Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > NLE - Non Linear Editing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd September 2004, 08:12   #1  |  Link
King_Diamond
Registered User
 
King_Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 173
Jerky titles in Adobe Premiere

Hello everyone.

I just finished a project in Premiere and exported it to an avi file. The problem is that that titles, especially credits look jerky.

I used the interlaced and lower field first but it shows same result on TFT or standard tv.

Can anyone help pls? If furthermore information is needed, pls tell me.
King_Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2004, 11:51   #2  |  Link
theReal
Piper at theGates of Dawn
 
theReal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,138
A little more information would probably be good:

Premiere Version? Video format (DV probably?)
How do you play the titles on tv (from graphics adapter to tv directly or do you record to DV tape and then play back on tv)?
Maybe you can upload a small part of the titles somewhere.
__________________
"Under a government which imprisons unjustly, the true place for a just man is also a prison"
Henry David Thoreau, On the duty of civil disobedience, 1849
theReal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2004, 12:13   #3  |  Link
King_Diamond
Registered User
 
King_Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 173
Using Premiere 6 and Pro. Both same problem. Yes DV PAL.
I play titles directly from the video card, through tv out.
I tried exporting just the credits and playing them on their own but with same results.
King_Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2004, 14:06   #4  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,359
is there some other editing software installed?
(the kind that will use its own codec and also took over the playback - with wrong field order ... , dunno, just guessing.)
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2004, 14:20   #5  |  Link
King_Diamond
Registered User
 
King_Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 173
Sorry but can't understand what you mean. I have Sony DV Gate and Windows Movie Maker installed. Does it make a difference?
King_Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2004, 17:42   #6  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,359
for example: if i edit something on liquid edition and i want to play that file later on some other machine with just native ms dv codecs, the field order will be wrong.
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2004, 10:20   #7  |  Link
King_Diamond
Registered User
 
King_Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 173
So you are suggesting that i should switch field order?

By the way, titles are jerky even in Premiere's preview, ie before exporting.
King_Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2004, 12:13   #8  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,359
can you post few frames? (jpegs will do) if not, please send to:
smok3.j at gmail dot come (only limit is 10 megs per one mail afaik)
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2004, 13:20   #9  |  Link
King_Diamond
Registered User
 
King_Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 173
I captured a frame but it looks good as a frame. It's when it is moving that looks jerky.

I can send you a title if you want but you need premiere to open it.
King_Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2004, 15:04   #10  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,359
then post a sekond or so of the most jerky part in dv-avi.
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2004, 15:41   #11  |  Link
King_Diamond
Registered User
 
King_Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 173
Have a 2 sec but can't post it here. Do you mind if I email you?
King_Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2004, 15:52   #12  |  Link
King_Diamond
Registered User
 
King_Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 173
Ok. I zipped it. Here it is.
Attached Files
File Type: zip sample.zip (152.1 KB, 107 views)
King_Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2004, 15:55   #13  |  Link
King_Diamond
Registered User
 
King_Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 173
I attached a zip file but can't see it in thread. Did I do something wrong?
King_Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2004, 18:45   #14  |  Link
dionisos
Pos-Production Addicted
 
dionisos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: BR
Posts: 21
check on adamwilt (www.adamwilt.com) site
he got some tips and issues about field order, color bleeding and others pathologies about titles on NLE's

hope it help
dionisos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2004, 09:32   #15  |  Link
King_Diamond
Registered User
 
King_Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 173
Attachment seems ok. Did anyone figure out the problem?
King_Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2004, 14:21   #16  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,359
this SEEMS to have something to do with:
- dv and hardedged graphic (especially white on black will look horrible)
- using very tiny fonts for interlaced tv (not recommended) - you are better of with sans-serif like arial.

(from my experiments - good quality mpeg2 (interlaced) will look better than dv for this specific purpose...)

------------------

you could try:

- reducing the contrast a bit (making white less white that is)
- generate that effect with some other software and import that into editor (like after effects, inscriber or something that will give you control on how hard the font edges will be...)
- use some other fonts
- do some other magic.

Last edited by smok3; 7th September 2004 at 14:24.
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2004, 19:27   #17  |  Link
theReal
Piper at theGates of Dawn
 
theReal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,138
[QUOTE]this SEEMS to have something to do with:
- dv and hardedged graphic (especially white on black will look horrible)
- using very tiny fonts for interlaced tv (not recommended) - you are better of with sans-serif like arial.
[QUOTE]I also think it looks like that. I.e. if you have a graphic with 1pt or 2pt lines the lines will always flicker on interlaced tv, nothing you can do about it except use thicker lines...
__________________
"Under a government which imprisons unjustly, the true place for a just man is also a prison"
Henry David Thoreau, On the duty of civil disobedience, 1849
theReal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2004, 12:00   #18  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,359
http://url removed cos i need my web...or other stuff (cca 5 megs)
a similar example, just encoded with liquid edition (that uses pinnacles
dv codec (afaik), still crapy..., so the solutions are clear .)

Last edited by smok3; 11th September 2004 at 07:52.
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2004, 22:04   #19  |  Link
King_Diamond
Registered User
 
King_Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 173
Sorry but didn't quiet understand what I should do. I have no other software to do titles except the premiere's built-in title editor. It has no line pts. Can you explain what I can do?

Wish to use same font and size.

Smok3, can't view link you posted. Does it uses a specific codec?

Last edited by King_Diamond; 10th September 2004 at 22:06.
King_Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2004, 15:39   #20  |  Link
King_Diamond
Registered User
 
King_Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 173
Just got into Adobe forum and this problem is mentioned in many threads but no definite answer. Seems AE has same problem too.

Any good suggestions pls?
King_Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.