoblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 17:58   #30  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally posted by byoblu
GSpot keeps saying that "*_comptest.avi" isn't a valid AVI file.
Keep in mind that "*_comptest.avi" is actually THE ONLY file I can't play, since I am normally able to play all AVIs on my PC, Divx codecs or not.
Can you make it available for me to download? Its compressibility test file that AutoGK extracts resolution/AR info from.
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 18:07   #31  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
I got the file, but deleted the attachment, so that it doesn't take up space on the forum. I see that _comptest.avi is empty! This means that probably that codec can't be accessed at all...

P.S. Sorry I accidently removed your post as well

*Edit*
Can you try to do this: open _comptest.avs in VDubMod go to compresion adn select single pass in XviD/DivX and try to save AVI file?
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ

Last edited by len0x; 7th February 2005 at 18:12.
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 18:11   #32  |  Link
byoblu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 11
Uhm....
My filesystem says it's length is 16384 Kb.
Nevertheless opening it with Notepad results in a long (scroll bar becomes small) file all white.

What does it mean if the _comptest.avi file is empty?
I mean: agk creates an empty _comptest.avi file, so what should I do?

Claudio
byoblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 18:13   #33  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Empty means it contains only 00 bytes
Please check my edit comment in the previous post.
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 18:28   #34  |  Link
byoblu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 11
Dear friend,
I opend VirtualDubMPEG2 (don't have VDubMod but I hope it's the same), I opened "Happy Days - 9x16 - Un tocco di classico_comptest.avs" and went to Compression.
I choosed Divx5.2.1, entered config settings and choosed 1pass.
When I tried the "save avi" menu command, VDub suddenly shut down.
The same applied even when I tried to compress with xVid.

In fact, this is the exact behaviour that I can always observe just before AGK says OPEN AVI Exception.



When I was choosing Divx5.2.1 I noticed I could see two Divx5.2.1, one with FourCC "divx" (driver DivX.dll) and one with fourCC "yv12" (driver "divx.dll" all lowercase). Do you think is normal?

Claudio

p.s. The _comptest.avs file is:
LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\AutoGK\DGMPGDec\DGDecode.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\AutoGK\filters\autocrop.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\AutoGK\filters\RemoveGrain.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\AutoGK\filters\kerneldeint.dll")

movie = mpeg2source("D:\DVD_BUILD\agk_tmp\Happy Days - 9x16 - Un tocco di classico.d2v")
cropclip = autocrop(movie,mode=0,wmultof=4,hmultof=4,samples=10,aspect=0,threshold=34,samplestartframe=0,leftadd=0,rightadd=0,topadd=0,bottomadd=0)
fixed_aspect = 1.09090909090909
c_width = width(cropclip)
c_height = round(height(cropclip) / fixed_aspect)
input_par = float(c_width)/float(c_height)
input_par = input_par > 1.4 ? input_par : (4.0/3.0)
out_width = 640
out_height = round(float(out_width) / input_par)
hmod = out_height - (floor(out_height / 16 ) * 16)
out_height = (hmod > 4) ? (out_height + (16 - hmod)) : (out_height - hmod)
new_aspect = (float(out_width) / float(out_height)) / fixed_aspect
KernelDeInt(movie,order=1,sharp=true)
autocrop(mode=0,wmultof=4,hmultof=4,samples=10,aspect=new_aspect,threshold=34,samplestartframe=0,leftadd=0,rightadd=0,topadd=0,bottomadd=0)
LanczosResize(out_width,out_height)
RemoveGrain(mode=2)
SelectRangeEvery(250,15)

Last edited by byoblu; 7th February 2005 at 18:33.
byoblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 18:47   #35  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Something is seriously buggered on your system... Try this: uninstall Dr.DivX and any other DivX software you might have and try making an XviD encode.
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 20:01   #36  |  Link
byoblu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 11
:(((

I not only uninstalled all software video/audio related once again, but also deleted most codecs and directshow filters by using VCSwap for the first operation and DSFMgr for the second one.

Well... now my Windows Media Player doesn't even manage to recognize itself...
I installed again your AGK package and updated to version 1.89b.
Nor Divx codecs neither DrDivx are installed.

Well... I launched first encoding with Agk, using Xvid and...
the same..
Open Avi Exception.

How is it possible?

This makes me really upset and I'm loosing much of my time while trying to solve it..

Any idea?

Thanks again and again and again...
Claudio
byoblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 20:15   #37  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Its hard to troubleshoot that kind of problems - you must be the first one who has it VDubMod is clearly not happy when trying to decode YV12 stream (IMHO). Are you sure that divx.dll is not present in system directory?
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 20:47   #38  |  Link
byoblu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 11
No, divx.dll isn't anymore in the system directory.

I opened _comptest.avi with the Hex editor in the Tools menu of VDub, and the whole file is made up of zeroes.
Obviously the _comptest.avi wont play.

Where exactly the comptest.avi is created? What piece of software does it? May be taking a look inside that process could help..


As for the codecs, in VDub compression menu voice there are the following lines:

- Uncompressed RGB
- XviD MPEG-4 Codec
- XviD MPEG-4 Codec

Yes: two times Xvid. The firs has FOURCC code: "xvid" and "xvidfw.dll", the second has FOURCC code "yv12" and again the same "xvidvfw.dll".
May be this is correct... don't know.

I hope not to have to install again the whole operating system to solve my problems..

Last edited by byoblu; 7th February 2005 at 21:30.
byoblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 21:21   #39  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally posted by byoblu
Anyway, is not that VDub doesn't like to encode at all. In facts, VDub perfectly encodes, but the file that Agk instructs to encode.
Is it only one file? I noticed that you're encoding MPG files - what are they? Can you encode normal vobs?

Quote:
Originally posted by byoblu
Yes: two times! The firs has FOURCC code: "xvid" and "xvidfw.dll", the second has FOURCC code "yv12" and again the same "xvidvfw.dll".
Its normal - AutoGK does that: YV12 decoder is needed for VDubMod to decode video properly.
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2005, 21:36   #40  |  Link
byoblu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 11
I added the following remark while editing my previous post:

"I opened _comptest.avi with the Hex editor in the Tools menu of VDub, and the whole file is made up of zeroes.
Obviously the _comptest.avi wont play.

Where exactly the comptest.avi is created? What piece of software does it? May be taking a look inside that process could help.."

The MPG files are created by MPEG-VCR, which is a useful tool that takes the VRO files from my Panasonic DVD-Recorder (tv shows) and save .mpg files on harddisk.

The MPG files actually I guess are OK, since I can play them with all players and the they are correctly detected by agk in the first encoding steps(involving DGINDEX and so on).

Even DrDivx doesn't have any problem in re-encoding those MPG in Divx format (a parte from the fact sometimes it crashes, but I guess is another kind of problem)


I don't know if VOB files encode, and I should make a test, but for now I'm too tired to start a DVD ripping and try the whole thing.
Still my question is: if the original MPG is decoded and it shows on the screen, why then the _comptest.avi is a list of zero bytes?

Ciao!
Claudio
byoblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.