Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th March 2017, 09:59   #14181  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
.........

But Dcadec should be the same and handle all formats (including Strange Setup, which Arcsoft requires a specific version) except for DTS Express.
dcadec 0.2.0 is really outdated. Since April of 2016, dcadec supports DTS Express, even the multichannel (5.1) streams.

https://github.com/foo86/dcadec/issues/33
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2017, 10:22   #14182  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,495
The problem is development of the (external) dcadec library has stopped. It's all in ffmpeg now.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2017, 11:13   #14183  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
eac3to already uses ffmpeg for other formats, so that wouldn't be a big hurdle - assuming madshi updates to a recent ffmpeg at some point in the future.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2017, 12:18   #14184  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by wish_ihadalife View Post
Are you confusing Nero Audio Decoder and Nero AAC Encoder? (which I already have) Or are they similar in any way?
The Nero Audio Decoder needed by eac3to are Directshow filters included in Nero 7 package (plus a extra plugin). All not free, but there are some hacks to install the required filters without install the full Nero 7 package.

The Nero AAC Encoder (NeroAacEnc.exe) is a free standalone encoder than can be used by eac3to to output .m4a (AAC in mp4 container).
There are also a free standalone NeroAacDec.exe than can decode AAC inside mp4 container (.mp4 or .m4a), but can't be used by eac3to. You need run it in command line mode.

Quote:
Yeah, it seems as if you need a very early version of ArcSoft... I tried installing ArcSoft TotalMedia Theatre 6.7 and eac3to doesn't seem to pick up the DTS Decoder. Even when I moved it into System Folders.
The lastest versions of ArcSoft don't have a required (by eac3to) checkactivate.dll. You need include this dll from previous versions to work with latest versions.

There are hacks (in this forum) to install the required (by eac3to) ArcSoft files without install the full ArcSoft TotalMedia Theatre package.

BTW, ArcSoft decoder is only needed to decode XSA / low bitrate (DTS Express in BD's), with the last libdcadec.dll you can decode any other DTS (standard or HD) the same (or better like with Strange Setup 7.1) than with ArcSoft.

Of course a great improvement of eac3to is (if possible):

- Add full dcadec decoder to support XSA / low bitrate, like is already in ffmpeg.

- Add AAC decoder from ffmpeg (maybe need some workaround to avoid license problems, similar to used with ArcSoft, Nero 7, Sonic or Surcode DTS)

- Add AC3 encoder from ffmpeg.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2017, 15:26   #14185  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
Those are the latest commits made for dcadec so far on ffmpeg.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2017, 16:36   #14186  |  Link
gonzalo76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ARG
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midzuki
IIRC, you may use the -arcsoft switch for forcing eac3to to use the well-known DTSDecoderDll.DLL.
I did it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midzuki View Post
dcadec 0.2.0 is really outdated. Since April of 2016, dcadec supports DTS Express, even the multichannel (5.1) streams.

https://github.com/foo86/dcadec/issues/33
So, 0.2.0 is the latest version (and also outdated), right?

What decoder should I use to extract DTS Master Audio 2.0, 5.1, 6.1 and 7.1 now I was using ArcSoft DTS Decoder (1.1.0.0).

Thank you very much for all your help!
__________________
Greetings
GONZALO
gonzalo76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2017, 16:48   #14187  |  Link
gonzalo76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ARG
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
IIRC, all decoders for DTS (dcadec, arcsoft) do the same thing with "XLL output no lossless".
Except, they were all silent, so the only difference was that the recent dcadec allowed the message to be seen.

One user did make a custom build that just hid the message again for the placebo users who want that message "out of sigh of mind".

Arcsoft has so many versions, and no one has thoroughly tested the last version (1.09), so we can't really say if it behaves the same as previous versions or has different negative behaviours like some versions of Arcsoft.

For Arcsoft, v1.0.0.0 is the most known version to handle most scenarios.

But Dcadec should be the same and handle all formats (including Strange Setup, which Arcsoft requires a specific version) except for DTS Express.
Yes, Arcsoft, v1.0.0.0 is the version I'm using.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
Superfluous means "unnecessary", so it was really 16bit stored in a 24bit.
Oops, I guess I made a newbie question, sorry!

Thank you very much for all your help!

__________________
Greetings
GONZALO
gonzalo76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2017, 17:04   #14188  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzalo76 View Post
What decoder should I use to extract DTS Master Audio 2.0, 5.1, 6.1 and 7.1 now I was using ArcSoft DTS Decoder (1.1.0.0)
To extract don't need any decoder.

To decode DTS MA let the eac3to default libdcadec.dll.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2017, 10:32   #14189  |  Link
rivera
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 25
I am confused, please help.

Tried with several different files - got same result.
After conversion mpg -> mkv, m2ts -> mkv, mediainfo does not contain any info about audio stream.
But audio stream can be played in MPC-HC.

Here is an example.
Input file:
Quote:
General
ID : 1 (0x1)
Complete name : E:\Temp\pana (ac3).m2ts
Format : BDAV
Format/Info : Blu-ray Video
File size : 265 MiB
Duration : 4 min 6 s
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 9 036 kb/s
Maximum Overall bit rate : 35.5 Mb/s

Video
ID : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 3 frames
Codec ID : 27
Duration : 4 min 6 s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 8 327 kb/s
Maximum bit rate : 24.0 Mb/s
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 29.970 (29970/1000) FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.134
Stream size : 247 MiB (93%)
Writing library : x264 core 61
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=3 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=6 / psy_rd=1.000000 / brdo=1 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=0 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / chroma_qp_offset=0 / threads=3 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=1 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / wpredb=1 / bime=1 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40(pre) / rc=2pass / bitrate=8327 / ratetol=1.0 / rceq='blurCplx^(1-qComp)' / qcomp=1.00 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / vbv_maxrate=24000 / vbv_bufsize=9000 / ip_ratio=1.40 / pb_ratio=1.30 / aq=2:1.00

Audio
ID : 4352 (0x1100)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : 129
Duration : 4 min 6 s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 256 kb/s
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 31.250 FPS (1536 spf)
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 7.51 MiB (3%)
Service kind : Complete Main
Usage:
Code:
eac3to "pana (ac3).m2ts" "pana (ac3).mkv"
Output file:
Quote:
General
Unique ID : 47257860322188542931018185783133792477 (0x238D88678FA5573A5F64972DBB12E8DD)
Complete name : E:\Temp\pana (ac3).mkv
Format : Matroska
Format version : Version 1
File size : 244 MiB
Duration : 4 min 6 s
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 8 325 kb/s
Encoded date : UTC 2017-04-03 08:27:59
Writing application : eac3to
Writing library : Haali DirectShow Matroska Muxer 1.13.138.14
ErrorDetectionType : Per level 1
CRC_Error_Pos : 231

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 3 frames
Muxing mode : Container profile=@0.0
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 4 min 6 s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 8 327 kb/s
Maximum bit rate : 24.0 Mb/s
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 29.970 (29970/1000) FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.134
Stream size : 240 MiB (98%)
Writing library : x264 core 61
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=3 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=6 / psy_rd=1.000000 / brdo=1 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=0 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / chroma_qp_offset=0 / threads=3 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=1 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / wpredb=1 / bime=1 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40(pre) / rc=2pass / bitrate=8327 / ratetol=1.0 / rceq='blurCplx^(1-qComp)' / qcomp=1.00 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / vbv_maxrate=24000 / vbv_bufsize=9000 / ip_ratio=1.40 / pb_ratio=1.30 / aq=2:1.00
Default : No
Forced : No

Last edited by tebasuna51; 3rd April 2017 at 11:16. Reason: typist mistake
rivera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2017, 10:37   #14190  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,941
Is your MPC-HC set up to search external audio sources with the same file name? Check the filters submenu whether the audio source is the loaded file or an additional file.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2017, 10:41   #14191  |  Link
rivera
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Is your MPC-HC set up to search external audio sources with the same file name? Check the filters submenu whether the audio source is the loaded file or an additional file.
Audio source is INSIDE of the loaded file.
rivera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2017, 11:43   #14192  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,640
Please put the eac3to log.

I can't reproduce your problem, my log:

Quote:
eac3to v3.31
command line: eac3to "test.m2ts" "test.mkv"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 0:00:21, 25p
1: h264/AVC, 720p25
2: AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48kHz
[v01] Extracting video track number 1...
[a02] Extracting audio track number 2...
[v01] Muxing video to Matroska...
[a02] Creating file "test - 2 - AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48kHz.ac3"...
Added fps value (25) to MKV header.
Video track 1 contains 525 frames.
eac3to processing took 1 second.
Done.
In my folder:
Code:
03/04/2017  11:29         1.050.624 test.m2ts
03/04/2017  11:30           528.384 test - 2 - AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48kHz.ac3
03/04/2017  11:30           160.886 test.mkv
there are 2 files the .ac3 and the .mkv (by size is impossible than contain the audio also)
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2017, 12:13   #14193  |  Link
rivera
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
there are 2 files the .ac3 and the .mkv (by size is impossible than contain the audio also)
OMG, seems I got the point!
The output file does not contain audio stream, this stream is demuxed into .ac3 file!
I thought that "eac3to input.m2ts output.mkv" generates ONE file which includes both video & audio streams...

Now I understand why I was asked about external audio tracks in MPC-HC.
rivera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2017, 01:17   #14194  |  Link
Bandits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 30
Rogue One original disc M2TS shows 72p /1.001 and video track shows 24p/1.001

M2TS, 1 video track, 4 audio tracks, 5 subtitle tracks, 2:13:56, 72p /1.001
1: Chapters, 49 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: DTS Master Audio, English, 7.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
4: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 320kbps, 48kHz
5: AC3, French, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48kHz
6: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48kHz
7: Subtitle (PGS), English
8: Subtitle (PGS), French
9: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
10: Subtitle (PGS), French
11: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
v02 The video bitstream framerate field doesn't seem to match the timestamps.

Is there going to be any issues with extracting these tracks? Or anything special I should be doing?
Bandits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2017, 04:56   #14195  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,640
Extract as always and put the log. Seems a eac3to mistake.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2017, 08:15   #14196  |  Link
XadoX
Registered User
 
XadoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 191
Is there a way while using windows PowerShell to output the eac3to options as list, like usualy with cmd?
XadoX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2017, 08:30   #14197  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,941
You mean something similar to "eac3to > eac3to.txt"? This never really worked well, due to the strange output formatting used. I never understood why it is necessary to prepend every output line with 80 backspace chars. As if a CRLF is not enough to start at the left margin.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2017, 08:34   #14198  |  Link
XadoX
Registered User
 
XadoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 191
I only ask because in Windows 10 1703 CMD is defaulty replaced by PowerShell.
While using Powershell with eac3to the output is not shown as list. Instead every output is shown only in the first line.
So I have to use a pipe like you explained and thats not realy comfortable.
XadoX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2017, 12:59   #14199  |  Link
Brazil2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by XadoX View Post
I only ask because in Windows 10 1703 CMD is defaulty replaced by PowerShell.
https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...dows-10-a.html

Brazil2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2017, 13:32   #14200  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,941
Additionally, "Take Command" by JP Software (former 4DOS / 4NT) is an enhanced CMD-like command interpreter (Lite version is free to use).

It saved my day by avoiding surprises when comparing both LFN and SFN against wildcard patterns, matching more files than desired...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.