Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th February 2016, 02:06   #36161  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,814
did you used/tried "input encoding TV RGB range 16-235 (clip WTW)?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 07:48   #36162  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
did you used/tried "input encoding TV RGB range 16-235 (clip WTW)?
... Oh wow, I missed that completely. I was looking for a separate option, and it's misaligned in the help file for some reason. Okay, well, at least you've saved me from an awkward exchange on the mailing list!
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 09:09   #36163  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ver Greeneyes View Post
My hack was super slow, so I had to improve the code a lot, but now it works (at least on a low quality 3DLUT)! Would still be interested in a file format specification for madVR 3DLUTs while I have this code paged in
Its documented here:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/thr3dlut/files/doc/
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 12:24   #36164  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 717
I re-installed Crimson (16.1.1 hotfix) last night to do some testing with the 3DClub DisplayPort 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 adapter on my HD7870, and unfortunately it's a no go as the levels are wrong and there is no way to set the pixel format, so I don't recommend it unless you only use MadVR. I had the wrong levels in PDVD and was unable to get them right.

However, I took the opportunity to do more tests with Crimson and the native HDMI 1.4 out, and I found two things:

1) I tested 3D and while it works fine in 1080p, when the desktop is set to 2160p MadVR doesn't set the desktop to 1080p when playing 3D, so I only get a crash from MPC-BE. My understanding was that it was supposed to switch to 1080p automatically, then back to 2160p after playback?

2) I found that if I set the pixel format to YCB 4:4:4 in Crimson I get the correct levels for MadVR (set to 0-255) and with PowerDVD, both in 2D and 3D. I checked the chroma multiburst test, and I get very good results there too. I couldn't see any obvious downside from a PQ point of view, so I was wondering if any of you could think of one? I haven't tried an Autocal with Calman or the JVC Software yet in that setting, but I don't see why it wouldn't work. The only potential downside would be an unnecessary colourspace conversion, but as the JVC converts to YCB even when fed RGB in order to process color/tint before reconverting to RGB internally, I think I end up with the same number of conversions. MadVR's RGB is converted to YCB 4:4:4 by the GPU, then YCB into the PJ is converted to RGB internally. When I set the GPU to RGB, it's converted to YCB byt the PJ, then reconverted to RGB. So in both cases, we have three conversions after the YCB 4:2:0 from the bluray to RGB for MadVR internal processing.
3) I'm also thinking forward and believe that HDR content will have to be sent in YCB when we have HDR support in the GPU/Driver/API and it's sent to the HDR display, either by MadVr when/if it supports HDR, or by PowerDVD as soon as their UHD Bluray version is out.

So can anyone think of any downside in using YCB 4:4:4 to a JVC projector set to HDMI standard (16-235) anyway. Otherwise I think I might stick to it, as it will allow me to keep Crimson and use the 3D support in MadVR/LAV.

Cheers!
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 398.11 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 15th February 2016 at 12:32.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 12:28   #36165  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoD View Post
It happens with 1080p videos, displayed at less than 1920 x 1080 resolution, as long as the resolution of the vobsub or the sup is also large (1920 x 1080). The subtitle renderer is xysubfilter 3.1.0.746 (the latest, as far as I know). Happens both in 32 and 64 bit.

Here's another sample [38 Mb], a mux directly from a BluRay, with only the video and the PGS subs.
Thanks. Reset my XySubFilter settings to default, now I can reproduce it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by baii View Post
A little comparison for those interested in hardware, I recently acquired 980ti and a full unlocked fury(think furyx). They fury(x) is slightly faster(about 1ms render time, avg ~14 vs ~15ms) for one of my 1080i60 clip upscale to 4k with following setting.
Interesting that they're so close!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Gilmore View Post
Please advise: wondering about cpu-load<PCI-e bus load from the renderer through MadVR

or weather any A-situational processing occurs that you/we know of where lots of CPU-GPU copy-back or
CPU post processing occurs.. that may or may not load the pci-bus moreso than otherwise.
Could be caused by doing copyback (using any hardware assisted video decoding other than native DXVA), or maybe by using a shared GPU where rendering is performed on one GPU and output by another (e.g. NVidia Optimus or similar).

Quote:
Originally Posted by kasper93 View Post
When NNEDI3 quadruple is in use, OSD reports that luma is downscale with Bicubic150 AR instead of SSIM AR. Any reason for that?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I found when I upgraded to. 9 after. 8 it defaulted to bicubic when I had SSIM detailed set in .8 what with it being deprecated and all. I actually tested quadrupling with SSIM the night before and the osd was correct for me so perhaps just change your Luma Scaler to something that's not SSIM and back again and that might fix it.
You may have to reselect SSIM when updating your madVR version because the SSIM internal names changed when I removed the "detailed" vs "clean" option. If that is not the problem, then could you please show a screenshot with the Ctrl+J OSD turned on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by raymondjpg View Post
Is there a way to change the active device in madVR settings?
The active device is the monitor the madVR video window is placed on. You can change it by moving the media player window to another monitor. Other than that I don't understand why it would make sense to try to use a different device (= monitor) than the one the window is rendered on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Telion View Post
http://hugefiles.net/4eeyrwm5p5xz
I've found out that if I stop the playback before closing the file or opening another, the leak is never there (and it is so in both v0.90.4 and v0.90.9 builds). But if I do this while playing or on pause - sometimes it leaks, sometimes not. It seems to be completely random - I haven't been able to identify any pattern or dependencies. Also, the "stop" case doesn't depend on the presence of "DontRenderAfterStop" file.
So I created two debug logs - one with stop&close case (so no leak) and the other with immediate close after playback started (and with a leak of course). I have a rather slow rig, so maybe that matters and it is some sort of race condition. But definitely there were no such problem with v0.90.3 and before.
That file host sucks big time. I've tried to download the file 3 times. It claims the file was downloaded in some fancy browser page, but it's nowhere on my PC. Found no way to actually successfully download your file.

Could you olease use mediafire or another decent file host? Thanks.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 12:34   #36166  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
1) I tested 3D and while it works fine in 1080p, when the desktop is set to 2160p MadVR doesn't set the desktop to 1080p when playing 3D, so I only get a crash from MPC-BE. My understanding was that it was supposed to switch to 1080p automatically, then back to 2160p after playback?
Yes, it's supposed to do that. Which madVR version did you test with? I did a related change in v0.90.9, I think. Does it work in v0.90.8?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 12:40   #36167  |  Link
k4rma
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Is this a new problem with 0.90.9? If so, please try to find out which exact madVR version introduced it. You can download old versions from here:

http://www.videohelp.com/software/ma...sions#download
I cant seem to be able to take a screenshot that matches what im seeing, but i can tell now that the stuttering is because the rendering stats hit the roof (ie. 60-80ms) when in full screen. However my CPU doesnt appear to be taxed that much...strange.

I did try to look using some older versions but the problems keeps reoccurring, so perhaps its not MadVR. Can only think its either Intel drivers (im using HD5000), LAV 0.67 or MPC-HC (1.7.10).
Attached Images
 
k4rma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 12:48   #36168  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by k4rma View Post
I cant seem to be able to take a screenshot that matches what im seeing, but i can tell now that the stuttering is because the rendering stats hit the roof (ie. 60-80ms) when in full screen. However my CPU doesnt appear to be taxed that much...strange.

I did try to look using some older versions but the problems keeps reoccurring, so perhaps its not MadVR. Can only think its either Intel drivers (im using HD5000), LAV 0.67 or MPC-HC (1.7.10).
Attaching stuff to this forum doesn't work, takes ages to get it approved. Please upload somewhere else.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 13:15   #36169  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Yes, it's supposed to do that. Which madVR version did you test with? I did a related change in v0.90.9, I think. Does it work in v0.90.8?
I used the latest 0.90.9, but I tried an earlier version with Catalyst last week and it didn't work either, so I waited to be able to test with Crimson before reporting, as Catalyst doesn't work properly with 3D anyway.

Just to be sure, can you tell me which options in MadVR have to be enabled for this automatic switch to happen? I don't use the auto display mode feature of MadVR as it's MyMovies which handles this in my set-up, but my understanding when we last discussed this was that it wasn't necessary.

Here are the options I set: 3D to auto in device property, and enable 3D stereo in rendering / stereo 3D.

I have a separate profile for 3D, which is enabled, so I have specific scaling/rendering etc options for 3D, in case it matters.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 398.11 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 13:30   #36170  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
BTW, I would like to have FRC always enabled except when refresh rates and fps match(50fps@50Hz/59.94fps@60Hz with Reclock forcing 60fps). I would have to create profiles apparently?
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 13:47   #36171  |  Link
mogli
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
[...]
Could you olease use mediafire or another decent file host? Thanks.
No problem here. Since I downloaded it, I also provide a mirror (click 'Direct download link', *not* the big green download button).
mogli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 13:49   #36172  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
That file host sucks big time. I've tried to download the file 3 times. It claims the file was downloaded in some fancy browser page, but it's nowhere on my PC. Found no way to actually successfully download your file.
I suggest JDownloader 2, it can download files and videos from many hosters and is open source.
However, watch out during the installation to uncheck the adware crap (don't use express installation).

It's btw. a very useful tool to watch most videos from the web with madVR.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 15:44   #36173  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
did you used/tried "input encoding TV RGB range 16-235 (clip WTW)?
Yep, I can confirm that using the right bloody setting (-eT as opposed to -et) also fixes the problem. Classic PEBKAC :\

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Thanks!
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 15:59   #36174  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
BTW, I would like to have FRC always enabled except when refresh rates and fps match(50fps@50Hz/59.94fps@60Hz with Reclock forcing 60fps). I would have to create profiles apparently?
doesn't option 2 in FRC with using display mode xxxxp50, xxxxp60 doesn't do the trick?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 17:01   #36175  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
I used the latest 0.90.9, but I tried an earlier version with Catalyst last week and it didn't work either, so I waited to be able to test with Crimson before reporting, as Catalyst doesn't work properly with 3D anyway.

Just to be sure, can you tell me which options in MadVR have to be enabled for this automatic switch to happen?
3D enabled and display set to "auto".

Please create a debug log with v0.90.10, maybe I can see something.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mogli View Post
No problem here. Since I downloaded it, I also provide a mirror (click 'Direct download link', *not* the big green download button).
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Telion View Post
http://hugefiles.net/4eeyrwm5p5xz
I've found out that if I stop the playback before closing the file or opening another, the leak is never there (and it is so in both v0.90.4 and v0.90.9 builds). But if I do this while playing or on pause - sometimes it leaks, sometimes not. It seems to be completely random - I haven't been able to identify any pattern or dependencies. Also, the "stop" case doesn't depend on the presence of "DontRenderAfterStop" file.
So I created two debug logs - one with stop&close case (so no leak) and the other with immediate close after playback started (and with a leak of course). I have a rather slow rig, so maybe that matters and it is some sort of race condition. But definitely there were no such problem with v0.90.3 and before.
Ok, I've done one more change. Is it fixed in v0.90.10? If not, please create a new debug log with v0.90.10. Please use mediafire (or some other *good* upload site) for uploading instead of hugefiles. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
I suggest JDownloader 2, it can download files and videos from many hosters and is open source.
However, watch out during the installation to uncheck the adware crap (don't use express installation).

It's btw. a very useful tool to watch most videos from the web with madVR.
Thanks, will give it a try.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 17:10   #36176  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
madVR v0.90.10 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* added support for Jinc (AR) downscaling
* added support for SSIM 1D vs. 2D downscaling
* added a couple of SSIM performance improvements
* added support for reading 3D eye order information from splitter/decoder
* fixed: bitmap subtitles (DVD/Blu-Ray) were not always properly downscaled
* fixed: DXVA deint + SSIM downscaling could result in bad image quality
* fixed: memory leak (maybe)
Notes:

1) Jinc downscaling is quite a bit slower than most other downscaling methods. Benefits and costs are similar to upscaling (less aliasing & moire, slightly less sharp than Lanczos), but less pronounced. Whether it's a good downscaler or not I'll leave for you guys to judge. If you've fun to test Jinc downscaling, please especially test the AR filter. It's quite aggressive. I hope the agressiveness doesn't come with negative side effects?

2) "SSIM 1D" is the same as "SSIM" in v0.90.9 (just a bit faster, I hope). It's based on a Bicubic kernel. "SSIM 2D" is based on a Jinc kernel, so it's rather slow.

3) 3D users please update to the latest LAV build:

https://files.1f0.de/lavf/nightly/LA...-0.67.0-85.exe

This LAV build now tells madVR which order the left/right eyes have. This information is read from the MKV file. Unfortunately MakeMKV doesn't store this information yet. BUT, you can manually edit your MKV files to add this information. Here's how:

Use the mkvtoolnix MKV header editor to add the field "StereoMode" to the video track. Set it to value "13" to signal that the left eye comes first. Set it to "14" to signal that the right eye comes first. Using the latest LAV build and madVR v0.90.10, your MKV files should then play perfectly without you having to toggle the "swap left/right eye" option in the madVR display properties all the time.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 18:14   #36177  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,713
Thanks for the new build.
I think I will just stick with bicubic 150 for downscaling to WQHD, I don't see any real drawback with it with any real video.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 19:35   #36178  |  Link
kasper93
MPC-HC Developer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
You may have to reselect SSIM when updating your madVR version because the SSIM internal names changed when I removed the "detailed" vs "clean" option. If that is not the problem, then could you please show a screenshot with the Ctrl+J OSD turned on?
Nah, that's not it. It only happens when NEEDI is used, for example super-xbr works with SSIM. That's why it seems little bit off. https://www.dropbox.com/s/lm5d4tuk6r3oe22/SSIM.png
kasper93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 19:39   #36179  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 463
I also seem to keep coming back to bicubic150 for downscaling. I mainly have two scenarios 1) 1280x720 doubled then downscaled to 1024x768 and 2) 1920x1080 downscaled to 1024x768.

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 19:59   #36180  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 1,132
I have a question about dropped frames and the "reduce banding artifacts" option. With it enabled I will get dropped frames in the OSD statistics but the max rendering time while the frames drop is still well below 1/FPS. IE: 23.976 content being displayed at "23p" and the max rendering time is less than 20ms and the queues don't empty while the counter increases (in fades), so are the dropped frames real or just an indicator the algorithm is working? It usually drops about 5-6 at a time. If I turn off the "reduce banding artifacts" option I can play back the same file with no dropped frames.
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.