Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th July 2013, 20:15   #861  |  Link
buchanan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 23
Hello Myrsloik

I'm using the 4th r19 test version, and i'm trying to run an x264 encode using the stdout method. My command line is:

Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\VapourSynth\core\vspipe.exe" "C:\test\test.vpy" - -y4m | "C:\test\x264.exe" --crf 20 --output "C:\test\test.mkv" --demuxer y4m -
The encoding runs fine, but at the end I get this message:



(vspipe.exe stopped working, close the program or debug etc)

The output file seems to be correct though

That didn't happen with the 1st r19 test version, I didn't try with the 2nd and 3rd
buchanan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2013, 20:17   #862  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by buchanan View Post
Hello Myrsloik

I'm using the 4th r19 test version, and i'm trying to run an x264 encode using the stdout method. My command line is:

Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\VapourSynth\core\vspipe.exe" "C:\test\test.vpy" - -y4m | "C:\test\x264.exe" --crf 20 --output "C:\test\test.mkv" --demuxer y4m -
The encoding runs fine, but at the end I get this message:

(vspipe.exe stopped working, close the program or debug etc)

The output file seems to be correct though

That didn't happen with the 1st r19 test version, I didn't try with the 2nd and 3rd
It's a known issue. I just haven't gotten around to fixing it yet. Pressing ctrl-c will also make it crash. It shouldn't do anything bad to the output since it crashes after everything is done.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2013, 20:20   #863  |  Link
buchanan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
It's a known issue. I just haven't gotten around to fixing it yet. Pressing ctrl-c will also make it crash. It shouldn't do anything bad to the output since it crashes after everything is done.
Ok ! Thank you for your quick answer
buchanan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2013, 12:34   #864  |  Link
zerowalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,116
Is vapoursynth supposed to succeed Avisynth?

From my understanding, it´s not, and just a "by product", but i wanted to make sure.
zerowalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2013, 14:42   #865  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerowalker View Post
Is vapoursynth supposed to succeed Avisynth?

From my understanding, it´s not, and just a "by product", but i wanted to make sure.
It's a by-product in the same way that humans are by-products of sex.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2013, 15:03   #866  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,276
Myrsloik, I think you've just gone and made yourself a new signature.

VapourSynth - a by-product of Avisynth in the same way that humans are by-products of sex.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2013, 11:16   #867  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
Small bug I noticed, comment here: https://github.com/vapoursynth/vapoursynth/commit/244f23d244d55770a3c32258f25d1f523b1e2bdd#commitcomment-3620372

Essentially, commit 244f23d244d55770a3c32258f25d1f523b1e2bdd used the "FEATURE_AVISYNTH" syntax instead of "VS_FEATURE_AVISYNTH" syntax.

EDIT: Nevermind, it appears this was fixed.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo

Last edited by Adub; 12th July 2013 at 20:02.
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2013, 19:48   #868  |  Link
sl1pkn07
Pajas Mentales...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spanishtán
Posts: 448
waf test fail

http://sl1pkn07.no-ip.com/paste/view/0caf88ed
sl1pkn07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2013, 04:51   #869  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
I'd wager you are out of date from the git repo. The tests were fixed 7 days ago: https://github.com/vapoursynth/vapou...0474ad76717848
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2013, 14:08   #870  |  Link
sl1pkn07
Pajas Mentales...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spanishtán
Posts: 448
ok, then my problem is other


howto make waf test before install the library?
sl1pkn07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2013, 19:10   #871  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
You could use a virtualenv and a local prefix to install the libs to your home directory to act as a staging area.

So, setup a virtualenv for Python3, and then use the --prefix=/home/blah option during the ./waf configure phase to install all objects into your home directory.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2013, 17:08   #872  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,079
Grab what will hopefully be released as R19 here:
VapourSynth R19 rc1

I think I've managed to fix all reported bugs so far as well. If there's anything still happening in this version then report it again because I've missed it. The vsscript api may have some extremely minor changes for R20 if I get more feedback.

Most big changes listed here:
Code:
r19:
lut/lut2 now processes all planes by default
ported to work on arm and powerpc (Zor)
fixed 9-16 bit format support in Expr
properly initialize color in addborders to 0
calls to the getFrame() function inside vapoursynth can never deadlock now, the thread handling is also slightly improved
fixed a bug in the cache that would stop it from freeing all its frames when memory is needed, fixes an out of memory error reported by Chikuzen
output is no longer determined by setting the last variable in __main__, instead clip.set_output(int index = 0) is used to set which clip(s) are exported
fixed some memory leaks in the internal filters when they're freed (jackoneill)
now properly initializes blankclips to all 0 when no values are given
added proper const declarations now that cython supports it, cython 0.18 or later required to build the extension now
fixed get_write_ptr() in python to actually return a write pointer
fixed the lut and lut2 filters for > 8 bit formats (ADub)
various minor fixes to vivtc
removed clip.output() since it's a bad design decision, now a command-line program called vspipe can be used to pipe or write raw video output
renamed newMap() to createMap() to match the naming of all other functions
added core.get_plugins() for the core and core.namepace.get_functions() for namespaces, it works similarly to list_functions() but instead returns the information in a dict
removed the unmentioned and unused link option for filter arguments as it is completely pointless and similar functionality may be implemented anyway
there's now a sane external api available for embedding in other applications, see vsscript.h and vsvfw for an example
now a singleton pattern is used for the core in python scripts, use vs.get_core() to get a reference to it
clip.get_frame() now throws an exception when out of bounds frames are requested
fixes a reference leak in the VideoProps python class
now ignores functions with . in their argument string for avisynth compatibility, this makes warpsharp mostly compatible
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2013, 18:30   #873  |  Link
buchanan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 23
Thanks !

Trying to load an avisynth plugin with core.avs.LoadPlugin gives me : "No attribute with the name avs exists. Did you mistype a plugin namespace?"
buchanan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2013, 19:49   #874  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by buchanan View Post
Thanks !

Trying to load an avisynth plugin with core.avs.LoadPlugin gives me : "No attribute with the name avs exists. Did you mistype a plugin namespace?"
I managed to compile it without avisynth support due to some build system changes.
Here's RC2.

I also put a windows compile of AssVapour in the installer for those who want to try it out on windows easily.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2013, 20:14   #875  |  Link
buchanan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 23
Another small problem, Chikuzen's port of FineSharp (http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=166524) now throws the error "Lut2: plane index out of range"

(Apologies if I should have posted it in Chikuzen's thread)
buchanan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2013, 20:38   #876  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by buchanan View Post
Another small problem, Chikuzen's port of FineSharp (http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=166524) now throws the error "Lut2: plane index out of range"

(Apologies if I should have posted it in Chikuzen's thread)
I figured out why. I posted the necessary script change to Chikuzen's thread. Ironically he submitted the VapourSynth patch that broke it.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2013, 21:00   #877  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,119
Hey Myrsloik.

I wanted to try out AssVapour but I can't get it loaded.

Code:
>>> import vapoursynth as vs
>>> core = vs.get_core()
>>> core.std.LoadPlugin(path=r'C:\VapourSynth\AssVapour\assvapour.dll')
In the python command line I get this error:
Code:
---------------------------
python.exe - Entry Point Not Found
---------------------------
The procedure entry point strnlen could not be located in the dynamic link library msvcrt.dll.
In python shell I get this:
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<pyshell#2>", line 1, in <module>
    core.std.LoadPlugin(path=r'C:\VapourSynth\AssVapour\assvapour.dll')
  File "vapoursynth.pyx", line 978, in vapoursynth.Function.__call__ (src\cython\vapoursynth.c:15485)
vapoursynth.Error: 'Failed to load C:\\VapourSynth\\AssVapour\\assvapour.dll'
Hope I'm not doing something silly.
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2013, 21:40   #878  |  Link
Chikuzen
typo lover
 
Chikuzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by buchanan View Post
Another small problem, Chikuzen's port of FineSharp (http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=166524) now throws the error "Lut2: plane index out of range"

(Apologies if I should have posted it in Chikuzen's thread)
for r19 or later
http://pastebin.com/1a0yXNbJ
(Although a reason is not known, I cannot update Gist now.)
Code:
import vapoursynth as vs
import finesharp
core = vs.get_core()
core.avs.LoadPlugin('/path/to/RemoveGrain.dll')
core.avs.LoadPlugin('/path/to/Repair.dll')
clip = something
fs = finesharp.FineSharp() #You do not need to set core any longer.
clip = fs.sharpen(clip, other options...)
clip.set_output()
__________________
my repositories
Chikuzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2013, 22:03   #879  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reel.Deel View Post
Hey Myrsloik.

I wanted to try out AssVapour but I can't get it loaded.

...

Hope I'm not doing something silly.
It was very miscompiled. lachs0r is making a second attempt at it now...
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2013, 19:08   #880  |  Link
vdcrim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Grab what will hopefully be released as R19 here: [...]

I think I've managed to fix all reported bugs so far as well. If there's anything still happening in this version then report it again because I've missed it. The vsscript api may have some extremely minor changes for R20 if I get more feedback.
So, are these two things dismissed?

Also, vsscript_evaluateFile assumes that the input file is UTF-8 encoded. I know that this is because vsscript_evaluateScript expects an UTF-8 encoded string, but in order to avoid future "why my script doesn't work" complaints maybe it would be better to take the ugly way and change it so that the file is decoded first with the right codec (something like check for BOM -> if not found assume UTF-8 and decode it -> if decoding fails decode with the system's encoding) and encoded back to UTF-8 before passing it to vsscript_evaluateScript. Or just put somewhere EVERYTHING IS UTF-8.
vdcrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
speed, vaporware, vapoursynth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.