Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th July 2012, 12:29   #1  |  Link
Woolenllama
Woolenllama
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 2
Degrain/Denoise Blu ray source.

Hello.

I am attempting to create high quality x264 mkv backups of a number of blu ray series. However many of the blu ray 1080 sources i have, contain very high amounts of grain. I have attempted using degrain median (which i use for sd sources) but am unhappy with the results.

So I need a new degrain filter for avisynth that is suitable for hd sources. If anyone can advise.

I have attempted to use temporal degrain as it came well reccomended but cannot get the script to work. Despite following instructions to the letter i still recieve an error "cannot load fftw3.dll". I have installed relevant plugins including fftw3.dll. It is in my plugins directory and is the latest version although i tried several vesions to no avail. So why do i still recieve this error???

Thanks Woolenllama
Woolenllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2012, 21:11   #2  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 773
Sure, you put FFTW3.DLL in the windows search path?
Win 7 32bit = Windows\SysWow64 folder
Win 7 64bit = Windows\System32 folder
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2012, 22:58   #3  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 689
Have you tried with mvtools and mdegrain2 or mdegrain3?
http://avisynth.org.ru/mvtools/mvtools2.html
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2012, 23:21   #4  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 4,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post
Sure, you put FFTW3.DLL in the windows search path?
Win 7 32bit = Windows\SysWow64 folder
Win 7 64bit = Windows\System32 folder
Is that the correct way around, surely System32 on 32 bits sys?
(I dont have 64 bit, or W7 [not currently]).

EDIT: So far as I know: SysWow64 means "Windows On Windows" 64,
ie normally current windows (ie 32 bit) on updated 64 bit systems,
ie on a 64 bit sys, it's where you put your 32 bit stuff (very misleading & counter
intuitive, MS, go figure).

EDIT: Also for your amusement, According to MS, System Partition is where you boot from,
and the Boot Partition is where your system lives.
Dont know what I could legally say about that.

MCDegrain() here:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...89#post1508289

EDIT: Also get rid of FFTW3.DLL from your plug directory.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

Last edited by StainlessS; 7th July 2012 at 01:43.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2012, 05:03   #5  |  Link
7ekno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 389
I find MCTemporalDenoise(setting="low", gpu = true) to be very useful for grain BD sources )

7ek
7ekno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2012, 12:47   #6  |  Link
Woolenllama
Woolenllama
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 2
Thanks taurus. I did eventually get the dll's and plugins installed for temporal denoise. Only to be told i had run out of memory when i tried to load my final script into megui for encoding. Considering i have 12gb of 2000mhz corsair dominator i find that hard to believe but am not sure. As for 7ekno's suggestion, yes i have looked at mctemporal denoise. But for some reason, simply having the required dll's in my avisyth plugin folder, causes megui to crash when i load any script or dga project (seems to be the prieview window that is causing the crash). Do you know if this is a compatability issue with megui and if so would i be better using another program for hd encoding?
Woolenllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2012, 16:12   #7  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 773
MCTemporalDenoise and TemporalDegrain are two different beasts !
TemporalDegrain was developed as the answer of the community for films like "300"
which contains a lot of artificial grain nobody wants to see !
MCTemporalDenoise is a more subtle filter with so many switches and knobs....
I usually just use M(C)Degrain2 or M(C)Degrain3 and tweak them to my like.
Sometimes DFTTest, fft3Dfilter, SMDegrain, Fastdegrain,
or for real fast filtering good ol' Removegrain with a high setting.
I dont know what made your MeGui install crash.
Show us your avisynth script and make sure there are no orphaned or doublettes
of the filters in your avisynth plugin dir and MeGui's plugin folder.
Many times different MVtools, Removegrain dll's are causing weird behaviours.
And do you use a 64bit OS and/or Avisynth MT?
So many possibilities, so often incompatibility
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2012, 21:05   #8  |  Link
steptoe
Registered User
 
steptoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 360
Did you use the setmemorymax(xxxx), if you use scripts that are very complex and call plenty of external filters like MCTemporalDenoise does then I can assume its avisynth thats running out of memory not your main memory

Try putting :

SetMemoryMax(512)

as the very first line in your avisynth script and try again

Looking through some old posts it appears the default for avisynth is 'only' 16MB, so that might be your issue as it suggests there is no upper limit on what setmemorymax() can be set to


It also suggests trying your system memory/4 if you run out of memory while running complex scripts that call external filters and/or scripts, but I think 3Gb of memory may be a tad on the ridiculous side for your system, I've used 1024 in the past without any real issues

So try :

SetMemoryMax(1024)

and see what happens

Last edited by steptoe; 9th July 2012 at 21:08.
steptoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2012, 00:23   #9  |  Link
nibus
Telewhining
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 275
I've had issues with MeGUI crashing on heavy scripts too. Instead you might try using avspmod to preview the script and Moulder's Simple x264 Launcher to do the actual encoding.

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=144140
nibus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2012, 00:46   #10  |  Link
bcn_246
Registered User
 
bcn_246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 140
Personally I found FluxSmoothST to be a good choice for HD content, it's reasonably fast and does a great job removing most film noise.
bcn_246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
degrain, denoise, fftw3.dll, temporal degrain

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.