Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Programming and Hacking > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th April 2004, 03:56   #81  |  Link
seewen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 250
@Rainy

Your "little" GUI is really nice.

But it miss a little something: A way to change jobs order (up/down arrows for example).


A+


P.S.
Nice tray icon !
seewen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004, 09:42   #82  |  Link
aketon
h.264 fan
 
aketon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: In my CPU! (Damn, it's hot in here!)
Posts: 94
Hello,

very nice program, but I found a big BUG! Avs2avi gui encodes the first frame for 3 more times, and that thing gives you 120ms delay in audio! There is no problem with the command line avs2avi 1.35! Could you please find why this thing happens! I am always encoding in XviD with the default settings!!!
__________________
The power is in your mind!!!
aketon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004, 15:51   #83  |  Link
Moitah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 334
I have figured out a way to allow the XviD status window to remain open after encoding is complete. This will be in the next version (as an optional switch).

Also the "No Recompression" option will be enabled in the next version.
Moitah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004, 16:49   #84  |  Link
Rainy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 87
new version uploaded: http://www.home.no/rainy/pr/avs2avid-1.1.zip

What's new:
* added a script window for quick editing
* added a preview window
* job order is now configurable simply per drag & drop
* added a preferences dialog for global options, font- and working directory settings
* miscellaneous fixes

@aketon
at the moment I can't reproduce that bug, but I will take a closer look.
Rainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004, 18:55   #85  |  Link
The Link
Registered User
 
The Link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 189
Simply perfect now (at least for me)!
Thank you!

The Link
__________________
When birds burp, it must taste like bugs! (Calvin&Hobbes)

The Link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004, 19:21   #86  |  Link
Rainy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 87
Quick update: http://www.home.no/rainy/pr/avs2avid-1.1a.zip
Just a small bug in saving options and added a toolbar to the preview window, since I find it more comfortable.
Rainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2004, 19:51   #87  |  Link
Moitah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 334
AVS2AVI v1.36:
  • Added option to wait until the XviD status window is closed, use "-x a" to enable for all passes, or "-x l" to enable for the last pass only.
  • Enabled the "No Recompression" option.
AVS2AVIDrop v0.4.0:
  • Rearranged the interface while encoding.
  • Wrote custom progress bar code, looks better now .
  • Always uses the "-x l" switch (this will have no effect if you aren't using XviD).
New screenshot of AVS2AVIDrop:




Download link (both AVS2AVI and AVS2AVIDrop, including source): AVS2AVI v1.36
Moitah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 01:59   #88  |  Link
Moitah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 334
Rainy: Thanks for the source of the DLL. The GUI is looking really good, I like the preview . Unfortunately I haven't been able to encode anything, it always says:

An error has occured while loading the source file
Continue anyway?

Am I doing something stupid? Any ideas? (This happed in all previous versions I've tried as well)
Moitah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 14:54   #89  |  Link
Rainy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 87
Thanks Moitah That error appeared mostly if you cancel an encode and restart it, because I simply forgot to release the AVIFILE interfaces, shame on me .

Here's the fixed version: http://www.home.no/rainy/pr/avs2avid-1.1b.zip
Rainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 15:28   #90  |  Link
Moitah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 334
Rainy: It still doesn't work on my computer (rebooting didn't help). I tested it on another computer and it works fine.

Last edited by Moitah; 28th April 2004 at 15:35.
Moitah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 15:39   #91  |  Link
Rainy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 87
Do you still get that error message? What os is installed on your computer?
Rainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 15:41   #92  |  Link
Moitah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 334
Yes, same error message. Both mine and the other computer I tested on are running Windows 2000 w/ SP4.
Moitah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 15:54   #93  |  Link
Rainy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 87
That's pretty strange. Do the both computers have the same configuration e.g. AviSynth? I'm actually at a loss.
Rainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 15:59   #94  |  Link
Moitah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 334
Yeah, same version of AviSynth. I guess it's time to reinstall Windows on this box? Well, if I'm the only one with this problem, don't worry about it.

EDIT: Of course, I will still help troubleshoot if you want to fix it anyway.

Last edited by Moitah; 28th April 2004 at 16:14.
Moitah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 18:49   #95  |  Link
Rainy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 87
New version: http://www.home.no/rainy/pr/avs2avid-1.2.zip
Fixed the problem Moitah reported, thanks him for testing and debugging
Rainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 23:14   #96  |  Link
DarkDudae
ARCalculator Developer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spain
Posts: 149
Both of you (Moitah and Rainy) are doing a great work...

Thanks for it
__________________
Lights out!
ARCalculator 2.6.0 (Rip-Pack)
www.canalxvid.com
DarkDudae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2004, 10:15   #97  |  Link
DarkDudae
ARCalculator Developer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spain
Posts: 149
@Moitah
I have changed avs2avi.cpp to allow save/load settings without encoding using the -n in the commandline. It also will save the codec parameters if you use the FOURCC encoding directly:

avs2avi.exe <source> <destin.> -n -s <settings_filename>
This one should open the list of codecs and allow you to configure and save the settings without the encoding process.

avs2avi.exe <source> <destin.> -n -c XVID -s <settings_filename>
This one will save XVID settings directly.

Maybe the source has some bugs. Since I canīt open .vcproj files with VS 6.0 I canīt compile by myself or test

So I only changed avs2avi.cpp. The modifications I have done are indicated in the source.

I hope it can help

You can find the file HERE

Greetings
__________________
Lights out!
ARCalculator 2.6.0 (Rip-Pack)
www.canalxvid.com
DarkDudae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2004, 10:18   #98  |  Link
dp_sun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
AVS2AVI - one more new version

I have added a code to the program avs2avi-131a and have laid out all this on page http://sun.tepkom.ru/avs2avi/
Here direct references to executed files http://sun.tepkom.ru/avs2avi/avs2avi.zip and an initial code http://sun.tepkom.ru/avs2avi/avs2avi.src.zip
Look please!
There can be my ideas will like and will be used in new versions of the remarkable program avs2avi.
I apologize for bad English. I use the on-line translator.

ChangeLog (build 131022)
These are the major changes from the original version:
- VirtualDub-like version numbering scheme. Version is written in the output avi file.
- Removed buggy matroska and log file output (sorry, guys).
- Hotkeys and switching during transformation process.
- Registry entries for DIVX and XVID parameters. The program is now tuned to work with these two.
- Parameters specific to the codec and avi file (Max Keyframe Interval, etc.), are now figured out automaigcally.
- Individual parameters may be specified for each pass (both for 3d and 4th).
- Data entry forms made fool-proof.
- Ctrl-C now processed cleanly.
- Lots of cosmetical fixed. LAME-like statistics.
- Accurate elapsed and total work time counts.
- Current avi size output (estimated).
- Screen output of the codec parameters being written into the register.
dp_sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2004, 12:09   #99  |  Link
esby
Registered User
 
esby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 521
mmm @dp_sun

I'll just comment some of the changes in the version you have created.
since i'm merely an user here, and not one of the developper.

- VirtualDub-like version numbering scheme. Version is written in the output avi file.
That's not a version numbering scheme, that s build numbering one.
And more exactly that's the date of when you compiled this source,
and does not tell anyone which version was used.
So so far, I think it is just useless, and more confusing,
since you'll still need the version number to make a difference.
Version != Build number
but Version written in the output avi might be still ok.
that's auth info after all.



- Removed buggy matroska and log file output (sorry, guys).
Well I can only agree for mastroka, but:
Removing it was not a priority.
People might still be using it, despite what you think.
For logs, I don't know, I never used this option.
But the same remark applies here.

- Registry entries for DIVX and XVID parameters. The program is now tuned to work with these two.
Well using registry with DIVX is not a bad idea,
some people might like it.
Now, I have looked on the code a bit, and pondered the meaning of 'tuned to work' with these two.
If means added extra support for these two codec, I answer ok, why not...
But if it means only XVID & DIVX codec can be used to avs2avi now, I said a definitely NO!
Some people might use avs2avi with other codecs like ffvfw, huff, rvble, and what god know what they could need.
Using such or such codec is their choice, not yours to limit it to a selection of what you use.

- Parameters specific to the codec and avi file (Max Keyframe Interval, etc.)...
are you talking of the members of the COMPVAR structure...?
are you talking of specifying them via commandline or any other way?
Is this really useful, since you can generate dumpcodecfile already?
and since the codecs are different, some of these parameters
might have no meaning out of your context of use.

I have nothing to say for the rest of your change,
as long they are properly done,
but in that case I cannot really talk , it's more up to Moitah or Rainy.

Although I can add a bit of sarcastic comment here too...
directly from your code:
//#ifndef ABOVE_NORMAL_PRIORITY_CLASS
//#define ABOVE_NORMAL_PRIORITY_CLASS 0x00008000; // Yes you should update your platform SDK.
//#endif
Commenting out this because it is not needed with your platform
is not the proper way to code...
So far, if you did not comment out, forget my remark,
but if you did, think that the developper platform might not be always the same, and stuff like that can cause havoc to others to have it compile or work normally once compiled.
And especially here since it's a #ifndef ...

And to conclude the FILE_ID.DIZ being in the zip file...
I don't care about it,
but if you put such file, AT LEAST put the GPL licence too...
And don't forget that WAREZ has nothing to do here.


So far, my conclusion
(which is personnal and might or might not reflect other people opinion here):

Some of your changes might be needed or ok.
Some are useless, too specific.
Some could have been done directly as bugfix by moitah or rainly...
Since there is no cvs structure for avs2avi,
and that there are at least two different approach actually(not counting yours), with the normal way and rainy client,
avoid to do a huge list of change, unless you want to disturb the actual developper, or present it directly, and in an exploitable way.

Of course, you can modify it, since it's GPL, but don't forget that people are working on it, and don't do twice the job they could do...

on another note,
how about a sourceforge page for avs2avi?
or is it already done?

esby

Last edited by esby; 29th April 2004 at 12:13.
esby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2004, 12:24   #100  |  Link
DaveEL
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 581
avs2avi projects on www.corecodec.org im currently trying to get my old cvs tree imported into it and then ill get it opened to everyone else here

DaveEL
DaveEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.