Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd April 2018, 19:39   #50041  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
It looks like you've entered the wrong display modes, as you're not upscaling to 3840 x 2160p.

The display modes should start with: 2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p50, 2160p59 and 2160p60.
No no, its fine but when you do screenshot in mpc-hc it automatically switched off fullscreen mode and like you can see on picture it says windowed mode, so i think thats why you cant see any upscale going on, in fullscreen mode it's scale 0,0,1920x1380 -> 0,42,3840,2118

Last edited by maxkolonko123; 3rd April 2018 at 19:43.
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 19:42   #50042  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
upload a small sample of the file. My guess is you ran the source through the SDR->HDR script but didn't set any HDR flags in the encoded bitstream/container so madvr doesn't know the source is HDR.
Hello,

Sample uploaded here:

http://www.mammutmail.com/hu/downloa...6a978629f54072
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 19:57   #50043  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,338
You have set matrix coefficients and color primaries to BT.709 (1 & 1) and left transfer characteristics undefined (2). Usually for HDR those are set to bt2020nc (9), bt2020 (9) and smpte2084 (16) respectively. (I haven't checked the actual content of your sample, only the flags.)
http://x265.readthedocs.io/en/defaul...mation-options
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 20:08   #50044  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by mparade View Post

Shows as a 10bit but doesnt switch my tv into HDR mode, like proper hdr movies are
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 20:21   #50045  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 738
found a bug with D3D11, on my system anyway. I have an issue with MADVR where when you play a 3D movie (1080p) and you stop it I lose HDMI handshake going from 3D 1080p back to 4k 2160p. It does this every time. The workaround is to disable MADVR refresh rate switching and use your movies players switching instead, i've had this working for ages and its been fine up until recently.

recently I switched from DXVA copy back to D3D11 decoding as I found it was about 20% faster than DXVA on my system, what I had forgotten to test was 3D though which I tested today. Whats happening now is the same as what happens in MADVR, when I stop a 3D movie I get HDMI loss which cant be gained back easily without resetting it, I use HDMION.

If I switch back to DXVA copyback the problem goes away, I think its interesting that now both MADVR refresh rate switching and now D3D11 with MPC or KODI DS refresh rate switching causes the same problem, HDMI loss coming from out of a 1080p 3D connection back to a 2160 2d desktop.

Its very possible its connected issues with FSE which is required on most systems for 3D playback.

Both issues happen with with AMD RX cards, i havent tested my NVIDA 1050 but this also had HDMI handshake issue coming out of 3D for me too.

Another workaround would be to run your PC desktop in 1080p but who wants to do that when you've got a 4k display, this also explains why most people dont see this, there are still fewer people with 4k displays than 1080p ones.

I'll post this on both MADVR and LAV forums as the issues seems to be connected now.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 20:23   #50046  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
You have set matrix coefficients and color primaries to BT.709 (1 & 1) and left transfer characteristics undefined (2). Usually for HDR those are set to bt2020nc (9), bt2020 (9) and smpte2084 (16) respectively. (I haven't checked the actual content of your sample, only the flags.)
http://x265.readthedocs.io/en/defaul...mation-options
Thank you very much for the help. All the flags are set by StaxRip automatically. I did not touch them not to make any mess. According to the author of the script:

Quote:
# Convert Bluray Video (BT709) to 10bit 400nits (MaxFALL) High Dynamic Range Video.
# In some scenes, HDR output of this script saves as much as 50% bitrate in x265 CRF mode and doubles the quality in x265 2pass CBR mode.
# You must have a HDR compliant TV to play the output file.
# Script is 100% compliant with current HDR standards and has been tested extensively on HDR compliant TVs.
# Do NOT modify the script. Input and output are guaranteed to look 100% identical with default script settings. All x265 HDR switches are automatically set by Staxrip.
# Current UHD Bluray and HDR TV specifications only support exactly 400nits MaxFALL. Not more, not less. Standards will not change for many years.
# Do NOT change MaxFALL. Hardware players and TVs will not correct/scale it for you. White level and brightness will be off.
# MaxFALL and MaxCLL are both equal to 400nits. You can not independently set them.
# Do not change the gamma extraction to a value other than 2.2 specified in the script. It is NOT related to the gamma correction values used by the studios when mastering Bluray video. It is NOT related to the gamma settings of your monitor/TV either.
# We are extracting 2.2 gamma only because the exact same amount will be added back by SMPTE 2084. Not more, not less.
# SMPTE 2084 is a specialized HDR perceptual quantizer that already has built in gamma encoding that is exactly equivalent to a 2.2 pure gamma function.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 20:31   #50047  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
Shows as a 10bit but doesnt switch my tv into HDR mode
The same as here. Neither my LG TV nor madVR treats it as a hdr movie. I have to test it more thoroughly with x265 or leave it as is, in SDR.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 20:35   #50048  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,338
Last line of the script:
Code:
--colorprim bt709 --colormatrix bt709 --transfer smpte-st-2084
I assume that is the problem because the x265 command-line changed some time in the past. Now it must be "--transfer smpte2084" or simply "--transfer 16".
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 20:38   #50049  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 506
I will test it and report back! Thank you very much!
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 21:06   #50050  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Is diffuse white set to 100?
Yes. I misspoke before about the image being washed out, what I meant was: if I set it the display's peak nits to 100 it looks closer to the SDR version of the film. If I set it to 200 nits, for example, the image is significantly darker.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 22:04   #50051  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonQ View Post
Yes. I misspoke before about the image being washed out, what I meant was: if I set it the display's peak nits to 100 it looks closer to the SDR version of the film. If I set it to 200 nits, for example, the image is significantly darker.
That's normal behaviour. You can tweak it to your tastes. There is no exact formula for getting perfect HDR -> SDR or HDR -> HDR tone mapping. I don't think diffuse white would make it any better; it would probably make it worse.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 22:18   #50052  |  Link
tyrindor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
found a bug with D3D11, on my system anyway. I have an issue with MADVR where when you play a 3D movie (1080p) and you stop it I lose HDMI handshake going from 3D 1080p back to 4k 2160p. It does this every time. The workaround is to disable MADVR refresh rate switching and use your movies players switching instead, i've had this working for ages and its been fine up until recently.

recently I switched from DXVA copy back to D3D11 decoding as I found it was about 20% faster than DXVA on my system, what I had forgotten to test was 3D though which I tested today. Whats happening now is the same as what happens in MADVR, when I stop a 3D movie I get HDMI loss which cant be gained back easily without resetting it, I use HDMION.

If I switch back to DXVA copyback the problem goes away, I think its interesting that now both MADVR refresh rate switching and now D3D11 with MPC or KODI DS refresh rate switching causes the same problem, HDMI loss coming from out of a 1080p 3D connection back to a 2160 2d desktop.

Its very possible its connected issues with FSE which is required on most systems for 3D playback.

Both issues happen with with AMD RX cards, i havent tested my NVIDA 1050 but this also had HDMI handshake issue coming out of 3D for me too.

Another workaround would be to run your PC desktop in 1080p but who wants to do that when you've got a 4k display, this also explains why most people dont see this, there are still fewer people with 4k displays than 1080p ones.

I'll post this on both MADVR and LAV forums as the issues seems to be connected now.
Sounds like an issue i've been having lately on a Titan XP, complete HDMI loss after playback of HDR/3D sometimes. I'm using D3D11 as well. May just need to go back to the tried and true copy-back.
tyrindor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 22:46   #50053  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyrindor View Post
Sounds like an issue i've been having lately on a Titan XP, complete HDMI loss after playback of HDR/3D sometimes. I'm using D3D11 as well. May just need to go back to the tried and true copy-back.
I tried the last three AMD drivers, no difference, its defo an issue with D3D11, soon as i switched back to COPYBACK all my black screens stopped.

it still takes a few seconds to drop in and out of mode but it always comes back now.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 23:13   #50054  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 215
Using D3D11 Native FSE for stereoscopic with NVidia. Using D3D11 Native windowed for HDR with NVidia. I get none of the bugs you guys are reporting. Desktop and KODI resolutions are both at 2160p and match refresh rates set in madVR for external players and in KODI for when videoplayer is used. Use fullscreen window in KODI is enabled fwiw. 2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60 No idea why you set DSPlayer up completely the opposite but this may be why one problem leads to another which leads to another which leads to another? These problems are not video cards or madVR or LAV Filters imo.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10v1809 X5690 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 8bit Desktop @60Hz 8,10,12bit @Matched Refresh Rates
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD DVDFab
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D

Last edited by brazen1; 3rd April 2018 at 23:24.
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 23:55   #50055  |  Link
tyrindor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
Using D3D11 Native FSE for stereoscopic with NVidia. Using D3D11 Native windowed for HDR with NVidia. I get none of the bugs you guys are reporting. Desktop and KODI resolutions are both at 2160p and match refresh rates set in madVR for external players and in KODI for when videoplayer is used. Use fullscreen window in KODI is enabled fwiw. 2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60 No idea why you set DSPlayer up completely the opposite but this may be why one problem leads to another which leads to another which leads to another? These problems are not video cards or madVR or LAV Filters imo.
Just because someone has an issue and someone else doesn't, doesn't mean it's a user or setup error. I'm doing the same things as you just described, and still get signal loss after HDR/3D playback every now and then like him. I must power cycle my receiver to regain video.

HDMI is a fragile interface that can have handshaking issues for one person, and none for the other, even on identical hardware, cables, and software. Not even the same hardware is created equal, there can be batch exclusive issues of the same model numbers. Computers are way too complex to think "I don't have this issue, so there is no issue or they are doing something wrong".

Last edited by tyrindor; 4th April 2018 at 00:01.
tyrindor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2018, 00:26   #50056  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 215
Think what you want. You are doing something different. Hence, the problems labeled bugs.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10v1809 X5690 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 8bit Desktop @60Hz 8,10,12bit @Matched Refresh Rates
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD DVDFab
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2018, 03:21   #50057  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,436
I have noticed that receivers are much more finicky. I suspect most differences are due to receiver and displays, not user or config errors.

Driver weirdness is real too, I have had reinstalling the same GPU drivers again solve issues way too many times.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2018, 11:18   #50058  |  Link
BetA13
Guru3D
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: inside a little Box
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Video Renderer


i knew it, it was just way too late for me, my brain couldnt function anymore, haha..
Of course its Video Renderer...im so stupid..

Thanks.
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2018, 14:24   #50059  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I have noticed that receivers are much more finicky. I suspect most differences are due to receiver and displays, not user or config errors.

Driver weirdness is real too, I have had reinstalling the same GPU drivers again solve issues way too many times.
Yeah i think my next step will be clean reinstall of gpu drivers and see if this help with my issues, hopefully yeah. Do you know how i can check if my custom mode is actually in use?
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2018, 15:24   #50060  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,035
I was able to use a perfect pixel clock after reinstalling my drivers. Previously, the best I could do was one frame drop every 19 minutes.

I ran DDU and reinstalled the drivers (which was scary because the GPU was not detected and I had to look at Windows Update to see the drivers were downloading).

My stock clock improved from one frame drop every three minutes to one frame drop every 12 minutes. And, as stated, custom modes would now accept more modes.

So I think a lot of problems with custom modes comes down to improper driver installation.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.