Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th July 2015, 12:33   #31861  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 408
Still the Overlay mode combined with dxva2 native with dxva chroma, luma and downscalling, gives me weird sized window, in fullscreen is ok, but the player crashes after I press the stop button - mpc-be latest beta 501...No problems in 0.88.17
Siso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 14:09   #31862  |  Link
James Freeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
madVR v0.88.19 released

Some more bugfixes.
Thank you.
When 1.0 rolls out, I'll be first to buy!
__________________
System: i7 3770K, GTX660, Win7 64bit, Panasonic ST60, Dell U2410.
James Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 14:13   #31863  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Code:
* when running in a debugger, keyboard hook is not set, anymore
Some more bugfixes.
And how am I supposed to debug now why madVR sometimes doesn't get keyboard events from JRMC?
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 16:11   #31864  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBonzai View Post
Did you carry out this test on an Eizo Foris FG2421 (as listed in your sig)? If so then the FG2421 has 8-bit MVA panel and it utilizes its FRC stage to create a pallet of 1 billion colors. I'm not sure how adjusting dithering as if it were a 10 (or 12?) bit panel affects color accuracy. I looked into the FG2421 as a 2nd display based on favorable reviews regarding calibration results. In the end I passed in part due to the lack of true 10-bit.
No, I tested this on my TV that allows 12bit color depth via NVidia CP. I will test some more, but its a bit difficult to test toggling something on and off using Exclusive mode...
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 17:44   #31865  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Does madVR report 10bit output mode? If so, it must be the GPU drivers which do these weird things. All madVR can do it output 10bit to D3D11. The rest is up to the GPU driver.
Yes, it does output 10bit. And I tried experimenting with the 16bit png file, from the other thread... it seems that 10bit is working even if the TV doesn't report 36bit input. I mean, the gradient changes and there is no dithering set in madVR, output in Nvidia control panel is set to 12 bit (it's either that or 8 bit). So I guess Nvidia is not dithering, madVR is not dithering... the gradient changes when in 10bit FSE mode... I'd say it works. My beloved Kuro is getting old in the tooth... I should change it but there's no satisfying alternative so far
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 19:15   #31866  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
Still the Overlay mode combined with dxva2 native with dxva chroma, luma and downscalling, gives me weird sized window, in fullscreen is ok, but the player crashes after I press the stop button - mpc-be latest beta 501...No problems in 0.88.17
I've confused by the words "Still" and then "No problems in 0.88.17". The "Still" suggests the problem was there before and is "still" there. But then that contradacts "No problems in 0.88.17". Also, generally not enough information. GPU? OS? Does it occur with any video or just some? Do you get a madVR crash box? If so, I'd like to see the crash report.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post
When 1.0 rolls out, I'll be first to buy!
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
And how am I supposed to debug now why madVR sometimes doesn't get keyboard events from JRMC?
Option 1) You could use an older build. Option 2) I could create a special build for you, when you are ready to debug that.

Of course I could also simply revert the change. But I think it's a "good" change. I've noticed many times that when trying to debug a media player with madVR running, the first key press freeze for several seconds, before MSVC++ continues to run. This is quite annoying. I *think* this problem should be gone with the change I did.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 19:17   #31867  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
But I think it's a "good" change. I've noticed many times that when trying to debug a media player with madVR running, the first key press freeze for several seconds, before MSVC++ continues to run. This is quite annoying. I *think* this problem should be gone with the change I did.
That was madVR?
Somehow it felt like I always get that, and I don't think I always used madVR. But maybe I'm wrong..

Anyway, the hotkey issue with madVR and JRMC is something I definitely want to look at soon'ish, but I can just use an older version, sure.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 16th July 2015 at 19:34.
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 19:32   #31868  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,494
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Does it still occur with v0.88.19?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Does unchecking the "use a separate device for presentation" option help?
It already was unticked. I have now tested with ticked and unticked but it does not make a difference.

http://217.160.126.132/madVR%200.88.19_back_forth.7z
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 20:08   #31869  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I've confused by the words "Still" and then "No problems in 0.88.17". The "Still" suggests the problem was there before and is "still" there. But then that contradacts "No problems in 0.88.17". Also, generally not enough information. GPU? OS? Does it occur with any video or just some? Do you get a madVR crash box? If so, I'd like to see the crash report.
With version 0.88.17 no problem, with versions 0.88.18 and 0.88.19 I have the problem. GTX 550 TI 353.30, win 7 64 ultimate. The problem only happens in Overlay mode (with builds 0.88.18, 0.88.19).Works fine in D3D9 windowed and fullscreen mode, also works in D3D11 modes.

Last edited by Siso; 16th July 2015 at 20:14.
Siso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 20:29   #31870  |  Link
James Freeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 919
Confirmed.
There is a problem with Overlay mode.

When there is any GUI text from mpc-hc like (Volume, Chapter, etc...) the downscaling is messed up; it looks like it stretched to 100% from the downscaled window.
As soon as the text is gone the downscaling works properly again.
__________________
System: i7 3770K, GTX660, Win7 64bit, Panasonic ST60, Dell U2410.
James Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 21:05   #31871  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Just curious, is Windows 10 capable of overlay mode with madVR?
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 21:30   #31872  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,958
dx9 overlay mode works on windows 10. just tested with nvidia 353.50 and windows 10 10240
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 23:00   #31873  |  Link
Ceremony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 94
I recently switch from stock Kodi to Kodi with DSPlayer, so that i can use madVR on my media center pc (AMD APU A10-7850K).

For some reason though, the GPU clock is stuck at its lowest speed. In my case 351MHz. It should however go up to 900MHz. I cannot use Jinc for upsampling, image doubling and any other advanced and demanding features... Anyone got a solution for this?
Ceremony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 23:22   #31874  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceremony View Post
I recently switch from stock Kodi to Kodi with DSPlayer, so that i can use madVR on my media center pc (AMD APU A10-7850K).

For some reason though, the GPU clock is stuck at its lowest speed. In my case 351MHz. It should however go up to 900MHz. I cannot use Jinc for upsampling, image doubling and any other advanced and demanding features... Anyone got a solution for this?
Wait for the next build of DSPlayer. It requires updates for the latest versions of madVR. It should be available within the next week.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2015, 23:41   #31875  |  Link
Ceremony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Wait for the next build of DSPlayer. It requires updates for the latest versions of madVR. It should be available within the next week.
I don't think this is a DSPlayer issue actually. I just tried the latest madVR with MPC and I am running into the exact same issue: Stuck at a low frequency.
Ceremony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2015, 11:16   #31876  |  Link
THX-UltraII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
but even with madVR in these programs. madVR still can't do frame packed 3d.
Madshi, do you have any plans to integrate madVR in a 3D frame-packed support tool like PowerDVD?
THX-UltraII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2015, 12:09   #31877  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Well I know that you're not taking feature requests, but I left things running overnight to generate a 3DLUT for my TV using CalMAN, which has noticeably improved color reproduction.
Unfortunately the way this is done is to oversaturate the display to get the gamut as wide as possible (color at 70/100) and then have the LUT correct the resulting errors.

Because I have to oversaturate the display for this, I have it set to a separate mode on my TV.
On this TV, there is a button to toggle between the PC/Movie modes, so it's easy enough to switch.
However this means that I can no longer watch videos in windowed mode (where I am less concerned about accuracy) because the LUT is greatly reducing the saturation of most colors since it is expecting the display to be at 70/100 in Movie mode rather than the 50/100 it is at in PC mode. It may not sound like a lot, but that's a big difference.

So it would be nice to either:
  1. Have a preference which only enables 3DLUTs in full-screen mode.
  2. Allow for profile support in the devices section of the madVR settings.
The latter would have many other uses.
For example, I have certain videos where I would want to enable different gamma settings, and it would be nice to use the very flexible profiling system to automate this.
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2015, 18:24   #31878  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I've confused by the words "Still" and then "No problems in 0.88.17". The "Still" suggests the problem was there before and is "still" there.
Man, you surely had a bad day :) aside of programming it would be nice to learn some language comprehension, it would avoid the typical over-the-top harshness so common in today forums.

To give you some ontopic insights, let me list some further advises for the renderer:
-as I said add selecteable GPU renderer.
-less is more, get rid of placebo junk like all of the "upscaling refinement", one good sharpener is better than 4.
-Add a dumb "denoiser", I would never use one but I guess there are people that use the TV's denoiser so it's easy to add one better.
-Also get rid of ringing fest Jinc, and all the bicubic based (add "b" and "c" boxes for anyone to fill as replacement)
-remove deinterlacing, software deinterlacing is never going to replace offline deinterlacing. Better let TV deinterlace real-time.
-Profile groups for displays (asked before)
-Make a guide (what Ordered Dither, what Error Diffusion algo?, process chain?, adaptive sharpen?). hint: a thread is not a guide.

Last edited by Dogway; 17th July 2015 at 18:28.
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2015, 18:42   #31879  |  Link
KhR0N1K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Man, you surely had a bad day aside of programming it would be nice to learn some language comprehension, it would avoid the typical over-the-top harshness so common in today forums.

To give you some ontopic insights, let me list some further advises for the renderer:
-as I said add selecteable GPU renderer.
-less is more, get rid of placebo junk like all of the "upscaling refinement", one good sharpener is better than 4.
-Add a dumb "denoiser", I would never use one but I guess there are people that use the TV's denoiser so it's easy to add one better.
-Also get rid of ringing fest Jinc, and all the bicubic based (add "b" and "c" boxes for anyone to fill as replacement)
-remove deinterlacing, software deinterlacing is never going to replace offline deinterlacing. Better let TV deinterlace real-time.
-Profile groups for displays (asked before)
-Make a guide (what Ordered Dither, what Error Diffusion algo?, process chain?, adaptive sharpen?). hint: a thread is not a guide.
i do not agree.
KhR0N1K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2015, 18:53   #31880  |  Link
MSL_DK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Man, you surely had a bad day aside of programming it would be nice to learn some language comprehension, it would avoid the typical over-the-top harshness so common in today forums.
What are you talking about!!! madshi is known for an absolutely friendly tone. More than you!
MSL_DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.