Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th May 2012, 10:20   #10801  |  Link
wanezhiling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
When you copy from GPU to CPU, and then back from CPU to GPU, obviously the CPU also has to do some work.


and then back from CPU to GPU, ok, so why EVR/VMR use less cpu than madVR?
wanezhiling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 10:45   #10802  |  Link
jakmal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
The first configuration will need more power because it has to download 60 full frames from the GPU, and then upload them back in madVR. The second configuration only downloads 30 frames from the GPU (and uploads those back in madVR), and the deinterlaced 60 progressive frames never leave the GPU again (its happening all inside madVR)
Awesome, thanks for the explanation! I started experimenting with this because RO-HQ in JRiver MC 17 was dropping too many frames, but I was able to configure things to not drop any frames in MPC-HC with the same madVR configuration (set to deinterlace / HQ madVR settings suggested by Mathias). I turned to Custom mode and set up LAV Video Decoder to Weave, and things were quite smooth after that in MC 17.

Can you advise on whether JRiver should disable deinterlacing fully in LAV Video Decoder in RO-HQ mode? (as long as madVR is set to deinterlace -- Hopefully, JRiver can detect that part of the madVR settings automatically).
__________________

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 12:03   #10803  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
The only thing from that list even active for DVDs would be LAV Audio, which has only gotten very minor internal changes in the last version.
I never understood when DVD with madVR worked and when it breaks, it seems completely arbitrary to me, so i don't consider this a bug, because it probably isn't caused by any of the changes but some other random thing.
Yeah, LAV Audio is the only LAV Filter that shows up with DVDs. Interesting though, as ffdshow Audio Decoder also breaks DVD playback with madVR, but LAV has been fine until now. (0.50.1 works with DVDs)

The reason I posted my full filter list, is that I thought it might help you reproduce the problem, but I understand if it's not a priority for you. I just find it far more convenient to have the ability to play back DVDs off the disc, than having to rip them before playing.
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 12:21   #10804  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6233638 View Post
(0.50.1 works with DVDs)
But thats the part that doesn't make sense. The behavior of LAV Audio has not changed at all in 0.50.2, there were just some internal changes that have no impact on things you can measure on the outside really (except when you play stuff with a rate > 1.0)

Not to mention that other people reported that it didn't actually work for them even with LAV.
Its something that needs to be fixed in madVR (if it can be fixed), everything else is just random.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 4th May 2012 at 12:24.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 12:40   #10805  |  Link
dukey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 560
You can always try the open source dvd navigator. Was one of the main reasons for making it, to get past the macrovision error, when used with other renderers.
dukey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 08:30   #10806  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 571
Anyone else seeing VC-1(i) decoding issues on Intel HW (i7-2600K 3000) when using HW Accel? It is fine if I use SW Decoding, but when using Intel HW Accel I see macro blocks in dark areas. This is very noticable in fade in/out transitions where all the black areas all of a sudden break up into large macro blocks. It never happens on light content. I'm currently running V 8.15.10.2656

EDIT - I see there is a newer driver out (2696) so will try that first
EDIT 2 - Looks like driver version V 8.15.10.2696 fixes the issue

Last edited by jmone; 5th May 2012 at 09:00.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 12:17   #10807  |  Link
egur
QuickSync Decoder author
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Atlit, Israel
Posts: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
Anyone else seeing VC-1(i) decoding issues on Intel HW (i7-2600K 3000) when using HW Accel? It is fine if I use SW Decoding, but when using Intel HW Accel I see macro blocks in dark areas. This is very noticable in fade in/out transitions where all the black areas all of a sudden break up into large macro blocks. It never happens on light content. I'm currently running V 8.15.10.2656

EDIT - I see there is a newer driver out (2696) so will try that first
EDIT 2 - Looks like driver version V 8.15.10.2696 fixes the issue
As of 2696 (or 2669 - don't remember). I'm not aware of a single VC1 or WMV9 (wmv3 fourcc) clip that causes artifacts. If someone encounters a bad clip please share. Most corruptions occur in H264 but they are very rare.
__________________
Eric Gur,
Processor Application Engineer for Overclocking and CPU technologies
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
egur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 14:26   #10808  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 586
Hi,

I get a crash in ffmpeg.dll (ffdshow) when LAV Video is in graph with NV12 output checked. I get it on my HTPC Win7 32 bits with my Nvidia GTX460 and only when ffdshow video decoder was as Post Process filter with resize function enable.

I cut a little sample that show up the issue on my HTPC :
(http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10536084/lav/Sample/LesI.avi)

It surely related to ffdshow but if i use another video decoder it didn't crash.
If i keep NV12 + rezise OFF -> no crash.
If i uncheck NV12 + resize ON -> no crash
If i enable NV12 + rezise ON -> it crash

I have test on clean setting from LAV and/or ffdshow.
I don't know if it's ffdshow or LAV Video related.

Thanks.
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 4Go Win7(x86) / Nvidia 460GTX / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 14:29   #10809  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,742
If ffdshow crashes, its obviously a ffdshow problem.
It always had some issues with NV12 input.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 14:46   #10810  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by egur View Post
As of 2696 (or 2669 - don't remember). I'm not aware of a single VC1 or WMV9 (wmv3 fourcc) clip that causes artifacts. If someone encounters a bad clip please share. Most corruptions occur in H264 but they are very rare.
Here: http://www.mediafire.com/?4k142w9fofq60dg

Happens since forever.

EDIT: driver 2696.
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.

Last edited by STaRGaZeR; 5th May 2012 at 14:50.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 14:48   #10811  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 586
I will post on ffdshow thread.
Thanks Nevcairiel

Edit : It's really weird, doing the same test on my dev PC with 9600GT (with same driver version) and same LAV/FFDShow build (clean setting) and i didn't get the crash.
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 4Go Win7(x86) / Nvidia 460GTX / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.

Last edited by Sebastiii; 5th May 2012 at 14:53.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 15:38   #10812  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
Here: http://www.mediafire.com/?4k142w9fofq60dg

Happens since forever.

EDIT: driver 2696.
I can confirm the macroblocking problem in the fight scene with the Intel decoder.

2696 seems overall pretty solid, 4k decoding finally started working for me and i found a setup to use the dedicated card for output and the iGPU for decoding now, without the weird side-effect of the VGA screen (which always became the primary after a hibernation cycle)
I just use the Intel GPU for audio output to the receiver and my dedicated GPU is directly connected to the TV. As a bonus, i can be sure the receiver is not tampering with the image.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 15:47   #10813  |  Link
egur
QuickSync Decoder author
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Atlit, Israel
Posts: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
Here: http://www.mediafire.com/?4k142w9fofq60dg

Happens since forever.

EDIT: driver 2696.
The block artifacts at the start of the clip is a known issue shared by all QS codecs. A fix is WIP.
The block artifacts in the middle of the clip is a new problem. I'll report this clip.
If you have other clips (H264,VC1,MPEG2,WMV3/9), please share.
__________________
Eric Gur,
Processor Application Engineer for Overclocking and CPU technologies
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
egur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 16:41   #10814  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I can confirm the macroblocking problem in the fight scene with the Intel decoder.

2696 seems overall pretty solid, 4k decoding finally started working for me and i found a setup to use the dedicated card for output and the iGPU for decoding now, without the weird side-effect of the VGA screen (which always became the primary after a hibernation cycle)
I just use the Intel GPU for audio output to the receiver and my dedicated GPU is directly connected to the TV. As a bonus, i can be sure the receiver is not tampering with the image.
I may go that route myself. Right now I've got it set up so that my 5870 is primary output and Virtu is active so media converter can use QS for transcoding (the only thing I really need QS for). Side note: A file that took an hour to transcode on my 8200 takes 9 minutes with QS on the I5 Sandy Bridge and 4 minutes on the I7 Ivy Bridge. NICE.
__________________
HTPC1:W8.1 Pro, I7 3770k, GTX 680, Pioneer Elite SC-65
HTPC2:W8.1 Pro, I5 2400s, GTS 450, Pioneer Elite VX21-THX
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 16:50   #10815  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I can confirm the macroblocking problem in the fight scene with the Intel decoder.

2696 seems overall pretty solid, 4k decoding finally started working for me and i found a setup to use the dedicated card for output and the iGPU for decoding now, without the weird side-effect of the VGA screen (which always became the primary after a hibernation cycle)
I just use the Intel GPU for audio output to the receiver and my dedicated GPU is directly connected to the TV. As a bonus, i can be sure the receiver is not tampering with the image.
Nice
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 4Go Win7(x86) / Nvidia 460GTX / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 03:30   #10816  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
But thats the part that doesn't make sense. The behavior of LAV Audio has not changed at all in 0.50.2, there were just some internal changes that have no impact on things you can measure on the outside really (except when you play stuff with a rate > 1.0)

Not to mention that other people reported that it didn't actually work for them even with LAV.
Its something that needs to be fixed in madVR (if it can be fixed), everything else is just random.
I can confirm that 0.50.2 stopped working with DVDs too and I went back to 0.50.1
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 08:42   #10817  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by JarrettH View Post
I can confirm that 0.50.2 stopped working with DVDs too and I went back to 0.50.1
I just tried, and LAV works just fine with DVDs and madVR for me.

Had to run AnyDVD HD to get rid of the copy protection, but i don't think it ever worked without it.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 09:12   #10818  |  Link
Trib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Edit: Got it fixed nvm. Ill change this to a thank you post to Nev for continuing to develop this awesome project and all who help him

Last edited by Trib; 6th May 2012 at 18:43.
Trib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 10:26   #10819  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I can confirm the macroblocking problem in the fight scene with the Intel decoder.

2696 seems overall pretty solid, 4k decoding finally started working for me and i found a setup to use the dedicated card for output and the iGPU for decoding now, without the weird side-effect of the VGA screen (which always became the primary after a hibernation cycle)
I just use the Intel GPU for audio output to the receiver and my dedicated GPU is directly connected to the TV. As a bonus, i can be sure the receiver is not tampering with the image.
The whole "it needs a screen to be connected for it to work" stuff is horrible. I hope Intel develops something like cuvid, because being tied to DXVA sucks. Good to hear that, because I'll probably face the same issue one day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by egur View Post
The block artifacts at the start of the clip is a known issue shared by all QS codecs. A fix is WIP.
The block artifacts in the middle of the clip is a new problem. I'll report this clip.
If you have other clips (H264,VC1,MPEG2,WMV3/9), please share.
The corruption I wanted to report is the one in the middle, as you say the very first frames are usually corrupted anyway. Good to hear someone is working on it, looking forward to it.
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 13:35   #10820  |  Link
terence_13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
nevcairiel, very off-topic, but I need to mention this bleeding obvious fact publically (don't get it wrong):
you need coders to join your project. Its has become to good and important to let it die once you drop the ball (which most coders do after 3-4 years when working as hard as you do). I know you do this just for fun, but your fun has become a stable basis for e.g HTPCs for many people. I guess trying to join forces with people from ffdshow or other projects is not an option?
terence_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.