Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th April 2012, 04:05   #15001  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 611
Update from my last post.

I tried the Movie & Menus (Auto-blank Extras) option, and that removed what I desired to be removed. Sweet. I'm still wondering why the manual blanking in Full Backup X'ed what I didn't select. Another donation from me coming soon, as another Thanks for the program.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2012, 22:40   #15002  |  Link
rendez2k
Registered User
 
rendez2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 625
Sorry, I think I may have asked this before but can't remember the outcome. I load a BR, blank some audio and video. Is there anyway to tell if my blanking has enabled the remaining content to fit on a BD-25 without compression?
rendez2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2012, 23:02   #15003  |  Link
cinephage
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Silly question but I changed my system to windows7 64 bits and re-installed bd-rebuilder from scratch. After at least 3 years of perfect use.
I can't start it getting this message: "MSCOMCTL.OCX or one of its dependecies not correctly registered a file is missing or invalid"
cinephage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2012, 02:17   #15004  |  Link
xterminater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 90
jdobbs, I know this question have probably popped up before but I couldn't seem to find an answer. Is there a way we can "make" BD-RB allocate space better, like try to fit as much as the bd-disc can hold? I noticed that whenever I back up a BD-50 to BD-25, it's always around 21-22gb, instead of the maximum 25, which I know isn't really 25gb, but at least closer than that. Is there a hidden setting that I must enter? Also I do not allow hd audio, just dts core for audio.
xterminater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2012, 03:27   #15005  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by xterminater View Post
jdobbs, I know this question have probably popped up before but I couldn't seem to find an answer. Is there a way we can "make" BD-RB allocate space better, like try to fit as much as the bd-disc can hold? I noticed that whenever I back up a BD-50 to BD-25, it's always around 21-22gb, instead of the maximum 25, which I know isn't really 25gb, but at least closer than that. Is there a hidden setting that I must enter? Also I do not allow hd audio, just dts core for audio.
If you select 2 pass encoding, this is the most accurate method. Every disc will be different though, taking into account action scenes, darker movies, many audio tracks, etc... so it is "safer" to stay below the maximum BD-R capacity of about 23.5GB (25,000,000,000 bytes) .
You can try different "CUSTOM_TARGET_SIZE=xxxxxx" settings to try and reach your desired output.
The visual gain will probably be miniscule at best, but you can fill up that disc to the max if it makes you "feel" better!
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2012, 03:36   #15006  |  Link
RobertM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 422
Quote:
Is there a way we can "make" BD-RB allocate space better
The problem is that the actual size after re-encoding cannot be known until the re-encode is complete. Any attempt to calculate the final size before-hand is just an estimate, so you have to leave a little extra headroom or lots of rebuilds would end up being too large to fit on a BD-25. My BD-25 rebuilds end up filling 96% to 97% of the disc, using the default BD-25 target size. I feel that this is close enough to not worry about it.

But you can modify this yourself. Just don't use the standard BD-25 target size; use a custom size instead. I believe that the standard size is 23.5 GB, so you could try 24 GB and see what happens. In my case, I have not seen anything over 97%, so if I used a custom size of 24GB then I might expect a final result around 97% x 24/23.5, or 99.06%. Hmm.... maybe I'll actually give this a try and see what happens.

The only real downside of doing this is that you increase the chances of getting the occasional rebuild that is too big, and you'll have to repeat the rebuild with a smaller target size. Not a big problem, as long as you remember why the oversize is happening.

[EDIT]Caps beat me to the response[/EDIT]
RobertM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2012, 03:43   #15007  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinephage View Post
Silly question but I changed my system to windows7 64 bits and re-installed bd-rebuilder from scratch. After at least 3 years of perfect use.
I can't start it getting this message: "MSCOMCTL.OCX or one of its dependecies not correctly registered a file is missing or invalid"
Right click on REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT in the BD-RB folder and say "Run as Administrator".
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2012, 18:57   #15008  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
By using 2 - 5% more of a BD disc, you will not see a difference in video quality. And you risk errors on the outer edge of the disc. Plus they take longer to burn. There's no factor which would make me elect to use the full 23.2Gb of Disc space. That's asking for trouble. I prefer go with 22.0 - 22.5Gb. However if I remove audio tracks, and no encoding is required, and I end up around 22.7 - 23.0Gb, that is acceptable. My LG drive seems to have trouble closing LTH discs around the outer edge. Jdobbs hit the estimation algorithm right on the money!
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 07:18   #15009  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 611
@omegaman7 Some of us ~do~ see a difference with video quality. Typing that "you will not see a difference in video quality" is subjective to personal vision and experience. Some people have to be "shown" the difference. I'm able to walk into a Walmart or some other store and ~KNOW~ the difference between Video or HDMI output. Many "customers" have no idea of what I'm talking about, but there are those that ~get it~ to some degree and express real ~appreciation~. Only relating to visual and not actual media data as you are. ~Smile~ Hehe!
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 07:29   #15010  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
Well... to each his own.
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 11:14   #15011  |  Link
Cela
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 185
'SourceCheck() 00006 2501'

@jdobbs,
feedback about impact of the new versions, AnyDVD HD 7.0.3.0 and BD-RBV04009:
The new combination still produces the erroneous, false negative 'SourceCheck() 00006 2501', 'Selected source is not BD format' error messages and still prohibits BD-RBV04009 normal processing of my two problem disks.

Regards
Cela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 14:12   #15012  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaFuture View Post
@omegaman7 Some of us ~do~ see a difference with video quality. Typing that "you will not see a difference in video quality" is subjective to personal vision and experience. Some people have to be "shown" the difference. I'm able to walk into a Walmart or some other store and ~KNOW~ the difference between Video or HDMI output. Many "customers" have no idea of what I'm talking about, but there are those that ~get it~ to some degree and express real ~appreciation~. Only relating to visual and not actual media data as you are. ~Smile~ Hehe!
I have a really, really hard time believing that anyone could identify a difference of 2% on a BD-25. I'm not saying its impossible -- but if I were a betting man I'd be willing to bet the farm that it couldn't be identified in a double-blind test...
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 21st April 2012 at 14:15.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 14:13   #15013  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cela View Post
@jdobbs,
feedback about impact of the new versions, AnyDVD HD 7.0.3.0 and BD-RBV04009:
The new combination still produces the erroneous, false negative 'SourceCheck() 00006 2501', 'Selected source is not BD format' error messages and still prohibits BD-RBV04009 normal processing of my two problem disks.

Regards
The confusing thing is that I'm not getting any other reports (beyond one or two folks). That routine gets executed on every single disc processed.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 21:22   #15014  |  Link
Yordan5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I have a really, really hard time believing that anyone could identify a difference of 2% on a BD-25. I'm not saying its impossible -- but if I were a betting man I'd be willing to bet the farm that it couldn't be identified in a double-blind test...
Same here. Using BD-RB I shrank the StarWars trilogy (episodes 4, 5 and 6). Each episode was around 35Gb and with BD-RB I shrank them to 13Gb each. No matter how hard I tried to find any degradation in quality I was not able to. I did that on a PC with a 32" Sony monitor and on a 42" Panasonic LED TV. If someone claims they are able to tell the difference due to an extra 2% storage on a 25Gb disk, that is pure fantasy.
Yordan5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 21:26   #15015  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
Perhaps they have eagle eyes?

I may have an idea why some people think they see a difference. I noticed with compressed sources, Hardware enabled playback(E.g. GPU used for playback) can cause an oversimplified colorspace playback. Which can cause a certain level of artifacting in white and dark scenery. When the CPU is used instead, the video is being played exactly as the frame is intended.
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...

Last edited by omegaman7; 21st April 2012 at 21:57.
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2012, 02:05   #15016  |  Link
wakko709
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 87
[04/21/12] BD Rebuilder v0.40.09 (beta)
[16:23:53] Source: ZOMBIELAND
- Input BD size: 36.26 GB
- Approximate total content: [03:05:29.975]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7600]
- Auto Quality: Good (Very Fast), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[16:23:56] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [16:23:56] Processing: VID_00011 (1 of 41)
- [16:23:56] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00011]
- [16:33:57] Reencoding video [VID_00011]
- [16:33:57] Reencoding secondary video [TRK_02]
- Encode failed. Aborting.
- BD-Rebuilder v0.40.09 (beta)
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7600]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.7.0, Ok
- HAALI Splitter: 1.9.42.1, Ok
- FFDSHOW: 3882, Ok
- WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC: Not Set correctly
- WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC: Not Set correctly
- WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC: Not Set correctly
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
- AnyDVD settings check: Ok.
- X264: Ok
what the hell is win7 codec?
wakko709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2012, 02:17   #15017  |  Link
RobertM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 422
Quote:
If someone claims they are able to tell the difference due to an extra 2% storage on a 25Gb disk, that is pure fantasy.
You are probably right. But are you also willing to state, equally forcefully, that the 2% larger file is, in fact, no better. If so, then you would be wrong. The difference may be subtle, even imperceptible to lots of people, but it does contain more information, and it is -- technically -- better, whether you, or anyone else, can see it or not. You may feel that this is an "angels on the head of a pin" type of argument, but why should people leave empty space on a BD disc when it could be put to some use. And basing your argument on a 42" display is only valid if you are sitting within 5 feet or so.
RobertM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2012, 05:28   #15018  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
@Yordan5

Hi!
Quote:
I shrank the StarWars trilogy (episodes 4, 5 and 6). Each episode was around 35Gb and with BD-RB I shrank them to 13Gb each. No matter how hard I tried to find any degradation in quality I was not able to.
I'd suggest that your choice of Blu-ray disc for testing, one with loads of CGI - and shot with digital cameras, is a major contributing factor for the remarkably good high compression results.

When "King Kong" first became available on HD-DVD, the members here (myself included) were equally impressed with the quality of highly compressed versions of it.

See if you get the same remarkably good results when compressing a more "standard", live action only shot on film Blu-ray...
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2012, 08:55   #15019  |  Link
Yordan5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 65
You're both (RobertM, setarip_old) technically correct. The argument was that in practical use those 2% extra data on a 25Gb disk would make absolutely no difference to your viewing experience when compressing a movie, on top of the fact that you'd be asking for trouble writing so close to the outer edge of the disk. I only gave the example of the StarWars trilogy to make the point that if I cannot see a difference when there's been more than 40% compression what's the point of running the risk of a coaster for an academic gain. We all know that BD-RB produces results that a nothing short of spectacular and it would take a lot more than 2% (that's half a Gig on 25Gb disk) for most people to actually see a visual difference. Technically we know that there would be a difference but we wouldn't be able to see it. I'd much rather just enjoy the movie instead of trying to ruin the experience looking for miniscule artifacts the whole time.

Last edited by Yordan5; 22nd April 2012 at 09:02.
Yordan5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2012, 12:17   #15020  |  Link
lone-warrior
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
"Three Colors: Blue" BD from Netflix. Movie only convert to DVD5. Video OK but no audible audio. Log follows:
----------------------
[04/21/12] BD Rebuilder v0.40.09 (beta)
[09:51:35] Source: THREE_COLORS_BLUE
- Input BD size: 26.78 GB
- Approximate total content: [01:38:20.936]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Auto Quality: High Quality (Default), Two Pass
- Decoding/Frame serving: X264/LAVF
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=448
[09:51:35] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [09:51:35] Processing: VID_00274 (1 of 1)
- [09:51:35] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00274]
- [10:09:56] Reencoding video [VID_00274]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 141,481 frames
- Bitrate: 5,639 Kbs
- [10:09:56] Reencoding: VID_00274, Pass 1 of 2
- [10:56:22] Reencoding: VID_00274, Pass 2 of 2
- [12:25:13] Video Encode complete
- [12:25:14] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (fra): Reencoding audio to AC3...
[12:26:15]PHASE ONE complete
[12:26:15]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [12:26:15] Rebuilding AVCHD file Structure
[14:28:28] - Encode and Rebuild complete
[14:28:28] JOB: THREE_COLORS_BLUE finished.
Note: On the the last two lines it was waiting a couple of hours for my reply to override the output folder!
-----------------------------
Workfiles:http://webpages.charter.net/carlospg/Blue-Workfiles.jpg
00274.track_4352.dts has audio OK. However, no audible audio on AUD_00274_4352.mkv, AUD_00274_4352.AC3
-----------------------------
AUD_00274_4352.AVS:
#Created by BD Rebuilder - v0.40.09 (beta)
LoadPlugin("M:\BD_Rebuilder-0.40.09\BD_Rebuilder\tools\nicaudio.dll")
audio=DirectShowSource("M:\1-BDR-BLUE\WORKFILES\AUD_00274_4352.mkv").Amplify(1)
ConvertAudioTo16bit(ResampleAudio(audio, 48000))
-----------------------------
Also, despite selecting 448Kbps audio, output shows 192Kbps
Thanks in advance
lone-warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.