Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th May 2018, 23:09   #50921  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogibeezwax View Post
Don't think I can do 10 bit with my panasonic vt65..
the Panasonic plasmas accept 10- and 12-bit but it's not worth the hassle and the potential for quality loss if Nvidia messes something up in their drivers.
__________________
HTPC: W10 1809, E7400, 1050 Ti, DVB-C, Denon 2310, Panasonic GT60 | Desktop: W10 1809, 4690K, HD 7870, Dell U2713HM | MediaPortal 1/MPC-HC, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 23:58   #50922  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
the Panasonic plasmas accept 10- and 12-bit but it's not worth the hassle and the potential for quality loss if Nvidia messes something up in their drivers.
Waste of time on this set, greyscale is no better than 8bit with dithering, I looked myself. As mentioned many times already most displays have zero benefit using 10bit.

Last edited by ryrynz; 18th May 2018 at 00:00.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 07:17   #50923  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Waste of time on this set, greyscale is no better than 8bit with dithering, I looked myself. As mentioned many times already most displays have zero benefit using 10bit.
When you compare native 10bits vs 8bits with a display able to properly handle 10-12bits (i.e. natively) and the dithering is done by MadVR without the GPU doing its thing behind its back, you can’t look for banding on a pattern. There most likely won’t be any. You have to look for noise in real content. There should be a bit more noise in 8bits dithered than in 10bits, but there shouldn’t be more banding (provided the source is 10bits and properly mastered) as MadVR’s dithering is excellent. Also I suppose that by greyscale you mean a greyscale ramp, as 10bits shouldn’t haven any effect on calibration.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1806 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 32Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 385.28 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.24
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 18th May 2018 at 07:22.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 07:17   #50924  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 122
Just wanted to update and share.

I have finally managed on Nvidia to get 23.976 4k RGB 10bit..yep, not 12, but 10 (both SDR and HDR) (confirmed also by my AV receiver on-screen info).

I discovered that using the display port (which is 1.4 on the 1080), and using the Club 3D CAC 1080 Display Port 1.4 HDMI 2.0 A (B) Hdr Active displayport to hdmi adapter, i can now choose between 8, 10 and 12bit in NVC @ 4k (10 and 12bit upto 30hz).

Using the adapter also puts the driver into a slightly different mode, in as far as Set Content Type is no longer available etc. Also, the white point scale and crispness is different than straight hdmi (which I prefer over straight hdmi). Some of the Nvidia drivers will only report upto 30hz being available using the adapter, but 397.76 displays all modes upto 60hz. The trade off is, as with some previous drivers, you cannot set up a custom res at 10bit (defaults to 8), so thats a down side - I guess it's about which trade offs you can live with.

At least on my set up, the colours seem more faithful, and no more over blown colours in HDR mode.

I know there is a lot of debate about 8bit with dithering etc, but, just wanted to share.

Update:

Ok, maybe i'm not doing the test correctly somehow, but using the 4.4.4 Chroma test image (link https://linustechtips.com/main/uploa...8c8d22f67e.png ) it also appears to pass the test at 23hz....?
__________________
Strix GeForce GTX 1080 OC 8GB (385.28) , Win 10 x64 (1803), Quad Core @ 4.4ghz, Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung SUHD UE55KS8000, YAMAHA NSF51 speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 18th May 2018 at 14:54. Reason: update
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 07:30   #50925  |  Link
sim11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Hi, I've following this thread for years now, but can't seem to find the answer to this, I know for sure someone on this thread will know the answer to this for sure.

When trying to calibrate using madTPG as a pattern generator, i have noticed no matter what changes i make to gamma etc on windows 7, madTPG pattern gamma etc remains untouched and does not change in line with the windows 7 gamma etc. Internal pattern gamma etc change in both calman and hcfr but not in madTPG. Thanks sim11
sim11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 09:09   #50926  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Also I suppose that by greyscale you mean a greyscale ramp, as 10bits shouldn’t haven any effect on calibration.
Yeah I used the 2160p Gradient_Split test file from avsforum. Plasmas are noisy and the higher the bitdepth the noisier it becomes, so it makes it very hard to see any difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yogibeezwax View Post
Don't think I can do 10 bit with my panasonic vt65..never seen 10-bit when playing any source so I'll stick with 8-bit and windowed mode..hate the exclusive "switching" so I guess I'll go with that until I buy a new TV
I'd recommend setting 'error diffusion option 2' and 'change dither for every frame' This resulted in the least amount of noise on my VT60, surprisingly changing the dither patterns should increase the noise but on plasma it appears to have the opposite effect, go figure.

Last edited by ryrynz; 18th May 2018 at 09:36.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 14:38   #50927  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 372
Is this a bug or using NGU standart-medium or any NGU, always delays 1 frame. Video card is GTX 1050 ti, 390.65 win7 64 ultimate. No problems with super xbr-100 AR. Rendering times are low around 14 ms.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 16:43   #50928  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanelli73 View Post
I own an OPTOMA UHZ 65 laser video projector that handles very well the HDR, in fact with madvr I'm going to passthrough .... yesterday out of curiosity I wanted to use the HDR to SDR conversion, the image is more brighter, but the colors appear washed out, even if you set it in "this display is already calibrated" BT.2020, what can it depend on?....I use MPC-BE.... I also wanted to know from the owners of AMD video cards which is the most stable driver for HDR?
Increase the target nits until the image gets darker. You will get better results with a projector by leaving more room for tone mapping by providing a higher target nits than your actual peak nits.

Last edited by Warner306; 18th May 2018 at 16:46.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 16:46   #50929  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
Is this a bug or using NGU standart-medium or any NGU, always delays 1 frame. Video card is GTX 1050 ti, 390.65 win7 64 ultimate. No problems with super xbr-100 AR. Rendering times are low around 14 ms.
What do you mean by delays one frame? NGU will shift a pixel or two but frames should be rendered the same. Maybe it is taking a second longer at playback start to fill the queues?
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 16:49   #50930  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogibeezwax View Post
I'm sorry if this has been addressed... If tried to skim this long thread but I would really appreciate some answers to Fullscreen exclusive vs fullscreen windowed;
Is there any discerning difference in performance?
I have a 1070 TI strix with a i7-4790k and 16 GB ram and I've had several issues with "failed exclusive mode" when running files in a playlist..and at worst, when moving the mouse sometimes the screen goes blank and I'm forced to hard reset the PC to get out of it..However, running in fullscreen windowed doesn't give any issues whatsoever. I've read that using exclusive mode isn't a must anymore..long story short; is fullscreen windowed with d3d11 as good as exclusive?
It won't change rendering times. Currently, there is a bug where 10-bit HDR passthrough isn't possible with Nvidia cards without fullscreen exclusive mode. This is considered a driver problem. Otherwise, it is a matter of preference.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 17:10   #50931  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 211
Any chance of adding toggle for RRN (reduce random noise) hotkey?
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10v1809 X5690 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 8bit Desktop @60Hz 8,10,12bit @Matched Refresh Rates
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD DVDFab
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 17:18   #50932  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,454
denoise toggle.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 17:33   #50933  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
What do you mean by delays one frame? NGU will shift a pixel or two but frames should be rendered the same. Maybe it is taking a second longer at playback start to fill the queues?
I have enabled "delay playback start until render queue is full", and it just delays 1 frame, it says it in the OSD stats. This happens when using NGU only, I have no idea why is that, no other problems with other chroma scallers...The delayed frame is somewhere around 10-15 min of the movie.

Last edited by Siso; 18th May 2018 at 17:45.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 17:46   #50934  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,454
delaying a frame when starting playback is not a problem.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 18:10   #50935  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
delaying a frame when starting playback is not a problem.
I always reset the frames counter when I go into fullscreen, this happens 10-15 min after playback.

Last edited by Siso; 18th May 2018 at 20:45.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 19:39   #50936  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 211
Thank you huhn. I see you don't need to toggle on/off. 'Increase' essentially turns on and 'Decrease' turns it off.... and all 10 steps in between. NICE!
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10v1809 X5690 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 8bit Desktop @60Hz 8,10,12bit @Matched Refresh Rates
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD DVDFab
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 20:19   #50937  |  Link
Seedmanc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 88
Is there a way for madvr to automatically disable GSYNC during playback like it does with GPU gamma ramps? Disabling it manually every time is annoying and with it enabled at the same time with smooth motion it goes bonkers.
Seedmanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 20:58   #50938  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
madVR is out of updating?

I am getting freakouts and crashes with madVR has crashed every ten minutes watching anime upscaled from FHD to 4K. Tried multiple file types, multiple encodes, and I tried keeping the algorithms very friendly. Not sure why it happens.

This is what my crash dump thingy looks like

lavvideo!CLAVPixFmtConverter::convert_yuv420_px1x_le+0xb7
lavvideo!CLAVPixFmtConverter::Convert+0x19e
lavvideo!CLAVVideo:eliverToRenderer+0x7a5
lavvideo!CLAVVideo:eliver+0x1e7
lavvideo!CDecAvcodec:ecodePacket+0x6d0
lavvideo!CDecAvcodec:ecode+0x192
lavvideo!CDecBase:ecode+0x113
lavvideo!CDecodeManager:ecode+0x53
lavvideo!CLAVVideo::Receive+0x115
lavvideo!CTransformInputPin::Receive+0x59
lavvideo!CDeCSSTransformInputPin::Receive+0x1b
lavsplitter!CBaseOutputPin:eliver+0x1c
lavsplitter!CLAVOutputPin:eliverPacket+0x4d3
lavsplitter!CLAVOutputPin::ThreadProc+0x181
lavsplitter!CAMThread::InitialThreadProc+0x36
lavsplitter!strcspn+0x9d
kernel32!BaseThreadInitThunk+0x24
ntdll!__RtlUserThreadStart+0x2f
ntdll!_RtlUserThreadStart+0x1b
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2018, 23:31   #50939  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,401
The last update was less than a month ago! How often do you expect updates from a free project with one developer working in his spare time?

Sorry, no idea why you are getting crashes but what player are you using? Do you have any non-default values set in LAV Video?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2018, 01:14   #50940  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post

I am getting freakouts and crashes with madVR has crashed every ten minutes watching anime upscaled from FHD to 4K.
Assuming it's related to MadVR? Try another renderer.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.