Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-2 Encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st February 2003, 12:36   #1  |  Link
RB
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,349
EclCCE: Adds ECL support to CCE 2.66 trial

Hi,

here is EclCCE, an utility that adds the load/save ECL (Encoder Control List) functionality and e few other useful new options to the CCE SP 2.66/2.67 trial versions. ECL support is added "seamlessly", you simply use the standard CCE menu items and toolbar buttons for loading and saving the ECL. There also is command line support for automatic ECL loading/encoding/exiting. Command line support only is available for earlier CCE SP versions. See the enclosed manual for more information.

Download EclCCE 1.81
Mirror
Download EclCCE 1.81 Source Code

EDIT: Unfortunately my life has become too busy to continue development of EclCCE. Feel free to download and use the source code for your own enhancements to EclCCE. Good luck!

History:
Code:
16/04/2004 v1.81

	- Added support for CCE-SP 2.67.00.27

	- Added VafFix INI parameter. Setting VafFix=1 in [EclCCE] section in
          EclCCE.ini causes EclCCE to handle the create_new_vaf ECL option
          the way it did in EclCCE v1.7b. Use this only for compatibility
          with utilities such as BatchCCEWS that rely on the previously
          "reverted" handling of create_new_vaf.


02/04/2004 v1.8b

	- Fixed: compatibility issue with CCE-SP 2.50/2.62/2.64, jdobbs's
          DVD-Rebuilder and command line ECL loading. No more AVIFileOpen
          errors with DVD-Rebuilder generated ECLs for CCE-SP 2.50.

	- Some internal code cleaning and small fixes.


31/03/2004 v1.8a

	- Fixed: Cancel button could not be hidden via command line or INI
          option for CCE-SP 2.50/2.62/2.64.

	- Fixed: under rare circumstances, CCE unexpectedly closed when
          loading or saving ECL.

	- Added: Fix for "invisible CCE window" issue with CCE-SP versions
          prior to 2.67.00.12 (see CCE-SP HISTORY.TXT).

	- Added: sanity check on ECL files to display a reasonable error
          message when trying to load an unsupported ECL format (CCE Basic).

	- Added: -hideshutdown command line option. Global option to hide the
          Shutdown checkbox in progress dialog, press Ctrl-Shift-S to
          hide/unhide at any time.


25/03/2004 v1.8

        - Added: ability to run CCE minimized. CCE will be automatically
          minimized to tray if EclCCE.exe is run minimized and the –ecl
          and/or –batch/-encode switches are used. Requires CCE-SP 2.66.01.07
          or higher.

        - Fixed: Video/Audio/VAF file extension specified in ECL was reset to
          CCE default file extension when loading ECL.

        - Fixed: create_new_vaf ECL option was reversed. Now create_new_vaf=1
          really sets "Create new file" and create_new_vaf=0 sets "Use
          existing file".

        - Fixed: under certain circumstances, the ECL file was saved as the
          last video file dropped into CCE, overwriting the video file.

        - Fixed: Cancel button in Encode Progress Dialog was sometimes still
          accessible although it was set to be hidden.

        - Enhancement: shutdown timeout extended to 30 seconds. Also the CCE
          window is now brought to the foreground when the shutdown sequence
          is initiated.


17/12/2003 v1.7b

	- Added support for CCE-SP 2.67.00.21 through CCE-SP 2.67.00.23


23/10/2003 v1.7a

	- Added support for CCE-SP 2.67.00.18 and CCE-SP 2.67.00.20


16/10/2003 v1.7

	- Added support for CCE-SP 2.67.00.17 and CCE-SP 2.67.00.19


25/07/2003 v1.6

	- Added support for CCE-SP 2.67.00.12 and CCE-SP 2.67.00.13


10/06/2003 v1.5c

	- Added support for CCE-SP 2.67.00.11


30/05/2003 v1.5b

	- Fixed issue with Bitrate Tweaking feature that would sometimes
          cause CCE to crash after the last pass.


26/05/2003 v1.5a

	- Added option to prevent accepting multiple selections in the Open
          Project dialog to make EclCCE compatible with DVD2SVCD again
          (broken in 1.5).
	- Fixed bug in command line support for CCE versions prior to
          2.66.01.07


22/05/2003 v1.5

	- Fixed: dragging and dropping ECL files into the CCE window was not
          possible (trial version limitation)
	- Added support for loading of multiple ECL files simultaneously
	- It is no longer possible to accidentally select EclCCE.exe for the
          CCE-SP executable when EclCCE runs for the first time.


12/05/2003 v1.4c

	- Fixed the "CCE did not finish initializing in a timely manner"
          error


02/05/2003 v1.4b

	- Fixed: Advanced VBR Settings dialog was visible during automated
                 bitrate tweaking even though CCE was minimized to tray
	- Fixed: Shutdown feature didn't work when using bitrate tweaking


25/04/2003 v1.4a

	- Added support for CCE 2.67.00.10
	- Added ability to minimize CCE to the system tray during encoding


16/04/2003 v1.4

	- Added option to shut down system after encoding
	- Added EclCCE settings dialog along with the ability to
          specify the CCE process priority
	- Added a manifest file for CCE to the distribution. Copy
          cctspt.exe.manifest to the CCE installation directory to
          apply Windows XP visual styles.
	- Fixed: CCE window title was set incorrectly when ECL file
                 name contained a dash
	- Fixed: in some cases Encoding did not start when clicking
                 Yes in the "Save changes....?" prompt and then
                 canceling the Save dialog.
	- Fixed: in some cases you were not prompted to save changes
                 after modifying the Bitrate Tweak settings.
	- Fixed: problem with hooking into CCE when EclCCE.exe was
                 run with process priorities above "Normal".


27/03/2003 v1.3a

        - Fixed: Bitrate tweaking feature didn't take effect when
                 encoding was started by clicking the "Encode Now"
                 button in Encode Settings dialog.


25/03/2003 v1.3

       - Added bitrate tweaking feature.


11/03/2003 v1.2

       - Added command line support for earlier CCE SP trial versions
       - Added support for CCE 2.67.00.09

 05/03/2003 v1.1a

       - Added -nochapterlist command line switch


26/02/2003 v1.1

       - Added support for CCE 2.67.00.08


22/02/2003 v1.01

       - Added support for CCE 2.66 retail -batch command line switch
       - Added -nocancel command line switch


21/02/2003 v1.0

       - First release. Supports CCE 2.66.01.07

Last edited by Trahald; 31st December 2008 at 15:16.
RB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2003, 12:55   #2  |  Link
wmansir
Moderator
 
wmansir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,920
Nice! Thanks, I'm giving it a try now.

EDIT: unfortunatly it's not working for me.

When I try and save a .ecl nothing happens at all, except the program becomes none responsive (windows beeps when I try and click on it). I had to kill the program, but it did save the .ecl file.

When I tried to load the .ecl file nothing happens at all, but at least CCE doesn't freeze.

Using 2.66.01.07 trial on windows XP.

Last edited by wmansir; 21st February 2003 at 13:03.
wmansir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2003, 13:17   #3  |  Link
RB
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,349
Grr. It's working for me in XP.

Please do the following. It should have created an EclCCE.ini file in the directory where you put EclCCE.exe. Edit the [EclCCE] section to add an

Debug=1

entry. Run EclCCE again and try to save an ECL. You will have to click OK/Cancel now to get out of the dialogs. Let me know where it hangs.

Thanks.

Last edited by RB; 21st February 2003 at 13:22.
RB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2003, 13:17   #4  |  Link
Redbacks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 28
Working well for me

Thanks, nice little tool....
Redbacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2003, 13:21   #5  |  Link
Redbacks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 28
Forgot to mention....

Working fine for me using WinXP Professional and CCE SP Trial version
2.66.01.07
Redbacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2003, 14:35   #6  |  Link
wmansir
Moderator
 
wmansir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,920
It's weird, when I enabled Debuging it worked fine. I had to cancel out of the menues, but didn't encounter any errors or hangups on loading or saving. When I disabled debuging the same errors occurred.

Here is a copy of the .ecl file that was created when the process failed:
Quote:
; CCE SP Trial Version -- Encoder Control List

[item]
title=starwars1.avs
vid_out=1
vaf_out=1
aud_out=0
aud_mode=0
vid_file0=e:\starwars1.mpv
vid_file1=e:\starwars1.mpv
vaf_file=e:\starwars1.vaf
aud_file=e:\starwars1.mpa
file_focused=0
video_type=4
timecode=0x1000000
tc_ref_frm=0
drop_frame=0
cbr_brate=6000
opv_q_factor=60
opv_brate_min=2000
opv_brate_max=9000
vbr_brate_avg=2257
vbr_brate_min=1194
vbr_brate_max=2565
vbr_bias=30
vbr_pass=3
create_new_vaf=1
pulldown_detect=0
letter_box=0
panscan=0
aspect_ratio=2
h_filter=1
h_filter_idx=8
use_filter=1
filter_val=4
dither=0
dither_max=8
quality_prec=16
intra_dc_prec=1
alternate_scan=1
non_linear=1
progressive=0
gop_m=3
gop_nm=4
gop_hdr=12
seq_hdr=1
seq_endcode=0
dvd=0
all_closed_gop=0
fix_gop_length=0
fix_vbv_delay=0
top_first=0
half_width=0
half_height=0
lum_level=0
packet_size=2048
frame_rate_idx=1
qmat_idx=0
mpeg1=0
mpeg1_cps=1
brate_idx=7
stereo=2
samples_per_sec=44100
crc=1
It's incomplete by a few lines. When I loaded the complete .ecl, that I saved in debug mode, it loaded the file but resulted in the same unresponsive state as before.

I tried the Alt-F4 to close the program and it did respond with the normal "Save .ecl?" dialog, so the program is not totally unresponsive. When I selected "no", the program closed and windows played the "critical stop" sound.

EDIT: I also noticed that sometimes hitting Alt-F4 'unfreezes' the program, and allows me to continue using it as normal. I checked the .ecl after doing this and it appears complete. I'll have to play around with it later.

Last edited by wmansir; 21st February 2003 at 14:40.
wmansir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2003, 15:35   #7  |  Link
RB
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,349
OK, I think I found the problem and uploaded a new version (silly typo in code that would cause random failures like this). Please download again and let me know if this fixes it. Thanks.
RB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2003, 22:24   #8  |  Link
wmansir
Moderator
 
wmansir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,920
Looks great now, working flawlessly. Thanks again for this tool.
wmansir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2003, 20:44   #9  |  Link
RB
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,349
I have uploaded version 1.01. The only changes are two new command line options: -batch combines /encode and /exit (added to be compatible with CCE 2.66 retail) and -nocancel hides the Cancel button in the encode progress dialog. Also command line options can now be indicated by either hyphen or slash.

I should also mention that right now custom 3:2 pulldown settings are not saved/loaded to/from the ECL, just the check state of the 3:2 Pulldown checkbox. Maybe I'll add support for the 3:2 pulldown settings in a later version if there is demand for it.

Oh, and in case you wondered: yes, it does load/save the VBR Bias setting from/to the ECL and applies it even if no VAF file exists yet
RB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2003, 09:56   #10  |  Link
RB
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,349
CCE SP 2.67 trial is out: http://www.cinemacraft.com/jpn/download.html

I'm working on adding support for this version.
RB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2003, 10:11   #11  |  Link
rui
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 730
Thank you for your efforts

I just can't wait to get home and try this baby.
To my sorrow, that will take some hours , i am at the begining of a monday work day
__________________
Rui
rui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2003, 23:02   #12  |  Link
rui
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 730
Ok, i tested the latest version of EclCCE (1.01) and it's a HIT

It worked like a charm, with CCE 2.66.01.07 in WinXPSP1.

The test movie was "Saving Private Ryan". I loaded EclCCE, and after indicating the path to CCE, it opened it.

Then i feed it with the avs, and tried all sorts of configs, saving in between the ecl file, then exiting and opening it with notepad.
All seemed perfectly fine.

Then i made a one pass with Q60, and it went smoothly.

Thank you again RB for this great tool.

EDIT1: Now, when you add 2.67 support, i will be here to test it

EDIT2: I for one fell that this software is of such importance for the correct use of CCE (computer not powerfull enough to make all the passes in one stroke, so the capabilitie of saving ecl file is a great advantage for me), and it seems to work without bugs (at least for now , that the MODS should make this thread a sticky.
__________________
Rui

Last edited by rui; 24th February 2003 at 23:19.
rui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2003, 08:16   #13  |  Link
RB
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,349
Glad to see you like it

Support for 2.67 should be ready by tomorrow or so. I already verified that I don't need to make any major changes, I'm just fed up with something else right now.
RB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2003, 16:07   #14  |  Link
RB
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,349
EclCCE 1.1 with support for CCE 2.67.00.08 is out. As usual, download from link in first post.
RB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2003, 22:13   #15  |  Link
Mikel
Registered User
 
Mikel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 54
Problem with EclCCE, BUG?

Hi RB

Great software. I just have a problem. With every item loaded, i fills up memory with about 50-60 Mb.
What happens is that after 20-30 items loaded, I run out of memory.
The software reports some strange avi error and freezes.

I use version 1.1, with CCE 2.66.07

Any insight on this?

Cheers

Mikel
Mikel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2003, 22:43   #16  |  Link
rui
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 730
Well, eclCCE 1.1 works very well with CCE SP 2.67.00.8

Mikel, when you say items, you mean AVIs', or other videos?

I tried to load a avs script of the full movie "Saving Private Ryan" (it has 243772 frames) and it only loads the memory till 26MB.
__________________
Rui
rui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2003, 23:03   #17  |  Link
Mikel
Registered User
 
Mikel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 54
With item i mean...

... single movies
I try to put together some DVD with about 30 single movies.
I want to decode them all in one batch.

With every movie loaded, the memory decreases by at least 40 Mb.

Cheers

Mikel
Mikel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2003, 23:05   #18  |  Link
Mikel
Registered User
 
Mikel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 54
so....

30 movies times 40 Mb is 1.2 Gb of memory...
Thats when the program freezes..

Mikel
Mikel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2003, 23:21   #19  |  Link
rui
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 730
Mikel, i assume that each movie is small, right?

All together, they have how much time?

I tried again to load the full movie i mentioned above (it has 2 hours, 42 minutes and 30 seconds), this time by saving a ecl file, and then exiting the program, then opening eclCCE and loading the ecl file.

It increased the memory use by 24MB only.
__________________
Rui
rui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2003, 23:38   #20  |  Link
Mikel
Registered User
 
Mikel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 54
Try many small movies

I find that the size of movies is not the problem, it's the number.
I get serious problems after about 20 or so movies.

Make a quick test to check if you get the same behaviour.

Cheers

Mikel
Mikel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.