Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th April 2012, 16:33   #15041  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by varekai View Post
Thanks, I'll try that new version at once!
So I'll ignore BD-RB System Inspection and give it a go!
Good to see you, been real quiet here lately...

Regards
Yeah, other work (the kind that actually pays my bills) has been pulling me in several directions lately. I'm on the road a lot and don't have much free time. Hopefully it will quiet down by summer.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 28th April 2012 at 16:43.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 16:34   #15042  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by varekai View Post
I did think of that but never actually tested because BD-RB System Inspection gives " -X264: Wrong version found"

Regards
Yeah, just ignore it.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 16:45   #15043  |  Link
varekai
Registered User
 
varekai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Yeah, the real job (the one that actually pays my bills) has been pulling me in several directions lately. I'm on the road a lot and don't have much free time. It should quite down a bit by summer.
I know what you mean, done a lot of touring myself working as a stage crew, eat-work-sleep-travel-eat-work-sleep...
I'm retired now, and summer is just around the corner, thank goodness!

Will make a donation to your much appreciated BD-RB project!

Regards
varekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 17:13   #15044  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by varekai
eat-work-sleep-travel-eat-work-sleep
That pretty much sums it up. I'm sitting here right now, half-asleep, thinking about that 4:00am wakeup tomorrow.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 20:18   #15045  |  Link
wolverine3n8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sharon Grove, Ky
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Yeah, other work (the kind that actually pays my bills) has been pulling me in several directions lately. I'm on the road a lot and don't have much free time. Hopefully it will quiet down by summer.
It's none of my business but what do you do in real life? Feel free to ignore this btw.
wolverine3n8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 20:33   #15046  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
Given his expertise (Jealous), I'm sure it's some kind of computer consultant work. Networking, or what not. One day!
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2012, 00:11   #15047  |  Link
busch42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
setarip_old, No I haven't tried to do a full movie backup, But i read on another site's forum where someone said they did just the main movie with BDrebuilder and had no problems.
busch42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2012, 00:38   #15048  |  Link
busch42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
jdobbs, I'm going to try the new version of x264, Do I just copy and paste the new one over the old one? If so I noticed in the Bdrebuilder program that the x264 application has no .exe after it.
busch42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2012, 01:03   #15049  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
Either it's been renamed, or windows doesn't allow you to see the file extensions. You can change that
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2012, 01:52   #15050  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,794
@busch42

You must have "Hide extensions to known file types" enabled in Windows Explorer's folder options. BD-RB uses the .EXE extension.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2012, 02:46   #15051  |  Link
busch42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
Thanks jdobbs, I tried the new version of x264 and this time I got to 17.40%, that's futher then before, I'm doing the bluray movie of Contraband, I don't think it's BDrebuilder's fault because if it was it wouldn't work from the beginning at least you would think that, At least the program starts then just comes up x264 has stopped working.
busch42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2012, 06:05   #15052  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
Quote:
No I haven't tried to do a full movie backup, But i read on another site's forum where someone said they did just the main movie with BDrebuilder and had no problems.
Once again:

If I remember correctly, if you want to do a "Movie-only" of this disc, you have to first remove what appears to be a secondary video from 00023.m2ts. Try it.

Try doing a "FULL DISC" copy using the same rip

Last edited by setarip_old; 29th April 2012 at 06:09.
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2012, 11:45   #15053  |  Link
busch42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
Thanks setarip_old, I'm getting to that, I just tried to do a full movie and got to 44.60%, That's as far as I ever got, I'm getting closer LOL. What program or how do you remove the secondary video from the first?
busch42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2012, 20:12   #15054  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
Quote:
What program or how do you remove the secondary video from the first?
(For "movie-only) you can use tsMuxeR.

1) Create a folder named "Movie_Only_Test" (or anything else you may prefer)

2) Load 00023.m2ts into tsMuxeR.

3)UNcheck the 720x480 video (tsMuxeR will have already eliminated the related DTSExpress audio)

4) Select "Blu-ray disc" from the tabs at the BOTTOM of the tsMuxeR window

5) Browse to "Movie_Only_Test"

6) Click on "Start muxing"

7) If successful, load the "Movie_Only_Test" into BD Rebuilder and process as a "movie only".
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2012, 01:14   #15055  |  Link
busch42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
Thanks alot setarip_old, tsMuxeR worked great, I'm now running BDrebuilder and will let you know how I make out, There is just one question, There is a site I go to for a guide to show you how to use BDrebuilder and in the settings under Audio Encoding Options he doesn't the box checked that says Keep HD Audio for BD25/ Alternate Intact, But there is some people that say you should have that checked, What is your's and jdobbs opinion? Thanks.
busch42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2012, 03:02   #15056  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
@busch42

I don't mean to sound harsh, but this thread is supposed to be exclusively for the reporting and analysis of bugs discovered in BD-RB.

(I personally NEVER keep HD audio)

I'd suggest that for postings that are NOT SPECIFICALLY related to BD-RB bugs, you simply create new threads (with meaningful titles for the threads) - and that way we can all be happy rule-abiding campers ;>}
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2012, 01:00   #15057  |  Link
busch42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
Sorry setarip_old, Your right I should know better, But just to let you know BDrebuilder still didn't work for me, time to give up.
busch42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2012, 19:07   #15058  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 248
@jdobbs, I found a bug when using x264's internal LAVF for decoding that causes undersized output and (potentially) out of specs streams, basically the demuxed original video is identify by LAVF as 25 fps regardless of the original framerate (23.976), so the bitrate of the output stream (after muxing at the original framerate) is lower than expected by a ~4% (25/23.976 = 1.0427):

Quote:
- [12:20:18] Reencoding video [VID_00050]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 823 frames
- Bitrate: 13,124 Kbs
- [12:20:18] Reencoding: VID_00050, Pass 1 of 2
- [12:20:42] Reencoding: VID_00050, Pass 2 of 2


Bitrate as reported by BDInfo.

Code:
Name:                   00000.MPLS
Length:                 0:00:34.284 (h:m:s.ms)
Size:                   56,961,024 bytes
Total Bitrate:          13.89 Mbps

VIDEO:

Codec                   Bitrate             Description     
-----                   -------             -----------     
MPEG-4 AVC Video        12657 kbps          1080p / 23.976 fps / 16:9 / High Profile 4.1
Is not really that much of a difference, but I wonder if that does not cause compatibility problems since the buffer and the max bitrate of the stream where calculated using a different fps value. I don't have a 29.97 Blu-ray, but if that kind of discs are affected too the file-size differences could be huge (20%).
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 02:04   #15059  |  Link
techno1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I've done about 40 backups using the new version... no issues.

There was a new version of X264 included in the release of BD-RB v0.40.09, so there's always a chance that could be an issue. Since then there is another new version of X264 (revision 2197) out, in case someone thinks they are crashing due to the last release. I just started testing it today. Just remember to only use the 8-bit depth versions. You also have to remember to rename the 64 bit version to x264-64.EXE for BD-RB to see it.
I noticed in Windows Task Manager I'm running the x264.exe *32 version and not the 64bit version. I already have a x264-64.exe in the Tool folder. How can I make BD-RB use the 64bit version? It used to use the 64bit version in the past.
techno1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 02:15   #15060  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,144
do you have the option "use LAVF encoding" enabled ?
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.