Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th March 2019, 20:35   #55561  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
madVR features that don't work with DXVA/D3D11 native are: IVTC; black bars detection.
Are you sure that's really all?

I am certain that for DXVA (Native) vs. DXVA (copy-back) that under devices -> hdr the dropdown called (highlight recovery strength does not work in DXVA (Native), but it does work in DXVA (copy-back).

You are saying it should work in D3D11 Native?

https://i.postimg.cc/K8B4fVWf/hdr.png

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Also the measure frame brightness for HDR tone mapping.
*EDIT* you beat me.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2019, 21:29   #55562  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 528
Nope, I also thought that before and it may have been the case at some point in the past, but all the HDR features now work with DXVA native. You can check easily with ShowRenderSteps.
Luminance measure has to work because madshi himself recommends D3D11 native for the standalone measurement tool.
Highlights recovery is also easy to check even without ShowRenderSteps because it uses quite a lot of processing power (at least on my GPU )
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2019, 21:36   #55563  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Nope, I also thought that before and it may have been the case at some point in the past, but all the HDR features now work with DXVA native. You can check easily with ShowRenderSteps.
Luminance measure has to work because madshi himself recommends D3D11 native for the standalone measurement tool.
Highlights recovery is also easy to check even without ShowRenderSteps because it uses quite a lot of processing power (at least on my GPU )
Excellent, thanks! Yes it must have changed somewhere along the line in newer builds than I am originally remembering.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2019, 23:34   #55564  |  Link
fourbigkids
Registered User
 
fourbigkids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Hi all.

Having a bit of trouble with judder in certain circumstances. I have two HDMI outputs from my HTPC. One from an Nvidia RTX2060, which goes to a pre-pro and then to the TV, and the other from the on-board Intel 630 video which goes direct to the TV. VLC plays video without judder through either route to the TV. But with MPC-BE and MadVR, judder is present, but only when using the Intel video output. MadVR is set for pretty low performance. I have attached two snips, one for the Nvidia and the other for the Intel. I see that the only difference is in the rendering rate, the Nvidia being three times faster than the Intel. Could this be the cause of the judder? The Nvidia card is new and I hadn't noticed judder on the Intel card beforehand.

Ideally I want to be able to use MPC-BE for both outputs and have the capacity to upscale the many old DVD movie rips we have with MPC-BE, and for MPC-BE to work smoothly with the Intel output.

You might ask why do I need both outputs. Well, my wife prefers minimal engagement with the system. Turn it on and press play - hence Intel straight to the TV. However, I am prefer to enjoy the full surround sound experience and the quality of the MadVR upscaling, even if it requires more action on my part. The only alternative I can see is changing the default player to VLC for my wife and then manually opening files in MPC-BE when I want to watch something.

Any suggestions on how to resolve?

Cheers,

Allan

Nvidia Card:

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ajkfvd4XPdI2iNx1jOLe-dF0TCtLZQ


Intel Video:

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ajkfvd4XPdI2iNx2hHmZmg_1Q1T9yg


.................................................................

edit:

It appears that the judder was present because MadVR wasn't able to change the refresh rate to match the source with Windows doing the cloning of the displays (the AVR and the TV). I have resolved this problem by using two outputs on the nvidia GPU, rather than one on the nvidia and the other on the Intel GPU. One goes via the AVR to the TV and the the other goes direct to the TV. This way nvidia controls the 'cloning'. I have set it up in the Nvidia control panel so that the AVR is the source of the clone when both routes are active. When the AVR is switched on I am able to play a video with MPC/MadVR through the AVR to the TV and the refresh rate is able to be switched to match the source, but not HTPC-TV direct. If I turn off the AVR then MPC/MadVR is able to switch the refresh rate HTPC to TV direct. :-) This may be possible in Windows but I haven't checked - very easy to setup in nvidia control panel. Only downside is that I can't play UHD discs on my HTPC but this is a non-issue given that the licencing controls keep screwing things up and I have a BSOD more often than not. It is just not worth the trouble - just bought a Panasonic player for $250, works like a charm.

Last edited by fourbigkids; 5th April 2019 at 02:12. Reason: update
fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 00:14   #55565  |  Link
fourbigkids
Registered User
 
fourbigkids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Having trouble posting images from url. I'll try again:

Nvidia:



Intel:

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ajkfvd4XPdI2iNx2hHmZmg_1Q1T9yg


Edit

Nah. Screw it. Not working.
fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 00:34   #55566  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,665
How fast is the Intel GPU in ms? What framerate video are you playing?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 00:54   #55567  |  Link
fourbigkids
Registered User
 
fourbigkids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Hi Asmodian. The Average Stats show the Intel GPU rendering at 64.70ms in the video in the links above. It is a 23.976 fps movie in this case, but the judder is common to a range of sources.

Allan
fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 01:05   #55568  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,665
Yes, the Intel GPU is too slow for your settings. A single 23.976 video frame is only displayed for 1000/23.976 = 41.70833 ms. This means you need the average rendering time to be below 41 ms, and there also needs to be some extra so I would target something lower, low enough madVR stops reporting dropped frames. Higher frame rates need to be rendered even faster.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 02:06   #55569  |  Link
fourbigkids
Registered User
 
fourbigkids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Thanks Asmodian. I thought that might be the case. Looks like I am going to have to run two players, one for each GPU. Cheers, Allan
fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 05:30   #55570  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
I just updated that info here:
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=176013

419.67 GRD 2019-03-25 stuttering issues
419.67 CRD 2019-03-20 stuttering issues
419.35 GRD 2019-03-05 stuttering issues
419.17 GRD 2019-02-22
418.91 GRD 2019-02-14 NO stuttering issues

Did anyone test 419.17 about the stutter issues?
I have no issues on 419.35 once I turned VSYNC ON.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 05:59   #55571  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,203
Why are people even changing VSYNC in the control panel? Just use the default 'use the 3d application setting' and be done with it.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 06:05   #55572  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,831
that's the issue it doesn't work with application controlled where it should use "on".
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 07:13   #55573  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,203
Would madVR be capable of forcing Vsync?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 08:21   #55574  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,831
i don't have a turing card so i can't check this in "detail".
but i'm pretty sure madVR wants vsync to be on so it is "forcing" it but it looks like it is doing something else.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 09:43   #55575  |  Link
Nicog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 17
Hi,

I'm facing another issue with MadVR (I suppose it comes from MadVR).

I would like to use the "zoom" function in windows in 2160p (from 100% to 200%).

When I do that, the picture displayed by MadVR is zoomed also of 200% and shrink then to fit to the screen. Conclusion : the native 2160p movie is displayed at 1080p !!! (MadVR OSD shows 2160p->1080p).


Is it normal? Any idea to solve this issue (my config in my signature)?
__________________
JRiver 25 in a Custom PC with i7 7700, Nvidia RTX 2070 (Zotac mini), Windows 10 1809, JVC X7900 in a dedicated black room :-)
Nicog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 10:16   #55576  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,831
if you didn't try that already restart the PC. i had something similar some years ago.

what so ever madVR has no effect on this. madVR only changes the resolution with it's build in display modes and 3D.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 10:46   #55577  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Why are people even changing VSYNC in the control panel? Just use the default 'use the 3d application setting' and be done with it.
I was getting constant every second stuttering (that madvr was not reporting) with the default 'use the 3d application setting' and changing that to "on" fixes it when using Windowed Mode.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 11:18   #55578  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
I have no issues on 419.35 once I turned VSYNC ON.
Thanks, added in AMD, Intel and Nvidia driver issues and last recommended version
Klaus1189 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 15:36   #55579  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Make sure you make it clear that its only no stuttering with v-sync forced ON.

I'm pretty sure there is no stuttering in any driver versions with vsync forced ON.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2019, 16:22   #55580  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,000
Hi everyone,

I have made an optimized NVIDIA profile for MPC-HC/BE. Might be helpful for those who struggle with the configuration. Try it out.

This is NVIDIA Profle Inspector tool with a profile file and a .bat to import that profile.

Download

Most important settings it uses:
Power management mode = Adaptive
VSync = on
GSync = off
SLI = off
Prefer NVIDIA on Optimus systems
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.