Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd July 2016, 14:29   #38461  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,245
Madshi were you still interested in splitting the neuron pass settings up like in MPDN?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2016, 14:34   #38462  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Underclocking doesn't make much sense without lowering voltage because power savings are very small. It would make more sense to lower the Powertarget of cards which you can't/don't want to undervolt, when Powertarget is limiting it also decreases voltage along with clock.
Lowering just voltage is not possible for GeForce cards without a modification of the videocard's bios (I assume this is still true for Pascal, but don't know for sure).
With Radeons, you can simply undervolt with any overclocking tool because voltage is basically unlocked.
I personally use MSI Afterburner (also got a MSI R9 390) and I'm very happy with it. I'm not sure Nvidia Inspector already supports overclocking for detailed Pascal Boost 3.0 features, you probably have to use latest Afterburner beta oder EVGA Precision X for this. But it probably is still fine for basic manual clock adjustments.
My undervolting settings:

With AMD GPUs you can often lower voltage by a lot if you slightly decrease GPU clock (that's why I set up -20MHz).
Gives really good power savings, especially with madVR (I'm usually below 900rpm fan speed with custom curve).
Drawback of undervolting is that you have to check stability/corruption with demanding games (Witcher 3 is good for Maxwell, Hitman 2016 good for Hawaii). By just lowering Powertarget, there shouldn't be any stability problems (however can be though if you have a badly tested factory overclocked card).
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2016, 03:38   #38463  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, So Paulo
Posts: 153
as ive already reported i having weird freeziing after pause a movie on FSE mode, i don t know how this started to happens, but tried everything, rolled back drivers and nothing changes this situation,
i cant pause a video on fullscreen exclusive, if i pauseafter the image freezes and sometimes the sound continues to play, the system stop to responding... and i have do force a restatr on my laptop...
does anyone having similar problem? i an on windows 8.1 x64 latest lav mpc-hc and mpc be and madvr...
nividia 930m
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2016, 07:37   #38464  |  Link
nzsjb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Does madVR support windowless mode?
nzsjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2016, 07:57   #38465  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosCaco View Post
as ive already reported i having weird freeziing after pause a movie on FSE mode
Reset madVR to defaults.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2016, 17:30   #38466  |  Link
050970
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
MadVR homecinema control

I was experimenting wit the excellent (IP) remote ability of MadVR (mad homecinemacontrol).

I was asking myself if I could talk directly to this API with my home automation system. (which can communicate with any UDP/TDP socket)

What is really interesting is that to the contrary of my mediaplayer (which uses MadVR) the mediaplayer itself does notpush player status..it has to be polled and further doesn't expose as much information as madvr does.

Listening to the right port I do get :

(first lines taken out on purpose)
(...) P+wsLDwnJycXQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADb29sk3t7eh8bGxtCoqKj0r6+v8MPDw
8mzs7OEoKCgGwAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAQAAAAEAAAAAEAAABAAAAA8A8AAMAHAACAAQAAgAEAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAgAEAAIABAADgBwAA8A8AAA== mad.?(XmadVR i
hellomvrVersion=0.90.20.0 gpuName=Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500 monitorN
ame=Lenovo LP125WF2-SPB2 mad.=€X store:Chapters„{Gc@Q…‚@Hz
“@

Chapter 01Chapter 02Chapter 03Chapter 04mad.7^v9ˆX
store:Streamsvids€8›&€mFϴ€_l€mFϴ€_lauds€8›q,€mFϴ€_lŸXVοUYZauds€8›,€mFϴ€_lŸXVοUY‡&kK™441ž#™•CNu7}/=–7C;
}/=–7C;•41ž#™•CNu/;1#@@€(@~-@##!‚ € €eng# VobSub index file, v7 (do not modify this line!)
#
# This index block was generated by MakeMKV v1.9.10 win(x64-release
# which has no relation to VobSub software. The first

# line above is present for compatibility reasons.
#size: 720x576
org: 0, 0
alpha: 100%
smooth: OFF
fadein/out: 50, 50
align: OFF at LEFT TOP
time offset: 0
forced subs: OFF
langidx: 0
palette: ffffff, 6b6b6b, 1f1f1f, e63f07, 7e7e7e, bebebe, 14be
f3, ea12eb, faff1a, 000070, 067506, 731f03, 095f78, 750975, 7c950b, ffffff
#
# end
fre# VobSub index file, v7 (do not modify this line!)
#
# This index block was generated by MakeMKV v1.9.10 win(x64-release)
# which has no relation to VobSub software. The first # line above is present for compatibility reasons.
# size: 720x576
org: 0, 0
alpha: 100%
smooth: OFFf
adein/out: 50, 50
align: OFF at LEFT TOP
time offset: 0
forced subs: OFF
langidx: 0
palette: ffffff, 6b6b6b, 1f1f1f, e63f07, 7e7e7e, bebebe, 14bef3, ea12eb, faff1a, 000070, 067506, 731f03, 095f78, 750975, c950b,
ffffff
#
# end
undNo subtitlesV: English [eng] (mpeg2 main, yuv420p, 720x576)A: Stereo [eng] (ac3, 48000 Hz, stereo, 192 kb/s) [default]A: Stereo [fre] (ac3, 48000 Hz, stereo, 192 kb/s)S: English [eng] (vobsub) [default]S: French [fre] (vobsu
b)S: No subtitlesmad.;ŽXstore:GraphStateRunning


The information pushed out by MADVr is excellent and could be so helpfull for home automation purposes (feedback and control).

I was also experimenting how I could "send commands" to madvr. Clearly using the Mad homecinema pop-up I can change language, subtitles, play/pause....it would be excellent if one could adress these commands directly with a UDP/TDP command string.

As I'm PC savvy but a complete programming noob I'm maybe asking for something impossible right now.

It would be really excellent if the mad homecinemacontrol api could be elaborated further...it's potential is really huge

Last edited by 050970; 3rd July 2016 at 18:11.
050970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2016, 20:14   #38467  |  Link
Ironclad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Any progress on Vapoursynth integration? Being able to add motion interpolation and other scripts after upscaling would be awesome!

Currently, using SVP exponentially increases the workload on your GPU which makes using it alongside NNEDI3 and image doubling through madVR only possible on the very latest graphics cards. However most quad core CPUs could handle OpenCL based svpflow interpolating upscaled FullHD frames well above 60 fps, so it's obvious applying motion interpolation after upscaling would be more efficient for the vast majority of users. The only scenario where it would be worse I figure is with an extremely low end CPU, but even a 6 year old i3 can handle interpolating 1080p@24 fps videos to 60fps with a basic graphics card.
https://www.svp-team.com/wiki/FAQ#Wh...ter_for_SVP.3F
Ironclad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2016, 23:12   #38468  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclad View Post
Any progress on Vapoursynth integration? Being able to add motion interpolation and other scripts after upscaling would be awesome!
Having to copy the image in high-bit-depth from the GPU to system memory and back after processing will take a significant part of the performance, so don't expect too much free magic.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 03:02   #38469  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, So Paulo
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Reset madVR to defaults.
that the only thing that i forgot to do, and works! thanks! so simply and i getting headaches for that...
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 03:29   #38470  |  Link
seiyafan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 161
Has anyone compared or had the knowledge of performance difference between the 1070 and Fury in MadVR?
seiyafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 10:53   #38471  |  Link
shmizan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat357 View Post
I have a problem that I can't see or track my mouse movements in FSE mode.
There is no typical mouse "arrow" visible any more as soon as FSE is enabled.
When moving my mouse blindly, I see the typical MadVR FSE time-bar, and clicking starts seeking.
So this part seems to work, but I can't choose to what time I seek because the mouse is completely invisible.
It's obviously an annoying thing !

Environment Info :
MPC-HC (latest)
madVR v0.87.13
LAV v0.64
OS : Windows 7 (x64)
CPU: Intel Core i7 970 @ 3.20GHz (6C/12T)
GPU: GeForce GTX 680 (8 EU) @ 1084 MHz (347.25)
anyone else having this? or had this?
I have the exact same problem. couldn't find a setting in MPC-HC for this. I use:
MPC-HC 1.70.10
madVR v0.90.21
LAV v0.68.1
OS : Windows 8.1 (x64)
shmizan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 15:14   #38472  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by shmizan View Post
anyone else having this? or had this?
I have the exact same problem. couldn't find a setting in MPC-HC for this. I use:
MPC-HC 1.70.10
madVR v0.90.21
LAV v0.68.1
OS : Windows 8.1 (x64)
No problems here with the same setup and a GTX770. Third-party mouse driver problem, maybe?
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 15:23   #38473  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
I'll get my hands on a GTX 1070 and an AMD RX480 at the end of the week. I'll compare their madvr performance against each other an will post the results here.

Anyone got some wishes or suggestions you'd like me to test?

My priority will be upscaling 1080p to 4k...



If I got enough time I will also add my old GTX 970 to the comparison.
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set

Last edited by Sunset1982; 4th July 2016 at 15:38.
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 18:02   #38474  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Would be neat if you could try out how well DXVA2 CB works together with madVR in windowed/borderless mode on the RX 480.
My render queues are a jumpy with DXVA2 CB on the R9 390 with 1080p 60fps (but playback is stable, at least since some newer driver) and native doesn't worky anymore at all with madVR without framedrops.
Classic question would be how much NNEDI3 neurons and SuperRes passes are possible for 1080p 30/60fps doubling.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 18:13   #38475  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
Quote:
Would be neat if you could try out how well DXVA2 CB works together with madVR in windowed/borderless mode on the RX 480.
My render queues are a jumpy with DXVA2 CB on the R9 390 with 1080p 60fps (but playback is stable, at least since some newer driver) and native doesn't worky anymore at all with madVR without framedrops.
Classic question would be how much NNEDI3 neurons and SuperRes passes are possible for 1080p 30/60fps doubling.
ok, I'll do what I can and I will let you know.
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 21:46   #38476  |  Link
Xello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Does anyone have much experience using a 2560x1440 monitor? Just got a PG279Q.

Having one issue, the refresh rate auto change on fullscreen.

I guess you can't put in 1440p23, 1440p24 etc on the list of display modes because it comes up as invalid. I have 1080p23, 1080p24 etc but MadVR wont switch my new monitor to that.
Xello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 22:51   #38477  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xello View Post
Does anyone have much experience using a 2560x1440 monitor? Just got a PG279Q.

Having one issue, the refresh rate auto change on fullscreen.

I guess you can't put in 1440p23, 1440p24 etc on the list of display modes because it comes up as invalid. I have 1080p23, 1080p24 etc but MadVR wont switch my new monitor to that.
Use 2560x1440p23, 2560x1440p24, etc. instead.

I have been using 2560x1440 for years now.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 23:08   #38478  |  Link
Xello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Use 2560x1440p23, 2560x1440p24, etc. instead.

I have been using 2560x1440 for years now.
Thanks, that does come up as valid. However, it still wont switch!
Xello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 23:13   #38479  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xello View Post
Thanks, that does come up as valid. However, it still wont switch!
The monitor probably doesn't support refresh rates that low.
From the spec sheet:
Quote:
2) Signal Frequency
DisplayPort 34~209KHz(H)/30~165Hz(V)
HDMI: 30~140KHz(H)/24~60Hz(V)

Try using p48 or even p96 instead. You may need to setup custom resolutions.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 23:18   #38480  |  Link
Xello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
The monitor probably doesn't support refresh rates that low.
From the spec sheet:



Try using p48 or even p96 instead. You may need to setup custom resolutions.
Yes I thought that was odd when i looked at the spec sheet, as this is a gsync monitor so it supports all refresh rates from 1 to max (165 in this monitor's case). I disabled gsync while i troubleshoot this issue though, just in case it was interfering with anything.

24hz is definitely supported as I can set it from Nvidia CP, playback content normally, and MadVR reports the 23.976hz in this situation. Will continue to test things out and report any oddities.

Note: btw I'm connecting through DP.

Last edited by Xello; 4th July 2016 at 23:21.
Xello is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.