Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th January 2016, 18:22   #3901  |  Link
The Dark Lord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Low MKV Video frame rate

I'm having problem with playing some MKVs mostly those downloaded from Youtube.

MPDN is rendering the video at average of 15 frames, which of course translates to massive stuttering.



as you can see there are no dropped or delayed frames.
MPC-HC and other players like VLC have no problem rendering these files at 23 frames.

My specs:

win 10 64bit
i7- 4770K
Geforce 970 (Driver 361.43)
Latest MPDN 32-bit
The Dark Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2016, 20:26   #3902  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiandow View Post
The new downscaler should be available in the next release of the MPDN extensions.
Right on this weekend?
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2016, 01:20   #3903  |  Link
Shiandow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anima123 View Post
Right on this weekend?
With any luck, yes. At any rate it'll be soon.

The code's already on Github, you could also copy that to the Extensions folder and use it that way. At least, I think that should work.

Last edited by Shiandow; 31st January 2016 at 01:22.
Shiandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2016, 02:53   #3904  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,703
I'm away on holiday at the moment though. Buy I have my laptop with be so hopefully I'll find some time to do a release later today.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2016, 03:06   #3905  |  Link
louiebh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
I'm away on holiday at the moment though. Buy I have my laptop with be so hopefully I'll find some time to do a release later today.
did the livestreamer issue i had work for you?
louiebh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2016, 03:44   #3906  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,703
Haven't had time to try it yet. But have your tried YouTube-dl? Does that work?
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2016, 21:50   #3907  |  Link
louiebh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
Haven't had time to try it yet. But have your tried YouTube-dl? Does that work?
i saw it mentioned earlier in the thread when i good livestreamer and mpdn but I had literally no idea how to install it or get it working and it seemed from what i could see, be a way to download videos then watch them later rather than stream them directly through the browser?

but no im somwhat savvy but this was beyond me could you point me the github/mainpage didnt make any sense on how to install/work.
louiebh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2016, 22:10   #3908  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,253
this is how it works: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...be#post1739563

livestreamer a easier way to start livestreams but check youtube-dl first.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2016, 23:26   #3909  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,982
I was kinda expecting something amazing from the new SSIM downscaler but there wasn't that much difference when compared to lanczos 12AR IMO. It looks nice and all and I'd probably use it but it's no night and day difference.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2016, 01:30   #3910  |  Link
Shiandow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I was kinda expecting something amazing from the new SSIM downscaler but there wasn't that much difference when compared to lanczos 12AR IMO. It looks nice and all and I'd probably use it but it's no night and day difference.
Thanks for the feedback, shame it wasn't as good as you thought it was going to be. Is there anything in particular that you think could be better?

FWIW something like 12 taps Lanczos is already pretty sharp to begin with, so in most case you shouldn't really need much additional sharpness (except if you downscale a lot). That said, in theory SSIM should be somewhat more intelligent, it adds exactly* the right amount of sharpness instead of just a lot of sharpness all the time. It could be sharper when downscaling very fine details, or for higher scaling factors. The SSIM downscaler will also be a bit smoother on less detailed regions, but that might not be particularly useful (although it does suppress source artefacts)*.

*Your mileage may vary.
Shiandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2016, 02:12   #3911  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 423
SSIM has it's own character for sure, you need to check several times to find the optimized settings working together with e.g., image doublers.

That is why I am more curious than ever, what it can produce with SuperRes or whatever you might call.

Edit: Right now I am using the following render chain, which seems to benefit from SSIM quite a lot, at least from 576p -> 1080p:
Code:
<ListOfPresetOfIFilterIRenderScript xmlns:yaxlib="http://www.sinairv.com/yaxlib/">
  <PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript Name="SuperChromaRes" Guid="17c2c194-4a30-4355-bbcb-1dec7093d383">
    <Script yaxlib:realtype="Mpdn.Extensions.RenderScripts.Shiandow.SuperRes.SuperChromaResUi">
      <Settings>
        <Passes>2</Passes>
        <Strength>1</Strength>
        <Softness>0.25</Softness>
        <Prescaler>True</Prescaler>
      </Settings>
    </Script>
  </PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript>
  <PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript Name="SuperRes" Guid="1a020bec-87ad-4f83-b0dd-545e0ffdc9b6">
    <Script yaxlib:realtype="Mpdn.Extensions.RenderScripts.Shiandow.SuperRes.SuperResUi">
      <Settings>
        <PrescalerGroup>
          <SelectedIndex>0</SelectedIndex>
          <Hotkey />
          <Options>
            <PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript Name="Super-xBR" Guid="418b3ba0-af29-4724-9267-16461ed01a39">
              <Script yaxlib:realtype="Mpdn.Extensions.RenderScripts.Hylian.SuperXbr.SuperXbrUi">
                <Settings>
                  <EdgeStrength>1</EdgeStrength>
                  <Sharpness>1</Sharpness>
                  <FastMethod>False</FastMethod>
                  <ThirdPass>True</ThirdPass>
                </Settings>
              </Script>
            </PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript>
            <PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript Name="NEDI" Guid="91aa2996-b2fe-42d1-be0d-1a3479851567">
              <Script yaxlib:realtype="Mpdn.Extensions.RenderScripts.Shiandow.Nedi.NediScaler">
                <Settings>
                  <AlwaysDoubleImage>False</AlwaysDoubleImage>
                  <ForceCentered>False</ForceCentered>
                </Settings>
              </Script>
            </PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript>
            <PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript Name="NNEDI3" Guid="316bb7d2-3886-4db3-b0b7-512615fdd76c">
              <Script yaxlib:realtype="Mpdn.Extensions.RenderScripts.Shiandow.NNedi3.NNedi3Scaler">
                <Settings>
                  <Neurons1>Neurons16</Neurons1>
                  <Neurons2>Neurons16</Neurons2>
                  <CodePath>ScalarMad</CodePath>
                  <Structured>False</Structured>
                  <ChromaScalers />
                  <ChromaScalerGuid>00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000</ChromaScalerGuid>
                </Settings>
              </Script>
            </PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript>
            <PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript Name="OpenCL NNEDI3" Guid="c92fad62-253a-4bfd-830f-a230111af648">
              <Script yaxlib:realtype="Mpdn.Extensions.RenderScripts.Mpdn.OclNNedi3.OclNNedi3Scaler">
                <Settings>
                  <Neurons1>Neurons16</Neurons1>
                  <Neurons2>Neurons16</Neurons2>
                  <ChromaScalers />
                  <ChromaScalerGuid>00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000</ChromaScalerGuid>
                </Settings>
              </Script>
            </PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript>
          </Options>
        </PrescalerGroup>
        <Passes>2</Passes>
        <Strength>1</Strength>
        <Softness>0.05</Softness>
        <HQdownscaling>True</HQdownscaling>
      </Settings>
    </Script>
  </PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript>
  <PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript Name="Resizer" Guid="06a38b00-8f92-4b6a-961e-12061ca127f0">
    <Script yaxlib:realtype="Mpdn.Extensions.RenderScripts.Mpdn.Resizer.ResizerScript">
      <Settings>
        <ResizerOption>TargetSize150Percent</ResizerOption>
      </Settings>
    </Script>
  </PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript>
  <PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript Name="SSIM downscaler" Guid="d447143f-8eaa-41fb-bacd-5cd022bb132a">
    <Script yaxlib:realtype="Mpdn.Extensions.RenderScripts.Shiandow.SSimDownscaling.SSimDownscalerUi">
      <Settings />
    </Script>
  </PresetOfIFilterIRenderScript>
</ListOfPresetOfIFilterIRenderScript>

Last edited by Anima123; 1st February 2016 at 05:50.
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2016, 13:26   #3912  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiandow View Post
Thanks for the feedback, shame it wasn't as good as you thought it was going to be. Is there anything in particular that you think could be better?
It just the content I was using. SSIM's strength is in the details, patterns and white areas. If you don't have this sort of content playing someone might instead prefer to run something else for a sharper picture. The content I was playing was computer generated so what I saw looked similar overall in sharpness to lanczos.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiandow View Post
FWIW something like 12 taps Lanczos is already pretty sharp to begin with, so in most case you shouldn't really need much additional sharpness (except if you downscale a lot). That said, in theory SSIM should be somewhat more intelligent, it adds exactly* the right amount of sharpness instead of just a lot of sharpness all the time. It could be sharper when downscaling very fine details, or for higher scaling factors. The SSIM downscaler will also be a bit smoother on less detailed regions, but that might not be particularly useful (although it does suppress source artefacts)*.
Exactly right. Some might prefer other downscalers with less detailed content. I don't feel it's probably the one downscaler to rule them all but I have no doubt it'll be popular with general content, it's magic is in the finer details.

SSIM

Lanczos 16AR

The broccoli, the quilt patterns and the shreds inside the crayfish are nice areas of improvement over Lanczos 16AR.

Last edited by ryrynz; 1st February 2016 at 13:29.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2016, 13:35   #3913  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
It's always helpful to include the original size image.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2016, 19:11   #3914  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,170
It would also preferable to use an imagehost for the two pics instead of having to go through a download process.
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2016, 23:13   #3915  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
It would also preferable to use an imagehost for the two pics instead of having to go through a download process.
I tried for over an hr last night.. Every image provider either resized them wouldn't accept them or changed the brightness.. Any recommendations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
It's always helpful to include the original size image.
I'll link the source later. I don't have a 4k screen.


http://4ksamples.com/

Screenshot was taken from the Chimei inn sample.

Last edited by ryrynz; 1st February 2016 at 23:18.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2016, 11:52   #3916  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,170
did you try imagebam or someimage?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2016, 12:29   #3917  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
did you try imagebam or someimage?
For some reason I just cannot explain the Lanzcos image gets brighter when uploaded to various image uploading sites.

If someone could tell me why this happens I'd really appreciate it.

Imagebam link

Mega
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2016, 12:40   #3918  |  Link
eX``
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 13
Hi,

I wanted to have a look / test SSIM but I got trouble using it for a simple reason: it's not showing in MPDN. When I go to Program Files / MPDN, the folder is in RenderScripts. Though it's not present in App data.

Thank you very much.
eX`` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2016, 13:24   #3919  |  Link
Shiandow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 751
So you copied the "SSIMdownscaler" folder? Did you also copy the "SSimDownscaler.cs" file? That one should be in the RenderScripts folder as well.
Shiandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2016, 13:26   #3920  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,703
I've released the binary version yesterday. If you updated the extensions you should automatically have SSIM.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct3d, mpdn, nnedi3, opencl, reclock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.