Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th May 2018, 23:36   #51001  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 39
help setting

Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum, sorry my English, I ask you some advice, in "the display modes" having a 4k TV is better to set in the string of resolutions 2160p23,2160p24 ect ect always? even with 1080p files? in "chroma upscaling" NGU is ok? or too strong?
In "image upscaling" better JIN (upscaling) or NGU (doubling)? here I have a lot of confusion.
My video card is an asus amd rx 560 strix o.c.
Thanks to everyone bye !!!
I forgot with NGU I have very high temperatures, 65 GPU

Last edited by giulianoprs; 25th May 2018 at 23:39.
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 00:17   #51002  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by giulianoprs View Post
Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum, sorry my English, I ask you some advice, in "the display modes" having a 4k TV is better to set in the string of resolutions 2160p23,2160p24 ect ect always? even with 1080p files? in "chroma upscaling" NGU is ok? or too strong?
In "image upscaling" better JIN (upscaling) or NGU (doubling)? here I have a lot of confusion.
My video card is an asus amd rx 560 strix o.c.
Thanks to everyone bye !!!
I forgot with NGU I have very high temperatures, 65 GPU
Yes, keep all the display modes 2160p, etc. This will upscale everything to 2160p.

NGU Anti-Alias or any other NGU scaler is good for chroma upscaling. For image upscaling/doubling, NGU Sharp or NGU Anti-Alias are also good choices.

That temperature is not that high and won't do any damage. If it bothers you, use something other than NGU for chroma/image upscaling.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 01:25   #51003  |  Link
Kamikaze Ice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by sat4all View Post
thanks much, maybe be i need to adapte to dim hdr picture.
everything else is unwatchable.
Manual calibration is no go for me bcs of LG oled's broken CMS.
Check how your display behaves when showing 150+ nits content.
I've mentioned in one of your avsforum threads that I have an E6 so I'll use mine as an example of what I'm trying to say here.

Any portion of content exceeding ~130 nits will begin to "build up" the longer it remains on screen.
When calibrating/profiling my primary monitor (E6) I move everything off of it (no desktop icons, no task bar, no wallpaper, etc). I change the background color to 45/45/45 rgb.
Since madtpg does not stay minimized after measurements, I push it into the corner and resize it (no chance of retention or burn in from interface elements).
When I toss a windowed "60% white" pattern on the screen for 60 seconds, when I return to the desktop I can clearly see a glowing rectangle where the white pattern was. This is retention, and goes away after a few minutes.
If you measure say, 30%, it will be brighter than it should.

It's very important to know how your display behaves in this regard.

This is likely why you have a dimmer picture with DisplayCAL.

I'm getting closer to being ready to use DisplayCAL, but I'm assuming white drift compensation will be counter-productive in this case, adding more white patterns in the list.
I think the only solution for the time being is to create a custom pattern list manually to keep retention from happening. I've been trying to avoid doing this, as it's a huge pain in the ass lol.



And like Florian said, the tone mapping can also screw with it. You'd need to have a separate 3D LUT for the various nit levels specified in the metadata. 85% of 4000 nits would be mapped differently than 85% of 1000 nits.
How accurate the metadata is, is another can of worms.



---------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sat4all View Post
Finally i've got things right, thanks to this document

<SNIP>

With 540 as target in both displaycal and madhcctrl hdr settings. Now HDR average picture level doesn't look deviate drastically from that of a regular Bluray SDR.
So referring to this document, if your oled can't match the recommended minimum peak luminance you should still use 540 as target, but with newer oled's your are free to use your real peak luminance as they go beyond that.
This is what they mean? or 540 is the magic number for my display which barely hit 400nits.
That's the calibration procedure Ted and I were talking about in your thread on avsforum.

You cannot LITERALLY follow their procedure. It is impossible.
Also, that was for the 2016 oled series like my E6, and does not apply to yours at all.

While you can't follow their literally, it is possible to follow their targets...
HOWEVER this can only be done by using the service menu controls (lowering Sub-Brightness and Sub-Contrast, using the 2-point "white balance" controls), and aligning 20-point controls with the normal Brightness/Contrast controls.
This is a very tedious process. Aside from me and harlekin, I've not seen anyone even try this approach to calibrating these displays. I don't blame them, this does sound completely too stupid to work. I'm not suggesting anyone try this either, just that this is something I've done and can't prove or disprove my claim.
Kamikaze Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 04:52   #51004  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,170
On a ASUS laptop with Geoforce GTX 1050, if I use madVR with DirectX9, sometimes the video driver will be unstable, such as video occasionally freezing or going blank, especially when switching monitor, and sometimes even BSOD. (although I'm not 100% certain these instabilities are caused by madVR but it appears so)

If I render using DirectX11, it appears to be more stable, but the seek bar doesn't display properly and often goes black when hovering the mouse. (and full-screen dedicated mode only displays a black screen)

Anyone else have these issues?

On my previous laptop, with a Radeon 7670M, it was perfectly stable under Direct9 but DirectX11 wasn't working well.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 07:31   #51005  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 613
Hi guys

Spotted a bug with confirmed by friend too, from madVR9213 up to madVR9214 (latest) 10Bit for "D3D11 fullscreen windowed" didn't work anymore (it says 8 bit).

Do you have the same ?

Cheers.
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 6Go Win10(x64) / Nvidia 1050Ti / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 08:23   #51006  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
But now there is another issue. 10bit had stopped working while in D3D11 Fullscreen Windowed mode. Only way to enable 10bit now is to use the D3D11 Exclusive mode.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
That's a bug in the latest MadVR release unless you are in passthrough on Windows 10, because in that case there is minor banding due to OS/nVidia driver bug. In pixel shader, 10bits should be brought back shortly, as I don't think it was Madshi's intention to force 8bits in that mode as well.
Learn to search my son..
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 09:34   #51007  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastiii View Post
Hi guys

Spotted a bug with confirmed by friend too, from madVR9213 up to madVR9214 (latest) 10Bit for "D3D11 fullscreen windowed" didn't work anymore (it says 8 bit).

Do you have the same ?

Cheers.

Here it's working nicely d11 fullscreen windowed output 10 bit. but as you know i have amd card.
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 10:12   #51008  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
No, the delay option is not checked. Queue sizes are: CPU = 12, GPU = 8 (AMD Phenom-II X6 + Nvidia GTS 450).
Are you using MPC-HC? If yes, have you tried another NVIDIA driver version? I remember that in one of their release notes some time ago it said there was a bug where playback would freeze/stutter at the start with MPC-HC.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 10:23   #51009  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 178
I noticed a few folks having problems getting custom modes to work ( i think on Nvidia cards).

I am on driver version 391.35 (and have tried the latest drivers), and I could not get custom modes to work with the latest versions of MadVR. However, I went back to MadVR v0.92.7, and voila, custom modes work perfect, and for my set up, using 10bit rgb @ 4K 23.976 too (one drop frame every 8 hours or so).

If you dont want to stay on 0.92.7, simply use that version to set custom mode, and then go back to your preferred version of Madvr.

This may, or may not work for others, but it works here, so I see no reason why it would not work for other setups using nvidia.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.7.5) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M33i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 26th May 2018 at 10:36. Reason: Typo
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 10:30   #51010  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Can you imagine any reason why madVR 0.92.12 may delay video rendering by about 4-6 seconds of blackness after a player starts? The statistics OSD reports about 100 dropped frames and appears not before the video as well; ProcessExplorer reports 0% GPU usage during this delay; EVR CP renders immediately.
Exact same issue here, it appeared when I upgraded Windows from 1709 to 1803. This only happens when madVR switches to exclusive mode, though.
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 10:34   #51011  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,822
but he is on win 7.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 13:28   #51012  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 39
help setting

Thanks Warner306, I ask you another opinion, advice, not to strain the gpu (rx 560 is not very powerful) and do not rise to 65 degrees of temperature, using JIN is good as a filter? do I lose little in visual quality? is it ok like JIN as a filter?
Last thing, in the HDR setting is it better to select "pass to HDR content to the display" so that the TV version does the face-up and not madvr? I'm not very expert in settings, I would like to do something simple and with few problems.
Thanks again, bye to everyone.
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 15:46   #51013  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,932
MPC-HC, yes.

Nvidia driver version might be a reason. I don't update always immediately, the last was probably a part of MS Update, I should get a fresh one from Nvidia.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 16:44   #51014  |  Link
Grimsdyke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 134
Latest Intel GPU driver (6094, Win10 64bit) not only increased performance of MadVR by around 1 msec. but also seem to have fixed RGB. So I am at Full RGB throughout again. Nice !!
Grimsdyke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 17:03   #51015  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by giulianoprs View Post
Thanks Warner306, I ask you another opinion, advice, not to strain the gpu (rx 560 is not very powerful) and do not rise to 65 degrees of temperature, using JIN is good as a filter? do I lose little in visual quality? is it ok like JIN as a filter?
Last thing, in the HDR setting is it better to select "pass to HDR content to the display" so that the TV version does the face-up and not madvr? I'm not very expert in settings, I would like to do something simple and with few problems.
Thanks again, bye to everyone.
If you don't want to use NGU, I would use super-xbr100 instead. super-xbr is faster than Jinc and higher quality.

Definitely set HDR to passthrough and send metadata to the display.

Last edited by Warner306; 26th May 2018 at 20:57.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 21:14   #51016  |  Link
Polopretress
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by e-t172 View Post
Exact same issue here, it appeared when I upgraded Windows from 1709 to 1803. This only happens when madVR switches to exclusive mode, though.
Same for me. Switch to exclusive mode is very long since windows last update. (around 100 to 200 drop frames)

First thing i have also noticed after the update is that the rendering time of the windowed mode was drasticaly reduced (from 10 msec to 6.5 msec )
I do not have time actually to check the root cause but i think that some algo does not work anymore in windowed mode.
In exclusive mode , the rendering time has not been modified.
Polopretress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 21:29   #51017  |  Link
Polopretress
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberscott View Post
Multiple individuals, including me have this issue, in varying degrees.
If you use the "search this thread" feature at the top of this page for "windows 10 1803" You'll have at least two pages of information to go through.
No full fix for those of us affected beyond rolling back to the previous Windows version. I've reduced a few setting and also set my render queue (GPU) to 7 and my present queue to 6 as they will not fill up beyond that. I have everything working with the slight settings reduction in quality and with the queues set to what I mentioned.
You will just have to adjust settings while watching a video until you can find something that will work with your hardware to fill up the reduced queues. For me, dropping settngs in "artifact removal" helped me.
I'm sure madshi will be able to come up with solutions once he can allocate some time for madVR. He has a real job beyond madVR and committments and bills to pay.
It is strange. On my side, i have the opposite in windowed mode. 10msec rendering before the update adn 6.5 msec after the 1803 update.
No change in exclusive mode except that switching to this mode is really long and multi drop during this time (100 to 200 drop frames)
Polopretress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 23:29   #51018  |  Link
sauma144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 89
I really really really want to know what this new algorithm is.

Last edited by sauma144; 26th May 2018 at 23:36.
sauma144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 23:48   #51019  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
For me with LG OLED 55 C6 set 60hz 3840x2560 native Firmware 4.31.0
NVidia 1080 GTX 397.94
Potplayer x64 1.7.12248
Windows 10 x64 1803

Exclusive works fine set to 10 bit. Also HDR works fine
Renderer time 4 or something.
In nvidia driver Renderer set to Prefer application control
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2018, 23:50   #51020  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polopretress View Post
10msec rendering before the update adn 6.5 msec after the 1803 update.
Was the same GPU driver used in both cases and did you check that the GPU clocks were the same?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.