Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd April 2012, 19:48   #15021  |  Link
DMagic1
Registered User
 
DMagic1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 504
Sorry I'm a little behind on the progress of BDRebulder. Before I post any bugs I like to know if it is now able to process 3D titles that I'm stripping some extras and audio but not reencoding?


Thanks
DMagic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2012, 20:17   #15022  |  Link
drmih
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMagic1 View Post
Sorry I'm a little behind on the progress of BDRebulder. Before I post any bugs I like to know if it is now able to process 3D titles that I'm stripping some extras and audio but not reencoding?


Thanks
No, as soon as you adjust the streams you'd need to be able to cross reference the 3D data.
drmih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2012, 20:46   #15023  |  Link
Sky7777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
That is a disc read/write access error... it's possible something (like a path) might be corrupt in the INI file. Try renaming BDREBUILDER.INI to another name temporarily and see if the error goes away.
An error does not go away
Sky7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2012, 23:31   #15024  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I have a really, really hard time believing that anyone could identify a difference of 2% on a BD-25. I'm not saying its impossible -- but if I were a betting man I'd be willing to bet the farm that it couldn't be identified in a double-blind test...
Some blind people hear nuances in sounds and feel vibrations that (most) people who trust their eyes and logical (mosty)...don't hear/feel. Some of these people will teach those of us whom do use our eyes well, but desire to expand that sense, too. I can see the difference between BD-25 and originals, but it's definitely a practiced/focusing thing. I'm also into "audiophile". Transcoding makes it ~much~ easier to see/hear the differences. Rerendering does not.

Anyway...I was trying to have some fun with the message but you 2 may not have read it that way.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2012, 20:08   #15025  |  Link
Cela
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
The confusing thing is that I'm not getting any other reports (beyond one or two folks). That routine gets executed on every single disc processed.
Too bad! Then I'll never know the true reasons why my BD was rejected by BDRB and classified as 'non-BD', i.e. which of the numerous checks in that routine (executed on every single disc processed) it did not pass.

Thanks!
Cela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 12:08   #15026  |  Link
RobertM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 422
I've made this request before. It isn't really a "bug", in that we know precisely why this behaviour is happening, but it sure feels like a bug when it happens.

This morning I woke to find that an overnight rebuild had rebuilt the wrong playlist. Before starting a rebuild I always check the "output options" screen to make sure I had selected the right target size. Sometimes I forget that if I make a change between BD-25 and BD-9 that my previous playlist selection (and any specific selections I have made on the "stream" tab) will be thrown out and replaced with a default playlist selection. The "rescanning" message was displayed, of course, but it happens every time we make a change, so it is not a good indicator that something has actually changed.

I can't see why it would be particularly difficult to remember the playlist selection for the rescan. If it cannot be, for whatever reason, then a message dialogue should draw attention to the fact that the playlist has changed. It feels REALLY odd to have the app override a manual selection without some kind of warning. Like I said, when this problem happens -- and it has happened to me many times -- it feels like a bug.
RobertM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2012, 14:02   #15027  |  Link
varekai
Registered User
 
varekai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 304
H.264 (MPEG-4 AVC) encoder has stopped working...

Most likely not a bug in BD-RB but something makes x264 crash.
"H.264 (MPEG-4 AVC) encoder has stopped working..." and BD-RB stops with message "- Failed video encode, aborted".
I've been able to reproduce this on several different encodes.
Maybe the later release version of x264 in build BD-RB v0.40.09 could be the cause?

With build BD-RB v0.40.08 and that earlier version of x264 all encodes works fine.
Did some testings with LinX 0.64 and let it run on high priority for hours without getting any errors.
Monitored power with CPUID HWMonitor and my Corsair 1200W seems to work OK.
CPU temperature on 100% load is 55-60C so no heat issue.
Also uninstalled ffdshow, Hali Matroska Splitter, Avisynth and cleaned registry and then reinstalled.

What could be the cause of x264 crashing? It's probably on my end since there's no reports from other users.

Regards

Last edited by varekai; 27th April 2012 at 14:05. Reason: .
varekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2012, 16:10   #15028  |  Link
busch42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
varekai, I too have the same problem. I had a problem similar to this about 4 weeks ago, So I wiped my hard drive and reinstalled windows 7 64bit then everything worked great, This is the first time I did a Bluray (Contraband) in a few weeks now I'm having your problem after installing Bdrebuilder version 04009. I haven't installed any new programs so I'm not sure what could be causing this. Here's my report If anyone could please help ,
H.264 (MPEG-4 AVC) encoder has stopped
working
A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.

[04/27/12] BD Rebuilder v0.40.09 (beta)
[09:46:06] Source: CONTRABAND
- Input BD size: 32.09 GB
- Approximate total content: [01:49:38.446]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Auto Quality: Good (Very Fast), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[09:46:06] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [09:46:06] Processing: VID_00023 (1 of 1)
- [09:46:06] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00023]
- [10:14:32] Reencoding video [VID_00023]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 157,725 frames
- Bitrate: 26,116 Kbs
- [10:14:32] Reencoding: VID_00023, Pass 1 of 1
- Encode failed. Aborting.
- BD-Rebuilder v0.40.09 (beta)
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.8.0, Ok
- HAALI Splitter: 1.9.42.1, Ok
- FFDSHOW: 3882, Ok
- WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC: Ok
- WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC: Ok
- WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC: Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "ffmpeg-mt": Ok
- AnyDVD settings check: Ok.
- X264: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok
[10:43:46] - Failed video encode, aborted
busch42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2012, 17:16   #15029  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by varekai View Post
Most likely not a bug in BD-RB but something makes x264 crash.
"H.264 (MPEG-4 AVC) encoder has stopped working..." and BD-RB stops with message "- Failed video encode, aborted".
I've been able to reproduce this on several different encodes.
Maybe the later release version of x264 in build BD-RB v0.40.09 could be the cause?
What are some titles you've had trouble with? Please give multiple examples.
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2012, 17:19   #15030  |  Link
busch42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
omegaman7, The movie I'm trying is Contraband, I did rip it to hard drive with anydvd.
busch42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2012, 17:21   #15031  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
I'm afraid I won't have that one for a while. Money is tight

I do however have multiple new releases waiting for me.
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2012, 23:58   #15032  |  Link
busch42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
I tried several programs to shrink the movie Contraband to a BD25 and nothing works, So I'm begining to think it isn't BDrebuilder but maybe a bad rip to hard drive, Has anybody had any luck with this movie?
busch42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 04:13   #15033  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
@busch42

Hi!
Quote:
I tried several programs to shrink the movie Contraband to a BD25 and nothing works
If I remember correctly, if you want to do a "Movie-only" of this disc, you have to first remove what appears to be a secondary video from 00023.m2ts

Have you tried doing a "FULL DISC" copy using the same rip?

Last edited by setarip_old; 28th April 2012 at 04:29.
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 06:43   #15034  |  Link
varekai
Registered User
 
varekai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by omegaman7 View Post
What are some titles you've had trouble with? Please give multiple examples.
The problems I'm having with x264 is not related to any particular titles.
Tested with older titles as well as newer.

Regards
varekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 07:18   #15035  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
Well I've ran at least 5 titles without trouble on the newest version. Again, a title (or multiple) would help us pinpoint the problem. E.g. if you run "Tower Heist" and have a problem, then I should run it, and see if I have the same problem.

Obviously Jdobbs felt the new version was ready
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...

Last edited by omegaman7; 28th April 2012 at 07:21.
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 15:16   #15036  |  Link
varekai
Registered User
 
varekai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 304
@omegaman7

I don't have "Tower Heist" and I'm not planning on getting it.
Made BD-RB v0.40.09 encodes of new title "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo"
and the old title "Saving Private Ryan" and x264 crashed on both titles.
BD-RB v0.40.08 encodes of the same titles works flawlessly.
Encode settings are identical in both BD-RB versions.
I can't figure out why x264 crashes?

Regards
varekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 15:50   #15037  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by varekai View Post
@omegaman7

I don't have "Tower Heist" and I'm not planning on getting it.
Made BD-RB v0.40.09 encodes of new title "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo"
and the old title "Saving Private Ryan" and x264 crashed on both titles.
BD-RB v0.40.08 encodes of the same titles works flawlessly.
Encode settings are identical in both BD-RB versions.
I can't figure out why x264 crashes?

Regards
Try switching x264 from BD-RB v0.40.08 and put that one in BD-RB v0.40.09 to see if the newest x264 is causing the problem.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 16:13   #15038  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by omegaman7 View Post
Well I've ran at least 5 titles without trouble on the newest version. Again, a title (or multiple) would help us pinpoint the problem. E.g. if you run "Tower Heist" and have a problem, then I should run it, and see if I have the same problem.

Obviously Jdobbs felt the new version was ready
I've done about 40 backups using the new version... no issues.

There was a new version of X264 included in the release of BD-RB v0.40.09, so there's always a chance that could be an issue. Since then there is another new version of X264 (revision 2197) out, in case someone thinks they are crashing due to the last release. I just started testing it today. Just remember to only use the 8-bit depth versions. You also have to remember to rename the 64 bit version to x264-64.EXE for BD-RB to see it.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 28th April 2012 at 16:31.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 16:25   #15039  |  Link
varekai
Registered User
 
varekai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
Try switching x264 from BD-RB v0.40.08 and put that one in BD-RB v0.40.09 to see if the newest x264 is causing the problem.
I did think of that but never actually tested because BD-RB System Inspection gives " -X264: Wrong version found"

Regards
varekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 16:30   #15040  |  Link
varekai
Registered User
 
varekai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I've done about 40 backups using the new version... no issues.

There is a new version of X264 out, in case someone thinks they are crashing due to the last release. Just remember to only use the 8-bit depth versions. You also have to remember to rename the 64 bit version to x264-64.EXE for BD-RB to see it.
Thanks, I'll try that new version at once!
So I'll ignore BD-RB System Inspection and give it a go!
Good to see you, been real quiet here lately...

Regards
varekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.