Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > One click suites for DVD backup and DVD creation

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th December 2003, 13:20   #201  |  Link
r6d2
Graphite mod
 
r6d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Away
Posts: 2,022
100% but too small image

With 3.0.3, exactly 100% in second pass, but image size was 795-MB

--------------------------------------------------------
D2Sroba v3.0.3
- Author: Tylo
- System: WIN_XP, AutoIt: 3.0.74.0
--------------------------------------------------------
- 2003-12-07 22:33:16
--------------------------------------------------------
Settings:
- Output type : SVCD
- CD size : 800
- Number of CD's : auto
- Sample percent : 1.0
- Auto Q. (worst) : 35
- Maximum Q. : 40
- Adjust Q : 1.5
- Sizing pass : on=1 (-2 .. 0.5)%
- Audio after video : on=1 (Use Min br, 10%, min 128 kbps)
- Adjust max br : on=1 (total 2756 kbps)
- Batch prepare : on=0
- Crash recover : No
--------------------------------------------------------
- Waiting for CCE window ...
- Detected a CCE encode window
- Detected a CCE encode window
- Detected a CCE encode window
- Detected a CCE encode window
- Detected the CCE main movie encode window... trying to kill it.
- Finished shutdown of CCE and D2S
- Setting low process priority
--------------------------------------------------------
- Movie length : 01:52:45 (162217 frames, 23.976 fps)
- D2S audio brate : (128 + 0) kbps
- D2S video estim. : 1804 kbps, 2 CDs
- Select Ranges : every 1500, select 15 frames
- Sample frames : 1635
--------------------------------------------------------
Calculations:
- 1 CD: video_br=830 (830) audio1_br=128 video_sz=701952525. fill=100.0% cbr=0
- 2 CD: video_br=1804 (1804) audio1_br=128 video_sz=1525689585. fill=100.0% cbr=0
- 3 CD: video_br=2628 (2778) audio1_br=128 video_sz=2222567755. fill=94.9% cbr=1
--------------------------------------------------------
Computing target number of CDs:
- Using max bitrate=2628 for auto sample (adjusted for 2 CDs)
- Estim. mpv BR : 748 (Q=35, err=?%, size=633171347., sample sz=6381792.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
- Number of CDs : 1
- Target mpv BR : 830 (max 2628) kbps, size=701952525. bytes
--------------------------------------------------------
Search for Q:
- Estim. mpv BR : 803 (Q=31, err=-3.3%, size=679830711., sample sz=6852076.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 836 (Q=29, err=0.7%, size=707260167., sample sz=7128540.)
- Determined Q : 28 = round(29 - 1.5 + (0.7)/2.0)
--------------------------------------------------------
- Encoding Movie
- 2003-12-07 22:54:28
- Actual mpv file size:
08-12-2003 01:23 734228492 Encoded_Video_CCE_NTSC_FS1.mpv
- OPV pass result: 104.6% on target ( 734228492 / 701952525.) CCE 2.67 speed: 0.76
--------------------------------------------------------
- Executing VBR Sizing Pass - 830 kbps.
- Actual mpv file size:
08-12-2003 03:53 701653884 Encoded_Video_CCE_NTSC_FS1.mpv
- Sizing pass result: 100.0% on target ( 701653884 / 701952525.) CCE 2.67 speed: 0.75
--------------------------------------------------------
- Executing: C:\Archivos de programa\DVD2SVCD\BeSweet\BeSweet.exe -core( -input "E:\Patriot Games\Audio\Extracted_audio_1.ac3" -output "E:\PATRIO~1\Audio\Encoded_audio_1_FS1.mp2" -logfile "E:\PATRIO~1\Audio\Encoded_audio_1_FS1.log" ) -azid( -L -3db -l 0db -c normal -s surround -g max ) -2lame( -e -b 128 -m s ) -split( -start 0 -end 6765.76576576577 )
--------------------------------------------------------
- Recover:
- 2003-12-08 04:07:52
__________________
MPEG4 quality with MPEG2? - Try the Poor Man's DVD.
FACAR - As seen on TV! - The Complete Idiot's Guide to a good DVD Conversion.
Time is money. Try D2Sroba for DVD2SVCD (FAQ) and save both. All electricity bills supported!
Do you know how much overscan and which resolution your TV has? Find out if NTSC.
Moderator: 1: one who arbitrates 2: one who presides over an assembly, meeting, or discussion
3: a substance (as graphite) used for slowing down neutrons in a nuclear reactor (Webster)
r6d2 is offline  
Old 8th December 2003, 15:20   #202  |  Link
syzygytec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 129
It happened again, now with 3 different versions of the plugin on the same movie. The only thing I can say for certain and weather or not it means anything I have no clue, but I never had this error when using the 4350 size, not even on this same movie.


Quote:
This indicates that you should further lower it at least by 500, maybe 1000, i.e. max br = 7500 - 8000
May as well set it to 100 it doesnt seem to constrain to anything

Last edited by syzygytec; 8th December 2003 at 15:24.
syzygytec is offline  
Old 8th December 2003, 16:07   #203  |  Link
tylo
Author of D2SRoBa
 
tylo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 483
With 3.0.3, exactly 100% in second pass, but image size was 795-MB

Nothing to do with D2SRoBa. Your own excel sheet computes bitrate to 843. Subtract 15 for seq header alignment, and you're down to 828, which is 2 below my computation. You can try changing timebands so that D2S estimates for 1 CD instead (in original/DVD2SVCD.ini), but I guess it will be about the same. 795 isn't that bad anyway.

@syzygytec: this shouldn't be plugin related either, but surely strange. You could try OPV and the current Q without the plugin to make sure.

v3.0.6 fixes another rare syntax error bug.

Last edited by tylo; 8th December 2003 at 16:12.
tylo is offline  
Old 8th December 2003, 17:36   #204  |  Link
Trahald
Wewkiee
 
Trahald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: kashyyyk
Posts: 2,270
syzygytec - its not the plugin.. its specifically CCE encodes done with OPV and a very low q (under 10). at higher q's it seems to be ok. rip a vobid in the middle of a dvd and do an encode on it at q4 and 0 min 9000 max.. then test with bitrate viewer. you will more than like hit peak bitrates above 10000. then do a single multi-pass using the same VAF file using the avg bitrate you get from bitrate viewer. you will see peaks never excede 9000 (generally wont even come very near it). even though bitrate viewer isnt the most accurate, generally anything that peaks above 10k in bitrate viewer will fail a compile in scenarist

ddogg - 2.66 i'll try with 2.5 when i get a chance. although if you have 2.5 just do a q4 pass on a few mpeg2 source you have laying around then check in bitrate viewer.. chances are it will peak over your max (use 0 - 9000 [i havent tested svcd bitrates]) unless its version specific

what version do you have syzygytec?
__________________
...yeah...but...why on earth would I compare apples with apples?
Trahald is offline  
Old 8th December 2003, 19:02   #205  |  Link
DDogg
Retired, but still around
 
DDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 3,058
w00kiee, thanks, I just want to see if it is version specific.
DDogg is offline  
Old 8th December 2003, 19:29   #206  |  Link
syzygytec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 129
I've been using 2.67.00.13
This is getting complicated, and no I don't tink really that its plugin related, if I set q4 opv in d2s and ran it again the same thing will most likely happen, doing this would be like having just used RoBa as an estimating tool in other words to find a q then the opv should run with that q and do the same encode as it would have through RoBa right?

Well we know this is happening in 2.66/2.67 waiting to see if it does with w00kie's test in 2.50
EDIT actually, I forgot this first happened to me using 2.50

Last edited by syzygytec; 9th December 2003 at 01:54.
syzygytec is offline  
Old 9th December 2003, 02:10   #207  |  Link
r6d2
Graphite mod
 
r6d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Away
Posts: 2,022
Quote:
Originally posted by tylo
[B]With 3.0.3, exactly 100% in second pass, but image size was 795-MB

Nothing to do with D2SRoBa. Your own excel sheet computes bitrate to 843. Subtract 15 for seq header alignment, and you're down to 828, which is 2 below my computation.
I'm not using seq header/scan offsets, so I should not substract anything.

But I'm lost... Are you computing the BR now? I thought you were using D2S's computation and then extrapolating.
__________________
MPEG4 quality with MPEG2? - Try the Poor Man's DVD.
FACAR - As seen on TV! - The Complete Idiot's Guide to a good DVD Conversion.
Time is money. Try D2Sroba for DVD2SVCD (FAQ) and save both. All electricity bills supported!
Do you know how much overscan and which resolution your TV has? Find out if NTSC.
Moderator: 1: one who arbitrates 2: one who presides over an assembly, meeting, or discussion
3: a substance (as graphite) used for slowing down neutrons in a nuclear reactor (Webster)
r6d2 is offline  
Old 9th December 2003, 06:06   #208  |  Link
syzygytec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 129
Don't know if this follows through but on the same movie with cce 267 RoBa 303 (from previous post)the q search =
Search for Q:
- Estim. mpv BR : 3159 (Q=13, err=-38.9%, size=2582862573., sample sz=51786388.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 4652 (Q=6, err=-10.0%, size=3803924075., sample sz=76268668.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 5264 (Q=4, err=1.9%, size=4304030672., sample sz=86295804.)
- Determined Q : 4 = round(4 - 0.6 + (1.9)/5.9)

Then with 306 cce250 (yes I know diff roba diff cce) tylo will know what if any difference this makes if any always in my limited exp. has roba came up with lower q on the same material with cce 250

- Estim. mpv BR : 2729 (Q=13, err=-47.2%, size=2231794598., sample sz=44747476.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 3752 (Q=6, err=-27.4%, size=3067441587., sample sz=61502196.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 5377 (Q=1, err=4.1%, size=4396439662., sample sz=88148604.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 4972 (Q=2, err=-3.8%, size=4064838622., sample sz=81500004.)
- Determined Q : 1 = round(2 - 0.6 + (-3.8)/7.8)

so the same too high of bitrate is bound to happen seems like w00kie is pretty sure cce goes beszerk on low q opv's I don't see any sense in leaving RoBa outta the loop and plugging the q determined by RoBa in and doing an opv through d2s
Maybe some genius here will figure it out, in the meantime Im going to do a run with all defaults tonite and see what happens with cce 250 cd size 4480 3passmulti-pass 9000,2000,7200 this should prove weather or not cce constrains to its settings in multipass if so it should complete with not peak higher than 9448 in my dumb mind


EDIT
Multi-pass completed no problems with a peak bitrate on the muxed vob of 9129 maybe, however very disappointing cce has a opv bug and roba is not going to be usable with dvd output

Last edited by syzygytec; 9th December 2003 at 18:38.
syzygytec is offline  
Old 9th December 2003, 09:04   #209  |  Link
tylo
Author of D2SRoBa
 
tylo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 483
I'm not using seq header/scan offsets, so I should not substract anything.
But I'm lost... Are you computing the BR now? I thought you were using D2S's computation and then extrapolating.

- AFAIK, its not possible to uncheck 'Align sequence headers' in the bbmpeg menu, so I don't know what you mean.
- I am using D2S's computation and then extrapolation - thats my calculations.

/add: Just figured it out. You select MPEG-2, not SVCD. Maybe D2S doesn't take that into account?

Talking about testing old versions, some of you may want try out this demo: cce 2.64.01.10 (last of the 2.64 series). Lately, 2.50 has been freezing up on me, but this works great with D2S. . You must use the latest plugin version (v3.0.8), and without EclCCE. Sorry about the all to frequent updates lately, but now I hope to give it a rest.

Last edited by tylo; 9th December 2003 at 09:07.
tylo is offline  
Old 9th December 2003, 12:07   #210  |  Link
r6d2
Graphite mod
 
r6d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Away
Posts: 2,022
Quote:
Originally posted by tylo
- AFAIK, its not possible to uncheck 'Align sequence headers' in the bbmpeg menu, so I don't know what you mean.
Yes, you can. Just select DVD temporaryly and you're done. Then switch back to SVCD.
Quote:
- I am using D2S's computation and then extrapolation - thats my calculations.
Uh... Maybe it's a D2S thing then?
__________________
MPEG4 quality with MPEG2? - Try the Poor Man's DVD.
FACAR - As seen on TV! - The Complete Idiot's Guide to a good DVD Conversion.
Time is money. Try D2Sroba for DVD2SVCD (FAQ) and save both. All electricity bills supported!
Do you know how much overscan and which resolution your TV has? Find out if NTSC.
Moderator: 1: one who arbitrates 2: one who presides over an assembly, meeting, or discussion
3: a substance (as graphite) used for slowing down neutrons in a nuclear reactor (Webster)
r6d2 is offline  
Old 9th December 2003, 20:24   #211  |  Link
windtrader
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Region 1, SF Bay Area
Posts: 460
minor feature/bug fix

Hi Tylo,

I installed v3.0.8 and noticed when using D2SRoBa in DVD output mode, AutoQ and Max Q are now disabled in the GUI per your fixes but when DVD2DVD starts the RoBa log shows AutoQ and MaxQ values that were "stuck"/greyed from the GUI.

It might be misleading to see the values in the log if they are not used. Maybe you can blank them out, put 'na' or remove the line altogether.

Also, the Audio after video and adjust max br lines are not user settable in the GUI for DVDs yet they show up with values of No in the log. If these don't apply for DVD, maybe these lines should be removed from the log as well.

Very minor nits but thought I would mention them anyway.

Thanks
windtrader is offline  
Old 9th December 2003, 21:49   #212  |  Link
tylo
Author of D2SRoBa
 
tylo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 483
Yep, it shows that the plugin has reached a mature state when such request are made. I'll do those and some other polishing for the next 3.1 release when 3.0.8 is proven stable.

And now a huge thanks to paceri who made complete new set of pages for me. Check them out!

@paceri: I didn't get the files in the archive to work (the include of top/style/bottom seems to fail). However, I took down the pages from your site instead (which had style inlined), and that worked.
tylo is offline  
Old 9th December 2003, 22:33   #213  |  Link
VILLA21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greece
Posts: 110
Just tried 3.0.8 with CCE-2.5, but unfortunately CCE terminated when D2SRoBa opened it. Now i"m testing with CCE 2.67.00.13 and seems it runs smoothly, it reaches to 30%.
__________________
Proxima Estacion, EsPeRanZa...
VILLA21 is offline  
Old 10th December 2003, 00:01   #214  |  Link
DDogg
Retired, but still around
 
DDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 3,058
VILLA21, just to cover the obvious things...Did you make sure and check "AddResampleAudio" when using CCE 2.5? Tylo may be checking for this by now. If it is not checked CCE 2.5 will not work and disappears when d2sroba tries to start it.
DDogg is offline  
Old 10th December 2003, 08:29   #215  |  Link
VILLA21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greece
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally posted by DDogg
VILLA21, just to cover the obvious things...Did you make sure and check "AddResampleAudio" when using CCE 2.5? Tylo may be checking for this by now. If it is not checked CCE 2.5 will not work and disappears when d2sroba tries to start it.
Long time to use DVD2SVCD, but i think this bug was fixed:

"28 aug 2003 version 1.2.1 build 1
- Bug fix: In the former version, if you were using CCE you had to enabled "Add ResampleAudio" in the frameserver tab. That was a bug I had introduced, which in this release have been fixed."

I"m using the latest 1.2.1 b3, so i didn"t check "AddResampleAudio", am i missing something? Anyway, i "ll try again tonight with "Add ResampleAudio" checked.
__________________
Proxima Estacion, EsPeRanZa...
VILLA21 is offline  
Old 10th December 2003, 23:55   #216  |  Link
DDogg
Retired, but still around
 
DDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 3,058
Quote:
am i missing something?
Yep, but it is real convoluted to explain. Just make sure it is checked when you use 2.5
Search this thread about three weeks back? Right about the time he added 2.5 support again. Tylo and I discussed it because I had the same problem as you. I do not know if he started checking for it or not.
DDogg is offline  
Old 11th December 2003, 07:55   #217  |  Link
tylo
Author of D2SRoBa
 
tylo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 483
I'm not checking for the "Add ResampleAudio". It's only needed with CCE 2.5 and AMD CPUs, but I could check it in the next release - only when using 2.5, but I won't test for CPU type. Wouldn't think it slows down the avs script anyway.

@paceri: thanks.
tylo is offline  
Old 11th December 2003, 15:16   #218  |  Link
Trahald
Wewkiee
 
Trahald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: kashyyyk
Posts: 2,270
the addaudio script in the cce faq is better since it works for all versions of avisynth /cce (resample doesnt work for avisynth 2.5/ cce 2.50 combo)

as far as the overmax bitrate issue with cce. i did some testing (like for 4 hours) and didnt get far. (ugh) i did find out that pulldown makes the bitrates tht bitrateviewer gives you exagerated. so the clips were not as overbitrate as they appeared. however, they were still over.. but i cant remember what file i clip of video i used (was just an extra from one of my dvds) that went over. with 2.66 and 2.50 , all the clips i tested ,scenarist accepted. bitrate viewer called some oversized, and they were just the 2.66 ones. the 2.50's were within range (even using the same .ecl). but bitrate viewer isnt the most accurate so im inclined to trust scenarist. im going to do a whole movie which would have more spots where there would be possible spikes. will report back.
__________________
...yeah...but...why on earth would I compare apples with apples?

Last edited by Trahald; 11th December 2003 at 15:25.
Trahald is offline  
Old 11th December 2003, 15:48   #219  |  Link
DDogg
Retired, but still around
 
DDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 3,058
Quote:
the addaudio script in the cce faq is better since it works for all versions of avisynth /cce (resample doesnt work for avisynth 2.5/ cce 2.50 combo)
Not as it seems . Ah, another one of those arcane history tidbits that I seem to be good for er, ah, how do I explain this... the ReSampleAudio statement in newer versions of dvd2svcd are not the same as the old ReSampleAudio. Note he also imports a function which is the same function as addaudio(), but he calls it ResampleAudio. A function takes precedence over a command so he was able to use the words ReSampleAudio as before (for compatibility reasons), but it actually calls the addaudio() method. I think I did a crap job of explaining that, but maybe it makes some sense.

Again, the bottomline is - if you use CCE 2.5 you must check ResampleAudio in the frameserver tab. Like tylo alluded to, it does not slow anything down so you might as well just leave it checked if you go back and forth between 2.5 and later versions of CCE that do not really need it.

Last edited by DDogg; 11th December 2003 at 15:57.
DDogg is offline  
Old 11th December 2003, 17:09   #220  |  Link
syzygytec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 129
Thanks w00kie for your testing waiting to see how this turns out. Now since all the problems I have had all these failures with biterate too high I decided to try multi-pass 3 pass cce 2.50 max bitrate set to 9000 cd size 4480 I've had 2 complete with no problem and hands down by a landslide they both look far better than OPV. Bitrate shouldn't be over 9448 but on the one it peaked at 9681 according to BV but everyone seems to agree that BV is not all that accurate so I won't worry about that. It takes way longer but I think Im sticking with 3pass & cce 2.50.
syzygytec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.