Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th February 2012, 18:53   #14641  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by omegaman7 View Post
I left riplock :S I'm afraid increasing the read speed, will affect the longevity of the drive
It's just there to avoid complaints about too much noise when watching a film.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 18:56   #14642  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by michgaud View Post
I experienced severe out of sync AV issues upon the first use of Version 0.40.07. I also had multiple Pixellated images about every 2 to 3 Minutes in the Video. I went back to V 0.40.04 and was able to process the disc with an excellent result. I then went back to V 0.40.07 and deleted Multiprocess from the config file and ran the disc again and everything came out perfect. Hope this helps
I think it may have been an anomaly and removing MULTIPROCESS was coincidental ... too many others are successfully using MULTIPROCESS.

I'm at a loss as to how splitting a process could cause pixelation...
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 18:56   #14643  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
I suppose that makes sense
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 21:28   #14644  |  Link
michgaud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Sync issues were what caused the most heartache. I am not sure of the correlation of that to Multiprocess or if there is one. It was the only variable I changed in the equation. Have run more discs with the newer version without Multiprocess and there have been none of the earlier sync issues.
michgaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 23:40   #14645  |  Link
Marco33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Backing up Twilight Breaking Dawnn. It's for the kids Really. Anyway I did the movie only backup. The first 15 minutes has scenes out of order. People are talking then all of a sudden they are just then walking in the room then the conversation is way far ahead. It's weird. Just for the heck of it I'll try backing up my whole disk. Maybe that will work better. Anybody seen this maybe with another movie?
Marco33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 23:55   #14646  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco33 View Post
Backing up Twilight Breaking Dawnn. It's for the kids Really. Anyway I did the movie only backup. The first 15 minutes has scenes out of order. People are talking then all of a sudden they are just then walking in the room then the conversation is way far ahead. It's weird. Just for the heck of it I'll try backing up my whole disk. Maybe that will work better. Anybody seen this maybe with another movie?
Go to "MODE/Other Movie-Only Playlist" and select a different playlist. Apparently the one selected is for some type of extra (or purposeful obfuscation).

A full backup will work...
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 00:19   #14647  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
I thought that full backups won't work with Java protection.

For a movie only backup, it's playlist 689
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 00:55   #14648  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by omegaman7 View Post
I thought that full backups won't work with Java protection.

For a movie only backup, it's playlist 689
Full backups work with BD-25 (for all players, BD-J or not). They also will work on BD-5/9 if the player supports it (like my Sony and my Samsung standalones). There's a thread here somewhere that lists players that support it.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 25th February 2012 at 05:07.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 02:32   #14649  |  Link
NightHawkGuy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
This will to BD-25 (for all players). They also will work on BD-5/9 if the player supports it (like my Sony and my Samsung standalones). There's a thread here somewhere that lists players that support it.
Is this the thread?
List of BD-Rebuilder Compatible Players (BD5\BD9 output)
NightHawkGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 04:03   #14650  |  Link
busch42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
Thanks guys, I never heard of riplock firmware, Guess I learn something new everyday that's why I love sites like this, The reason I said 30 to 40 minutes to rip to hard drive is because I have only done about 15 Blu-Rays and so far each one has been in the 30's to 40's gb size. Right now I'm doing the movie Puss in boots which I just bought at Wal-mart and it is 43GB. I ran DVDfab thru it successfully now I'm trying to shrink to BD25 with BDrebuilder.
busch42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 05:06   #14651  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightHawkGuy View Post
There's a newer one that I started last month (I think).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 05:29   #14652  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 776
Jdobbs, are you saying that you backed up "Source code"(Full bd-25) and perhaps similar titles with the structural java protection, and it plays fine? If so, I clearly missed something. I think star wars may have had a similar protection. Essentially, multiple bogus playlists, and when on a copy, it doesn't play back properly.
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 06:28   #14653  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
@jdobbs

Hi!

Here's a link to the newer thread...

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...10#post1541710

setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 11:03   #14654  |  Link
Geo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Hi,
I have tried to use the one-pass CRF encoding with the FIXED_CRF= option in the config file. The txt file on hidden options says that in that case the "output size control disappears". In fact it does not disappear at all and a CRF value is estimated to match the target size.
I have made a thorough search in order to find an explanation without success. Maybe I miss something or is it a bug ? Thanks for help.
Geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 14:24   #14655  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by omegaman7 View Post
Jdobbs, are you saying that you backed up "Source code"(Full bd-25) and perhaps similar titles with the structural java protection, and it plays fine? If so, I clearly missed something. I think star wars may have had a similar protection. Essentially, multiple bogus playlists, and when on a copy, it doesn't play back properly.
Yes. Those things don't matter when doing a full backup. It plays back exactly like the original -- and the multiple bogus playlists act exactly as they did on the original (usually doing nothing).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 14:27   #14656  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geo View Post
Hi,
I have tried to use the one-pass CRF encoding with the FIXED_CRF= option in the config file. The txt file on hidden options says that in that case the "output size control disappears". In fact it does not disappear at all and a CRF value is estimated to match the target size.
I have made a thorough search in order to find an explanation without success. Maybe I miss something or is it a bug ? Thanks for help.
You've probably misspelled it in the INI (or something similar). When a fixed CRF is set, there is no prediction done. You add it via the "View/Edit Config file" option in the file menu. It should be in the "[Options]" section and here's how it should look:

FIXED_CRF=18

The value must be somewhere between 10 and 50...
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 25th February 2012 at 14:34.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 15:30   #14657  |  Link
soneca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 744
Hi jdobbs,

Came to test the resizing subtitles with another algorithm?
soneca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 15:55   #14658  |  Link
busch42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 57
Just got finished shrinking the movie Puss in Boots to a BD25, Took me 3 hours 31 minutes, For some reason I had to do it 3 times because it would keep coming up x264.exe error cannot recode, I have been having this problem alot, I would keep uninstalling the required programs and reinstalling them then they would work.
busch42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 17:51   #14659  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by busch42 View Post
Just got finished shrinking the movie Puss in Boots to a BD25, Took me 3 hours 31 minutes, For some reason I had to do it 3 times because it would keep coming up x264.exe error cannot recode, I have been having this problem alot, I would keep uninstalling the required programs and reinstalling them then they would work.
Gotta be your system glitching... otherwise it would be consistent.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2012, 17:52   #14660  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by soneca View Post
Hi jdobbs,

Came to test the resizing subtitles with another algorithm?
I've tweaked it and also found an error in offset positioning and it should be visibly clearer.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 25th February 2012 at 19:03.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.