Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 ASP

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th December 2001, 11:44   #1  |  Link
Ripe73
DVDR Freak!
 
Ripe73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 351
Merlin PAL and lines

I am working with Merlin PAL and i have some lines in the action scenes The lowmotionscenes look good
Is this what we call Interlaced?I followed the guide on DOOM9 with the preview DVD2AVI but i cant see any black lines.When i encode i use GKnot method so what can i do in this case?
Thanks for all help!!
__________________
Drugs,Sex & Encoding
Ripe73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2001, 11:52   #2  |  Link
Ripe73
DVDR Freak!
 
Ripe73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 351
I try to upload a picture hope it works
__________________
Drugs,Sex & Encoding

Last edited by Ripe73; 14th December 2001 at 12:59.
Ripe73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2001, 23:51   #3  |  Link
Tr!n!
Registered User
 
Tr!n!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 41

doesnt work, i know,
there seems to be a bug in this forum.
try putting it in a zip-file.
Tr!n! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2003, 13:30   #4  |  Link
Valky
Registered User
 
Valky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 275
well..anything new in this issue..I was planning to buy this dvd next week..was it interlaced or not? and it wasn't the whole movie? what did you do and what kind of results did you get?
Valky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 01:03   #5  |  Link
^^-+I4004+-^^
Banned
 
^^-+I4004+-^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Croatia [local name:Hrvatska]
Posts: 551
the source was interlaced,you resized it without
deinterlacing it first......

if the footage was shot on video camera,use deinterlacers
("smoothdeinterlacer" for avs is my pick)
if it was shoot on film try decomb and "telecide()"
so if there's some anomaly (fields got to wrong
frames) telecide will make you progressive
source even you're tricked to believe
it's an interlaced source.....

(first apply telecide(),if there's combing again,you should
apply smoothdeinterlace() and remove telecide.....that's not
film source...)

(deinterlacing will result in jerky motion scenes...)
^^-+I4004+-^^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 15:06   #6  |  Link
Valky
Registered User
 
Valky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 275
Hmm..yes..I noticed now this jerkyness..thought it was codecs fault, but same results with every codec.

Is there any good filters or de-interlace methods to prevent this?


My script:

# PLUGINS
LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\GORDIA~1\mpeg2dec.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\GORDIA~1\GreedyHMA.dll")
# SOURCE
mpeg2source("E:\merlin\merlin.d2v")

# TRIM
#This is one of the worst scenes
trim(134500,138300)

GreedyHMA(1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0)
# CROPPING
crop(16,6,691,561)
BicubicResize(560,416,0,0.75)
#

Last edited by Valky; 25th March 2003 at 15:08.
Valky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 16:00   #7  |  Link
mf
 
mf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,729
Quote:
Originally posted by ^^-+I4004+-^^
(first apply telecide(),if there's combing again,you should
apply smoothdeinterlace() and remove telecide.....that's not
film source...)
Nope, Telecide() won't leave combing. Telecide(post=false) will.
mf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 23:43   #8  |  Link
^^-+I4004+-^^
Banned
 
^^-+I4004+-^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Croatia [local name:Hrvatska]
Posts: 551
>Nope, Telecide() won't leave combing. Telecide(post=false) will.

true,my mistake;
VDub version will leave combing,and obviously (as you said)
telecide(post=false)

>Hmm..yes..I noticed now this jerkyness..thought it was codecs fault, but same results with every codec.
Is there any good filters or de-interlace methods to prevent this?

nope;if you're doing deinterlacing,you're
modifying information of one field and that means
the original (interlaced video) and processed video
(deinterlaced) don't match......

if you want to keep interlacing(and fluent motion) resort to
mpeg2 stuff.......
^^-+I4004+-^^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.