Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th March 2012, 14:17   #921  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Regarding 1080p25 / 1080i25 - I have 3 UK bought blu rays ('Triangle', 'Super' and 'The Inbetweeners Movie') which are indicated as 1080i25, however all three are entirely progressive. I am assuming they were encoded with some kind of fake interlaced setting to make them 'compliant'.
It would depend on the settings used. If "Deinterlace" was selected, yes, they would be encoded as progressive with "fake-interlaced" flags. If not, they would be encoded as interlaced.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 15:05   #922  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
It would depend on the settings used. If "Deinterlace" was selected, yes, they would be encoded as progressive with "fake-interlaced" flags. If not, they would be encoded as interlaced.
Sorry, what I mean is, the actual original discs themselves are flagged as 1080i25 but are actually 1080p25. So the studios must have encoded them with some kind of fake interlaced setting.

Last edited by iSeries; 5th March 2012 at 15:08.
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 15:10   #923  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Sorry, what I mean is, the actual original discs themselves are flagged as 1080i25 but are actually 1080p25. So the studios must have encoded them with some kind of fake interlaced setting.
They would have to in order for the disc to be compliant.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 15:15   #924  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 449
Exactly - but going back to the previous request someone made regarding 1080i(p)25 > 1080p24 conversion, in the case of a progressive stream marked as interlaced BD Rebuilder should encode as progressive even if de-interlacing is NOT selected, otherwise the output would come out as interlaced?
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 15:23   #925  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Exactly - but going back to the previous request someone made regarding 1080i(p)25 > 1080p24 conversion, in the case of a progressive stream marked as interlaced BD Rebuilder should encode as progressive if de-interlacing is NOT selected, otherwise the output would come out as interlaced?
Well... not exactly. Most of the time the only difference between "progressive" and "interlaced" is the fact that a true interlaced source would have a temporal 1/50th of a second difference (in PAL) between fields at the time of recording, and therefore the fields should be analyzed and encoded with that in mind.

If the source is progressive but flagged interlaced, BD-RB would treat it as interlaced. The thing you'd lose is a bit of efficiency in the encoding since the fields are handled individually -- but the output would still actually stay "progressive" marked as interlaced -- since there is no temporal difference between the fields.

If you had "delinterlace" selected, a deinterlacing algorithm would be run against the frame (on a progressive source it would have little effect since there really isn't any interlacing), and the output would be processed as a full frame with "fake-interlace" flags applied.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 5th March 2012 at 15:27.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 15:27   #926  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
If the source is progressive but flagged interlaced, BD-RB would treat it as interlaced. The only thing you'd lose is a bit of efficiency in the encoding since the fields are handled individually -- but the output would still actually stay "progressive" marked as interlaced -- since there is no temporal difference between the fields.

If you had "delinterlace" selected, a deinterlacing algorithm would be run against the frame (on a progressive source it would have little effect since there really isn't any interlacing), and the output would be processed as a full frame with "fake-interlace" flags applied.
Thank you for the explanation jdobbs, this clears it all up for me
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2012, 01:17   #927  |  Link
Hobojobo
don't blame me!
 
Hobojobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 276
mkv with two audio streams

Hi,
I haven't used BD-RB for a while:
Is it now possible to produce a mkv-video with more than one audio stream and subtitles using the alternate output option?
Hobojobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2012, 23:02   #928  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobojobo View Post
Hi,
I haven't used BD-RB for a while:
Is it now possible to produce a mkv-video with more than one audio stream and subtitles using the alternate output option?
Yes... but the only available subtitle format on most blu-rays is SUP, so make sure you player supports that type of subtitle.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2012, 11:31   #929  |  Link
Racer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 43
I'm very impressed by the speed improvement of using DGDecNV. In the past my AMD 630 X4 never made more than 32fps with ffdshow, but with a GT520/GT430 I now get something between 42fps and 52fps. As I plan to switch to a new cpu in the future is there also a frameserver for the APU of AMD Trinity/Llano or Quick Sync of Intel's Sandy Bridge available. Then the discrete GT430/GT520 would be obsolete again.
Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2012, 22:20   #930  |  Link
Hobojobo
don't blame me!
 
Hobojobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 276
Just one more question:
I want to use BR-RB to create 720p-MKV-videos with
DTS-audio stream and one ac3-audio stream (and subs)

In the alternate.txt I can only specify aType=... for all audio streams

Can BR-RB process the first und the second audio stream in a different way automatically before muxing into the mkv container?
Hobojobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2012, 18:14   #931  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
Here's a suggestion. Concerning the "Automatic black border removal" feature. Perhaps if people could specify the exact dimensions of the frame, it would minimize, if not cancel out the problems people are having. There are other programs that do this though. If they're so hell bent on it, they can use those alternate methods. Just a thought I prefer leave the frames alone myself.
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2012, 18:37   #932  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobojobo View Post
Just one more question:
I want to use BR-RB to create 720p-MKV-videos with
DTS-audio stream and one ac3-audio stream (and subs)

In the alternate.txt I can only specify aType=... for all audio streams

Can BR-RB process the first und the second audio stream in a different way automatically before muxing into the mkv container?
Just select the ones you want from the streams menu and use the setting for keeping the audio intact. If you want to reencode any audio, though -- you have to reencode all.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2012, 22:57   #933  |  Link
Snarko
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 24
deinterlace and resize with DGDecNV

The title says it all. Since there's already an option to decode with DGDecNV, why not also deinterlace and resize (when necessary/desired) with it also?
Snarko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2012, 23:29   #934  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snarko View Post
The title says it all. Since there's already an option to decode with DGDecNV, why not also deinterlace and resize (when necessary/desired) with it also?
I did a little testing (nothing comprehensive) and it appeared that doing the deinterlacing and resizing that way was a little slower than using AVISYNTH. Actually I was a little surprised at that, but I moved on without looking any deeper.

I'll do some more extensive testing at some point.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2012, 23:42   #935  |  Link
Snarko
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 24
Good enough for me. Thanks!
Snarko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2012, 00:04   #936  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I did a little testing (nothing comprehensive) and it appeared that doing the deinterlacing and resizing that way was a little slower than using AVISYNTH.
I'm surprised at that too. What card do you have?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2012, 13:34   #937  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
I'm surprised at that too. What card do you have?
I have a GT 520. But to be fair, as I said, I didn't do a lot of testing.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2012, 18:25   #938  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,258
Deinterlacing with DGdecNV yes, but resizing? Via the AVS template I assume, or did I miss something?
(Sorry if it's off topic).
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2012, 09:16   #939  |  Link
JoeH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I have a GT 520. But to be fair, as I said, I didn't do a lot of testing.
The reviews of the GT 520 tended to say that it's deinterlacing performance was somewhat lacking. The higher end cards don't have that problem.
JoeH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 12:45   #940  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 87
when is it possible to use

MULTIPROCESS=2

with x264 64bit ?


now work only with x264 32bit



thanks
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.