Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD burning

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th July 2004, 21:32   #1  |  Link
T_J310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Help on weird ring in media

eh anyways i use princo 4x dvd-r on a pioneer 107d burning @ 8x :-)



many of thanx in advance
T_J310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2004, 23:29   #2  |  Link
DMagic1
Registered User
 
DMagic1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 504
Seen those on some of my media(Ritek, Prodisc, and Ricoh). If the burned disc doesn't have any problems when scanned or played, I wouldn't worry about it.
DMagic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2004, 23:23   #3  |  Link
T_J310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
oh it has problems big time

i think i figured it out

io have a pioneer 107d
using princo 4x media

when i first got the burner i was burning everything @ 8x

then dropped it down to 4x thats when it hit probs

now back upto 8x no dramas

the pc its on is a p4 2.8 512 ram so yer good enuff pc i say so unsure wat the heck is going on
T_J310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2004, 11:25   #4  |  Link
[_chéf_]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 52
If you choose to burn at 8x with the DVR-107 then it always starts at 6x and switches to 8x at around 670mb...

Princo media?
[_chéf_] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2004, 03:16   #5  |  Link
mudda_t
Circle Jerker #1
 
mudda_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Outside Looking In
Posts: 270
Your burning them too fast, even if the media is rated 4x switch to 2x or 8x to 4x. A lot of cheap media used in pioneer drives result in these lines. They might play fine in the pio drive but nothing else will read them correctly.
.
Out of curiosity are you using a hacked firmware?
__________________
My father was a smart man, the best advice he ever gave me was "son, never eat yellow snow".
mudda_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2004, 07:04   #6  |  Link
wesociety
WesleyTech.com
 
wesociety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally posted by mudda_t
Out of curiosity are you using a hacked firmware?
He must be using hacked firmware.
Stock firmware does not allow 8X burning on crap PRINCO discs as far as I know...
My recommendation: Completely avoid PRINCO media if possible.
wesociety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2004, 22:11   #7  |  Link
T_J310
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
thanx for ur replys

only problem is

4x burnt results in this ring

8x burnt results in a good burn !
havent really tried any other media as of yet maybe a few laser and unknown brands
the ritek go4 i think they are heard good comments all round but havent been able to find them anywhere in sydney australia thats driving distance and reasonably cheap so any of you guys from sydney know where i can get them from that would be radical knowing


fluidtek.com.au
im going to there shop in a few days they have a good range of stuff so ill see what happens when i get there

ill check in after that
T_J310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.