Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd May 2004, 18:27   #1  |  Link
borndevil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 40
Does RB quality supposed to be same as BIG 3 ?

I tried DVDRb instead BIG 3 as I had problems with audio sync.
Audio of a .vob was extracted and declared with 6000ms delay
(seen on the file name also) but somewhere the chain didn't care about it and audio start-up 6 secs before video.
I never understood why, so I tried RB.

I left the result of BIG 3 video in a folder and started
with RB using same settings of CCE that DIF4U choosed.
The easy of RB is impressive but compared to BIG 3
is less perfect, more blocky and all with same CCE setting.

It must be dynamic sampler, I thought, and I de-selected it.
The result is better (? maybe for my kind of video) but still less perfect than BIG 3 video. So... is RB quality supposed to be as well as BIG 3 quality, using same set-up?

Xcuse me for my english, thank you
borndevil
borndevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2004, 18:40   #2  |  Link
DDogg
Retired, but still around
 
DDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 3,058
I don't think anybody is going to touch a "better" question like this.

dvd-rb is still early beta and has not yet dealt with smart bitrate allocation. Until then, it is very possible that a big 3 encode using better bitrate allocation could yield an encode visually superior to one generated by dvd-rb. This is especially true if the source is complex and the main movie requires a high level of the available bitrate to achieve good results. As said, it is in early beta, patience is a virtue You should try the 1/2-1/2 option in dvd-rb for these type of problem encodes. That is why it was put in.

Arguably the unique core process dvd-rb uses is technically superior to any other apps as it restores the original structure on hybrids when the video is reassembled. This is a huge feature of dvd-rb, but one that is fairly transparent to most users.
DDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2004, 18:56   #3  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,758
Re: Does RB quality supposed to be same as BIG 3 ?

Quote:
Originally posted by borndevil
I tried DVDRb instead BIG 3 as I had problems with audio sync.
Audio of a .vob was extracted and declared with 6000ms delay
(seen on the file name also) but somewhere the chain didn't care about it and audio start-up 6 secs before video.
I never understood why, so I tried RB.

I left the result of BIG 3 video in a folder and started
with RB using same settings of CCE that DIF4U choosed.
The easy of RB is impressive but compared to BIG 3
is less perfect, more blocky and all with same CCE setting.

It must be dynamic sampler, I thought, and I de-selected it.
The result is better (? maybe for my kind of video) but still less perfect than BIG 3 video. So... is RB quality supposed to be as well as BIG 3 quality, using same set-up?

Xcuse me for my english, thank you
borndevil
I respectfully question the validity of your test. If you are using the same encoder, with the same bitrate, and the same source, you will get the same output... there isn't a lot left up to chance.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2004, 13:05   #4  |  Link
borndevil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 40
Only settings are available on RB about bitrate allocation are:

- dynamic allocation

and for CCE:

- Quality
- Passes
- Bias

Same last settings are available on DCCE4U for each of vob processed. As the dvd of my test is a music-video-DVD I selected in DI4U all vobs as "main". So I took DCCE4U settings that were passed from DI4U and used them for DVDRB. Results are different, and I can't understand why, 'cause as jdobbs says CCE is the same, settings are the same, output should be the same, but it isn't.

So it must be something about the way DVDRB manages CCE settings... or?
borndevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2004, 14:27   #5  |  Link
robw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 81
There is really no way of concluding this type of discussion. The fact is -- this is an exceptionally simple to use program and does a fantastic job. Trying to compare this program with any other will leave most people shaking their heads and a few from each side that will never agree. The real, and ultimately only, point is for each willing user to give it a try and judge the results for themselves.
robw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2004, 14:38   #6  |  Link
borndevil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 40
I agree, DVDRB is a spectacular way to do.
But this is not the point: BIG3 are a way to re-arrange
and re-author a title, but the core can be the same of RB: CCE.
Other things that are around don't make images, only encoder do.

That's why I'm confused.
What's strange in my way of thinkin'?
borndevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2004, 14:53   #7  |  Link
UninTY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally posted by borndevil
Only settings are available on RB about bitrate allocation are:

- dynamic allocation

and for CCE:

- Quality
- Passes
- Bias

Same last settings are available on DCCE4U for each of vob processed. As the dvd of my test is a music-video-DVD I selected in DI4U all vobs as "main". So I took DCCE4U settings that were passed from DI4U and used them for DVDRB. Results are different, and I can't understand why, 'cause as jdobbs says CCE is the same, settings are the same, output should be the same, but it isn't.

So it must be something about the way DVDRB manages CCE settings... or?
Options>>CCE Options>>Advanced Settings

that's where you will find the additional CCE settings you are looking for. Rebuilder DOES support these settings.

Following are the "suggested" settings, as per jdobbs.

Bias - 25
Quality - 16

P.S. Great work on the program so far (as if that wasn't obvious) I will donate as soon as I can.
UninTY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.