Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Hardware players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd October 2003, 09:57   #1  |  Link
Karl Marks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 15
Forcing A DVD player to read VCD

I appologize if this thread belongs to one of the categories - I couldn't decide which one.

A friend of mine has an AKAI DVD player that doesn't read VCD. Is it inavitable, or can it be changed like I forced my player to read multizone ?
If it can be changed, how ?
Karl Marks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2003, 10:18   #2  |  Link
ppera2
Registered User
 
ppera2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lands of confusion
Posts: 1,217
Some DVD players simple not support VCD and SVCD.
I doubt that ever will appear some firmware update for them.
__________________
Informational value of an advert is in inverted proportion to beauty of playing model(s)/actress(es)
ppera2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2003, 11:24   #3  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in HD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,171
In order to help you further I would have to know the model number of the player and maybe even the serial number.

But as ppera2 mentioned, some DVD players can't spin VCD's at all! Which I personally think is a very narrow minded and poor sales tactic of certain manufactureres.

Quote:
I appologize if this thread belongs to one of the categories - I couldn't decide which one.
You could have posted your question in the 'Hardware DVD Players' section of the forum. Which is here: -

http://forum.doom9.org/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=73

Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2003, 16:05   #4  |  Link
smiller667
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,121
Or you can head over to vcdhelp.com & do a search for "Akai" - alternatively, click on this link .

No specific Akai models are listed as not supporting VCD or not supporting CD-R media. If it is an older/unlisted model though, maybe it just doesn't support writable media (old Sony models were known for this). Try a "pressed" VCD in that case.

Steve
smiller667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2003, 20:24   #5  |  Link
Karl Marks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 15
You guys are KINGS !

DVDHELP had an explanation about how to do hack the zone code, and now the player reads VCD'S.

Cheers. I ow you guys.
Karl Marks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.