Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th November 2017, 23:35   #41  |  Link
ingoldie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 83
OK. But how can I remove it. Please help!
ingoldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2017, 13:44   #42  |  Link
burfadel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,176
You can do it for that clip, but it pointless incorporating it into a function script.
burfadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2017, 20:46   #43  |  Link
LemMotlow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by ingoldie View Post
OK. But how can I remove it. Please help!
In the first place, the problem seems caused by previous processing and resizing. How was it processed to cause that problem? Does this noise exist in the original? Why is it a nonstandard 1024x768 ? Was the original video as soft as this sample ?

This means we need a piece of the original clip and a copy of your script that might have caused the problem.

Last edited by LemMotlow; 25th November 2017 at 21:21.
LemMotlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2017, 01:38   #44  |  Link
ingoldie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 83
I have used mClean(thSAD=1500)

http://www.mediafire.com/file/86bixc...se/Result6.avi

Last edited by ingoldie; 26th November 2017 at 01:44.
ingoldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2017, 01:41   #45  |  Link
LemMotlow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 231
What a total waste of time. I pass. Permanently. Should have known better. It's what I get for skipping all my college classes on working with the autistic.

Last edited by LemMotlow; 26th November 2017 at 03:15.
LemMotlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2017, 04:57   #46  |  Link
burfadel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,176
A thSAD of 1500 is very high for mClean. Deband=3 (use version 2.0 or eventually later) may give better colour/contrast balance results. Don't forget renoise adds some altered noise back to reduce flatness, you could try a lower value. I've made some changes to the renoise part of the script after 2.0, but there are other changes I want to do before releasing the next version.

Last edited by burfadel; 26th November 2017 at 05:00.
burfadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2017, 14:53   #47  |  Link
ingoldie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 83
What is completely the best settings of mClean parameters for Result5.avi in your opinion?

By the way can you post the result?
ingoldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2017, 19:24   #48  |  Link
burfadel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,176
Well, ideally mclean(deband=3), although you can try altering the thSAD a bit (default 400).

Reason why deband=3 it isn't the default is that it does alter the levels. I've got two new features I want to add to it, one will hopefully allow for stronger chroma noise filtering whilst reducing the potential side effect, and the other is only good for high quality sources. Actually more precisely, reasonable quality sources including relatively slean DVD's. I won't say what it is but it's super simple, there may be people on here that will ridicule it without trying it, but it works so if they don't want it, they simply don't have to select it as an option, right? . There's also something to use in a slightly alternative fashion as a dehalo filter, but it's only concept so don't know whether it will work. I don't have time currently to play aroudn with it . My slightly updated version 2.0 is a bit nicer, but I really want to have time to put these other functions into action with testing before release. Also better handling of some resolutions (mainly low resolutions).

Keep in mind that if you completely remove noise, you will end up with a flat looking picture. On top of this, noise in itself actually contains picture detail due to what lies under the noise, so by removing just the noise on a noisy source you lose the 'detail' along with it (only slight). Stabilised noise is therefore beneficial, hence renoise. As I said, it's been improved since version 2.0 . Now, if you remove spatial noise, you are quite literally removing fine detail as well since fine detail appears as noise, so you only want to do very light cleaning of detected 'noise' spatially. As for chroma noise, the noise itself is colour, removing such noise can alter perceived colour hence the other change I want to make.

Most importantly, it's a personal preference thing as to what you might like better, and there are some clips that you just have to write something big specifically for which is for the most part, pointless, seeing as it won't be applicable to other scripts. For example, the luma difference across the picture. You know it's there because you expect something different, filters of course don't see this. To alter this, you just need to detect luma difference on a single frame that you know should be basically the same, between the darkened and normal/lighter area. Then apply this clip wide (assuming the whole clip is affected) using mt_lut or association functions. These can be simple but at the same time difficult as there doesn't seem to be a well written explanation of the syntax, to scale it across from the edges of the affected area or areas.

Last edited by burfadel; 26th November 2017 at 19:28.
burfadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 00:55   #49  |  Link
ingoldie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 83
I have tried many denoisers but I can't remove noise completely for the following video.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/acx2y9...nal%282%29.avi


Please help me!
ingoldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 03:14   #50  |  Link
LemMotlow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 231
That last sample is not an "original". It's been processed to progressive, either IVTC'd or deinterlaced, resized, and lossy re-encoded. Is this another one of those ubiquitous f'd-up internet downloads? Looks as if it's too late to repair the worst of the damage. Also runs as if was originally film speed but speeded up to 25fps.

Last edited by LemMotlow; 8th December 2017 at 03:19.
LemMotlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 10:34   #51  |  Link
videoFred
Registered User
 
videoFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Flanders, Belgium, Europe, Earth, Milky Way,Universe
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by ingoldie View Post
I have tried many denoisers but I can't remove noise completely for the following video.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/acx2y9...nal%282%29.avi


Please help me!
Upscale this 512x384 clip to 1280x960, then apply Mdegrain3 et voila ... all noise is gone.

Fred.
videoFred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 15:34   #52  |  Link
ingoldie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoFred View Post
Upscale this 512x384 clip to 1280x960
But how can I upscale this 512x384 clip to 1280x960?

With Lanczos4resize(1280,960)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by videoFred View Post
then apply Mdegrain3
Are you talking about this?


https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...77#post1240377

Last edited by ingoldie; 8th December 2017 at 15:37.
ingoldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 19:37   #53  |  Link
videoFred
Registered User
 
videoFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Flanders, Belgium, Europe, Earth, Milky Way,Universe
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by ingoldie View Post
But how can I upscale this 512x384 clip to 1280x960?

With Lanczos4resize(1280,960)?
Yes, but you can try any resizer and see what you get.


Quote:
Are you talking about this?


https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...77#post1240377
Yes, or you can try MCDegrainSharp()
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...35#post1508635

Fred.
videoFred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2017, 01:39   #54  |  Link
ingoldie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 83
What about this (sharp version)?

http://www.mediafire.com/file/ha0bxh...ag/Result5.avi

How can I remove noise completely ?
ingoldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2017, 03:50   #55  |  Link
johnmeyer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,887
Burfadel already told you that removing the noise completely is a really bad idea, and the video will look awful. Remember, the technique is called noise reduction, not noise removal. Please re-read

his excellent post

earlier in this thread.

If you really want to remove ALL of the noise, simply increase the settings in whatever script you want to use, something you can do without incessantly posting the same question over and over and over again. What's worse, when someone gives you a script or a result, you just ignore it and ask the same question again.
johnmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2017, 14:23   #56  |  Link
videoFred
Registered User
 
videoFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Flanders, Belgium, Europe, Earth, Milky Way,Universe
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by ingoldie View Post
How can I remove noise completely ?
I just told you:
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...63#post1826663

Fred.
videoFred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2017, 14:27   #57  |  Link
videoFred
Registered User
 
videoFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Flanders, Belgium, Europe, Earth, Milky Way,Universe
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnmeyer View Post
Burfadel already told you that removing the noise completely is a really bad idea
Hi John,

You are probably both right (theoretical) but this works pretty good: (please try yourself)
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...63#post1826663

The idea is to enlarge the noise so MDegrain can do the job.

Fred.
videoFred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2017, 17:14   #58  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 5,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoFred View Post
Hi John,

You are probably both right (theoretical) but this works pretty good: (please try yourself)
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...63#post1826663

The idea is to enlarge the noise so MDegrain can do the job.

Fred.
Interesting idea, I usually (if upscaling, temporal) denoise first, then upscale.

But I guess that may be wrong, perhaps should be only denoise first if using a Spatial denoiser, and, Upscale first if Temporal denoiser used.

That about right ?

EDIT: Or indeed, light Spatial, Upscale, Temporal denoise. (My fav Spatial is VagueDenoiser, Fav Temporal McDegrainSharp).

EDIT: And Temporal first if Downscale (not sure if should also Spatial denoise afterwards).

EDIT: Something that I wrote (I think it was by me, note to self, but not sure, from long time ago)
Code:
# NOTE on Spatio-temporal smoothing.
# The main order should really be that of Spatial,Temporal, However both are a little dependent
# upon each other. As spatial is from the same instant in time is should come first to
# give a more reliable clue to the temporal smoothing.
# Broadcast smoothers are supposed to reduce massive chroma variation in analog broadcast
# source and are temporal, these however can produce better output if preceded by a spacial
# smoother. this provides a situation where spatial and temporal rely on each other.
# For really bad analog video, it may be best to do a VERY light spatial smooth eg
# vaguedenoise of eg 0.5 or even less, followed by a broadcast temporal smooth with
# eg guavacomb, followed by either a spatio/temporal OR (spatial AND/OR then temporal
# smoother). If using multiple smoothers, a VERY LIGHT TOUCH is needed.
# Each smoothing type (spatio-temporal) can give hints to the other but the first needs to be
# rather light. It is a little pointless having 2 consecutive spatial or 2 consecutive
# temporal smoothers.
# Overall, it probably best to only have 3 stages, S,T,S or T,s,T
# (where S & T are spatial or temporal) UNLESS the video is really shit, in which case 4 stages
# of really light processing may be used.
And my note on MY default usage (I always use a light touch with VagueDenoiser)
Code:
# VagueDenoiser:- YUY2, YV12
# threshold:- filtering strength. 1-1.5 light : 2-3 strong)
#   -ve NO LUMA SMOOTHING
#   0 = Automatic estmimation (DEFAULT)
# ChromaT = Chroma thresholding
#   -ve NO Chroma SMOOTHING
#   0 = Automatic estmimation (DEFAULT)
# interlaced:- Process interlaced fields seperately. YV12 Only else ignored.
#VagueDenoiser(threshold=0.8,method=1,nsteps=6,chromaT=0,interlaced=false) # Note Threshold=0.8 is very low.
EDIT: Accepted wisdom at time of writing above notes to self (probably before I was member on D9) was probably against
multiple smoothing, I'm not above ignoring 'Accepted Wisdom'
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but are any of them infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 9th December 2017 at 20:09.
StainlessS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:19   #59  |  Link
ingoldie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoFred View Post
It is not working when I use this method with sharpening.


I think it is better about denoising and there are no any sharpening artifacts(halos etc...)

Original(512x384)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/8ffo4a...n/Original.avi

Result(1024x768)
(upscaling with my sharpening and denoising script)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/89y5ne...ult%287%29.avi


Original2(512x384)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/acx2y9...nal%282%29.avi

Result(1024x768)
(upscaling with my sharpening and denoising script)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/y9ez95...c4/Result7.avi


But what do you think?

Last edited by ingoldie; Yesterday at 22:24.
ingoldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.