Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th December 2002, 14:45   #1  |  Link
Scoobydeux
Ruh?
 
Scoobydeux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 83
Avisynth 2.07 won't decompress AVI/MPEG

I am new to AVISynth, I have used primarily VFAPI up to now. I am trying to get AVIsynth 2.07 to work, and have had some problems...

I cannot get a simple "AviSource("G:\test.avi")" script to frameserve, it says "unable to decompress frame 1" when I try it in MPlayer. I also cannot get "MPEG2DEC.dll" to work, I load it, then when I select the source I get the error "Unrecognized Exception in Line 2".

I HAVE been able to create a file using:

blankclip(345600,720,480)
ResampleAudio(44100)

To give me a 4-hour blank clip, but for frameserving it is a no go. I have checked all the old AVISynth versions are gone, I have re-run the installation, I have turned off VDub, what else can I do to make AVISynth frameserve?

Frustrated noob @ avisynth...

Scoobydeux
Scoobydeux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2002, 14:39   #2  |  Link
symonjfox
IUUULEEEENZ
 
symonjfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 452
I had the same problem!!

The only one solution for me it's to UNINSTALL this version and come back to 2.06 waiting for bug fixes
symonjfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2002, 10:40   #3  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,293
Quote:
I cannot get a simple "AviSource("G:\test.avi")" script to frameserve, it says "unable to decompress frame 1" when I try it in MPlayer.
Can you open this avi in WMP, how did you make it (what codec)?

Quote:
I also cannot get "MPEG2DEC.dll" to work, I load it, then when I select the source I get the error "Unrecognized Exception in Line 2".
Are you using dvd2avi 1.76? If you are using 1.77.something change it to the older version 1.76.

Quote:
I HAVE been able to create a file using:

blankclip(345600,720,480)
ResampleAudio(44100)
Ok, good. AviSynth is installed properly.
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2002, 12:40   #4  |  Link
Scoobydeux
Ruh?
 
Scoobydeux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 83
Thanks for your reply! I appreciate your help......

I tried several AVI's from various sources (none that I created, I guess I could try that to make sure a stable codec is used) but they ALL played correctly in WMP prior to my trying them with avisynth.

You are CORRECT, I was using DVD2AVI 1.77.3. I'll go dig up my older version and reinstall that....

Scoobydeux
Scoobydeux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2002, 13:12   #5  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,293
Could you open the avi and look at the "file information" to see what codec is used.
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2002, 13:16   #6  |  Link
Scoobydeux
Ruh?
 
Scoobydeux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 83
The first one was listed as:

Indeo® video 5.10 Decompression Filter
Scoobydeux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2002, 13:27   #7  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,293
I added this to the buglist in sourceforge. What you can do is convert them to Huffyuv in VirtualDub and frameserve using AviSynth with the huffyuv-avi.
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2002, 15:20   #8  |  Link
Scoobydeux
Ruh?
 
Scoobydeux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 83
Reverting to 1.76 fixed the problems.... I also converted those other avi's with v-dub, and they worked.... I guess I had 2 different problems altogether.

Thanks for the help! Works like a champ now.
Scoobydeux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2002, 15:07   #9  |  Link
madman80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 26
try with AiSource("G:\test.avi", false)
You won't make a search into de video but you can encode from the beginning to the end.
madman80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.