Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th October 2017, 06:01   #46681  |  Link
austonrush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkauff View Post
A warning for Win 10 users. The Fall Creators Update installation blew away my madVR custom resolutions. I can recreate them, or revert to last night's backup, but it's a bit of a pain either way.
Well that sucks, so what your saying is MS uninstalls nvidia and then re-installs a fresh clean version? What the hell, lol. I'll wait to see if anyone else is reporting this issue before I upgrade.
austonrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 06:46   #46682  |  Link
Nyago123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
I can't get HDR switching to work in 1709 after upgrading from 1703 + nVidia 387.92 (was working last night). I tried a clean re-install of the last nVidia driver (385.69) and made sure my settings were nVidia color, but still doesn't work.

I'm going to rollback to 1703 unless someone here can confirm it's working for them.
Nyago123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 07:21   #46683  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
It seems nvidia 3D Wizard is working now after upgrading windows 10 Fall Creators.

If that follow what I did is open PowerDVD 17 with 3D movie, it said your 3D hardware only supports the viewing of 3D movies in full screen mode. so I forgot 3D was not enabled, I get inside nvidia control panel and enabled 3D , it opened 3D wizard and didn't crash while powerdvd was still opened. so that's it. maybe it was Windows issue eventually lol..
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 07:27   #46684  |  Link
Magik Mark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 543
Madshi,

For film sources, I think AS linear light can be removed. From my ISF calibrated display, it boosts the contrast and could cause eye strain on prolong staring at the screen.
__________________
Asus X99 Sabertooth - Xeon E5 2695 - Asus Strix GTX 960 4G - DDR4 16GB Predator - Pioneer KRP 600M (isf calibrated) - Yamaha A3030 - Windows 10 x64 - Kodi with DSplayer - Lav - MadVR - XYsubtitle
Magik Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 07:36   #46685  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyago123 View Post
I can't get HDR switching to work in 1709 after upgrading from 1703 + nVidia 387.92 (was working last night). I tried a clean re-install of the last nVidia driver (385.69) and made sure my settings were nVidia color, but still doesn't work.

I'm going to rollback to 1703 unless someone here can confirm it's working for them.
Try 385.41 - working here with the fall update (1709) for HDR (windows HDR slider off, and entire chain set to Full).

K

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 18th October 2017 at 10:32.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 07:39   #46686  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by austonrush View Post
RCA Feedback) I'm only using RCA for crappy SD sources. I'm not sure why you would use it at a strength of 1 or 2 as it totally destroys a good source and 1-2 is not effective enough on a BAD source. For poor quality videos I'm currently using it at a strength of 3 or above.
There are sources between good and bad.. I find 1 and 2 to be likely the only strengths I'll ever use.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 08:03   #46687  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Yes, I suppose I can add a setting between 2 and 3.
I don't really see >6 being too useful so how about middle-ground steps between the current 1-6 to go 1-12 please? Or go 1-24 if you must provide highest strengths to Vaporsynth users.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
The "don't reduce texture detail" option might not be properly named. That's what the option *tries* to do, but it also results in some compression artifacts not being reduced. So it has advantages and disadvantages.
Yeah I got that but unchecking blurs the picture IME, even @1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
What would be more useful for RCA would be to have madvr detect MPEG-2
While we're at it, I kinda wish mVR would use proper chroma alignment for MPEG-1 but I guess it's very low priority so until then I gotta force MPEG-1 to use ffdshow and output RGB32
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 08:27   #46688  |  Link
Blackwalker
Registered User
 
Blackwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 237
- change the nvidia power setting to adaptive, same thing...shuttering
- checking GPU-Z if the PCIe speed is at least x16 2 yes, but when play all gpu ram is used, maybe this is the problem?
- reduced the render queue to 6 and 4, same thing...shuttering


if someone confirm that my hardware is ok, i'll continue to try, if no my hardware need an upgrade!
maybe "EVGA GTX1060 Scheda Grafica da 6 GB" + "new CPU and motherboard"!


PS:
On my tv, lg 65b6v i set "HDMI ULTRA HD Deep Colour" option
when HTPC start is already in HDR mode.
When mpc-hc start playing UHD HDR video, using madvr in window mode it say "HDR", but when i double click and use full windows/exclusive mode, the "HDR" vanish, go out, bye bye.....this is normal?
I try with madvr, native, copy back, etcc...same thing.
If i dont use madvr, then HDR is used in full windows/exclusive mode too!

Same with powerdvd.



suggestions?
thx all for your help

Last edited by Blackwalker; 18th October 2017 at 09:10.
Blackwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 09:03   #46689  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
that's not how this works. a HEVC source can be easily in need of this. while it is even possible to encode in mpeg2 without the need of these features.
The type of blocking its designed for is not quite common with HEVC. HEVC is more likely to blur on low bitrate encodes then block. Of course you could transcode a low-quality mpeg2 source to HEVC, but you only have yourself to blame if you do that =p

Quote:
Originally Posted by austonrush View Post
Well that sucks, so what your saying is MS uninstalls nvidia and then re-installs a fresh clean version? What the hell, lol. I'll wait to see if anyone else is reporting this issue before I upgrade.
That is not exactly unexpected when installing a OS upgrade like the FCU.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 18th October 2017 at 09:16.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 09:05   #46690  |  Link
ttnuagmada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
Forgive me if this has been discussed.

How would I go about creating a 3dlut for 4K HDR videos, that would take advantage of my SDR television's (panny st60) native color gamut? I have a colorimeter/spectro/calman and have played around with it some, but i can't figure out what the correct way to do this would be. Any ideas?
ttnuagmada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 09:28   #46691  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
The type of blocking its designed for is not quite common with HEVC. HEVC is more likely to blur on low bitrate encodes then block. Of course you could transcode a low-quality mpeg2 source to HEVC, but you only have yourself to blame if you do that =p
no question. HEVC and AVC both have a very effective deblock filter and both will rarely if ever generate blocking at least in the hands of an "good" encoder. that doesn't change that AVC broadcast has usually blocking in it don't know if the professionals that disable the in loop filter for broadcast are to blame or if it comes from signal errors both should apply to HEVC too.

never underestimate the skills of a professional encoder I can show you a relative new BDs with ~20 mbit that has unbelievable blocking in it and no they are not using mpeg2 and i can show you even worse things on older discs...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 09:35   #46692  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttnuagmada View Post
Forgive me if this has been discussed.

How would I go about creating a 3dlut for 4K HDR videos, that would take advantage of my SDR television's (panny st60) native color gamut? I have a colorimeter/spectro/calman and have played around with it some, but i can't figure out what the correct way to do this would be. Any ideas?
set it to native gamut. try displaycal with the setting "video 3D LUT for madVR HDR..."
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 09:37   #46693  |  Link
ttnuagmada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
set it to native gamut. try displaycal with the setting "video 3D LUT for madVR HDR..."
Im sorry, i should have explained; I have no issues with generating 3Dluts for MadVR using Calman Enthusiast. It created an excellent 3Dlut for SDR content. I am just confused on what what my targets should be for HDR, should I be trying to created a 3dlut for rec 2020?

I have used DisplayCal in the past for 3dluts, but it seems to have trouble with nailing down near-blacks on a plasma. Calman does a better job, i am just not entirely sure how this all needs to be configured to get a 3dlut that will take advantage of the extended gamut for HDR videos.

Last edited by ttnuagmada; 18th October 2017 at 09:40.
ttnuagmada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 09:40   #46694  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
i don't know if calman supports a HDR -> SDR conversation 3D LUt.

madVR support both HDR -SDR 3D LUT and HDR-> HDR 3D LUt's.

but what i know is selecting a different target is not enough.
edit: well you could create a SDR bt 2020 3d lut and run this but madVR can do better HDR->SDR 3DLUT.

Last edited by huhn; 18th October 2017 at 09:51.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 10:44   #46695  |  Link
wushantao
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 54
hi @madshi

there is a crash report here

v0.92.7 & v0.92.6 crash

v0.92.5&v0.92.4&v0.92.3 unknow,not test


crash step:
1、play a movie file
2、full screen
3、pause play back(donít touch anything,just stop)
4、auto close screen(by power management setting)
5、wait 1 minute more
6、open screen(move mouse or touch any keyboard)
7、you can see crash now

other info:
win10 x64 15063、mpc be x64 v1.5.2、lav x64 v0.70.2、16G ram、i7 4760HQ、iris 5200

there is a crash report and settings.bin

madVR - crash report.txt
settings.7z
i hope this information is useful for bug fix

Last edited by wushantao; 18th October 2017 at 13:32.
wushantao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 12:33   #46696  |  Link
HomeY_
Registered User
 
HomeY_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ::1
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyago123 View Post
I can't get HDR switching to work in 1709 after upgrading from 1703 + nVidia 387.92 (was working last night). I tried a clean re-install of the last nVidia driver (385.69) and made sure my settings were nVidia color, but still doesn't work.

I'm going to rollback to 1703 unless someone here can confirm it's working for them.
I've been struggling with several combinations the last week, since (all of a sudden, probably a TV FW upgrade) switching to HDR resulted in a purple video image. I can work-around this problem by toggling the TV OFF & ON again.

Here's my results with several drivers on Win 1709 with an 1050Ti card:

378.92-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql
No HDR option in windows, unusable.

382.33-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql
Toggle HDR ON/OFF on Video Start/Stop works fine, but purple video / wrong colorspace

384.76-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql
Toggle HDR ON/OFF on Video Start/Stop works fine, but purple video / wrong colorspace

385.41-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql
Toggle HDR ON/OFF on Video Start/Stop works fine, but purple video / wrong colorspace

387.92-desktop-win10-64bit-international-rs3-whql
HDR doesn't turn OFF after video stop, but this is the only driver that gives me good colors. Unfortunately unusable because it doesn't switch HDR ON/OFF properly.

So i'm sticking with 385.41 for now

As a sidenote: After installing the 1709 update, my desktop colors were really dark. I got this solved by running Display Color Calibration.

Last edited by HomeY_; 18th October 2017 at 12:38.
HomeY_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 13:33   #46697  |  Link
ABDO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
that doesn't change that AVC broadcast has usually blocking in it ... should apply to HEVC too.
thats true.
ABDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 15:58   #46698  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackwalker View Post
- change the nvidia power setting to adaptive, same thing...shuttering
- checking GPU-Z if the PCIe speed is at least x16 2 yes, but when play all gpu ram is used, maybe this is the problem?
- reduced the render queue to 6 and 4, same thing...shuttering
Other tips:
- Try reducing your decode ('CPU') queue too. When using DXVA Native, the decode queue is kept in graphics RAM, so setting it lower could help. Hardware decoding on the Pascal cards is so fast that you don't really need a very high decode queue anyway, it fills up nearly instantly. Try something like 10.
- Close all other programs when playing a movie. Any open program uses video RAM for its application windows textures.
- If it still doesn't work, try this with DXVA Native: Present queue 4, Render queue 6, Decode queue 8.
- Did you try Windowed mode? It works quite well on my 1050 Ti on Windows 10.
(Edit) - Probably not linked to your issue, but I see you have not enabled VP9 hardware decoding. Is there a reason for this? Your 1050 can decode VP9.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xabregas View Post
You know what would be great? For Madvr to support audio rendering and some enthusiast start developing it by making it optimized for all the different audios out there. Im frustrated by having to change audio decoders and settings because the different audios are becoming worst every day.
What do you need to change? What is becoming worse? I find audio decopding to be pretty bulletproof these days.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti

Last edited by el Filou; 18th October 2017 at 16:01.
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 16:17   #46699  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttnuagmada View Post
I am just confused on what what my targets should be for HDR, should I be trying to created a 3dlut for rec 2020?
As huhn suggested, you don't have to do anything else: leave your native gamut 3dlut configured in madvr and it will take care of the rest!
Thanks Madshi!
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 16:19   #46700  |  Link
xabregas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeY_ View Post
I've been struggling with several combinations the last week, since (all of a sudden, probably a TV FW upgrade) switching to HDR resulted in a purple video image. I can work-around this problem by toggling the TV OFF & ON again.

Here's my results with several drivers on Win 1709 with an 1050Ti card:

378.92-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql
No HDR option in windows, unusable.

382.33-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql
Toggle HDR ON/OFF on Video Start/Stop works fine, but purple video / wrong colorspace

384.76-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql
Toggle HDR ON/OFF on Video Start/Stop works fine, but purple video / wrong colorspace

385.41-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql
Toggle HDR ON/OFF on Video Start/Stop works fine, but purple video / wrong colorspace

387.92-desktop-win10-64bit-international-rs3-whql
HDR doesn't turn OFF after video stop, but this is the only driver that gives me good colors. Unfortunately unusable because it doesn't switch HDR ON/OFF properly.

So i'm sticking with 385.41 for now

As a sidenote: After installing the 1709 update, my desktop colors were really dark. I got this solved by running Display Color Calibration.
I assume you are using Nvidia Control Panel to change colors right?

You change color in Resolution tab?

I wonder if none of you had trouble trying to switch from RGB to Ycbcr before?

I needed to do some weird rituals for the drivers to assume RGB FULL color. Restarting OS. Changing other options in Nvidia Control Panel. And as i never trust this driver i always check if RGB Full is selected on my Nvidia Control Panel before i watch a movie.

I remember AMD was worst.

My tip is if you get a driver that works wonderful for what u do daily u should avoid any updates. And as for windows 10 updates i have it turned off by default on services.msc. When i remember i turn on. See the info about the update and Update or not. Then OFF again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
What do you need to change? What is becoming worse? I find audio decopding to be pretty bulletproof these days.
It depends. Dolby Digital Plus from amazon prime streams is awfull and very badly mixed most of the times.

Last edited by xabregas; 18th October 2017 at 16:26.
xabregas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.