Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > (Auto) Gordian Knot

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th July 2011, 13:25   #4821  |  Link
VANT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
i have 2 problems
-oryginal dvd Pirates of the Caribbean 1,2 and 3, after i rip it(dvdfab) i make avi, and after this audio is faster ~500ms than video.
-oryginal dvd How to Train Your Dragon autogordianknot see aspect 16:9, but during compression use 4:3
Code:
Video info: MPEG2 720x576 PAL 16:9 letbox  PGC 1. Length: 1:33:50:05
Code:
[2011-07-06 14:52:02] Source aspect ratio: 4:3
audio also is faster than video ~500ms.

Any chance to fix it ??
I know that i can fix audio using virtaldubmod, and set force 16:9 ...

Last edited by VANT; 8th July 2011 at 13:37.
VANT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2011, 14:19   #4822  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,081
As for the aspect ratio, apparently the VOBs are 4:3 but the IFOs say to play it as 16:9. A DVD player gets the information from the IFOs, but AutoGK gets it from DGIndex which gets it from the VOBs. It's rare that the two disagree, but it happens. You'll have to go into the Hidden Options (CTRL-F9) and override the source aspect ratio and set it for 16:9.

The audio delay problem is most likely the result of a bad decrypt. My suggestion is that after decrypting it with DVDFab HD Decrypter you then run the VOBs through FixVTS. Either that or open the final AVI in VDubMod and set a delay in there.
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2011, 21:12   #4823  |  Link
diega
Registered User
 
diega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Russia, Tula
Posts: 1
Some time ago there was the following error:

[09.09.2011 0:00:07] AutoGK 2.55
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] OS: Windows Vista (6.1.7601).2
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Job started.
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Input file: F:\Slava\Ish\1\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_0.IFO
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Output file: F:\After Effects\gy.avi
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Output codec: XviD
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Audio 1: English AC3 2ch
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Subtitles: none
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Format: AVI
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Target size: 1493Mb
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Custom resolution settings: fixed width of 720 pixels
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Audio 1 settings: Auto
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Started encoding.
[09.09.2011 0:00:07] Demuxing and indexing.
[09.09.2011 0:00:47] Processing file: F:\Slava\Ish\1\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_1.VOB
[09.09.2011 0:00:47] Processing file: F:\Slava\Ish\1\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_2.VOB
[09.09.2011 0:00:47] Processing file: F:\Slava\Ish\1\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_3.VOB
[09.09.2011 0:00:47] Processing file: F:\Slava\Ish\1\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_4.VOB
[09.09.2011 0:00:47] Processing file: F:\Slava\Ish\1\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_5.VOB
[09.09.2011 0:00:47] Source resolution: 720x576
[09.09.2011 0:00:47] Found PAL source.
[09.09.2011 0:00:47] Source aspect ratio: 4:3
[09.09.2011 0:00:47] Analyzing source.
*************************************
EXCEPTION: Cannot open file "F:\After Effects\agk_tmp\interlace.log". Can not find the file
*************************************
[09.09.2011 0:00:47] Job finished. Total time: 40 seconds
====================================================

What could be the problem? Thanks in advance...
diega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 19:58   #4824  |  Link
Monza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by manono View Post
As for the aspect ratio, apparently the VOBs are 4:3 but the IFOs say to play it as 16:9. A DVD player gets the information from the IFOs, but AutoGK gets it from DGIndex which gets it from the VOBs. It's rare that the two disagree, but it happens. You'll have to go into the Hidden Options (CTRL-F9) and override the source aspect ratio and set it for 16:9.

The audio delay problem is most likely the result of a bad decrypt. My suggestion is that after decrypting it with DVDFab HD Decrypter you then run the VOBs through FixVTS. Either that or open the final AVI in VDubMod and set a delay in there.
I am having a similar issue, as of the release of DVDfab 8.1.3.2 all 16:9 dvd rips.(Eg:the entire Pirates of the caribbean series)
are seen by Autogk as 4:3 during compression.The source aspect ratio must be overridden ever time.
If I rip a movie using Dvdfab 8.0.8.5 everything is fine.Is there anyway to make a fix for this or a least make the override a global option ?
Your app is still the best for encoding Xvids after all these Years...
Monza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 22:48   #4825  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,081
Is that for me? I didn't develop the program (that was len0x) so can't modify or improve on it to do as you ask. If, as you say, it's this version of DVDFab HD Decrypter has the problem, your beef is with them. Maybe the next version will correct the problem as I doubt you're the only one experiencing it. If they have a forum, maybe look around in there.
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2011, 15:02   #4826  |  Link
Sanek75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
I'm using AutoGK for a long time. I converted very many of files using it (big thanks to authors). But several days ago I've encountered with this problem:

How can I dissolve this?
Sanek75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2011, 21:17   #4827  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
@Sanek75

Hi!

Sounds like a bad sector. Try re-ripping your original, commercial DVD.
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2011, 19:24   #4828  |  Link
Sanek75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by setarip_old View Post
@Sanek75

Hi!

Sounds like a bad sector. Try re-ripping your original, commercial DVD.
Thanks. It helped.
Sanek75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2011, 23:37   #4829  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
Quote:
Thanks. It helped.
Glad to hear that ;>}
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2012, 08:53   #4830  |  Link
datauser
Registered User
 
datauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
I'm still using this great program for the odd Xvid encoding. Anybody successfully tried using a different version of xvid with it?
datauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 06:54   #4831  |  Link
Chetwood
Registered User
 
Chetwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,104
Nope, switched to Staxrip and H.264.
__________________

MultiMakeMKV: MakeMKV batch processing (Win)
MultiShrink
: DVD Shrink batch processing
Offizieller ‹bersetzer von DVD Shrink deutsch
Chetwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 08:59   #4832  |  Link
datauser
Registered User
 
datauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
Staxrip is still supported and an excellent package of tools. H264 is the way forward but I still do the odd avi for friends or family. I may give the original version Gordian Knot a try. Which version of Xvid does it use?
datauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 14:38   #4833  |  Link
kalehrl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 275
Xvid 1.2.1 + VAQ patch.
kalehrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 15:16   #4834  |  Link
Chetwood
Registered User
 
Chetwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,104
Staxrip can do xvid as well, probably also with the latest revision.
__________________

MultiMakeMKV: MakeMKV batch processing (Win)
MultiShrink
: DVD Shrink batch processing
Offizieller ‹bersetzer von DVD Shrink deutsch
Chetwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 19:41   #4835  |  Link
kalehrl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by datauser View Post
I'm still using this great program for the odd Xvid encoding. Anybody successfully tried using a different version of xvid with it?
I did and went back to the version supplied by autogk.
I tried latest Xvid 1.3.2 but autogk kept using Mobile profile.
I now mostly use autogk for comptest.
kalehrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2012, 16:18   #4836  |  Link
datauser
Registered User
 
datauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalehrl View Post
Xvid 1.2.1 + VAQ patch.
I assume you mean that both AutoGK and Gordian Knot use this version? As I said I have never used Gordian Knot before.

Sure does, Xvid 1.3.2 sends AutoGK's settings bonkers. Don't use it as it screws up AutoGK's profiles! I can't remember where I saw it on Net, but Xvid 1.2.2 VAQ is said to be okay with some users' platforms using AutoGK. However when I tried it a few years' back I got undersized files everytime.

I have reverted back to AutoK from Staxrip for Xvid/avi encodings and Handbrake for my MP4's, because I'm getting a crazy VdubMod error message of a missing libsndfile-1.dll when encoding anything as source in Staxrip latest beta, despite putting it in VDubMod application folder. I tried XmediaRecode, but had trouble hitting target sizes. I still marvel at how AutoGK resizes appropriately and hits the 700mb target everytime. Pure magic!

Last edited by datauser; 17th July 2012 at 16:34.
datauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2012, 19:25   #4837  |  Link
kalehrl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 275
Quote:
I assume you mean that both AutoGK and Gordian Knot use this version?
I meant AutoGK only but now I see you asked about Gordian Knot.
I missed that, sorry.
Like you, I never used Gordian Knot.
kalehrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2012, 21:42   #4838  |  Link
datauser
Registered User
 
datauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
No worries! I'm postponing installing GordianKnot as I have new laptop (maybe after a format),and because it uses very old codecs/tools etc which probably would conflict with K-Lite 9.0.2 installed files/reg settings etc, I installed portable AutoGK/Xvid 1.2.1 on an older Asus laptop. I run Xvid 1.32 and Megacodec pack on my new laptop well part from my Staxrip problem. I may give GordianKnot a blast on this old laptop as avi quality is meant to be quite excellent as you can manipulate more settings than AutoGK and I'm intrigued by the prospect.
datauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2012, 09:02   #4839  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by datauser View Post
I can't remember where I saw it on Net, but Xvid 1.2.2 VAQ is said to be okay with some users' platforms using AutoGK. However when I tried it a few years' back I got undersized files everytime.
It's possibly not AutoGK's fault. Some builds of Xvid are broken in that respect. I think it might depend on whether you're using a custom Xvid matrix.... I can't remember the details..... but AutoGK might use one. It depends on whether you've selected a standalone player compatibility option, and which one you use. So the undersized file problem mightn't be platform dependent as such, but the result of using (or not using) one of the standalone player options with a "broken" Xvid build.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2012, 11:15   #4840  |  Link
datauser
Registered User
 
datauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
You are probably right! Maybe not using ESS compatabilty etc allows AutoK to function better with other Xvid builds in regards to hitting the target size? if you use ESS option with other builds than built in Xvid 1.2.1 then everything screws up sizewise e.g it uses a mobile profile. I'll have to check this out for myself. Then again there is probably very little quality benefits using a codec other than the 1.2.1 build included.
datauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.