Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > One click suites for DVD backup and DVD creation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th December 2001, 14:15   #1  |  Link
dvd2svcd
Moderator
 
dvd2svcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On top of the world!
Posts: 1,837
Possible solutions to CCE crash between passes

Ok, I have now gone past 39% of Soldier. All I did was lowering the Max. Bitrate (2498) down to 2400 (if you have the time you can experiment with 2400 and go down from there). Could you all please try this too?
Just make sure that the Max. Avg. bitrate is smaller (with about 100) than Max. Bitrate
__________________
Cheers,
dvd2svcd
dvd2svcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2001, 15:16   #2  |  Link
cokeboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4
CCE crash between passes

DVD2SVCD ,


I encountered this problem with the 1.0.4 build 2 version... CCE simply hangs between passes or even when i tried to convert with 3pass , it hanged on the 3th pass somewhere at 63% etc... I must say I did not had this problem with the earlier versions of DVD2SVCD after I used the CRC patch on CCE . Is it coincidence I have this problem with the 1.0.4 build 2 or is it just a small bug ? I don't know, I even ran the CRC patch again on CCE but I did not have started a new conversion since.
Hope you'll find the cause of this ! If there's something we could try , I think all of us are happy to test it for you.


greets,


cokeboy
cokeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2001, 15:20   #3  |  Link
dvd2svcd
Moderator
 
dvd2svcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On top of the world!
Posts: 1,837

I have to make one thing completely clear to all of you. This is a bug in CCE not in dvd2svcd. However, since I'm constantly trying to find the optimal encoding settings, I sometimes change the default values. And some time back I changed the max. bitrate from 2300 to 2498, that might have been a mistake.
__________________
Cheers,
dvd2svcd
dvd2svcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2001, 15:26   #4  |  Link
cokeboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4

can be , anyways love your proggie , it's th best out there ! keep up the good work , big respect!

P.S. : i did re-encode the movie that was giving me probs (the watcher) on 2pass , it hanged on 99% , so i have a good rip
i'm gonna run some test though , lowering the max bitrate etc..
and i'll keep checking this forum

regards,


cokeboy
cokeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2001, 16:25   #5  |  Link
saber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Delta quadrant
Posts: 53

I have the same problem. But, if I keep using the machine during the encoding process, everything goes by the book. Believe me, using the PC 16hrs straight just to test that was not a small task... Only for DVD2SVCD...
saber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2001, 18:04   #6  |  Link
pgon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2

When I run DVD2SVCD I disable all screensavers, scheduled tasks and all daemons and small programs running in windows. I also unchecked all the boxes for monitor power saving and hard drive standby (or something).
Now CCE never hangs. Maybe you can try it too.
pgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2001, 18:07   #7  |  Link
dvd2svcd
Moderator
 
dvd2svcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On top of the world!
Posts: 1,837

@pgon: Thanks for you suggestion, unfortunately I'm afraid it doesn't apply in all cases. As I have 3 computers with totally different setups (software and hardware) some with a lot of background software and some with none (or next to none). The solution I'm searching for is a solution that will work every time, and so far it seems that I have found it, as described above.
__________________
Cheers,
dvd2svcd
dvd2svcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2001, 18:22   #8  |  Link
saber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Delta quadrant
Posts: 53

I also tried disabling all daemons, tasks, APM, anything you can think of.
Im trying the DVD2SVCD settings from above. Will see in some 16 hrs...
saber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2001, 16:32   #9  |  Link
fsuk74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2
Hi

I did some successful rips with DVD2SVCD, now I have this problem in CCE for the first time (CCE stops, 100% CPU usage)

The calculated bitrate for the movie is ~2100

1. try: Max Rate 2498, Max Avg 2300
-> Stops at 19%
2. try: Max Rate 2400, Max Avg 2200
-> Stops at 19%
3. try: Max Rate 2200, Max Avg 2080
-> Runs right now at 25%, we'll se how far it get

Could the reason be that in the 3. one the Max Avg is LOWER than the calculated bitrate?

Last edited by fsuk74; 10th December 2001 at 16:38.
fsuk74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2001, 09:05   #10  |  Link
fsuk74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2

OK, the conversion went through, so changing the Rate really HAS an effect.
But I'm not sure if it is the direct source for the problem, or if the success is just a side-effect (changing the Bitrate could have MANY effects - who know how CCE internaly works...)
fsuk74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2001, 20:26   #11  |  Link
saber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Delta quadrant
Posts: 53

Ive got a partial solution. This is what Ive done: I rip the movies 4-8 chapters at the time. It is surely not the best way, but have got no CCE crashes till now.
Then joined the parts and went all ok.
Also, the quality is excellent.
Later I'll try to do it more chapters at the time.
saber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2001, 23:32   #12  |  Link
Dropbear
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 115

I'm trying to encode SWORDFISH Region 4, and it stops at 22% for me. Have now tried different bitrate settings such as

Max 2498, 2250 AVG
Max 2498, 2150 AVG
Max 2498, 1950 AVG

and they all fail at the same place

I will try and lower the max bitrate down around 2200 with an average of 2000 and see how that goes! very annoying..
__________________
ABIT NF7-S, Athlon 2500+@2100
Dropbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.