Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd June 2013, 20:34   #12321  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
Help clarify something for me please. When slowing down audio, is the displayed message supposed to show the actual parameters as requested on the command or is it just a generic message? I ask because you can see, below, that I'm slowing down 24 to 23.976 but the message shows Changing FPS from 25.000 to 23.976.
Code:
Running: eac3to "test.mkv" 2: "test.ac3" -24.000 -changeTo23.976 -384
MKV, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 0:42:57, 25p
1: MPEG2, English, 576p25 (16:9) with pulldown flags
2: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 384kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -27dB   "3/2+1"
v01 The video bitstream framerate field doesn't match the container framerate.
a02 Extracting audio track number 2...
a02 Removing AC3 dialog normalization...
a02 Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
a02 Changing FPS from 25.000 to 23.976...
a02 Remapping channels...
a02 Encoding AC3 <384kbps> with libAften...
a02 Creating file "test.ac3"...
__________________
Chumbo
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2013, 22:48   #12322  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,462
When the input file have a fps defined:

MKV, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 0:42:57, 25p

the -24.000 is ignored.
Extract the ac3 if you need a duration change -24.000 -changeTo23.976
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2013, 23:40   #12323  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
When the input file have a fps defined:

MKV, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 0:42:57, 25p

the -24.000 is ignored.
Extract the ac3 if you need a duration change -24.000 -changeTo23.976
Okay, that's a good idea. Yeah, the original video stream actually has its FPS as 24 but eac3to is picking up the container FPS. Thanks T.
__________________
Chumbo
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2013, 09:34   #12324  |  Link
AnryV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
Is there any news about E-AC3 7.1 decoding?

Quote:
eac3to.exe M.eac3 M.wavs
E-AC3, 7.1 channels, 1:47:46, 768kbps, 48kHz
(core: AC3, 5.1 channels, 1:47:46, 448kbps, 48kHz)
Extracting E-AC3 core...
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
Reducing depth from 64 to 24 bits...
Writing WAVs...
Creating file "M.L.wav"...
Creating file "M.R.wav"...
Creating file "M.LFE.wav"...
Creating file "M.SR.wav"...
Creating file "M.SL.wav"...
Creating file "M.C.wav"...
AnryV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2013, 12:41   #12325  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,214
Bug when demuxing subtitles from 3D-BDs

In a 3D BD, the left and right eye streams are stored independently in two different M2TS files, and together in the corresponding SSIF file. These files are referenced by the MPLS file. eac3to can demux all of them, and that's nice. However, there is a big bug when demuxing the subtitles from the SSIF or MPLS file of many 3D-BDs.

The M2TS file containing the AVC video stream (usually the left eye view) contains also all audio and subtitle streams. Usually, the M2TS file containing the MVC video stream (right eye) contains ONLY the video stream. The audio streams are never included in the dependent M2TS. But in some BDs, the subtitle streams are ALSO included in that dependent M2TS file. It's with that BDs that the bug occurs.

When there are two identical subtitle streams in the two M2TS files, and the user demuxes the SSIF or MPLS file, the bug occurs. I think it's because the SAME stream is included TWICE in the SSIF file. So, when eac3to demuxes the subtitles, it processes two times the same subtitle stream, and that produces a lot of "The source file seems to be damaged (discontinuity)" error messages, and finally the demux operation fails with "The SUP reader received unknown data. Aborted at file position #."

It is possible to successfully demux the subtitle stream from the left or right view M2TS file, but it cannot be demuxed from the SSIF file (or indirectly from the MPLS). It's a pity, as of course, it is possible to demux only one of the two video streams at a time from the M2TS (and you cannot create the chapter file).

Is it possible to fix this bug?
Let me know if you need additional information.
Thanks!
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2013, 17:20   #12326  |  Link
frencher
French Love
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
In a 3D BD, the left and right eye streams are stored independently in two different M2TS files, and together in the corresponding SSIF file. These files are referenced by the MPLS file. eac3to can demux all of them, and that's nice. However, there is a big bug when demuxing the subtitles from the SSIF or MPLS file of many 3D-BDs.

The M2TS file containing the AVC video stream (usually the left eye view) contains also all audio and subtitle streams. Usually, the M2TS file containing the MVC video stream (right eye) contains ONLY the video stream. The audio streams are never included in the dependent M2TS. But in some BDs, the subtitle streams are ALSO included in that dependent M2TS file. It's with that BDs that the bug occurs.

When there are two identical subtitle streams in the two M2TS files, and the user demuxes the SSIF or MPLS file, the bug occurs. I think it's because the SAME stream is included TWICE in the SSIF file. So, when eac3to demuxes the subtitles, it processes two times the same subtitle stream, and that produces a lot of "The source file seems to be damaged (discontinuity)" error messages, and finally the demux operation fails with "The SUP reader received unknown data. Aborted at file position #."

It is possible to successfully demux the subtitle stream from the left or right view M2TS file, but it cannot be demuxed from the SSIF file (or indirectly from the MPLS). It's a pity, as of course, it is possible to demux only one of the two video streams at a time from the M2TS (and you cannot create the chapter file).

Is it possible to fix this bug?
Let me know if you need additional information.
Thanks!
same request of r0lZ
__________________
2013-11-29 MVC Player Free v0.0.2.6 BD & 3D BD's Player, Demuxer v0.0.0.8b, Recoder. Tutorial
Demo for MVC Player Free: Trailer 3D

3DBD's Free - v0.0.0.0005.exe Old

Programing free for all.
frencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2013, 17:31   #12327  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,131
Guys, if there's a bug in (or problem with) eac3to, why don't you use the eac3to bug tracker? That's your one and only chance to get bugs fixed in the next eac3to build (whenever that may come). If you post a bug in the bug tracker, a sample would always be nice, so that I can actually reproduce the problem on my PC. Thanks.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2013, 21:11   #12328  |  Link
rapscallion
NY Frame of Mind
 
rapscallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: L.I.,NY
Posts: 586
I have a BD with a Dolby True HD track (with a -32ms delay) and I want to add a DTS-Master Audio track.

When extracting the DTHD to wavs (Nero decoder selected) eac3to states "Applying RAW/PCM delay..."

Using DTS MA suite, will the raw/pcm delay still be intact when the DTS-HD track is created?

I did a 10 min test mux, via Tsmuxer, with no dealy selected, and the audio/dialog seems to be in sync,
but would like to confirm.
__________________
"Talk to me Goose"

Last edited by rapscallion; 10th June 2013 at 21:15.
rapscallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2013, 22:49   #12329  |  Link
DarkSpace
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapscallion View Post
When extracting the DTHD to wavs (Nero decoder selected) eac3to states "Applying RAW/PCM delay..."

Using DTS MA suite, will the raw/pcm delay still be intact when the DTS-HD track is created?
No. eac3to decodes the track and fixes the delay value (that's the line above), which means that after decoding, the track has a delay of 0 ms (no delay).
In case you want to keep the delay for whatever strange reasons, try adding +32ms to your commandline. It should then look something like this:
Code:
eac3to "00001.mpls" 2: "Path\00001.wavs" +32ms
This way, the -32ms delay of the track that eac3to wants to remove are compensated for by the +32ms delay added to the track by eac3to.
DarkSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2013, 11:01   #12330  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 961
madshi would you like to update FLAC for eac3to
hubblec4 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2013, 13:16   #12331  |  Link
Brazil2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by hubblec4 View Post
madshi would you like to update FLAC for eac3to
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...41#post1631141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
I actually just replaced the libFLAC.dll from RareWares.org (v1.3.0) in the eac3to directory and it seems to have converted audio to FLAC without problems.
Brazil2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2013, 14:13   #12332  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 961
thanks, i will try it.
hubblec4 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2013, 03:21   #12333  |  Link
mindbomb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 578
didn't they change something with 6.1 and 7.1 flac audio with the new encoder?
Or is it consistent with how eac3to has been doing it all along?
mindbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2013, 07:32   #12334  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,131
http://bugs.madshi.net/view.php?id=88
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2013, 03:21   #12335  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
I just bought the new 2nd edition of the Spears & Munsil audio/video calibration BD. I wanted to rip it so I can put some of the calibrations on my media server rather than having to always pop the BD into the player. However, as with other calibration discs, many of the clips are short, i.e., 2 to 6 minutes in length. So eac3to shows "HD DVD / Blu-Ray disc structure not found." which I believe is due to the large number of play lists and IIRC there's a minimum length?

Is there any way to override this minimum length because this title, even though has many short clips and play lists, is valid and would be nice to be able to process it with eac3to. If there isn't an override, do you want me to post this as a bug in bug tracker or as a feature request in the request thread? Thank you.
__________________
Chumbo
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2013, 09:28   #12336  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,462
@Chumbo
You can use each mpls like input for eac3to.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2013, 10:50   #12337  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,497
I've been trying to encode the audio track of Edward Scissorhands to flac (using the internal libflac) and AAC (piping to qaac) but the channel order is incorrect. Apparently the track has 3 front channels and one rear channel (centre?) but I don't know how to configure the encoders. Can anyone help?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2013, 13:13   #12338  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
@Chumbo
You can use each mpls like input for eac3to.
I didn't even know you can do that. Thank you tebasuna as always.
__________________
Chumbo
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2013, 13:18   #12339  |  Link
SchnittenGott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Disable Remapping possible?

Hello everyone!

I'm new but I already have a question/problem.
I'm trying to perform a rather simple task (at least I thought) with eac3to:
Convert a DTS-HD MA 6.1 ES track into mono wavs.
The BD at hand is "Revenge of the Sith":

eac3to v3.27
command line: eac3to P:\Revenge\ 1) 3: C:\BDE\Revenge.wavs
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 8 audio tracks, 29 subtitle tracks, 2:20:06, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 50 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: DTS Master Audio, English, 6.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS-ES, 6.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
4: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
5: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
6: AC3, French, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
7: DTS, French, 5.1 channels, 768kbps, 48kHz
8: AC3, Portuguese, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
9: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
10: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
11: Subtitle (PGS), English
12: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
13: Subtitle (PGS), French
14: Subtitle (PGS), Dutch
15: Subtitle (PGS), Portuguese
16: Subtitle (PGS), Finnish
17: Subtitle (PGS), Swedish
18: Subtitle (PGS), Norwegian
19: Subtitle (PGS), Danish
20: Subtitle (PGS), English
21: Subtitle (PGS), English
22: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
23: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
24: Subtitle (PGS), French
25: Subtitle (PGS), French
26: Subtitle (PGS), Dutch
27: Subtitle (PGS), Dutch
28: Subtitle (PGS), Portuguese
29: Subtitle (PGS), Portuguese
30: Subtitle (PGS), Finnish
31: Subtitle (PGS), Finnish
32: Subtitle (PGS), Swedish
33: Subtitle (PGS), Swedish
34: Subtitle (PGS), Norwegian
35: Subtitle (PGS), Norwegian
36: Subtitle (PGS), Danish
37: Subtitle (PGS), Danish
38: Subtitle (PGS), English
39: Subtitle (PGS), English
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[a03] Remapping channels...
[a03] Decoding with ArcSoft DTS Decoder...
[a03] Writing WAVs...
[a03] Creating file "C:\BDE\Revenge.L.wav"...
[a03] Creating file "C:\BDE\Revenge.R.wav"...
[a03] Creating file "C:\BDE\Revenge.SL.wav"...
[a03] Creating file "C:\BDE\Revenge.LFE.wav"...
[a03] Creating file "C:\BDE\Revenge.SR.wav"...
[a03] Creating file "C:\BDE\Revenge.BC.wav"...
[a03] Creating file "C:\BDE\Revenge.C.wav"...
[a03] The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
Video track 2 contains 201538 frames.
eac3to processing took 37 minutes, 6 seconds.
Done.

As the result I have the mono wavs, but they have incorrect length! (2h 40min.)
MediaInfo:

Complete name : C:\BDE\Revenge.R.wav
Format : Wave
File size : 1,29 GiB
Duration : 2h 40min
Overall bit rate mode : konstant
Overall bit rate : 1 152 Kbps

Audio
Format : PCM
Format settings, Endianness : Little
Format settings, Sign : Signed
Codec ID : 1
Duration : 2h 40min
Bit rate mode : konstant
Bit rate : 1 152 Kbps
Channel(s) : 1 Kanal
Sampling rate : 48,0 KHz
Bit depth : 24 bits
Stream size : 1,29 GiB (100%)

In comparison, the same action performed with the german bd of the same movie is working flawlessly:

eac3to v3.24
command line: eac3to P:\Rache\ 1) 6: C:\BD\Rache.wavs
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 8 audio tracks, 19 subtitle tracks, 2:20:06, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 50 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: DTS-ES, English, 6.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
4: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
5: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
6: DTS Master Audio, German, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
7: AC3, Hungarian, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
8: AC3, Polish, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
9: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
10: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
11: Subtitle (PGS), English
12: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
13: Subtitle (PGS), Portuguese
14: Subtitle (PGS), German
15: Subtitle (PGS), Chinese
16: Subtitle (PGS), Arabic
17: Subtitle (PGS), Modern Greek
18: Subtitle (PGS), Hungarian
19: Subtitle (PGS), Icelandic
20: Subtitle (PGS), Hebrew
21: Subtitle (PGS), Polish
22: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
23: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
24: Subtitle (PGS), German
25: Subtitle (PGS), German
26: Subtitle (PGS), Chinese
27: Subtitle (PGS), Chinese
28: Subtitle (PGS), English
29: Subtitle (PGS), English
[a06] Extracting audio track number 6...
[a06] Decoding with ArcSoft DTS Decoder...
[a06] Writing WAVs...
[a06] Creating file "C:\BD\Rache.L.wav"...
[a06] Creating file "C:\BD\Rache.R.wav"...
[a06] Creating file "C:\BD\Rache.C.wav"...
[a06] Creating file "C:\BD\Rache.SR.wav"...
[a06] Creating file "C:\BD\Rache.LFE.wav"...
[a06] Creating file "C:\BD\Rache.SL.wav"...
[a06] The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
Video track 2 contains 201538 frames.
eac3to processing took 23 minutes, 37 seconds.
Done.

The MediaInfo provides the correct length (2h 20min.):

General
Complete name : C:\BD\Rache.R.wav
Format : Wave
File size : 1.13 GiB
Duration : 2h 20mn
Overall bit rate mode : Constant
Overall bit rate : 1 152 Kbps

Audio
Format : PCM
Format settings, Endianness : Little
Format settings, Sign : Signed
Codec ID : 1
Duration : 2h 20mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 152 Kbps
Channel(s) : 1 channel
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 24 bits
Stream size : 1.13 GiB (100%)

The only difference I noticed between the 2 logs is the "[a03] Remapping channels..." step at the US BD.
So my question is:
Is there any way you can turn off/disable the "Remapping Channels" step?
Or is there another way to get rid of the problem?
Thanks in advance for helping me out!
SchnittenGott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2013, 16:22   #12340  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,462
@SchnittenGott
There are a problem, but isn't related with "Remapping Channels" that is needed for a 6.1 (english) and not needed for 5.1 (german).

Please run:
eac3to -test
to know software versions.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.