Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > One click suites for DVD backup and DVD creation

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th November 2003, 17:18   #41  |  Link
tylo
Author of D2SRoBa
 
tylo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 483
Quote:
I don't know if I understand your comment, but I was thinking of the ranges, not the max. That 46 min stuff you had in the old code.
OK, I misread your question. Yep, I still use a simple formula that make the max range bitrate always be below 2230. Your suggestions makes sense.
Quote:
This may be the origin of the "out of specs" message.
No, that was because I update the audio bitrate settings in the project file (when audio by plugins), but not the corresponding Max br (i.e if audio increased, I must lower max br for a fixed max video br). Done in beta 2.

- The RB's templates will do as they are.
tylo is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 01:26   #42  |  Link
DDogg
Retired, but still around
 
DDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 3,058
It took 2 tests to come up with the Q. I do love it when a plan come together!

D2SRoBa v3.0 beta 2
- Author: Tylo
- System: WIN_XP, AutoIt: 3.0.74.0
--------------------------------------------------------
- 2003-11-10 17:35:01
--------------------------------------------------------
Settings:
- Output type : SVCD
- CD size : 800
- Number of CD's : auto
- Sample percent : 1.0
- Auto Q. (worst) : 32
- Maximum Q. : 64
- Adjust Q : 0.6
- Sizing pass : on=1 (-2.0 .. 1.0)%
- Audio by plugin : on=0 (% of video, 10%, min 128 kbps)
- Adjust max br : on=0 (total 2754 kbps)
- Crash recover : No
--------------------------------------------------------
- Waiting for CCE window ...
- Finished shutdown of CCE and D2S
--------------------------------------------------------
- Movie length : 01:39:23 (142983 frames, 23.976 fps)
- D2S audio setting : (128 + 0) kbps
- D2S video estim. : 2053 kbps, 2 CDs
- Select Ranges : every 1200, select 12 frames
- Sample frames : 1440
--------------------------------------------------------
Calculations:
- 1 CD: video_br=955 (955) audio1_br=128 video_sz=711903388. fill=100.0% cbr=0
- 2 CD: video_br=2053 (2053) audio1_br=128 video_sz=1530405922. fill=100.0% cbr=0
- 3 CD: video_br=2584 (3152) audio1_br=128 video_sz=1926239114. fill=82.8% cbr=1
--------------------------------------------------------
Computing target number of CDs:
- Estim. mpv BR : 895 (Q=32, err=0.0%, size=667900998., sample sz=6726516.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
- Number of CDs : 1
- Target mpv BR : 955 (max 2584) kbps, size=711903388. bytes
--------------------------------------------------------
Search for Q:
- Estim. mpv BR : 948 (Q=29, err=-0.6%, size=706923442., sample sz=7119516.)
- Determined Q : 28 = round(29 - 0.6 + (-0.6)/1.8)
--------------------------------------------------------
- Encoding Movie
- 2003-11-10 18:24:22
- Actual mpv file size:
11/10/2003 07:22 PM 724394992 Encoded_Video_CCE_NTSC_FS1.mpv
- OPV pass result: 101.8% on target ( 724394992 / 711903388.)

Last edited by DDogg; 11th November 2003 at 02:25.
DDogg is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 02:28   #43  |  Link
ebcoelho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
DVD2SVCD + ECLCCE + D2SRoBa

Tylo,

I had D2SRoBa version 2 and 3, the version 2 work with DVD2SVCD + ECLCCE + D2SRoBa but this beta version don't work for me.

--------------------------------------------------------
D2SRoBa v3.0 beta 2
- Author: Tylo
- System: WIN_2000, AutoIt: 3.0.74.0
--------------------------------------------------------
- 2003-11-10 18:17:41
--------------------------------------------------------
Settings:
- Output type : SVCD
- CD size : 800
- Number of CD's : auto
- Sample percent : 5.0
- Auto Q. (worst) : 40
- Maximum Q. : 50
- Adjust Q : 1.0
- Sizing pass : on=1 (-2.0 .. 1.0)%
- Audio by plugin : on=0 (% of video, 10%, min 128 kbps)
- Adjust max br : on=1 (total 2754 kbps)
- Crash recover : Yes
--------------------------------------------------------
- Waiting for CCE window ...

DVD2SVCD_log.txt

WNASPI32.DLL 4.6.0.1021
--------------------------------------------------------
- 10/11/2003 18:17:58
- DVD to SVCD Conversion
- DVD2SVCD ver. 1.2.1 build 3
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing
.
.
.

--------------------------------------------------------
- 10/11/2003 19:39:30
- Free on drive C: 3808.90 mb
- Conversion done!
--------------------------------------------------------

[DDogg Edit] Merged this new thread into the V 3 thread.

Last edited by DDogg; 11th November 2003 at 02:47.
ebcoelho is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 15:44   #44  |  Link
telemike
Registered User
 
telemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Monsters, Inc.
Posts: 180
Which version of DVD2SVCD are you using?

I find that the newest version doesn't work so well with the plugin. I am back to using version 113b2.
telemike is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 16:24   #45  |  Link
DDogg
Retired, but still around
 
DDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 3,058
telemike, *what* isn't working? I can never pin down what problens you are having. If there is a problem with B3 we need a report with details to get it fixed. I have not had a problem so far myself.
DDogg is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 16:56   #46  |  Link
telemike
Registered User
 
telemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Monsters, Inc.
Posts: 180
Tylo's plugin was trying to close CCE and CCE froze, so DVD2SVCD went right into pulldown.....


I will try doing a clean removal and re-install and see what happens....
telemike is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 17:07   #47  |  Link
ditto_n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Ddogg, should i use your log as an example? I have not tried to do anything with the new beta, but I don't want any errors if somthing I need to rip pops up.
ditto_n is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 19:33   #48  |  Link
kru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 28
First of all I just want to thank Tylo for this fantasic pluggin
I also want to thank DDogg and r6d2 for making D2SRoBa possible

I'm a litle bit curious; I was encoding a interlaced film. I saw that a template for interlaced sources was automaticly set up, with CCE filters etc. How many different templates can D2SRoBa make? I've also read that you should not use any CCE filters. Is this right???

But I installed 3.0 beta 2, this "auto CCE" templates seems to be gone?

I also find a litle fault... When I try to recover a D2S project that are made with TMPGEnc, D2SRoba have problems to create a "MsgBox", and the plugin quits.

And can I only select "FACAR" in framesevertab, without preveiw the film with "FACAR_detectborders"???

Once again, THANKS!!!

Last edited by kru; 11th November 2003 at 19:36.
kru is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 20:50   #49  |  Link
Crackhead
silent, but around
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally posted by kru
But I installed 3.0 beta 2, this "auto CCE" templates seems to be gone?
I can't remember D2SRoba ever setting up any kind of CCE template!?
I use RB's templates with "Reuse vaf" checked.
I think they're doing a great job.

Quote:
Originally posted by kru
And can I only select "FACAR" in framesevertab, without preveiw the film with "FACAR_detectborders"???
yes you can! if the detected_top and detected_height values are already set up right, you don't need to do the detect_borders thing anymore.
But be careful:
The values differ from movie to movie...so if you encode another movie, you have to detect the borders again!
Crackhead is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 21:05   #50  |  Link
r6d2
Graphite mod
 
r6d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Away
Posts: 2,022
Quote:
Originally posted by kru
I'm a litle bit curious; I was encoding a interlaced film. I saw that a template for interlaced sources was automaticly set up, with CCE filters etc. How many different templates can D2SRoBa make?
D2Sroba does not make (or need) any templates of its own. You are adviced to use RB's templates in DVD2SVCD whether you use D2Sroba or not.
Quote:
I've also read that you should not use any CCE filters. Is this right???
You can use them, of course. The problem is that through DVD2SVCD you may not get the settings you expect since CCE uses the last template loaded anyway, regardless of DVD2SVCD settings. If you want to use them, edit the template as DDogg's sticky teaches.

However (IMHO), it's better to stick to AviSynth if you want some filtering.
Quote:
I also find a litle fault... When I try to recover a D2S project that are made with TMPGEnc, D2SRoba have problems to create a "MsgBox", and the plugin quits.
This one should make it into the FAQ

D2Sroba only supports CEE. OTOH, Switching encoders in DVD2SVCD is not supported on a resume. Weird things may happen. It you switch encoders, better to start from scratch.
Quote:
And can I only select "FACAR" in framesevertab, without preveiw the film with "FACAR_detectborders"???
Yes, but you'll have to set up the borders manually, or they will remain the last ones used.
__________________
MPEG4 quality with MPEG2? - Try the Poor Man's DVD.
FACAR - As seen on TV! - The Complete Idiot's Guide to a good DVD Conversion.
Time is money. Try D2Sroba for DVD2SVCD (FAQ) and save both. All electricity bills supported!
Do you know how much overscan and which resolution your TV has? Find out if NTSC.
Moderator: 1: one who arbitrates 2: one who presides over an assembly, meeting, or discussion
3: a substance (as graphite) used for slowing down neutrons in a nuclear reactor (Webster)
r6d2 is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 21:40   #51  |  Link
kru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 28
Thanks!

RB's templates are one for progresive source and one for interlaced sources??
Are there any way to select those temlpates automatic?
kru is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 21:46   #52  |  Link
r6d2
Graphite mod
 
r6d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Away
Posts: 2,022
Quote:
Originally posted by kru
RB's templates are one for progresive source and one for interlaced sources??
Are there any way to select those temlpates automatic?
You select either one depending on the source. That's as much automatic as it gets

Just curious... What source are you encoding? I have never, ever needed to encode interlaced material when source is a movie on NTSC DVD. Look at this guide to get it right if that is your case.
__________________
MPEG4 quality with MPEG2? - Try the Poor Man's DVD.
FACAR - As seen on TV! - The Complete Idiot's Guide to a good DVD Conversion.
Time is money. Try D2Sroba for DVD2SVCD (FAQ) and save both. All electricity bills supported!
Do you know how much overscan and which resolution your TV has? Find out if NTSC.
Moderator: 1: one who arbitrates 2: one who presides over an assembly, meeting, or discussion
3: a substance (as graphite) used for slowing down neutrons in a nuclear reactor (Webster)
r6d2 is offline  
Old 11th November 2003, 22:44   #53  |  Link
Crackhead
silent, but around
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 26
I'm in Pal-Region here, but surprisingly i got more interlaced dvds than progressive ones...!
at the moment i don't do anything about it, just leave it interlaced.
is it recommended to deinterlace? and what method would you then prefer or propose? the good, the bad or the ugly?
Crackhead is offline  
Old 12th November 2003, 00:39   #54  |  Link
telemike
Registered User
 
telemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Monsters, Inc.
Posts: 180
Did a complete re-install of D2S and the plugin. Now everything seems to work fine.
telemike is offline  
Old 12th November 2003, 10:32   #55  |  Link
ric1234
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 32
My first encode with D2SRoBa3 (b2) failed, did I miss something ?
I asked for a 2CD-encode and got 3, it look as if the worst Q was taken into account, is this normal ?
Thanks, Ric.

--------------------------------------------------------
D2SRoBa v3.0 beta 2
- Author: Tylo
- System: WIN_XP, AutoIt: 3.0.74.0
--------------------------------------------------------
- 2003-11-11 22:58:13
--------------------------------------------------------
Settings:
- Output type : SVCD
- CD size : 800
- Number of CD's : 2
- Sample percent : 3.0
- Auto Q. (worst) : 40
- Maximum Q. : 50
- Adjust Q : 1.4
- Sizing pass : on=1 (-2.0 .. 0.0)%
- Audio by plugin : on=0 (% of video, 10%, min 128 kbps)
- Adjust max br : on=1 (total 2754 kbps)
- Crash recover : No
--------------------------------------------------------
- Waiting for CCE window ...
- Finished shutdown of CCE and D2S
--------------------------------------------------------
- Movie length : 02:10:51 (196280 frames, 25 fps)
- D2S audio setting : (160 + 0) kbps
- D2S video estim. : 1495 kbps, 2 CDs
- Select Ranges : every 500, select 15 frames
- Sample frames : 5895
--------------------------------------------------------
Calculations:
- 1 CD: video_br=660 (660) audio1_br=160 video_sz=647724000. fill=100.0% cbr=0
- 2 CD: video_br=1495 (1495) audio1_br=160 video_sz=1467193000. fill=100.0% cbr=0
- 3 CD: video_br=2294 (2331) audio1_br=160 video_sz=2251331600. fill=98.5% cbr=0
--------------------------------------------------------
Computing target number of CDs:
- Using max bitrate=2594 for auto sample (adjusted for 1 CDs)
- Estim. mpv BR : 2035 (Q=40, err=0.0%, size=1997678240., sample sz=59997520.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
- Number of CDs : 3
- Target mpv BR : 2294 (max 2594) kbps, size=2251331600. bytes
--------------------------------------------------------
Search for Q:
- Estim. mpv BR : 2468 (Q=17, err=7.6%, size=2422659634., sample sz=72761252.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 2443 (Q=19, err=6.5%, size=2398380714., sample sz=72032068.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 2229 (Q=31, err=-2.7%, size=2188375031., sample sz=65724836.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 2311 (Q=27, err=0.7%, size=2268307306., sample sz=68125492.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 2291 (Q=28, err=-0.0%, size=2249286892., sample sz=67554240.)
- Determined Q : 26 = round(28 - 1.4 + (-0.0)/0.9)
- Reduced CD size : 790 (fill = 98.5%)
--------------------------------------------------------
- Encoding Movie
- 2003-11-12 00:07:55
- Actual mpv file size:
12/11/2003 01:19 2256445696 Encoded_Video_CCE_PAL_FS1.mpv
- OPV pass result: 100.2% on target ( 2256445696 / 2251331600.)
--------------------------------------------------------
- Executing VBR Sizing Pass - 2294 kbps.
- Actual mpv file size:
12/11/2003 02:29 2250079044 Encoded_Video_CCE_PAL_FS1.mpv
- Sizing pass result: 99.9% on target ( 2250079044 / 2251331600.)
--------------------------------------------------------
- Recover:
- 2003-11-12 02:29:47
ric1234 is offline  
Old 12th November 2003, 14:04   #56  |  Link
r6d2
Graphite mod
 
r6d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Away
Posts: 2,022
FAQ on the Basic Forum

Guys, I set up a D2Sroba FAQ in the basic forum. If you have contributions, please post them there.
__________________
MPEG4 quality with MPEG2? - Try the Poor Man's DVD.
FACAR - As seen on TV! - The Complete Idiot's Guide to a good DVD Conversion.
Time is money. Try D2Sroba for DVD2SVCD (FAQ) and save both. All electricity bills supported!
Do you know how much overscan and which resolution your TV has? Find out if NTSC.
Moderator: 1: one who arbitrates 2: one who presides over an assembly, meeting, or discussion
3: a substance (as graphite) used for slowing down neutrons in a nuclear reactor (Webster)
r6d2 is offline  
Old 12th November 2003, 14:17   #57  |  Link
telemike
Registered User
 
telemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Monsters, Inc.
Posts: 180
I can't figure out why D2Sroba is not fuilly shutting down CCE and DVD2SCD. It keeps hanging up at that point. My next step is to completely remove avisynth, dvd2svcd, d2sroba and re-install....
telemike is offline  
Old 12th November 2003, 14:33   #58  |  Link
Trahald
Wewkiee
 
Trahald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: kashyyyk
Posts: 2,270
Quote:
I can't figure out why D2Sroba is not fuilly shutting down CCE and DVD2SCD. It keeps hanging up at that point. My next step is to completely remove avisynth, dvd2svcd, d2sroba and re-install....
hmm... i havent had that problem in a while now (i have tried to make sure i dont have alot of programs running while encoding so things run smoothly.. i dont have alot of ram (256mb). that seems to have helped. i havent tested version 3 under bad conditions yet. i'll try tonight and report back

on a seperate note - here is a partial log from an encode last night. 2 cds, came out perfect.

Search for Q:
- Estim. mpv BR : 1736 (Q=16, err=-6.8%, size=1427395913., sample sz=28577800.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 1935 (Q=11, err=3.8%, size=1590594290., sample sz=31845184.)
- Estim. mpv BR : 1854 (Q=13, err=-0.4%, size=1524307474., sample sz=30518060.)
- Determined Q : 12 = round(13 - 0.5 + (-0.4)/2.2)

- OPV pass result: 100.4% on target ( 1537607768 / 1531905030.)


100.4% with 3 searches and w/out needing vbr pass. nice work, tylo!
__________________
...yeah...but...why on earth would I compare apples with apples?
Trahald is offline  
Old 12th November 2003, 15:25   #59  |  Link
syzygytec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 129
I'd like to ask what the improvements are in v3. It looks like it is not going so well. I'm am having great results with 2.70rc2. Can the default settings of v3 be used in 2.70 or are those specific to v3 and some new calculation being used? What is v3 suppose to improve over 2.70?
I'm not complaining, not at all this is a fantastic plugin for tool using newbie's like me especially who could not (without much reasearch and study) ever do all of this manually w/o d2s, roba, facar ect. and I'm 100% behind you and the amazing improvements we will no doubt see in the future from tylo and I'll have to leave the testing to those who actually understand it all, just curious however what the goals are in v3

Last edited by syzygytec; 12th November 2003 at 15:27.
syzygytec is offline  
Old 12th November 2003, 15:32   #60  |  Link
r6d2
Graphite mod
 
r6d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Away
Posts: 2,022
Quote:
Originally posted by syzygytec
I'd like to ask what the improvements are in v3. It looks like it is not going so well. I'm am having great results with 2.70rc2.
Try the new Version 3 Beta 3 just uploaded.

To know the new features see Tylos's posts, but basically uses AutoIt 3, a more powerful language, uses Newton method for searching (quite faster), and has an integrated log window.

Also, read the new FAQ in the basic forum.
__________________
MPEG4 quality with MPEG2? - Try the Poor Man's DVD.
FACAR - As seen on TV! - The Complete Idiot's Guide to a good DVD Conversion.
Time is money. Try D2Sroba for DVD2SVCD (FAQ) and save both. All electricity bills supported!
Do you know how much overscan and which resolution your TV has? Find out if NTSC.
Moderator: 1: one who arbitrates 2: one who presides over an assembly, meeting, or discussion
3: a substance (as graphite) used for slowing down neutrons in a nuclear reactor (Webster)
r6d2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.