Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th May 2003, 13:06   #81  |  Link
avih
Capture, Deinterlace
 
avih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Right there
Posts: 1,947
same here, but it doesn't seem like it uses more cpu here...
__________________
E8400/P43, 4G, GTX260+, Win7-64.
Get Firefox. Get SmoothWheel Firefox extension.
avih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2003, 14:42   #82  |  Link
Gaia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 267
Latest build works great in my system. It doesn't use 100% cpu time anymore.
Gaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2003, 14:39   #83  |  Link
Mr_Khyron
Member
 
Mr_Khyron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 64
new build =)

ftp://ftp.mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/relea...CVS-030601.zip
Mr_Khyron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2003, 19:11   #84  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,927
yeah quicktime works not only sound also video
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2003, 14:06   #85  |  Link
avih
Capture, Deinterlace
 
avih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Right there
Posts: 1,947
some more good news. the new builds (all builds except for the one on the 1st post of this thread) can display the osd and progressbar, but not out of the box, at least for me.

i've downloaded MSYS(2.8M), which is the Minimalist SYStem for mingw (minimalist gnu gcc compiler for win32), and it just sets up the unix paths correctly, such that mplayer is able to find the fonts (apperantly that's what caused it not to display the osd).

in my case, i had to copy the mplayer directory (the one with codecs.conf and other conf files in it) to <msysInstallDir>\1.0\bin\%USERPROFILE% and then mplayer will work correctly. the %USERPROFILE% (literally) directory is created after you run mplayer for the 1st time from inside MSYS.

2 tips:

1. the default config file had 5 configs inside it (vo, autosync, ao, quiet, framedrop), i disabled all but autosync, and this way the files play smoother on my pc.

2. the default terminal opened by msys is rxvt, which displayed the text with absurdly wide spaces between chars (prob a bug). you can change msys.bat and remove the font option for rxvt, or just rename rxvt.exe to something else, and sh.exe will be used instead in a normal text window.

cheers

[edit]
lol, there's a much simpler solution, not involving MSYS.

inside the directory of mplayer.exe, create a directory %USERPROFILE% (literally) and copy the mplayer directory (with the config files in it) into %USERPROFILE%. it's apperantly a bug with mplayer/win32 since %USERPROFILE% should have pointed to "c:\Documents and settings\<userID>" but it's somehow interpreted literally. tip #1 from above still applies.

another thing, you can create a shortcut to mplayer.exe on your desktop, and drag the files onto it, will be the same as dragging the files streight onto mplayer.exe. you can also put this shortcut inside the "Send to" directory, and this way play files directly. it's also working for a group of files, which are then played in a sequence (i.e. an mp3 album, or 2-cd-rip movie, etc).
[/edit]
__________________
E8400/P43, 4G, GTX260+, Win7-64.
Get Firefox. Get SmoothWheel Firefox extension.

Last edited by avih; 7th June 2003 at 14:28.
avih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2003, 17:10   #86  |  Link
Gaia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 267
Quote:
2. the default terminal opened by msys is rxvt, which displayed the text with absurdly wide spaces between chars (prob a bug). you can change msys.bat and remove the font option for rxvt, or just rename rxvt.exe to something else, and sh.exe will be used instead in a normal text window
I can't see anything like this but i am using Win98se

Quote:
inside the directory of mplayer.exe, create a directory %USERPROFILE% (literally) and copy the mplayer directory (with the config files in it) into %USERPROFILE%. it's apperantly a bug with mplayer/win32 since %USERPROFILE% should have pointed to "c:\Documents and settings\<userID>" but it's somehow interpreted literally. tip #1 from above still applies
I don't have any problems with osd but if i follow your intructions osd is gone. So it might be just WinXP problem.

Quote:
1. the default config file had 5 configs inside it (vo, autosync, ao, quiet, framedrop), i disabled all but autosync, and this way the files play smoother on my pc
No, if i disable these i get more jerky playback.

Last edited by Gaia; 7th June 2003 at 19:44.
Gaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2003, 18:51   #87  |  Link
avih
Capture, Deinterlace
 
avih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Right there
Posts: 1,947
can someone else with winxp/win98(se?) confirm the above differences?
__________________
E8400/P43, 4G, GTX260+, Win7-64.
Get Firefox. Get SmoothWheel Firefox extension.
avih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2003, 14:29   #88  |  Link
millekink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 16
Howto compile

I wondered if there was some howto for making the mplayer binary.
Is the normal cvs used(linux version) or....
Are there some other packages required....

Some info would be great.

Thnx

Mille
millekink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2003, 15:03   #89  |  Link
avih
Capture, Deinterlace
 
avih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Right there
Posts: 1,947
there are some more files under "contrib" under the directory of the download.

i tried compiling mplayer with mingw and msys, without using these packages, and it didn't compile.
__________________
E8400/P43, 4G, GTX260+, Win7-64.
Get Firefox. Get SmoothWheel Firefox extension.
avih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2003, 04:20   #90  |  Link
RadicalEd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 987
ftp://ftp.mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/relea...layer_pre1.zip

I'm guessing from the "pre" that they just released a pre-beta gui for it :\
WHICH IS AWESOME
except.. I was almost finished this..



;_;

I was only making it so the person I'm sending some AMVs to would be able to watch them even if she (inevitably) screwed up the installation of ffdshow, but still. It's the principle :? or something.
Yeah.
Oh well, less work for me.

[edit]but.. don't get too excited, it won't open any files for me or do anything for that matter.. :/[/edit]

Last edited by RadicalEd; 24th June 2003 at 05:08.
RadicalEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2003, 22:41   #91  |  Link
avih
Capture, Deinterlace
 
avih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Right there
Posts: 1,947
i'm a bit short on time lately, but i'd love to see a screenshot of gmplayer/win32 running with one of the downloaded skins anyone tried it already?
__________________
E8400/P43, 4G, GTX260+, Win7-64.
Get Firefox. Get SmoothWheel Firefox extension.
avih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2003, 00:46   #92  |  Link
BoNz1
Registered User
 
BoNz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Great White North
Posts: 522
Well, the gmplayer is pretty cool but none of the buttons work on my computer, oh well guess thats why it is called a pre-beta .
BoNz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 19:05   #93  |  Link
Perplx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 22
New mplayer is out http://mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/releases...CVS-030630.zip
I dont know whats new though, couldnt play mastroka.
Perplx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2003, 22:52   #94  |  Link
Gaia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 267
This build doesn't work for me. Very slow again. Previous works fine...
Gaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2003, 16:34   #95  |  Link
BoNz1
Registered User
 
BoNz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Great White North
Posts: 522
New mplayer, mencoder, and gmplayer available, http://ftp3.mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/releases/win32-beta/ there is also some very exciting news on the homepage http://www.mplayerhq.hu/homepage/des...player10gossip
BoNz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2003, 18:45   #96  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,359
just some experience:

MPlayer dev-CVS-030816-12:54-3.2.3
os: win xp
(file is some sort of divx 5.x)

using from cli:
mplayer shrek.avi -sub shrek.sub -fs -subcp cp1250

- decoder seems to work rather fine (i just need to learn how to disable post-processing filters?), there are ocassional lines traveling down the picture, but not really annoying. the card is 'matrox etv450'.

- subs are annoying, they blink, they are soft and the char table is wrong. (using slovenian chars in the sub file)

SUB: Detected subtitle file format: subrip

anyway; great stuff all the way, i hope this player (iam only interested in cli version) will get ported as it deserves

edit: mkay, this fixed the wrong char issue, i copied the font to the same dir as movie is and the new line is:
mplayer shrek.avi -sub shrek.sub -fs -subcp cp1250 -font subfont.ttf

Last edited by smok3; 25th August 2003 at 19:21.
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2003, 16:47   #97  |  Link
echo-kk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by smok3
subs are annoying, they blink,
Just add '-double' to your mplayer options to get rid of the 'blinking'.

Quote:
Originally posted by smok3
i just need to learn how to disable post-processing filters
AFAIK mplayer doesn't pp with default settings. To TURN ON pp just add '-pp <n>' (usually <n>=1,...,6).
echo-kk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2003, 13:14   #98  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,359
Quote:
Originally posted by echo-kk
[B]Just add '-double' to your mplayer options to get rid of the 'blinking'.
tnx, ill try that.
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2003, 17:22   #99  |  Link
BoNz1
Registered User
 
BoNz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Great White North
Posts: 522
I found some new builds, these ones should support dvd playback, ogg vorbis (OGM), osd, and subs http://oss.netfarm.it/mplayer-win32.php
BoNz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2003, 22:10   #100  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,359
Quote:
Originally posted by BoNz1
I found some new builds, these ones should support dvd playback, ogg vorbis (OGM), osd, and subs http://oss.netfarm.it/mplayer-win32.php
great, this are upx compressed also, now this is a nice size for some sort of self-playable-cd-thingy allready.

(4.448.768 mplayer_old.exe
1.937.920 mplayer.exe
)

i wonder on how many systems this compile should work with some generic settings?
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.