Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > (Auto) Gordian Knot

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd December 2001, 20:43   #1  |  Link
KnowNayme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 4
Newbie has problems with GKnot

I followed the very simple guide for encoding DivX 4 movies with GKnot. Whenever GKnot gets to any of the video encoding steps, the output is nil (reports completion immediately with no output). Does anyone have any idea what I am doing wrong here?

Thank you.
KnowNayme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2001, 21:22   #2  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772

go to options and press 'delete registry keys', then close gknot.
reinstall the FULL (! really) pack 0.21.
run the upgrade 0.22.
get and install divx4.12.

ONLY rip with smartripper 2.40 movie mode and nothing else.

viola, it works!

wef.
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2001, 21:23   #3  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772

actually this is the easy solution for 99% of the problems dicussed in this forum.

wef.
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 02:23   #4  |  Link
KnowNayme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 4

Thanks for the general advice, but that did not fix my problem. I have now found that this occurs when I choose medium noise filter and put filter before resize. I am now using the low(?) noise filter with put filter before resize and it is working so far. Does anyone have a clue as to why I cannot use the medium noise filter before resize?
KnowNayme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 03:00   #5  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772

this (avisynth or spatial) bug has been discussed earlier in this forum. maybe i should completely remove the 'put noise filter before resizing' option? or just add a warning?

wef.
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 04:53   #6  |  Link
phuntyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 107
remove it I say

TheWEF, I think you should remove it. It would save the questions, "So why can't I do this or that". For those people that want that feature, they normally know what they are doing and would probably edit the file manually.
phuntyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 05:21   #7  |  Link
KnowNayme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 4

OK, thanks guys. Sorry I asked a question that has been dealt with before.
KnowNayme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 18:37   #8  |  Link
diji1
LOL-a-matic
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The largest country in Region 4.
Posts: 470

Quote:
...maybe i should completely remove the 'put noise filter before resizing' option? or just add a warning?
Hi WEF,

I wouldn't like it if you completely removed that option - i use it sometimes and it'd be more time-comsuming (ok, not much) to edit the file.

How about adding something to the faq about this as well as a warning ??

btw - many thanks for a truly excellent app - i luv it!

regards.
__________________
"The very rich are different from you and me" - F. Scott Fitzgerald
"Yeah, they have more money" - Ernest Hemingway
"What are you doing this weekend, Ania" - me ( damn she's beautiful ... ).
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
"movmasty is and was always right!"
diji1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.