Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd December 2014, 18:58   #27721  |  Link
kostik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Two questions:

(1) Did this crash also occur with v0.87.10? Or is it a new crash with v0.87.11?
(2) Did you guys get a madVR crash report window? If so, can you please send the bug report to me?
Now back to 0.87.10 and have this issue, leave it madshi, its win10 issue/nvidia drivers on wintp 9888...(will try to reinstall nvidia drivers)

Fine works after nvidia drivers reinstall

Last edited by kostik; 2nd December 2014 at 19:11.
kostik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2014, 19:02   #27722  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Good to hear, thanks, guys.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2014, 19:34   #27723  |  Link
GCRaistlin
Registered User
 
GCRaistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 262
madshi, madVR seems to be very unstable when playing videos on the 2nd monitor. Though MPC-HC is unstable, too (crashes with EVR CP), but sometimes I get madVR debug window (with "Close application", "Continue" buttons). I remember you confirmed there are issues with the palyback on the 2nd monitor but the main advice was to playback videos on the 1st monitor. Is there any sense to try to reproduce the steps that lead to crash to report it to you, to send you any info regarding the 2nd monitor playback issues?
__________________
Magically yours
Raistlin
GCRaistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2014, 22:44   #27724  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
madVR v0.87.11 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip
OP update plz, ty.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 04:03   #27725  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,173
Is there a way to programmatically enable/disable madVR in MPC-HC settings by editing a file or something?

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 07:36.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 04:39   #27726  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,895
yes by changing it in the registry or if the ini is used the config ini.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 04:45   #27727  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCRaistlin View Post
madshi, madVR seems to be very unstable when playing videos on the 2nd monitor. Though MPC-HC is unstable, too (crashes with EVR CP), but sometimes I get madVR debug window (with "Close application", "Continue" buttons). I remember you confirmed there are issues with the palyback on the 2nd monitor but the main advice was to playback videos on the 1st monitor. Is there any sense to try to reproduce the steps that lead to crash to report it to you, to send you any info regarding the 2nd monitor playback issues?
this sounds like a serious system problem. even EVR CP is crashing???

I use madVR with two 1080p screen mainly one the second screen the main is a 120 hz and second 60 hz for a really long time with no issue since I switched to windows 10 back from windows 7 which has serious desktop composition issue.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 05:50   #27728  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,173
Found a bug. In the scaling algorithms profiles, I have this defined.

if (targetWidth <= 1366) && (srcHeight <= 300) "Laptop 288p"
else if (targetWidth <= 1366) && (srcHeight <= 480) "Laptop 480p"
else if (targetWidth <= 1366) && (srcHeight <= 768) "Laptop 720p"
else if (targetWidth <= 1366) "Laptop 1080p"

Playing 1080p videos select "Laptop 720p"!

If, however, I replace srcHeight <= 768 by srcHeight < 769, then it selects "Laptop 1080p".

There seems to be something wrong with the <= operator or something around there.

I'm using the .11 version that was just released.

Edit: There's still something random to it. With that edit, it still sometimes select "Laptop 720p" but much less often. To know which one is selected, I open madVR settings and look which one is in bold. I seem to be getting a more consistent 1080p selection by putting condition srcHeight < 760

Edit2: I'm seeing that SVP has an option that decreases the image to the screen size, which means madVR doesn't see it as a 1080p video but rather as a 768p video. If any additional cropping is applied, then the resolution ends up being even smaller. This might be related to the issue.

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 07:36.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 06:04   #27729  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,173
I've heard many times how NNIDE3 is so GPU-intensive. Am I missing something or is it LESS demanding than Jinc?

While playing a 1080p video on 768p screen, I'm getting these rendering times with chroma upscaling
Jinc 3-taps AR: 7.7ms
Jinc 4-taps AR: 18ms
NNEDI3 32 neurons: 7.6ms
NNEDI3 256 neurons: 7.7ms

I have a Radeon HD 7660M on Windows 7 x64

So basically the highest settings I can have to play 1080p on 768p display with SVP + madVR still leaves half of my video card unused (as I can go up to 16ms rendering time)

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 07:36.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 06:53   #27730  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,895
nnedi3 is an image upscaler that can only upscale an image by the power of 2 so it is not used in your case.

Last edited by huhn; 3rd December 2014 at 07:07.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 07:23   #27731  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
nnedi3 is an image upscaler that can only upscale an image by the power of 2 so it is not used in your case.
There are two places where NNEDI3 can be selected. In Chroma Upscaling, or as you're saying, in Image Doubling. I'm not seeing a significant cost for Image Doubling either. It only affects smaller videos that are lighter to process anyway.

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 07:36.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 07:29   #27732  |  Link
michkrol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
Found a bug. In the scaling algorithms profiles, I have this defined.
(...)
Edit2: I'm seeing that SVP has an option that decreases the image to the screen size, which means madVR doesn't see it as a 1080p video but rather as a 768p video. If any additional cropping is applied, then the resolution ends up being even smaller. This might be related to the issue.
It's not an issue then.
MadVR reads the resolution from upstream filter, not the file. Just check the OSD (CTRL+J) to see what madVR gets your video as.
michkrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 07:41   #27733  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
There are two places where NNEDI3 can be selected. In Chroma Upscaling, or as you're saying, in Image Doubling. I'm not seeing a significant cost for Image Doubling either. It only affects smaller videos that are lighter to process anyway.
nnedi3 can only upscale. how do you upscale a 1080p video on a 768p screen?

you are not even using jinc in this case because jincs in madVR can't downscale too.

the only way to use nnedi3 with a 1080p source on a 786p is through chroma scaling same with jincs.

and to make things clear 1080p on a 1080p screen is very simple while 480p - 720p source on a 1080p screen takes a lot more processing power.

of cause i'm only talking about the work madVR has to do we are in the madVR thread.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 08:31   #27734  |  Link
vivan
/人 ◕ ‿‿ ◕ 人\
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Russia
Posts: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
While playing a 1080p video on 768p screen, I'm getting these rendering times with chroma upscaling
Jinc 3-taps AR: 7.7ms
Jinc 4-taps AR: 18ms
NNEDI3 32 neurons: 7.6ms
NNEDI3 256 neurons: 7.7ms

I have a Radeon HD 7660M on Windows 7 x64

So basically the highest settings I can have to play 1080p on 768p display with SVP + madVR still leaves half of my video card unused (as I can go up to 16ms rendering time)
It means that NNEDI is not used for some reason. It's way slower than Jinc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the only way to use nnedi3 with a 1080p source on a 786p is through chroma scaling same with jincs.
and this is exactly what he's trying to do
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
While playing a 1080p video on 768p screen, I'm getting these rendering times with chroma upscaling
vivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 12:36   #27735  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
madVR v0.87.11 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* fixed: AR downscaling after NNEDI3 luma only upscaling produced artifacts
* fixed: madTPG API "madVR_ConnectToIp(127.0.0.1)" sometimes didn't work
* madTPG: added API "Connect" with various options
* madTPG: added API "Quit" to close the connected madTPG instance
* madTPG: added APIs "Get/SetPatternConfig" & "ShowRGBEx"
* madTPG: added APIs "IsStayOnTopButtonPressed" & "SetStayOnTopButton"
* madTPG: added APIs "IsUseFullscreenButtonPressed" & "SetUseFullscreenButton"
* madTPG: added APIs "IsDisableOsdButtonPressed" & "SetDisableOsdButton"
* madTPG: added various new 3dlut conversion and loading APIs
* madTPG: added IP address information to title bar
Please don't get too excited. This is just one NNEDI3 related bugfix, and a big bunch of improvements for madTPG calibration.

Those of you interested in calibration: The latest Calman version now fully supports automated display calibration through madTPG - yey! Thanks to Manni (@AVSForum) for pushing and pushing at various places to make this work. And thanks to SpectraCal/Calman for being the first commercial calibration software company supporting madTPG!
You're welcome and thanks again for making this happen, it's really great news for enthusiasts using MadVR and Calman to calibrate .
I'm sure others will follow now that Spectracal has jumped in
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 13:53   #27736  |  Link
fluffy01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 49
What editions of Calman does one need to use madTPG?
I have a Calman Basic edition, and I am wondering if this is enough, or I would need to upgrade to a more expensive edition.
fluffy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 15:31   #27737  |  Link
iSunrise
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffy01 View Post
What editions of Calman does one need to use madTPG?
I have a Calman Basic edition, and I am wondering if this is enough, or I would need to upgrade to a more expensive edition.
It's in the release notes:
http://calman.spectracal.com/release...ome-video.html

- Added support for madVR 3D LUTs and madVR TPG in CalMAN Enthusiast.
iSunrise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 20:11   #27738  |  Link
xabregas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
While playing a 1080p video on 768p screen, I'm getting these rendering times with chroma upscaling
Jinc 3-taps AR: 7.7ms
Jinc 4-taps AR: 18ms
NNEDI3 32 neurons: 7.6ms
NNEDI3 256 neurons: 7.7ms

I have a Radeon HD 7660M on Windows 7 x64

So basically the highest settings I can have to play 1080p on 768p display with SVP + madVR still leaves half of my video card unused (as I can go up to 16ms rendering time)

It means that NNEDI is not used for some reason. It's way slower than Jinc.

and this is exactly what he's trying to do
He means the opposite, it seems that jinc 4 taps AR is way slower than NNEDI3 256 neurons in his machine...

The reason may be that NNEDI3 dont use extra AR feature, thats whats slowing your machine in Jinc 4 AR i suppose
xabregas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 21:19   #27739  |  Link
cyberbeing
Broadband Junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by xabregas View Post
He means the opposite, it seems that jinc 4 taps AR is way slower than NNEDI3 256 neurons in his machine...
That's not what his results show though. vivan is correct that NNEDI3 is not being used on MysteryX's system. Since his results are identical, it means OpenCL is broken and madVR is silently falling back to a different upscaling setting. NNEDI3 chroma upscaling is relatively expensive on 1080p video, so there is no way he could have render times less than 8ms on a AMD 7660M even with NNEDI3-32.
cyberbeing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 21:20   #27740  |  Link
vivan
/人 ◕ ‿‿ ◕ 人\
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Russia
Posts: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by xabregas View Post
He means the opposite, it seems that jinc 4 taps AR is way slower than NNEDI3 256 neurons in his machine...

The reason may be that NNEDI3 dont use extra AR feature, thats whats slowing your machine in Jinc 4 AR i suppose
You just never seen NNEDI actually working Even with 16 neurons it's slower than Jinc8 AR. And 256 will rape even top GPUs.
vivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.