Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th November 2019, 21:28   #1241  |  Link
Andy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by IbrahimKh View Post
Did you both got full CPU usage when converting from HDR to SDR?
No, in this case specifically only about 50-70% on average, I do not remember much anymore. The main thing I did was gpu (1080Ti).
I haven't used the DGHable script, only DGIndex, Resize to 1080p and DGHDRtoSDR with avisynth (mode = "pq", white = 1800, fulldepth = true).
The value of "white" increases gamma, at 1800 the video is dark, I gave 2300.
Maybe it does not comply with BT.709 standards, but it is good for my eyes and ips monitor. The color corresponds to reality.
http://forum.doom9.net/showthread.php?t=175686

Last edited by Andy; 28th November 2019 at 21:50.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2019, 16:52   #1242  |  Link
Bahamuth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 56
Hmm my problem with the slow video after encoding does not exist when encoding with Handbrake. Tried now four different deinterlacers, each result is the same. Slow video, normal audio speed.

These separate fields must be terrible...
Bahamuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2019, 18:12   #1243  |  Link
sgfrisbee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6
StaxRip 2.0.6.0 Hardcoded Subtitles

StaxRip has stopped hardcoding subtitles. I have try versions 2.0 to 2.0.6.0 and they all have stopped hardcoding subtiles.

StaxRip does not error out when encoding video file, it just does
not HC subtitles. It does the same thing with subtitles I use
srt and ass files.

Log file attached.


Thank you for any help on this.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Arifureta - S01E01_staxrip.txt (15.7 KB, 3 views)

Last edited by sgfrisbee; 2nd December 2019 at 18:15.
sgfrisbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2019, 18:13   #1244  |  Link
jonrodrigos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Hello everyone, I have many doubts when using staxrip, I would like to ask if anyone can give me a link or explain through the forum how to configure and use staxrip 2.0.6 for movies in 4k hdr in the best quality using nvenc NVIDIA? I have doubts as to the decoder if it is better to use vapourSynth or AviSynth or even nvenc hardware or software .... etc
i have nvidia asus gtx 1070ti
it's hard to find tutorial on the internet
if anyone can explain me, I will be very grateful.
thank you!
jonrodrigos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2019, 20:34   #1245  |  Link
JKyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 35
NVEnc 4.57 is released today.

Quote:
- Add HLG->SDR support to vpp-colorspace hdr2sdr.
- Fix typo of a parameter. ( arib-srd-b67 -> arib-std-b67)
- Remove "w" option from vpp-colorspace hdr2sdr=hable, now will be calculated by source_peak / ldr_nits.
- Fix sub-copy not working from NVEnc 4.56.
- Fix trueHD decode error in mkv which has certain pattern of timestamps.
- Fix vpp-afs level= 0 getting unexpexted artifacts.
Here.
JKyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 09:14   #1246  |  Link
writersblock29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgfrisbee View Post
StaxRip has stopped hardcoding subtitles. I have try versions 2.0 to 2.0.6.0 and they all have stopped hardcoding subtiles.
Yeah, I ran into this tonight while encoding "Men in Black." After a bit of troubleshooting, I concluded that the problem lays with VSFilterMod, or at the very least it was worth bypassing it. Since I also have Ripbot264 installed on my system, I copied the VSFilter plugin from Ripbot's plugin folder... pasted it into Staxrip's AVS plugins folder... then edited Staxrip's AVS script so that it would point to it. It worked: the subs are burned into the video as expected.

If you try this approach, you can edit the necessary commands from Staxrip's filter editor. After placing VSFilter into your AVS plugins folder, open the editor and you'll see a command like, "TextSubMod (your subtitle file's path and file name.)" In my case, I replaced this text with:

LoadPlugin("C:\Users\write\Documents\StaxRip-x64-2.0.6.0-stable\Apps\Plugins\AVS\VSFilter\VSFilter.dll")
TextSub("F:\Men in Black.srt")

Of course you'll likely have a different file path than mine, but that's the tall and skinny of it. It's clunky, but it works!
__________________
Isn't it a bit unnerving that doctors call what they do "practice?"
--George Carlin
writersblock29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 10:41   #1247  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonrodrigos View Post
...
i have nvidia asus gtx 1070ti
You should've got a newer Nvidia-card for HEVC/H.265 NVEnc-encoding, since the newest graphicscards gives better picture quality for the bitrate (the new ones handles B-frames!),
I mean the cards in the list with "HEVC B Frame support" here,
https://developer.nvidia.com/video-e...support-matrix
Forteen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 17:57   #1248  |  Link
writersblock29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonrodrigos View Post
...I would like to ask if anyone can give me a link or explain through the forum how to configure and use staxrip 2.0.6 for movies in 4k hdr in the best quality using nvenc NVIDIA?
Questions like this tend to be loaded, since quality's subjective. I could post the settings I use, but it'd fall flat on two counts: the first is that I'm using a GTX 1660, which supports the use of b-frames and uses a different architecture than your card. The second is that someone else will inevitably chime in with "Why the heck are you using X setting? You're wasting bits!!!" Because I like my settings, I'll be right. Because he likes HIS settings, he'll be right. That's why this forum frowns on the "What's best?" question.

The most general advice I can offer is to make sure you're using 10-bit instead of 8-bit, use the Main 10 profile in your encoder, and run some tests from there. If you use low CQP values, you'll get better quality which will come at the expense of larger file sizes. If you use high VBR settings, same deal: better quality, bigger file sizes. Only you can determine where your sweet spot is. And once you find it, you'll be just as right as anyone else.
__________________
Isn't it a bit unnerving that doctors call what they do "practice?"
--George Carlin
writersblock29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2019, 00:49   #1249  |  Link
Bahamuth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 56
I found the reason for the wrong encoding of my videos.

ffms2.dll with version 2019-08-30 StvG is producing faulty videos for me. If I use the "old" 2.23.1 (latest version) from the website, then my video is encoded just fine.

I noticed, that during the x264 encode, the amount of frames was considerably higher than with the ffms2.dll shipped from StaxRip 2.

I uploaded an example. No additional filters needed.

Old ffms2.dll shows this info in StaxRip:


New ffms2.dll shows this info in StaxRip:

Notice the FPS of the Source Video.
Bahamuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2019, 04:36   #1250  |  Link
ircopdd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahamuth View Post
I found the reason for the wrong encoding of my videos.

ffms2.dll with version 2019-08-30 StvG is producing faulty videos for me. If I use the "old" 2.23.1 (latest version) from the website, then my video is encoded just fine.
.

right

i use FFVideoSource("%source_file%", cachefile="%source_temp_file%.ffindex", fpsnum=60000, fpsden=1001)
#AssumeFPS(25)

have problem

https://youtu.be/IRaFKzqpF18


use Old ffms2.dll is Works perfectly...
ircopdd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2019, 18:43   #1251  |  Link
Bahamuth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 56
Now I have to check hundreds of video clips I have encoded since 2.0.4.0 came out, crap...

When converting DVDs and BluRays I don't open the resulting file immediately. Never had a reason to.
Bahamuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2019, 22:26   #1252  |  Link
Mister XY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahamuth View Post
Now I have to check hundreds of video clips I have encoded since 2.0.4.0 came out, crap...

When converting DVDs and BluRays I don't open the resulting file immediately. Never had a reason to.
I have write me a small bash script for linux. That script search for mkv files with frames higher than 24 and write it to a log file.
I must start this Script with
Code:
./mediainfo.sh "/mnt/md0/Video"
but i have to install the bin mediainfo

Code:
#!/bin/bash

FRAusgabe="/root/x265FRinfo.txt"	# Output for the logfile	
WriAppi=""							# mkvmerge or HandBrake or another
miniFR="24"							# minimal Frames


Frames() {
	if [ -f $FRAusgabe ]
		then
		rm $FRAusgabe
	fi

	find "$UF_FOLDER" . -type f -iname "*.mkv" -print0 | while IFS= read -r -d $'\0' linefr; do
		if [ `mediainfo --inform= "$linefr" | grep "Writing application" | grep -c "$WriAppi"` -eq 1 ]; then
			mediainfver=$(mediainfo --inform="Video;%FrameRate%" "$linefr")
			if [ `mediainfo --inform="Video;%FrameRate%" "$linefr" | cut -c 1-2` -ge $miniFR ]; then
				echo $linefr FPS:$mediainfver | sed "s|$UF_FOLDER||" >> $FRAusgabe
			fi
		fi
	done

}

case "$1" in
			* )
            UF_FOLDER="$1"
			Frames
			;;
esac
Mister XY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2019, 14:26   #1253  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 36 Chambers
Posts: 5,948
Quick status update on the hardware renderer for the preview and crop dialog, I've reached 2 milestones recently and will hopefully have a first beta within a month.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2019, 17:15   #1254  |  Link
JKyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 35
rigaya released NVEnc 4.58 today.

Quote:
Some bug fixes.

- Fix memory leak in audio processing.
- Fix HEVC level not shown properly on the log.
- Fix issue that encode speed and bitrate were not shown properly by --pref-monitor.
Here.
JKyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2019, 20:11   #1255  |  Link
JKyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 35
x264 159 r2991 was released yesterday.

Here.

However, the official build distributed by VideoLAN lacks support for ffms and MP4 container as you may know.

I'd like to see if @Patman is interested in building a customized version with that kind of support as he's been doing recently.

(And ffmpeg and others as well.)

Thanks in advance.
JKyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2019, 20:31   #1256  |  Link
Patman
Registered User
 
Patman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKyle View Post
x264 159 r2991 was released yesterday.



Here.



However, the official build distributed by VideoLAN lacks support for ffms and MP4 container as you may know.



I'd like to see if @Patman is interested in building a customized version with that kind of support as he's been doing recently.



(And ffmpeg and others as well.)



Thanks in advance.
Hi JKyle,

I will do, maybe at weekend. My hdd has crashed two weeks ago, so I had no time to build my custom builds.

Gesendet von meinem HMA-L09 mit Tapatalk
__________________
My Builds | Update-Links StaxRip-Tools
Patman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2019, 20:38   #1257  |  Link
JKyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patman View Post
My hdd has crashed two weeks ago, so I had no time to build my custom builds.
I'm deeply sorry to hear that.
It explains why your builds have not been updated over the last 3 weeks. Hmm...
Hope the data isn't lost along and you recover quickly.
JKyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2019, 20:40   #1258  |  Link
Patman
Registered User
 
Patman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKyle View Post
I'm deeply sorry to hear that.

It explains why your builds have not been updated over the last 3 weeks. Hmm...

Hope the data isn't lost along and you recover quickly.
I'm on a good way

Gesendet von meinem HMA-L09 mit Tapatalk
__________________
My Builds | Update-Links StaxRip-Tools
Patman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2019, 03:04   #1259  |  Link
hippo88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Unsupported Video Data with Encode

Hi,
I used staxrip x64 2.0.6.0 to encode these games but received "unsupported video data" from Samsung (2009) playing from external hd. Please help. Thank you.
Attached Files
File Type: txt KC@NE.10.14.18 test.txt (11.7 KB, 14 views)
File Type: txt NFL2019.wk14.KC@NE.12.08.19.txt (9.2 KB, 10 views)
hippo88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2019, 16:58   #1260  |  Link
writersblock29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgfrisbee View Post
StaxRip has stopped hardcoding subtitles.
Okay... I looked into this some more since this doesn't seem to be a wide-spread problem, yet we're both having it. I found a solution that hopefully helps you out, too.

Check to see what your decoder is set to. I was using my Nvidia card before, and I can't tell from your log if you're doing the same. Switch it to AVIsynth+/Vaporsynth. While you're at it, make sure Staxrip sees no problem with your AVIsynth+ installation--and if it does, reinstall it.

Once done with those steps, try rerunning your project and see if that clears things up. On my end, it did: no more directing it to Ripbot's VSFilter or other lasso tricks. It runs just as it always had before. Fingers crossed here, but hopefully it'll dig you out, too.

If it does, please reply so if anyone else out there's having this problem, they'll know to make sure Staxrip is playing nice with AVIsynth+.
__________________
Isn't it a bit unnerving that doctors call what they do "practice?"
--George Carlin
writersblock29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aac, hdr, hevc, staxrip, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.