Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th January 2016, 15:45   #35661  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by scollaco View Post
Thanks for the reply madshi.

I'm think I'm already using the x86 version of MPC-BE. As well madVR & LAV as well. LAV and mpc-be install in C:\Program Files (x86)\mpc-be.exe

Any other advice?
Ok, in that case please create a debug log, zip it and upload it somewhere. Don't attach it to this forum, thanks.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2016, 19:45   #35662  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post
That would be great
i switched the nvidia GPU with my AMD R9 270 and in general there are no problems with madVR.

windows doesn't wanted to change to FHD resolution and was sending a letterbox but i got that fixed.

1080p60
Radeon Software Version 15.11 (crimson)
windows 10 10547
madVR 0.90.3
cx700 hdmi

if you have an iGPU try it to make sure the issue isn't windows.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 00:44   #35663  |  Link
BetA13
cosmic entity
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: outside the Box
Posts: 219
THX madshi for the test builds.. i hope will come around soon to test em and report back..
as soon as i have time i will test them....

greetz

edit:

testing it now. With teh 32bit player like you wanted, didnt try 64bit yet

i used the zzz - builds2.rar and started with number 5.

5. (5 - videotext and vsync) = works
4. ..............(OSD).............= FAIL
3. OpenCL.........................= FAIL

Dindt bother testing 2 and 1, since they would also fail??
Or should i test them also?

Greetings

Last edited by BetA13; 27th January 2016 at 01:03.
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 08:33   #35664  |  Link
MSL_DK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post
I get an error in the upper left corner that says something like: Could not read display mode. It only happens if I disable FSE. AMD control panel crashes and windows behave very strangely and I will have to restart.

Windows 10 x64
MPC-HC x86 latest
madVR x86 latest
AMD R9 270 with latest driver
Display 1920x1080 60Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i switched the nvidia GPU with my AMD R9 270 and in general there are no problems with madVR.

windows doesn't wanted to change to FHD resolution and was sending a letterbox but i got that fixed.

1080p60
Radeon Software Version 15.11 (crimson)
windows 10 10547
madVR 0.90.3
cx700 hdmi

if you have an iGPU try it to make sure the issue isn't windows.
I have found the problem. The problem occurs at Rendering> windowed mode> how many video frames ....> 16

If I set it to 14, the problem does not occur.

Last edited by MSL_DK; 27th January 2016 at 08:41.
MSL_DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 09:08   #35665  |  Link
MSL_DK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i switched the nvidia GPU with my AMD R9 270 and in general there are no problems with madVR.

windows doesn't wanted to change to FHD resolution and was sending a letterbox but i got that fixed.

1080p60
Radeon Software Version 15.11 (crimson)
windows 10 10547
madVR 0.90.3
cx700 hdmi

if you have an iGPU try it to make sure the issue isn't windows.
Thank you for looking at it.

While we're at it, can I get you to test properties> the native display bitdepth is> 10 bit (or higher) and Rendering> General settings> use Direct3D 11 for presentation> present a frame for every VSync

and tell me the result of your monitor behavior?

My screen seems to switch modes and render and present queue queue is not filled out. (1-3 / 14 and 1-3 / 14)

MSL_DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 09:22   #35666  |  Link
omarank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
This is a GPU driver problem with AMD cards when using 24Hz and 60Hz refresh rates. With 23p, 50p and 59p the queues get filled properly. Some user reported here that with the newer drivers, the problem is fixed with either of 24p and 60p (don’t remember which one, perhaps 24p).
omarank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 15:08   #35667  |  Link
Backflash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Are you using x86 or x64 version of your media player and madVR? If you're using x64, try using x86 instead to see if you have the same display driver crash problem with that. If you have the same crashes in x86, then please look at this post:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...26#post1754526
I tested both MPC x64 and x86 nightly 1.7.10.86

Builds 5-2 - works fine i couldn't replicate the crash, relaunched different videos 7-10 times on both players.
Build 1 caught a crash on 4th video playback start on x64 player, driver recovered this time, works fine on x86 after 10 relaunches.
Oh and yes, it happens only on video start - timer doesn't tick and in 2-3 second screen goes black when driver can't recover.

Thing is, this crash is seemingly random, sometimes it doesn't happen at all during the day sometimes it happens once or twice. Very hard to tell when it actually will happen.
Backflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 15:46   #35668  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post
I have found the problem. The problem occurs at Rendering> windowed mode> how many video frames ....> 16

If I set it to 14, the problem does not occur.
Ah yes, some users had problem with 16, I'm not sure why. Could be running out of RAM, or a driver problem, or something else.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA13 View Post
testing it now. With teh 32bit player like you wanted, didnt try 64bit yet

i used the zzz - builds2.rar and started with number 5.

5. (5 - videotext and vsync) = works
4. ..............(OSD).............= FAIL
3. OpenCL.........................= FAIL

Dindt bother testing 2 and 1, since they would also fail??
Or should i test them also?
Thanks. No need to test builds 1 and 2. How reliable is the "fail/works" for you? Are you 100% sure 5 is fine and 4 has a problem? Or is there a bit of randomness involved? Just asking, to be safe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Backflash View Post
I tested both MPC x64 and x86 nightly 1.7.10.86

Builds 5-2 - works fine i couldn't replicate the crash, relaunched different videos 7-10 times on both players.
Build 1 caught a crash on 4th video playback start on x64 player, driver recovered this time, works fine on x86 after 10 relaunches.
Oh and yes, it happens only on video start - timer doesn't tick and in 2-3 second screen goes black when driver can't recover.

Thing is, this crash is seemingly random, sometimes it doesn't happen at all during the day sometimes it happens once or twice. Very hard to tell when it actually will happen.
Thanks. Reading your description it seems to be quite random, which makes me fear that maybe builds 2-5 might also crash if you try often enough. Just to be safe, can you try with just build 2, maybe 20-30 times, do be extra safe that build 2 is working fine? I'm asking because if builds 1 crashes, it's possible but "weird" to have build 2 work fine because the difference between builds 1 and 2 is very small. I would have expected build 1 and 2 to give identical results. So considering that it's somewhat random, I'd appreciate if you could double check, just to be extra safe. Thanks.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 16:26   #35669  |  Link
Backflash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Thanks. Reading your description it seems to be quite random, which makes me fear that maybe builds 2-5 might also crash if you try often enough
Ran build 2 on both x64/x86, 70 times on different videos, from sd to 720p 10bit - couldn't crash it.
Backflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 17:14   #35670  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Backflash View Post
Ran build 2 on both x64/x86, 70 times on different videos, from sd to 720p 10bit - couldn't crash it.
That's quite interesting. Practically this means that probably in x64 the GPU driver crashes when madVR tries to create multiple DirectCompute shaders at the same time in different threads. This looks like a GPU driver bug because in theory D3D11 should be thread safe.

So I'll have to redesign the DirectCompute stuff to be done in one thread, only. Very sad, but not a big problem.

Edit: Which GPU and OS are you using?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 18:12   #35671  |  Link
Backflash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Edit: Which GPU and OS are you using?
R9 390(i7 2600/8Gb) Windows 10 Pro 1511(10586.63) x64, Crimson 16.1
Backflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 23:56   #35672  |  Link
BetA13
cosmic entity
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: outside the Box
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Thanks. No need to test builds 1 and 2. How reliable is the "fail/works" for you? Are you 100% sure 5 is fine and 4 has a problem? Or is there a bit of randomness involved? Just asking, to be safe.

hy there,

yes, "5" is working everytime i think. i didnt had any odd behavior with it. testet most settings with it and watched about 3 movies..
resizing works, fullscreen switching works, no drops, no stutter when i move teh mouse, video is in sync and normal speed, shaders work, just like with 0.89.19

Sidenote:
only thing i noticed wich is different (i think, i didnt see that change before) is that in windowed mode, videos are played with 48fps and in Fullscreen (exclusive) mode its 60fps.
Wasnt it 60fps in windowed and fullscreen before? Of course only if you have 60hz ??
Or was this changed? Anyway, im totaly fine with that because it eats less power from my gpu in 48fps (windowed) in fullscreen i prefer teh 60fps like it is...

"4" and downwards allways produce the error i have been struggling with in the start.

so, im 99% shure that 5 is the winner for me...

greetings

Last edited by BetA13; 28th January 2016 at 00:10.
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 00:06   #35673  |  Link
daglax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 30
I dont get it. If i start any .mkv-movie (SBS-format) the madvr on screen display never shows 4:2:0 (3D), it's always 4:2:0.

I installed the latest LAV Filters and activated the filters in MPC's external filter section, but still no sign of 3D. Why is LAV not decoding in 3D?
daglax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 00:09   #35674  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,504
At the moment the new 3D features of LAV and madVR are for MVC-in-MKV only. There is no special handling of SBS files.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 00:28   #35675  |  Link
daglax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 30
Lol that makes sense. Didn't find any information about that the last couple of pages or maybe i didn't understand.
Thank you for clarification.

Is SBS- Playback planned eventually?

Last edited by daglax; 28th January 2016 at 00:35.
daglax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 01:18   #35676  |  Link
scollaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 66
Does someone have an example code of how they are using profiles for including 3d now? I'm not very code savvy and would appreciate the help.

Also what settings are people using for 3d as my scaling algorithms etc...seem to be too much to play 3D
scollaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 01:24   #35677  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by daglax View Post
Is SBS- Playback planned eventually?
madVR can already do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post
Thank you for looking at it.

While we're at it, can I get you to test properties> the native display bitdepth is> 10 bit (or higher) and Rendering> General settings> use Direct3D 11 for presentation> present a frame for every VSync

and tell me the result of your monitor behavior?

My screen seems to switch modes and render and present queue queue is not filled out. (1-3 / 14 and 1-3 / 14)

i don't have the card at the Tv anymore.

but don't waste your time on 10 bit and this screen.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 02:07   #35678  |  Link
derpycat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
At the moment the new 3D features of LAV and madVR are for MVC-in-MKV only. There is no special handling of SBS files.
Sorry I'm a noob. Does this mean we can't play 3d Bluray yet?
derpycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 02:17   #35679  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by derpycat View Post
Sorry I'm a noob. Does this mean we can't play 3d Bluray yet?
Correct. Right now it only works with MKV's made with MakeMKV. At some point, once it matures a bit and some bugs are worked out, they'll expand support for blu-ray itself, albeit with some limitations. We'll get there, but, right now at this time, we're not there yet.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 02:38   #35680  |  Link
derpycat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 31
Thanks, I guess it's easy enough to make my own MKVs. Was wondering why I couldn't get 3d working
derpycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.