Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th November 2015, 04:44   #34301  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
This must be a bug...

https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/759/22...8a969572_o.jpg

I don't have Lanczos3 AR enabled, I have Jinc3 AR ticked. To check, I tried every upscaler, they work, but when Jinc3 AR is chosen it uses Lanczos3 AR instead.

Also, can someone explain what's happening in this chain?

720x576 video --> 1680x1080

chroma -> super-xbr
image y -> super-xbr
image x -> super-xbr <- catmull-rom

The height was doubled and downsized - what happened to the width? It looks like it was doubled, but what upscaler brought it to 1680?

for the zoom control feedback

Last edited by JarrettH; 17th November 2015 at 04:53.
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2015, 04:54   #34302  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,911
jinc3 AR can't downscale so lanczos is used. working as intended.

even through the images shows upscaling the image is still downscaled at the same time AR correction.

BTW. this file need deintelracing and is flag wrong or totally wrong encoded.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2015, 05:17   #34303  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
Yeah, it was encoded in the video. It looks terrible

Thanks
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2015, 11:54   #34304  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,494
Quote:
Originally Posted by JarrettH View Post
Zoom control...a little help?...

Do I need to use this if I'm just playing video files on a computer and watching via computer monitor? I want to maintain the aspect throughout the movie.

Using touch window from inside in MPC
The "crop black bars" feature is useful, since it's applied before scaling, so scalers have less job with contents that have black bars.
And the top checkbox on this tab (I don't remember what it's called), that allows not to upscale contents if the cut lines are just couple of lines, is really useful with cropping and with some strange sources (like web download files that are sometimes not perfect full hd).
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2015, 15:49   #34305  |  Link
avinab
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
what is your OS, GPU and driver version?
Os is windows 10 build 1511 ,nvidia gtx 980 and latest nvidia driver version 358.91 .NNEDI3 was working on madvr 0.89.16. but in 0.89.17 NNEDI3 is not enabled.It goes to JINC
avinab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2015, 18:32   #34306  |  Link
Shiandow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ver Greeneyes View Post
If that new SSIM-based downscaling algorithm can be used, would be interesting to see how it affects SuperRes (which relies on downscaling, right?).
While I agree it would be interesting, it might not necessarily be the best way to implement this SSIM downscaling algorithm. For more information see my previous comment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
If it were just the problems with a flat luma channel, I might invest the work to detect that situation and switch to a different algo in that case. But the inappropriate "edge filling" which sometimes occurs is a problem that I don't know how to solve. Which is why I haven't tried to improve Bilateral chroma upscaling yet. Maybe Shiandow has some ideas there? I'm not sure if anything can be done there, though. Maybe it's not possible to solve the inappropriate "edge filling" without removing all the benefits Bilateral has in other situations.
I think preventing this 'edge filling' entirely will require a different algorithm, you'll need to detect edges in a somewhat more intelligent manner. Although, if you don't mind doing an extra processing pass, I did manage to get some nice results if I combine a somewhat modified Bilateral scaler it with a softened SuperRes pass, that's still highly experimental though.
Shiandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2015, 22:37   #34307  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiandow View Post
While I agree it would be interesting, it might not necessarily be the best way to implement this SSIM downscaling algorithm. For more information see my previous comment.
Thanks, I missed that
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2015, 10:59   #34308  |  Link
iSunrise
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
...If it were just the problems with a flat luma channel, I might invest the work to detect that situation and switch to a different algo in that case. But the inappropriate "edge filling" which sometimes occurs is a problem that I don't know how to solve. Which is why I haven't tried to improve Bilateral chroma upscaling yet. Maybe Shiandow has some ideas there? I'm not sure if anything can be done there, though. Maybe it's not possible to solve the inappropriate "edge filling" without removing all the benefits Bilateral has in other situations....
Do you happen to have some screenshots lying around that show some of the mentioned problems? Personally I absolutely love the bilateral chroma upscaling from madVR in the screenshot comparisons I did some months ago, especially when you take into account the very low performance cost. I took some examples from recorded Amiga games (lots of pixelation), real world stuff (movies, TV shows and very old video camera recordings) and also artificially created graphics from the PC demo scene.

I found some research on the web about an adaptive bilateral upscaling filter implementation, maybe you can use or at the very least borrow some ideas (if you don't know the paper already):
http://www.interdigital.com/research...age_upsampling (direct download)

Apart from NNEDI3 even the simple bilateral upscaler is definitely my favourite chroma upscaler.

Last edited by iSunrise; 18th November 2015 at 11:07.
iSunrise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2015, 17:25   #34309  |  Link
fredgido
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Love the thin edges enhancement! On anime it makes the outlines look so sharp (I set it to maxium)! Shapen and crispen looks slightly better on very moderate amounts. On anime, 1080p BD encodes it improves more consistently a lot more than on 480p dvd rips from what I tested. Looks like it is more hard to detect edges on low resolution blurry anime. Enhance detail only makes encoding artifacts more visible.

I will use the enchantments and try to tweak when watching anime and try different quality and art animes for some time then post my experience.

Last edited by fredgido; 18th November 2015 at 17:38.
fredgido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2015, 19:05   #34310  |  Link
Kranium
I'm Confused
 
Kranium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by avinab View Post
@madashi in the latest build nnedi3 is not working.even if nnedi3 is selected in chroma upscaling or image doubling,it is showing JINC3.
But super-xbr is working.please look into it.
I was using 0.89.5 from here and my NNEDI3 also stopped working, even if I selected all NNEDI256 settings I was just seeing JINC>JINC>JINC in the OSD with 12ms render times. My guess is it might have been that new Windows10 November update that broke it(?). I updated to the new v0.89.17 and new NVIDIA drivers and all seems well now, NNEDI3 working and GPU usage back to space heater levels .


*edit*

Forgot to mention I also updated my version of MPC-HC to 1.7.10 at that time as well.
__________________
HTPC/NAS: i7-4770 - GTX970 - 16GB RAM - 512GB SSD RAID 0 - 16TB HDD - mITX

Last edited by Kranium; 18th November 2015 at 19:15.
Kranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2015, 19:24   #34311  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
It was broken because Nvidia removed an OpenCL extension which was used for NNEDI3, so madshi had to use a different one with newer madVR versions.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2015, 19:47   #34312  |  Link
trip_let
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 47
I'm in the market for a new (well, potentially old and used to save money) graphics card. Does anybody off the top of their heads remember what if any current issues exist with madVR, Win10, and Nvidia vs. AMD with respect to feature support and/or performance? I know the Nvidia issue in recent drivers with the OpenCL interop to use NNEDI3 was just resolved. Thanks.
trip_let is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2015, 19:54   #34313  |  Link
Kranium
I'm Confused
 
Kranium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
It was broken because Nvidia removed an OpenCL extension which was used for NNEDI3, so madshi had to use a different one with newer madVR versions.
I had been using the correct Nvidia drivers to work around that issue until I think v0.89.3 had the new dx11 open cl interop where NNEDI3 worked with then current drivers. NNEDI3 was working for me up until at least 5-6 days ago when I was playing with other options in madVR. This is why I think it might have happened with the new win10 update since I only did that 2-3 days ago and hadn't watched much to notice it was missing.
__________________
HTPC/NAS: i7-4770 - GTX970 - 16GB RAM - 512GB SSD RAID 0 - 16TB HDD - mITX
Kranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2015, 20:00   #34314  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Ah, yes. The build upgrade uninstalled the OpenCL/cuda driver, I lost driver profile settings as well.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2015, 20:59   #34315  |  Link
adhara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Hi,

What are the best settings with a Nvidia 960 video card ?

Currently, this what I use (outptut is set to 3840 x 2160 pixels (UHD TV) on the Nvidia control panel).

Jinc AR (chroma/luma upscale)
Catmull Rom AR LL (image downscaling)

Thx

PS: Why we can't choose "taps" anymore with the Jinc algorythm ?

Last edited by adhara; 19th November 2015 at 07:52.
adhara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2015, 00:47   #34316  |  Link
har3inger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 139
Jinc taps were removed because most people thought 3 tap was strictly better than 4 tap, and there wasn't a reason to choose 4 over 3.
har3inger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2015, 12:37   #34317  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by har3inger View Post
Jinc taps were removed because most people thought 3 tap was strictly better than 4 tap, and there wasn't a reason to choose 4 over 3.
That, and other people were choosing 8 because more is better, right? When in fact the quality was equivalent at best, while slowing things down a lot.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2015, 22:38   #34318  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by adhara View Post
Hi,

What are the best settings with a Nvidia 960 video card ?

Currently, this what I use (outptut is set to 3840 x 2160 pixels (UHD TV) on the Nvidia control panel).

Jinc AR (chroma/luma upscale)
Catmull Rom AR LL (image downscaling)

Thx

PS: Why we can't choose "taps" anymore with the Jinc algorythm ?
I would add image doubling. super-xbr or low values of NNEDI3 luma doubling would improve the image further.

You could also add SuperRes from upscaling refinement to make the image sharper. SuperRes + enhance detail is another possibility.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2015, 00:50   #34319  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kranium View Post
I had been using the correct Nvidia drivers to work around that issue until I think v0.89.3 had the new dx11 open cl interop where NNEDI3 worked with then current drivers. NNEDI3 was working for me up until at least 5-6 days ago when I was playing with other options in madVR. This is why I think it might have happened with the new win10 update since I only did that 2-3 days ago and hadn't watched much to notice it was missing.
Reinstall your drivers with a clean install. I had to do this recently after updating cos NNEDI3 broke again but strangely only the 64bit version.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2015, 01:05   #34320  |  Link
everlast4291987
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
What Chroma should I use

I have a 4K TV that can do Chroma Sampling
8bit @ YCbCR 4:2:0, 4:2:2, 4:4:4 & RGB 4:4:4
10bit & 12bit @ YCbCr 4:2:0, 4:2:2
I'm just wondering what I should use. I mostly have 8bit movies though I do have some 10 bit Animes. I have a GTX 980ti for anyone wondering. Any benefit to changing 8Bit 4:4:4 to 12bit 4:2:2?
everlast4291987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.