Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th March 2012, 15:31   #12781  |  Link
lee_what2004
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Do all games do that? That's not what you want madVR to do, though, is it?
At least the games I have, does that. No, I don't want madVR to be like that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I'm not sure if there is anything I can do here. You're saying that everything works fine if you play video on the secondary monitor. Since that works fine, probably all that doesn't work fine is not madVR's fault, because madVR doesn't really care which is your primary and which your secondary monitor. I guess that Direct3D or Windows itself is reponsible for the different behaviour. Or maybe the GPU driver, I don't really know.
I guess I'll stick with windowed mode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
The problem only happens if you play the video on the primary monitor, correct? If you play on the secondary monitor, the shortcut keys are not being swallowed, correct? I think this is probably a consequence of the primary monitor video stealing the focus. Again, I fear there's not much I can do about it.
No, the problem still occurs whether its plays on primary/secondary monitor, FSE or windowed mode.
At least now, its not completely swallowed.
Before the fix, when I try ctrl + J to open Google Chrome/Firefox download tab, it won't open. Only trigger madVR shortcut.
Currently, the download tabs does open, but it also trigger madVR shortcut at the same time.
lee_what2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2012, 16:26   #12782  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 816
Hey madshi, do you think the "queue output samples" in ffdshow would have an impact on madvr's performance? I remember the feature has been in there for a long time. I disabled it recently just in case.
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 01:10   #12783  |  Link
FlashGordon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 41
Is there a preferred tool to cut samples from h264 interlaced? I tried DGAVCIndex but after demuxing I get an unplayable .264 file
FlashGordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 10:26   #12784  |  Link
zn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
any recomendation for PASSIVE (cooling) video card suitable for madVR ?
zn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 11:38   #12785  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 917
I use a passively cooled GT 430. I found two models but only one was available at UK online retailers so my choice was rather limited. Be prepared to spend up to 50% more than you would for an actively cooled one.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430; OCZ Vertex 2 (120 GB)
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.16.0; Kodi 17.3; LAV Filters (CUVID); MadVR
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 12:26   #12786  |  Link
noee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by zn View Post
any recomendation for PASSIVE (cooling) video card suitable for madVR ?
PowerColor HD6570. Or wait for the new 7750 passive from Sapphire, coming soon.
noee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 13:53   #12787  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,950
@madshi

Is it possible to make a madvr where you leave the whole scaling part on the shaders away and leave that to the hardware but keep the rest ?
For Intel user that would be much much more efficient i guess having not the massive GPU overhead from the Shader Scaling part Especially on the less powerful Intel HD Graphics GT1 and leaving the scaling to the Driver and Egurs Hardware Asic Lanczos4 (Luma/Chroma) implementation
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 17th March 2012 at 14:00.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 14:31   #12788  |  Link
nlnl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 176
madshi
When I try to switch Film-> Video (23hz -> 59 hz) using Cntrl+Alt+Sh+T I get red message resetting Direct3D device failed (8876086c).
Log and freeze report: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/43376972/LOG%20MADVR.zip
Thanks!
nlnl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 16:16   #12789  |  Link
nlnl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 176
madshi

For this sample (PAL DVD film in 50i container)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/43376972/Pal...nter%20OFF.mkv
Settings:
force film mode
if in doubt, activate deinterlacing
,
but OSD says that deinter is off !

So deinterlacing is not on automatically?
nlnl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 16:23   #12790  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlashGordon View Post
Is there a preferred tool to cut samples from h264 interlaced? I tried DGAVCIndex but after demuxing I get an unplayable .264 file
Binary file cutting should work fine; just figure out that you need the initial X MB of the file for a worthwhile sample (based on bitrate) and cut it with e.g. DGSplit.
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 16:33   #12791  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by nlnl View Post
madshi

For this sample (PAL DVD film in 50i container)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/43376972/Pal...nter%20OFF.mkv
Settings:
force film mode
if in doubt, activate deinterlacing
,
but OSD says that deinter is off !

So deinterlacing is not on automatically?
I think "in doubt" only applies to streams that have been encoded in "interlaced" mode, but where each frame is in fact marked as "progressive". (Like with x264's "--fake-interlaced")
Your stream is probably fully progressive.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 17:12   #12792  |  Link
ragg987
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Your file contains the text "576p50 24p". madVR finds both "24p" and "p50" in there. Both are supported by madVR. So it's pretty much "random" which madVR uses. If you remove the "p50", the "24p" should start to work.
Perfect, works now, thanks.
ragg987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 17:46   #12793  |  Link
nlnl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
I think "in doubt" only applies to streams that have been encoded in "interlaced" mode, but where each frame is in fact marked as "progressive". (Like with x264's "--fake-interlaced")
Your stream is probably fully progressive.
Mediainfo says that video in that sample is Scan type: progressive.
But have a look at this sample http://dl.dropbox.com/u/43376972/SD%20%281%29-001.mkv (NTSC DVD film). Mediainfo says that video in this sample is Scan type: progressive but Madvr switches Deinterlacing on (IVTC in film mode).
nlnl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 17:52   #12794  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by nlnl View Post
Mediainfo says that video in that sample is Scan type: progressive.
But have a look at this sample http://dl.dropbox.com/u/43376972/SD%20%281%29-001.mkv (NTSC DVD film). Mediainfo says that video in this sample is Scan type: progressive but Madvr switches Deinterlacing on (IVTC in film mode).
That file is indeed progressive, but it has soft-telecine flags.

I suppose madVR turns itself into IVTC mode under the assumption that the soft-telecine may not be consistent, and eventually end up mixed with hard-telecine.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 19:29   #12795  |  Link
nlnl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
That file is indeed progressive, but it has soft-telecine flags.

I suppose madVR turns itself into IVTC mode under the assumption that the soft-telecine may not be consistent, and eventually end up mixed with hard-telecine.
And so madVR should turn itself into IVTC mode playing this sample http://dl.dropbox.com/u/43376972/Pal...nter%20OFF.mkv (PAL DVD) too? Or PAL soft-telecine flags are always consistent?

Last edited by nlnl; 17th March 2012 at 19:31.
nlnl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 19:40   #12796  |  Link
Pat357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I guess you can't reproduce that, can you? I've modified something which *may* eventually have fixed this freeze now, but I'm not sure.
I'll try, but no guarantee.

Last edited by Pat357; 17th March 2012 at 19:47.
Pat357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 20:17   #12797  |  Link
Pat357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
@madshi

Is it possible to make a madvr where you leave the whole scaling part on the shaders away and leave that to the hardware but keep the rest ?
For Intel user that would be much much more efficient i guess having not the massive GPU overhead from the Shader Scaling part Especially on the less powerful Intel HD Graphics GT1 and leaving the scaling to the Driver and Egurs Hardware Asic Lanczos4 (Luma/Chroma) implementation
Is this scaling not limited to NV12 ?
Pat357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 20:33   #12798  |  Link
Pat357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Why would ProcessExplorer use "my" dbghelp file? Did you put ProcessExplorer into the madVR folder?
No, not really
Right after boot-up I launched MPC/MadVR : this way the dbghelp from the Madvr dir became loaded.
If I launch Process explorer then, I think that Windows will not load the dbghelp from the OS but rather use the one that's already in memory.
Pat357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 20:54   #12799  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Is NV12 superior to YV12? I noticed that LAV Video send NV12 to madVR instead of YV12. I remember madshi saying that they're basically equivalent but NV12's precedence over YV12 with LAV is a little different from what ffdshow normally does.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 21:04   #12800  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansrfe View Post
Is NV12 superior to YV12? I noticed that LAV Video send NV12 to madVR instead of YV12. I remember madshi saying that they're basically equivalent but NV12's precedence over YV12 with LAV is a little different from what ffdshow normally does.
NV12 is preferred because it allows renderer deinterlacing, while YV12 normally doesn't (not important for madVR though, it'll convert internally if it has to, but EVR doesn't)
They contain the exact same information, but basically all GPUs don't natively handle YV12, they prefer NV12.

Difference to ffdshow? Sure, i do it the right way, not the ffdshow way. I'm tired of those comparisons.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.