Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd April 2015, 03:59   #28641  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,760
10-bit H.264 will always use software decoding, no hardware supports 10-bit H.264 (only HEVC). This isn't related to madVR.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 09:59   #28642  |  Link
RBX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 19
Thanks for the information. I have a low end mobile GPU (GT540M) which works well enough for 720p videos.
RBX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 10:23   #28643  |  Link
Nachbar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 33
I'd like to report a bug.

I'm not sure which program is at fault here but if you are playing a video with mpc-hc and then close it when you have amd gaming evolved (raptr) running then mpc-hc will get stuck running in the background and it will eat up one of your cpu cores until you close it via task manager. If I do not use madvr this does not occur. Also if I close raptr while mpc-hc is stuck in the background I will then get a message that mpc-hc has stopped working and it will close. If I don't have raptr running then everything is fine.

I'm going to guess its raptr having the problem as I've tried madvr 87.14 and I still get the problem there.
Nachbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 11:10   #28644  |  Link
cca
Anime Otaku
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somewhere in Cyberspace...
Posts: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nachbar View Post
I'd like to report a bug.

I'm not sure which program is at fault here but if you are playing a video with mpc-hc and then close it when you have amd gaming evolved (raptr) running then mpc-hc will get stuck running in the background and it will eat up one of your cpu cores until you close it via task manager. If I do not use madvr this does not occur. Also if I close raptr while mpc-hc is stuck in the background I will then get a message that mpc-hc has stopped working and it will close. If I don't have raptr running then everything is fine.

I'm going to guess its raptr having the problem as I've tried madvr 87.14 and I still get the problem there.
I encountered issues with Raptr myself, in my case it cased frame drops at regular intervals while watching videos with madVR. I booted it out of my system and never had it happen again.
__________________
AMD FX8350 on Gigabyte GA-970A-D3 / 8192 MB DDR3-1600 SDRAM / AMD R9 285 with Catalyst 1.5.9.1/ Asus Xonar D2X / Windows 10 pro 64bit
cca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 21:03   #28645  |  Link
sexus
Registered User
 
sexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 187
madshi got a big request for madvr , its been bugging me ever since the support for OSD elements by madvr and am suprised this issue hasnt been tackled earlier , so ive noticed madvr has always had issues with rendering OSD elements smoothly aka theres a noticeable delay between OSD elements this has been both noticed on potplayer and kodis latest dsplayer madvr build this can be easily reproduced by simply up and downing the volume in potplayer or kodi or backing into the kodi home navigation screen while a video is being rendered , mind you ive tried already by putting prerendered frames to 1 and deselecting wait for renderqueue is full for window and exclusive as well did i try it with cranked down upscaling ,yet as said all to no avail , id appreciate a fix alot

Last edited by sexus; 3rd April 2015 at 21:13.
sexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 02:13   #28646  |  Link
Mangix
Audiophile
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 354
Will Nvidia's new drivers speed up NNEDI3 in any way? New drivers support OpenCL 1.2 apparently. I see a lot of "#if __OPENCL_VERSION__ >= 110" in the code .
Mangix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 02:36   #28647  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by sexus View Post
madshi got a big request for madvr , its been bugging me ever since the support for OSD elements by madvr and am suprised this issue hasnt been tackled earlier , so ive noticed madvr has always had issues with rendering OSD elements smoothly aka theres a noticeable delay between OSD elements this has been both noticed on potplayer and kodis latest dsplayer madvr build this can be easily reproduced by simply up and downing the volume in potplayer or kodi or backing into the kodi home navigation screen while a video is being rendered , mind you ive tried already by putting prerendered frames to 1 and deselecting wait for renderqueue is full for window and exclusive as well did i try it with cranked down upscaling ,yet as said all to no avail , id appreciate a fix alot
Zoom Player's OSD elements are very responsive when rendered through madVR. I notice no delay in the OSD at all even when in fullscreen exclusive mode.

I think this is a player issue not a madVR issue.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 21:33   #28648  |  Link
dbezerra
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbezerra View Post
Since Madshi announced the integration of MadVR with Kodi via DSplayer (yess!!!) I started to play with it. Unfortunately I found an issue that seems odd to me:

Issue: Some MKV videos have very dark pictures (wrong, missing colors) when I play them in Kodi using MadVR in either full screen exclusive or full screen overlay. As soon as I press CTRL+Enter to get out of Full screen mode, the picture corrects itself. but if I press CTRL+Enter again, the same problem comes back.

I tested DSPlayer with EVR, MPC-HC with same MadVR / LavFilters and MediaBrowser Theater with LAV & MadVR but I couldn't repro this bug in any of the other environments. So I assume it's something to do with DSPlayer and MadVR integration.

Here are screenshots:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/pxhs1fgk4...zWaICkxsa?dl=0

My GPU is a NVidia GTX 760 running the latest NVidia drivers.

Any clue of what may be causing this ?
I managed to pin point the issue. I can only see this problem in the following scenario:
1. Only when using DSPlayer (Kodi) with MadVR as a renderer in either Full screen exclusive or Full screen overlay
2. Have luma doubling set (# of neurons doesn't seem to matter)
3. Have the downscaling done by any of the custom pixel shader options (I use Catmull-Rom)

As soon as I change the downscaling to DXVA2 the problem goes away. It repros with version 0.87.17.

Question - do you know what could be causing this behavior only on DSPlayer? Do I lose quality by using DXVA2 instead of Catmull-Rom (looks like DXVA2 equals Bilinear for my NVIDIA card)
dbezerra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 13:17   #28649  |  Link
sexus
Registered User
 
sexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Zoom Player's OSD elements are very responsive when rendered through madVR. I notice no delay in the OSD at all even when in fullscreen exclusive mode.

I think this is a player issue not a madVR issue.
zoomplayer is a exception then , cause i get this in dsplayer kodi build and potplayer, so something in madvr is causing this , i dont get this with EVR or any other renderer, you can easily test this for yourself
sexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 13:47   #28650  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,059
this is a know issue with the current kodi builds. lowering lower present frames in advances helps but this has to be fixed in kodi.

madVR renderers frames and stores them if the program renders the OSD on those frames they are delayed.

try low GPU queue and stuff like this.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 14:34   #28651  |  Link
garson
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 48
Several pages back I've reported issues, on WinXP 32bit, nV GT730, latest MPC-HC and MadVR.
I had sound and no image. I've downloaded latest madVR v0.87.17 and now I have image again.
Thanks, madshi.

Edit:
Just tried now madVR 0.87.14, not working, madVR 0.87.15 is working.

Last edited by garson; 5th April 2015 at 14:52.
garson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 14:52   #28652  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by sexus View Post
zoomplayer is a exception then , cause i get this in dsplayer kodi build and potplayer, so something in madvr is causing this , i dont get this with EVR or any other renderer, you can easily test this for yourself
MadVR offers different ways to render an OSD, some of which are better with display delay. ZP may just be doing it right!

FWIW, I don't understand why Kodi doesn't just render the video with madVR and any elements needed during playback, but keeps the main GUI on a separate 3D renderer, with no delay at all. But oh well, their design choice I guess.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 19:19   #28653  |  Link
Qaq
AV heretic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
If I only have HD3000 (2520m), I can't use the Error diffusion (DX11) right? because the HD3000 only supports (DX10.1)
Nope. Its because your OS (setup) doesn't provide DX11.
Windows 8.1 x64 here and G1820 with simple HD graphics and it supports DC and ED.



Of course G1820 is rather slow for ED. Rendering time is about 40,3ms for 40ms upscaled movie but for HD3000 and above it should better.
Qaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 19:42   #28654  |  Link
vivan
/人 ◕ ‿‿ ◕ 人\
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Russia
Posts: 649
IIRC he uses Windows 7 which, of course, supports DX11.

G1820 is Haswell, it should be similar to HD4600, not 3000. And HD3000 doesn't suppport ED, but HD4600 does.
vivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 23:15   #28655  |  Link
sexus
Registered User
 
sexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 187
so , what , this is a kodi and potplayer issue afterall? guys you confuse me, setting prerendered frames to 1 or 8 in madvr doesnt do diddly for the lag


gpu queue is set to 24 and cpu to 48

update> ok ive just found out setting gpu queue to 4 fixed the OSD lag on kodi and potplayer this was the lowest setting there was no option to completely disable it oddly enough , i hope i didnt do anything wrong cause i always thought 24 was appropriate for my my unlocked titan gtx , ive left cpu queue at 48 , i recon this is ok for a i7 980x 4.3ghz oc , right? all gpu queue settings are set to flush for both windowed and fullscreen


btw theres still lag now when you backout during playback into the kodi homescreen , is there a fix for this?

Last edited by sexus; 5th April 2015 at 23:52.
sexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 23:38   #28656  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,059
by not rendering frames in the same instance.

BTW. 4 GPU queue isn't save at all try at least 6 or even simple things like deinterlacing can fail.

and the lag is at least 4 frames even with GPU queue of 4
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 23:44   #28657  |  Link
sexus
Registered User
 
sexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 187
ok so ive reset my gpu queue to 24 and my cpu queue to 48 and posted nevcairiels answer to kodi dsplayers thread , hope they can fix this , matter of fact maybe madshi can help with this , to have madvr use a seperate renderer for OSD elements , since as of currently even on the latest madvr build there is atleast 4 frames of OSD lag on both kodi and potplayer , as stated by huhn

Last edited by sexus; 6th April 2015 at 00:08.
sexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2015, 00:07   #28658  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by sexus View Post
so , what , this is a kodi and potplayer issue afterall? guys you confuse me, setting prerendered frames to 1 or 8 in madvr doesnt do diddly for the lag
Don't do this - it's likely to cause lip-sync errors.
I don't know about Kodi or Potplayer's OSD elements, but using anything other than the old Windowed path will be slow to respond to inputs - and it gets slower the more frames you present in advance. That's one of the reasons I have stuck with the old windowed path for so long.
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2015, 00:09   #28659  |  Link
sexus
Registered User
 
sexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 187
yeah youre reply is abit late as you can see

btw whats this windowed path youre talking about?

is this a lag free 2nd renderer that both potplayer and kodi could have madvr use for OSD elements? cause this is what we need , thanks to nevcairiel for the idea

btw ive got my flush settings set to :

flush
flush and wait
dont flush
flush

for both windows and exclusive , i recon these are right, and ive got both set to prerender frames to 8 as anything above that introduces frame skipping ive noticed aka present several frames in advance for exclusive mode with 16 frames does this, so its been disabled

Last edited by sexus; 6th April 2015 at 00:18.
sexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2015, 00:21   #28660  |  Link
Kirk Lazarus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 19
Fullscreen Exlusive mode 4K = Black screen

Hi guys,
I use my HTPC with a 4K TV but If I set MadVR to "enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode" I see black screen immediatly after the muose arrow vanish.

If I disable it I've no problem.

I've an AMD card and I exit at 2160@23p RGB 4:4:4

If I set my HTPC to output in 1920x1080 I can use "enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode" without any problem.

My setup is:
Windows 8.1 pro
AMD R9 280X with Catalyst 14.12
MadVR 0.87.14

Sorry If my question is stupid, I'm very new about HTPC and MadVR.

Thank you
Kirk Lazarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.