Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th November 2016, 05:03   #40141  |  Link
HelmedHorror
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Subtitle formats that specify position (e.g. ass) cannot be moved by madVR. What format are your subtitles?

If they are ass you can convert them to srt but it is a bit of work, especially if you aren't used to demuxing and remuxing already.
Whatever comes with the movie in its BluRay. I think they're all PGS. Certainly the one I've been testing this problem with (The Matrix Reloaded) is PGS.
HelmedHorror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 05:12   #40142  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelmedHorror View Post
Whatever comes with the movie in its BluRay. I think they're all PGS. Certainly the one I've been testing this problem with (The Matrix Reloaded) is PGS.
PGS does specify position, I believe nothing can move them.

I always OCR my subtitles, Subextractor is a good option, but that is quite a lot of work you probably don't want to do.

Sorry, but it isn't a madVR issue.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 05:22   #40143  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 1,940
HelmedHorror
You can try MPC-BE, can move any subtitles - Ctrl+Shift+Arrow.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 06:06   #40144  |  Link
HelmedHorror
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
PGS does specify position, I believe nothing can move them.

I always OCR my subtitles, Subextractor is a good option, but that is quite a lot of work you probably don't want to do.

Sorry, but it isn't a madVR issue.
I see... Well, that's incredibly discouraging. It never ceases to amaze me the new ways I find in which 21:9 monitors aren't supported in some way or another, whether in video games or other software. Not that madVR is one such example; as you point out, this is a problem with PGS technology.

Is there at least a way I can stop madVR from getting rid of the black bars while in windowed mode? Because that way I could at least un-fullscreen if I really need to see a subtitle for some reason.

When I took those screenshots I was under the impression I had it set to keep the black bars in windowed mode, but I think I simply paused the video before it had a chance to crop the black bars. Because no matter what settings I use in madVR I can't seem to get it to stop removing the black bars in windowed mode.
HelmedHorror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 07:30   #40145  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
madshi called it NG1, Next Generation 1. You have to pay attention on these things, if you're about to make a comment.
Indeed, I pay attention and that's why I made a comment.

Last edited by HillieSan; 16th November 2016 at 07:32.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 08:05   #40146  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post
Indeed, I pay attention and that's why I made a comment.
Madshi called it NG1 and nautilus7 suggested NGS, you then asked why he went with "Next Gen" and quite simply it's because madshi himself called it Next Gen.
Considering NNEDI3 was made in 2009 and this new scaler is likely based upon that to some degree, it is accurate to call it such.

Last edited by ryrynz; 16th November 2016 at 08:59.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 09:44   #40147  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 80
About the name:
Since Madshi is the creator, the algorithms name should have "Mad" in it. Like "MadSG1" or "MadScaler". Only SG1 is too anonymous.

Edit : SG1 is as we know the codename for the "Stargate SG1" TV series
__________________
My HTPC : i5 6600K @ 4500 | nVidia GTX 1080 | TV : Panasonic VT30 65"

Last edited by Betroz; 16th November 2016 at 09:48.
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 13:42   #40148  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Doylestown, PA in the U.S.A.
Posts: 387
I think "NGScaler" would work. Keeps the original name, but is searchable. Or "NG1Scaler", though the "1" might be mistaken for a lower-case "L".
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 13:55   #40149  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I still publish a blog on this software that is updated every week. You can't publish 2,000 words on madVR and not care about its features.
Where's your blog?
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 15:25   #40150  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Considering NNEDI3 was made in 2009 and this new scaler is likely based upon that to some degree, it is accurate to call it such.
You're speculating a lot.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 19:04   #40151  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Where's your blog?
I meant setup guide.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 19:52   #40152  |  Link
Kotik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 85
Does anyone know if besides xySubFilter there is another subtitle renderer that is able to properly parse and show 3D subtitles?
Kotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2016, 20:40   #40153  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,562
try the internal subtitle filter in MPC-BE.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2016, 01:23   #40154  |  Link
kasper93
MPC-HC Developer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kotik View Post
Does anyone know if besides xySubFilter there is another subtitle renderer that is able to properly parse and show 3D subtitles?
ISR supports 3D subtitles for madVR for a long time in MPC-HC. Not sure if changes were backported to MPC-BE like huhn suggested.
kasper93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2016, 19:42   #40155  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by omarank View Post
When a 3DLUT is used for HDR to SDR conversion or HDR processing, does madVR provide Peak Brightnesss metadata to the 3DLUT?
An external 3DLUT is always hard coded to one specific peak brightness value, so it doesn't make sense to provide any metadata to a 3DLUT.

Quote:
Originally Posted by omarank View Post
By the way, could you please add a profile variable for “Output Bit Depth” to create profiles for 10 bit output?
Why? 10bit output is an option you can choose yourself. You should know if you have it enabled or not, shouldn't you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by roninf View Post
What i recognized is that enabling and disabling the "stereo switch" using the nvidia control panel also activates the windows 3D switch but
activating/deactivating the windows switch does not activate the nvidia switch...thats the issue as it seems.
Madvr seems to trigger the windows switch is that correct?
Last time I checked with the NVidia drivers I was using both switches were "identical", so to say. Changing one switch also changed the other one. If that's no longer the case that would probably classify as a GPU driver bug, I suppose.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasch View Post
I have a "little" Feature request maybe its easy to do.

1. can you add keyboard shortcut for 3D swap l/r eye.
Why? This should be handled automatically, if the source file has the correct information stored.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasch View Post
2. In madvr you have an detection for black bars aka 16:9(BB top under), 4:3, fullscreen...
is it possible to make an keyboard output for this? 16:9 -> Alt....+y; 4:3-> Alt...+x (just an Example)
so we could use it for automatic Ambilight switching.(with Ambibox for example)
Keyboard output? What do you mean with that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by actarusfleed View Post
Hi Guys,
I own an HTPC with Win7 64bit and a GTX970
This bug happens only If I send a 2160p signal with 12bpc color depth...

[...]
Sounds like a GPU driver issue to me. Probably 2160p at 12bpc is not supported by "someone" (either the GPU or receiver or display), so somebody does some conversions somewhere which screw things up. This is most probably outside of my control and not my fault.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcec View Post
MadVR is no longer enabling 3D Stereo in the OS automatically after Win 10 Anniversary Update for me. Resolution automatically switches to 1080 (from my 4k default), however 3D in the OS is not enabled, so video is shown 2D only. To fix, I have to manually go into nVidia settings and enable Stereoscopic 3D myself every time.
I keep saying, Windows 8.1 is the best media OS atm. I don't think this is my fault, probably a GPU driver issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by roninf View Post
can someone tell me what is neccessary to be able to access madvr/madtgp over the network using windows 10 (dispcal or HCFR)?

Both computers are in the same network, LAN access is enabled for madr and firewall rules are set up. But i am still not able to use the pattern generator via network.

I have tried shutting down antivirus and firewall as well... still no luck.
Madvr is only installed on the HTPC and i am trying to access it via my notebook where madvr is not installed.. i have installed it for testing and enabled to show the icon only when there is another madvr instance on the network and it does not show up as well.

Is there any way to test if madvr is working correctly and is reachable in this regard?

Anything special i need to take a look at when using windows 10 ?
I'm not aware of any special needs. It usually works just fine for me. I'm not completely sure if dispcal/HCFR allow you to ender an IP address, or if they always rely on the automatic find routine? IIRC Calman allows to enter an IP address, in case the automatic find routine fails for some weird reason...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dipje View Post
Is it possible to somehow render MadVR's output to a file or back into vapoursynth / avisynth or something?

I'm basically looking for a way to encode HDR clips / movies to regular SDR files in the way madVr does the converting / compression. It looks awesome (to me) and that way I can take the movies with me on tablet or in the non-HDR tv in the bedroom.

I'm converting it now manually, and I tweak it manually with a final gamma adjustment and a levels/histogram adjustment to get it looking nice. But madVr's way is nicer, and my way probably works fine for shorter clips but for longer clips or full movies it will look nice in one part but horrible dark or bright in another part :S.
It's not possible atm. It's on my to do list to investigate, but it probably won't come too soon.

Fow now you could try using displayCAL to create HDR -> SDR conversion 3dluts and apply them using avisynth. I think there's some avisynth script from tritical available which can handle madVR 3dluts, IIRC? Quality should be identical to madVR, or even slightly better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaemon View Post
I'm currently trying to improve my picture in 3D mode. How can you do a calibration in 3D? Using the glasses and the colorimeter at the same time is already quite problematic but what are the other prerequisites?

Do I just need to activate the stereoscopic mode in Windows and run a calibration through madVR/DispCAL?
I suppose so. Haven't really tried myself. I hope left and right eye will need the same calibration...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
All the easy shader passes take 0.49ms on my Titan X and this is independent of clock speed and resolution.
Please note that in order to measure shader passes I have to flush the GPU and wait for the rendering to succeed. This will actually slow overall rendering speed down. So I wouldn't bet on that each shader pass actually takes that much time when not forcing the GPU to flush after every render pass.

Quote:
Originally Posted by foozoor View Post
Some 4chan morons would like to sue madshi:

And it seems that another one released all the madshi's algorithms for fun
Annoying, but I'm glad they did this before I published NGU and not after, so I could add a little bit (not too much, though) of protection against reverse engineering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistery 73 View Post
madVR prejudice exists an algorithm similar to Darbee, I want to remove the radiance between HTPC and projector though the effect of Darbee I like as much as I do?
I don't really like the look the Darbee produces, but I think you can achieve something similar by using the madVR "image enhancements" or "upscaling refinement" option. Furthermore, if you have a 4K display, the Darbee does its work in 1080p and the result is then upscaled somewhere to 4K, while with madVR you have the option to use a better quality upscaler and then sharpen in 4K, which should produce noticeably superior results.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VHT View Post
3D picture looks fantastic with madvr, but subtitle depth (plane) goes occasionally wrong resulting my eyes going awry. I'm watching original blu-ray ISO's and using madVR v0.90.20, LAVfilters 0.68.1. MPC-HC + Nvidias 373.06 drivers.

Been testing same movies with Pioneer blu-ray player and the subtitle depth is correct with that.
A few questions:

1) Can you describe in more detail how the subtitle depth goes "wrong"? Are the subs too far in front or too far back or jumping around or something else?

2) Does the same problem always occur at the same play time with the same movie? Or does the problem sometimes not occur if you rewind back and play the same movie section again?

3) If you can perfectly reproduce the problem and if it always occurs at exactly the same movie runtime, maybe you can create a little sample for nevcairiel and me to look at?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Durden View Post
Does anybody use the "black bar detection" feature for automatic screen masquerading in your projector setups? MadVR reliable detects the actual aspect ratio and also sends this info optional to the media player (JRiverMC in my case). So it might be possible to adjust motorized screens to respective aspect ratio. I tried jriver http commands, but I don't think this info is available there. In madVR OSD the aspect ratio is shown, but I don't know how to get hands on this info. Maybe someone could give me a hint. It would be great if mediaplayer or better madVR could send UDP Broadcast with current movie aspect ratio. This might be a very cool additional feature for madVR.
One thing you could do is create profiles for different aspect ratios and setup rules to auto activate the matching profiles. Then in each profile you can define a command line which madVR shall execute if said profile gets activated.

Unfortunately the command line execution is currently not implemented yet <sigh>.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kolak View Post
When can we expect HDR flagging on HDMI?

Based on this looks like it's possible:

https://developer.nvidia.com/display...nuts-and-bolts
The latest drivers have a better API than the one you linked to, but I don't have the API documentation yet. I'm waiting for it to be released.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Durden View Post
right now a little off topic from madshis new algo, but here's a little update on my automatic screen masking topic. Madvr is abolute mad awesome! Quite everything I need is already there and right before my eyes. You can easily use profile scripts to detect AR and switch profiles accordingly. There is an option "command line to execute when this profile is activated". Unfortunately there seems to be an issue with this option. I couldn't get a simple command to be executed (e. g. curl command for http get). I also found an old bug ticket: http://bugs.madshi.net/view.php?id=210 which hasn't been resolved. If anyone has experienced the same, do you have a workaround?
I'll increase priority in my to do list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cork_OS View Post
NG1 is excellent, but waifu does some magic on horizontal lines
Yes, it does. But it's also about a 100x slower than NGU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I'm curious about how NG1 came about more than anything. It does look to be based on NNEDI3.. did tritical have a hand in this?
I haven't heard from tritical in years. NGU is not based on NNEDI3 in any way. E.g. NNEDI3 needs OpenCL (or D3D11 shaders) to run with decent performance. NGU runs in simple PS3.0 pixel shaders.

Nobody has had a hand in NGU other than me. Well, of course I must have read several dozen scientific papers about image processing and upscaling, and I've certainly taken many good ideas from several such papers, and added a couple of my own ideas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
In similar news "Google has shared details on a new image enhancement technique it has developed called RAISR. RAISR, or rapid and accurate image super-resolution, incorporates machine learning to produce high-quality versions of low-quality images.
Doesn't look all that great to me, to be honest.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiandow View Post
Well, maybe but it's kind of pointless to optimize the downscaling since that's the part we don't have usually any control over (otherwise, why would we even downscale?). Catmull-Rom in gamma light is pretty realistic. You could argue that a box filter in linear light is closer to how cameras work, but I'd be surprised if it resulted in a huge difference in the relative quality of the scaling algorithms.
Agreed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HelmedHorror View Post
Hi, I've been trying for over an hour to fix a subtitle display problem that I'm pretty sure has to do with madVR rather than MPC-HC.

I have an "ultrawide" 21:9 aspect ratio monitor, and I use madVR's settings under Processing -> Zoom Control to zoom/crop past the hardcoded top & bottom "black bars" of most movies.

The problem is that subtitles are still rendered as if those black bars are visible.
Does madVR correctly detect the movie aspect ratio? Check the OSD (Ctrl+J) for that.

Which subtitle renderer are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
PGS does specify position, I believe nothing can move them.
Actually, madVR is supposed to be able to move PGS subtitles, unless they're encoding in "fullscreen". But most PGS subtitles I've seen are encoded in small rectangles.

I have a 21:9 setup myself and moving all subtitles (including PGS) into the active image area works just fine for me.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2016, 20:28   #40156  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,068
madVR v0.91.0 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* added new NGU (Next Generation Upscaling) algorithm
* added "soften edges" + "add grain" upscaling refinements (atm only for NGU)
* display properties can now also be profiled
A few comments about NGU:

1) Obviously, I've decided to change the name from "NG1" to "NGU". The reason is that "NG1" didn't have any mention of "upscaling" or "super resolution" in the name. So I added the "U" for "upscaling".

2) In this initial version only 2 quality levels (high and medium) are available. A future version will add at least one more level which is faster than medium, maybe there will be even more levels, I don't know yet.

3) NGU is currently available for both doubling and chroma upscaling. The chroma upscaling algo does currently not make use of the luma channel. I plan to try adding that to a future NGU version, but that will take serious development time, so don't expect it too soon.

4) NGU doesn't need OpenCL, DirectCompute or D3D11. It runs fine with D3D9, so it should run fine in XP.

5) A word about "ideal upscaling": When trying to upscale a low-res image, it's possible to get the edges very sharp and very near to the "groundtruth" (the original high-res image the low-res image was created from). However, texture detail which is lost during downscaling cannot properly be restored. This can lead to "cartoon" type images when upscaling by large factors with full sharpness, because the edges will be very sharp, but there's no texture detail. In order to soften this problem, I've added options to "soften edges" and "add grain". Here's a little comparison to show the effect of these options:

low-res image -- | -- straight NGU -- | -- NGU + "Soften Edges" + "Add Grain" -- | -- Jinc AR

I hope these extra options will make NGU acceptable for all of you, including those who preferred Jinc so far.

Now I'd like your feedback:

1) Do we still need NNEDI3 image doubling? Or can NGU completely replace it?
2) Do we still need SuperRes (image doubling)? Or can NGU completely replace it?
3) Do we still need NEDI image doubling?

I'll not ask about super-xbr image doubling yet because I've not scaled NGU down to that performance level yet.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2016, 20:46   #40157  |  Link
Dreamland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Central Italy
Posts: 43
Excuse me for my very bad english
Thx for new great release !
I can't install new release MadVr on win 10 Anniversary Update ( 1607 ) 64 Bit


Last edited by Dreamland; 18th November 2016 at 21:43.
Dreamland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2016, 20:51   #40158  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,068
Did you have an older version installed? In that case you can just copy the files over, no need to uninstall again. Otherwise try right click -> run as admin. If that also doesn't help, you may have to run "regsvr32 madVR.ax" manually in an admin command line window.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2016, 20:51   #40159  |  Link
toniash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
madVR v0.91.0 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* added new NGU (Next Generation Upscaling) algorithm
* added "soften edges" + "add grain" upscaling refinements (atm only for NGU)
* display properties can now also be profiled
...

I'll not ask about super-xbr image doubling yet because I've not scaled NGU down to that performance level yet.
Thanks Madshi! Very good job

Where do I can find soften edges and add grain?

I'm waiting for a more scaled down version , too hungry for me (GTX 730)

Last edited by toniash; 18th November 2016 at 21:06.
toniash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2016, 20:59   #40160  |  Link
Dreamland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Central Italy
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Did you have an older version installed? In that case you can just copy the files over, no need to uninstall again. Otherwise try right click -> run as admin. If that also doesn't help, you may have to run "regsvr32 madVR.ax" manually in an admin command line window.
I have older version inside MPC HC folder and works very well ..
this release doesnt work (click -> run as admin as always )

edit

copy the files over an older last version and works

Last edited by Dreamland; 18th November 2016 at 21:06.
Dreamland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.